Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To GreenMan94:  "The last thing I wanted to do with my previous comments was belittle any player as I understand the effort and sacrifices it takes to represent Leitrim.

That being said it is fair to critique both management and performances. I do try to get to as many games as possible so I feel like I can back my opinions up with evidence and be fair. Also saying I don't believe someone is up to standard is just an opinion which is a part of sport.

Looking forward, I have not heard any word if our 4 main injured players will be back apart from that Casey has a good chance. Which I have my doubts about as he only hurt his Hamstring 4 weeks ago. If he reinjures himself he will miss the NY game after already missing out on a Sigerson final.

Here's the team I would pick if Casey is the only one of the four that make it back. I do not believe Moran will make 4 changes however.

Darren Maxwell

Paddy Maguire Mark Diffley Tom Quinn

Adam Reynolds Donal Casey Shane Quinn

Pearce Dolan
Paul Keaney

Darragh Rooney Mark Plunkett Jack Heslin
Evan Sweeney Keith Beirne Jordan Reynolds

Tom Prior probably deserves to start but he is a fantastic player to make an impact off the bench and we don't have many like that.
I'd play Plunkett as he can be an extra ball winner in the middle third which will take pressure off Dolan. It is quite an offensive team but that's where our strengths lie yet we have been lacking scoring threats outside of Beirne. There's no point in holding Keaney back any longer now.
Every game is must win now."
I stand by what I said earlier. To name a player as not good enough for Co Standard is a cheap shot especially when it's on an anonymous on line forum. There are much better ways of conveying your point. Do you not listen to all former players and managers talking about all the on line abuse they are subject to.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1645 - 22/02/2023 12:53:48    2459761

Replying To eoinog:  "I stand by what I said earlier. To name a player as not good enough for Co Standard is a cheap shot especially when it's on an anonymous on line forum. There are much better ways of conveying your point. Do you not listen to all former players and managers talking about all the on line abuse they are subject to."
Wow. If you think that's a slating you must be a fierce sensitive fellow. Anyhow I'll ask again, what's it to you as an outsider? We seem to have lads taking fierce interest in Leitrim football all of a sudden...

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 843 - 22/02/2023 16:30:10    2459800

Replying To Square_B:  "Wow. If you think that's a slating you must be a fierce sensitive fellow. Anyhow I'll ask again, what's it to you as an outsider? We seem to have lads taking fierce interest in Leitrim football all of a sudden..."
What's it to do with me you ask ?
I dislike cheap shots.
If you think your comment is ok you might include your name and address on the next post, then it will be perfectly fair

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1645 - 23/02/2023 09:51:38    2459835

Replying To Square_B:  "Wow. If you think that's a slating you must be a fierce sensitive fellow. Anyhow I'll ask again, what's it to you as an outsider? We seem to have lads taking fierce interest in Leitrim football all of a sudden..."
What's it to do with me you ask ?
I dislike cheap shots.
If you think your comment is ok you might include your name and address on the next post, then it will be perfectly fair

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1645 - 23/02/2023 10:02:31    2459839

You are going well in div4 and have the makings of a good team. So other div4 fans are going to take an interest in you.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11697 - 23/02/2023 10:50:47    2459852

Replying To eoinog:  "What's it to do with me you ask ?
I dislike cheap shots.
If you think your comment is ok you might include your name and address on the next post, then it will be perfectly fair"
Cheap shot? LOL. You're a fierce sensitive fellow. Maybe you might be better over on some other forum where everyone holds hands and tells everyone they're great. Anyhow it's really nothing to do with you in fairness being from Sligo... bit weird asking for people to put up their name and address... what you going to do... call round for a chat?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 843 - 23/02/2023 16:12:53    2459911

Replying To GreenMan94:  "The last thing I wanted to do with my previous comments was belittle any player as I understand the effort and sacrifices it takes to represent Leitrim.

That being said it is fair to critique both management and performances. I do try to get to as many games as possible so I feel like I can back my opinions up with evidence and be fair. Also saying I don't believe someone is up to standard is just an opinion which is a part of sport.

Looking forward, I have not heard any word if our 4 main injured players will be back apart from that Casey has a good chance. Which I have my doubts about as he only hurt his Hamstring 4 weeks ago. If he reinjures himself he will miss the NY game after already missing out on a Sigerson final.

