Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "It's realism, not negativity. I hope it works out for them but it is silly bringing in an outside man with no experience. I've never heard of it before. It's an experiment. One that could have been done exactly the same with a Leitrim retired player. I don't know what' give it a good go'means? They'll show up to training and instruct the players on what to do like any other manager would. Anyone can talk a great talk. And I don't know what 'thowing much' means either."
There is no point discussing this with you except there is a huge difference between the experience of a recent Leitrim player anf someone like Andy Moran and Michael Sloan.
There are also two outstanding Leitrim players as part of the team.
Time to move on!!

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 11/10/2021 17:27:50    2385273

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "It's realism, not negativity. I hope it works out for them but it is silly bringing in an outside man with no experience. I've never heard of it before. It's an experiment. One that could have been done exactly the same with a Leitrim retired player. I don't know what' give it a good go'means? They'll show up to training and instruct the players on what to do like any other manager would. Anyone can talk a great talk. And I don't know what 'thowing much' means either."
They is 2 retired Leitrim players onboard and a man that won an all-Ireland u20 also. So you have experience you have 2 ex Leitrim footballers and also footballer of the year thrown into the mix as well. So it must be a dream management team for you when you actually have a think about it

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 11/10/2021 17:43:50    2385278

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Stick to the marmalade lad."
What do you mean?

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 12/10/2021 10:14:51    2385316

Replying To joeman123:  "There is no point discussing this with you except there is a huge difference between the experience of a recent Leitrim player anf someone like Andy Moran and Michael Sloan.
There are also two outstanding Leitrim players as part of the team.
Time to move on!!"
Oh well if he was joining us to play I'd say that. But he has zero management experience at that level. But you don't seem to be clocking that at all so best to lie down and dwell about it and it might click eventually

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 12/10/2021 10:16:47    2385317

Replying To Champotime18:  "They is 2 retired Leitrim players onboard and a man that won an all-Ireland u20 also. So you have experience you have 2 ex Leitrim footballers and also footballer of the year thrown into the mix as well. So it must be a dream management team for you when you actually have a think about it"
It isn't a dream management. Haven't I been questioning the logic of it. Keep up please!

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 12/10/2021 10:18:24    2385318

Big weekend!

Who ye all got? Still hard to look passed Mohill and it will take an almighty performance to beat them. If and it's a big if but if SOH can do a job on Beirne they go a long way in beating them.

Still sticking with my original pick, Mohill to make it 2 in a row.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 338 - 12/10/2021 10:18:57    2385319

Replying To williesboy:  "Big weekend!

Who ye all got? Still hard to look passed Mohill and it will take an almighty performance to beat them. If and it's a big if but if SOH can do a job on Beirne they go a long way in beating them.

Still sticking with my original pick, Mohill to make it 2 in a row."
I too said Mohill would be the team to win but I'm starting to doubt myself a bit ... Ballinamore will be well up for this... I think they could pull a shock out of the bag... I'm sure Paul Prior will have filled in the boys on what he thought of Mohill. It's going to be a great final... am looking forward to seeing it on TG4.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 843 - 12/10/2021 11:34:18    2385340

Think Mohill will win still.

Suits Ballinamore down to the ground though coming in as underdogs and not having the huge furore like they had around the 2019 final.

If Beirne is stopped though, I don't see how Mohill win, nobody bar maybe Oisin Madden was willing to step up besides Beirne in the semi final and he won't win you a game on his own from the half back line.

Thing is, I don't see who from SOH has a chance of stopping Beirne.

Highandmighty (Leitrim) - Posts: 54 - 12/10/2021 12:27:17    2385348

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "It isn't a dream management. Haven't I been questioning the logic of it. Keep up please!"
What's the logic?

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 12/10/2021 14:16:12    2385374

Wayne McKeown should be tasked to man mark Keith berine and try and get him defending. E.g philly McMahon on Colm Copper a few years ago. Berine is a gifted footballer and the best forward in the county by a distance. By a mile the best 2 teams in the county. If SOH don't believe there own hype they have a serious chance of winning this. I genuinely believe this game on TG4 is huge and Twitter will be full of praise for the standard of club football in the county. Best of luck to both teams. Let's hope it excites the incoming county manager also

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 12/10/2021 14:22:04    2385376

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "What do you mean?"
I mean you know nothing about Leitrim football you have nothing positive to say. You are just a sad individual with nothing better to be at.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 12/10/2021 15:11:46    2385386

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "I mean you know nothing about Leitrim football you have nothing positive to say. You are just a sad individual with nothing better to be at."
Correct, or are you a wind up merchant from another county?

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 12/10/2021 15:48:20    2385396

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "I mean you know nothing about Leitrim football you have nothing positive to say. You are just a sad individual with nothing better to be at."
Fair play to you for casting aspersions because I have different opinions. Would I be sad if I agreed with you? Of course not. Grow up and get used to robust debate baby

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 12/10/2021 16:30:53    2385404

Replying To joeman123:  "Correct, or are you a wind up merchant from another county?"
Oh because I disagree with you I'm a wind up merchant? And backing up someone who called me a sad individual? Brave of you. Will I agree with everything you say from now on!? Will that feed your ego?

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 12/10/2021 16:33:07    2385405

The fact of the matter lads is nobody here knows whats going to happen. The pro-Moran camp could be right and he could be the 2nd coming of John O Mahony, marmalade could be right and Moran might not know his **** from his elbow. Only thing I'll say is that if it gets buy in from the players, its good for a start given the issues with lads not wanting to commit over past few years.

The fact is regardless of who came in we wouldn't be able to say, hopefully proposal B goes through and we can get a proper look at the team over a solid run of games and make a good call then as to how things are going.

If not then best case scenario is that we are competitive in Div 4 and pushing Cavan and Tipp to the pin of their collar in the table and give us room to grow into a proper push for promotion the following year.

Having a full season regardless of structure after the past 2 years can't do any harm anyway.

Highandmighty (Leitrim) - Posts: 54 - 13/10/2021 11:19:07    2385464

A quick question…

Who is refereeing the final on Sunday? Thanks in advance.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 688 - 14/10/2021 16:48:55    2385664

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "A quick question…

Who is refereeing the final on Sunday? Thanks in advance."
Gareth Foley - Melvin Gaels

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 643 - 14/10/2021 20:17:13    2385689

You'd think someone with 649 posts on here would know where to find details of gaa fixtures in Leitrim. https://www.leitrimgaa.ie/fixtures-next-10-days/

Bowser93 (Leitrim) - Posts: 11 - 14/10/2021 21:43:24    2385697

Replying To Bowser93:  "You'd think someone with 649 posts on here would know where to find details of gaa fixtures in Leitrim. https://www.leitrimgaa.ie/fixtures-next-10-days/"
I managed that part by myself. Now if you could just point me to the specific sub-section that informs the general public as to whom would be 'ar an feadóg' then I'd be sorted.
But seeing as a courteous poster has answered my query, your "witty" assistance is no longer required.
You may now re-examine your 6 posts (none of which I've seen) and deem yourself an internet legend.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 688 - 15/10/2021 11:37:43    2385733

Hopefully for the long term viability of Leitrim club football Ballinamore get over the line and win the County final this weekend. It would be a great result for the County team also.

marmalade_farmer (Leitrim) - Posts: 94 - 15/10/2021 12:28:08    2385740