Here's the team I would pick if Casey is the only one of the four that make it back. I do not believe Moran will make 4 changes however.

Darren Maxwell

Paddy Maguire Mark Diffley Tom Quinn

Adam Reynolds Donal Casey Shane Quinn

Pearce Dolan
Paul Keaney

Darragh Rooney Mark Plunkett Jack Heslin
Evan Sweeney Keith Beirne Jordan Reynolds

Tom Prior probably deserves to start but he is a fantastic player to make an impact off the bench and we don't have many like that.
I'd play Plunkett as he can be an extra ball winner in the middle third which will take pressure off Dolan. It is quite an offensive team but that's where our strengths lie yet we have been lacking scoring threats outside of Beirne. There's no point in holding Keaney back any longer now.
Every game is must win now."
No Donal Wrynn ?

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 23/02/2023 18:44:12    2459926

Replying To Viking66:  "You are going well in div4 and have the makings of a good team. So other div4 fans are going to take an interest in you."
Exactly. We were high flying but now teams know we are there for the taking, so we gotta work extra hard now to get out of the division as any fear factor of us being better than the rest is gone

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 456 - 24/02/2023 12:31:11    2459994

Wicklow beat Laois tonight so now that is every team in this division having lost at least once. We are now in control of this division in such a way that if we win the reminder of games we will top the division.

Consigning Carlow, Wicklow, Sligo and Laois to their second defeat and we will have just one.

I've always said - "It's easier to stay in division three than it it is to get out of division 4". Every team here is capable of beating any other on any given day and it's the most competitive division by far.

Starting with Carlow tomorrow let's go on a roll we are capable of. Win the rest and top the division

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 642 - 25/02/2023 21:07:17    2460154

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Wicklow beat Laois tonight so now that is every team in this division having lost at least once. We are now in control of this division in such a way that if we win the reminder of games we will top the division.

Consigning Carlow, Wicklow, Sligo and Laois to their second defeat and we will have just one.

I've always said - "It's easier to stay in division three than it it is to get out of division 4". Every team here is capable of beating any other on any given day and it's the most competitive division by far.

Starting with Carlow tomorrow let's go on a roll we are capable of. Win the rest and top the division"
I wouldn't be confident of beating anyone never mind Carlow. We only scraped by London and lets be honest we should have bet Wexford as in Wexford was the London of 2022.... a game we left behind. Anyhow, pressure is on for tomorrow... we can ill afford another year of failure.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 843 - 25/02/2023 21:29:26    2460164

Can't look any further than tomorrow, carlow will be a huge test lose that and we're gone. Best of luck to the lads.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 181 - 25/02/2023 21:44:19    2460168

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Wicklow beat Laois tonight so now that is every team in this division having lost at least once. We are now in control of this division in such a way that if we win the reminder of games we will top the division.

Starting with Carlow tomorrow let's go on a roll we are capable of. Win the rest and top the division"
And how did staying in Division 3 go for ye??

All teams can only look week to week in Division 4 as anything is possible.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 356 - 26/02/2023 11:05:56    2460204

Can't see much positive with Wicklow beating Laois yesterday. 5 teams all with an equal chance of going up. Leitrim still having to travel to Wicklow and play Laois and Sligo at home.. All starts today with a tricky home game against a good Carlow side. Take each game as it come from here. Fair play to Paddy McGuire putting on the Leitrim Jersey for 100th time today. A serious servant to Leitrim football.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 26/02/2023 12:11:45    2460216

That's the response we were all looking for... now go out and leave no stone unturned and win the remaining games.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 843 - 26/02/2023 15:27:55    2460277

Good win today but jesus Carlow discipline was shocking. Second half was pretty easy once Carlow went down to 12 but still alot of question marks around defence and goalkeeper in first half. Kickout much improved but Maxwell just needs to compose himself under the high ball. He definitely good enough but just needs more confidence/composure. I thought jack Heslin and Mark Plunket were excellent and probably made the difference in the first half. Nice to see most the forwards getting on the score sheet. Next week is a massive game now.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 26/02/2023 17:16:38    2460346

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "Good win today but jesus Carlow discipline was shocking. Second half was pretty easy once Carlow went down to 12 but still alot of question marks around defence and goalkeeper in first half. Kickout much improved but Maxwell just needs to compose himself under the high ball. He definitely good enough but just needs more confidence/composure. I thought jack Heslin and Mark Plunket were excellent and probably made the difference in the first half. Nice to see most the forwards getting on the score sheet. Next week is a massive game now."
Agree completely!! Only for heslin and Beirne d game wuda been tight enough!! Maxwell very dodgy under any sort of ball coming into the box. He has work 2do

Zucker (Leitrim) - Posts: 156 - 26/02/2023 19:02:13    2460408

It is what it is, I'm not getting into a blame game as an anonymous critic however I can throw out a few pointers.

The GAA at the highest level are turning a blind eye to the non-progressive counties, papering over the cracks by introducing quick fixes, the latest being the Tailteann Cup, fixing the problem without at first fixing the cause, etc, etc, etc.

Niall Carew is a decent and committed gaa man, he didn't demand the Carlow managers job rather he was appointed by our county board, full stop. He is doing the best he can with what is at his disposal, including years of failures.

Those young Carlow lads went up to Carrick to bring home two valuable NFL points and some hope of long overdue promotion, it didn't happen and sobeit.

The unfortunate red cards wasn't arranged at a management meeting last night or in a team huddle at half time, they just happened, those lads are not criminals, it doesn't it doesn't lessen their chance of ever becoming role models, I am sure they would hand them back if they could.
I personally don't think Carlow's discipline is shocking, like everyone else's it's spontaneous, unfortunately.

All that said, I am sure all good Carlow gaa sports people congratulate Leitrim and hope you are one of the two counties who get promoted.

sin é

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 26/02/2023 21:00:40    2460493

Replying To supersub15:  "It is what it is, I'm not getting into a blame game as an anonymous critic however I can throw out a few pointers.

The GAA at the highest level are turning a blind eye to the non-progressive counties, papering over the cracks by introducing quick fixes, the latest being the Tailteann Cup, fixing the problem without at first fixing the cause, etc, etc, etc.

Niall Carew is a decent and committed gaa man, he didn't demand the Carlow managers job rather he was appointed by our county board, full stop. He is doing the best he can with what is at his disposal, including years of failures.

Those young Carlow lads went up to Carrick to bring home two valuable NFL points and some hope of long overdue promotion, it didn't happen and sobeit.

The unfortunate red cards wasn't arranged at a management meeting last night or in a team huddle at half time, they just happened, those lads are not criminals, it doesn't it doesn't lessen their chance of ever becoming role models, I am sure they would hand them back if they could.
I personally don't think Carlow's discipline is shocking, like everyone else's it's spontaneous, unfortunately.

All that said, I am sure all good Carlow gaa sports people congratulate Leitrim and hope you are one of the two counties who get promoted.

sin é"
Very good post

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1645 - 27/02/2023 10:33:33    2460567

Replying To supersub15:  "It is what it is, I'm not getting into a blame game as an anonymous critic however I can throw out a few pointers.

sin é"
Sorry now maybe I'm mistaken but I never once called out the Carlow manager/management nor did I call out a Carlow player and call him dirty. Getting 1/5 of your team sent off in any game/sport, amateur or professional is poor discipline. My comment is only on yesterday 70min of football. I thought the red card were very soft to be fair. The strike on Mulligan from where I was sitting looked more accidentally but yes a red card all the same and the other two were pretty soft also. I thought the game yesterday in the first half bar the goals was pretty even. Getting 3 players sent off killed the game and made it easy for Leitrim in the second half.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 27/02/2023 11:20:54    2460599

Huge game next week now v Wicklow if we can win that and Sligo beat Wexford it will go to winner takes all v Sligo which would be some occasion in Paric Sean. I heard the interview With Andy Moran online and he said he hoped to have players returning in the next week or 2 but didn't name them. I assume that's Pearse Dolan, Donal Casey cillian Mcgloin and hopefully Ryan o Rourke. Riordain o Rourke was togged yesterday just didn't see game time. Hopefully Darragh Rooney and and Tom prior are okay both came off injured and the worry for Leitrim they were 2 of our better performers yesterday. The one plus after yesterday is if it goes to score difference we should be okay for promotion

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 27/02/2023 12:07:20    2460621