Iforgotmypassword (Australia) - Posts: 9 - 12/08/2022 17:44:39    2437222

Replying To Square_B:  "If I was a betting man I'd go for -

Leitrim Gaels
Mohill
Sean O'Heslins
Aughawillan
Melvin Gaels"
I will add to that I got the above at 10/1 and added a couple of other games to bring it to 30/1. Leitrim Gaels are looking shaky for the win at the moment but hey ho such is life!.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 12/08/2022 20:23:16    2437235

Gortletteragh in dire straights I'm afraid. Injuries and retirements have seriously depleted their panel and a lot of very talented young lads have been thrown in at the deep end which is a big ask and they have struggled badly in division 2 resulting in relegation which is a tough pill for such a proud club to take. They will be well beaten this evening and in all 4 games they are hoping to have a few lads back by the time relegation playoffs come around but they look certainties to be relegated on all known form.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 13/08/2022 14:24:19    2437282

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Gortletteragh in dire straights I'm afraid. Injuries and retirements have seriously depleted their panel and a lot of very talented young lads have been thrown in at the deep end which is a big ask and they have struggled badly in division 2 resulting in relegation which is a tough pill for such a proud club to take. They will be well beaten this evening and in all 4 games they are hoping to have a few lads back by the time relegation playoffs come around but they look certainties to be relegated on all known form."
Was very wrong with my prediction fair play to Gortletteragh ,never an easy place to win at the best of times especially considering their form all year. It gives them a shot of avoiding relegation but they will need at least another win while avoiding Mohill and Ballinamore especially who would damage their scoring difference . Melvin Gaels likely to struggle to avoid relegation play offs, this was a game I'm sure they had marked down to win, probably one of themselves , Dromahair and Gortletteragh for relegation. Mohill and Ballinamore teams to beat with maybe Fenagh and Carrick if they can improve from Friday evening dark horses.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 14/08/2022 08:51:25    2437317

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Was very wrong with my prediction fair play to Gortletteragh ,never an easy place to win at the best of times especially considering their form all year. It gives them a shot of avoiding relegation but they will need at least another win while avoiding Mohill and Ballinamore especially who would damage their scoring difference . Melvin Gaels likely to struggle to avoid relegation play offs, this was a game I'm sure they had marked down to win, probably one of themselves , Dromahair and Gortletteragh for relegation. Mohill and Ballinamore teams to beat with maybe Fenagh and Carrick if they can improve from Friday evening dark horses."
I think u might be wrong there about gortletteragh again. By all accounts they should've won by 4-5 points after the red card ref gave gaels a lot of handy frees and also somehow didn't give two penalty's to gortletteragh. I'd expect another win in gortletteragh next round they have a good chance of dromahair or manor at home. They've plenty of missing players too like John Reynolds, Jack Heslin, Padraig Gallagher who will be back aswell as handing out 6 championship debuts yesterday so I'd say things in gortletteragh might be as bad as seems

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 14/08/2022 13:27:42    2437341

I choose fenagh v aughawilian of the club games last night. Had the potential to be a good close encounter fenagh put that idea to bed with 3 goals and 12 point win. They look good but aughawillian fell apart. Tougher tests to come no doubt.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 14/08/2022 13:28:39    2437342

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Was very wrong with my prediction fair play to Gortletteragh ,never an easy place to win at the best of times especially considering their form all year. It gives them a shot of avoiding relegation but they will need at least another win while avoiding Mohill and Ballinamore especially who would damage their scoring difference . Melvin Gaels likely to struggle to avoid relegation play offs, this was a game I'm sure they had marked down to win, probably one of themselves , Dromahair and Gortletteragh for relegation. Mohill and Ballinamore teams to beat with maybe Fenagh and Carrick if they can improve from Friday evening dark horses."
It was a sweet victory for them especially seeing as they were made travel for a 7pm game on a Saturday evening which is easily a 70/80 min drive between the two furthest points in the county.

boxty_evaluator (Leitrim) - Posts: 11 - 14/08/2022 13:29:27    2437343

Next round:
Gortletteragh v Manor
Ballinamore v Mary's
Mohill v Fenagh
Leitrim Gaels v Dromahair
Willie's v Melvin Gaels

Tough draw on Mary's again.

Iforgotmypassword (Australia) - Posts: 9 - 14/08/2022 15:53:19    2437362

Massive game for marys
Score difference could play a big part in final standings

sparkie (Leitrim) - Posts: 60 - 14/08/2022 16:35:15    2437370

Leitrim gaels will be happy with that draw also

sparkie (Leitrim) - Posts: 60 - 14/08/2022 16:36:16    2437371

Replying To Steve7843:  "Predictions for this weekend??"
Any sign of a New Roscommon Manager yet?
Losing to Clare like ye did, was a shock I'd say and wasn't in the script.
Ye could do worse than bring Evans back.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - Posts: 217 - 14/08/2022 18:43:48    2437393

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "Ah i'll give it a lash. i'll only give my predictions for clubs i've seen in action this year wouldn't have clue what to tell ya if you asked for the winner of manor vs Leitrim gaels or Fenagh vs the willies. First up Mohill and Marys. It's great how this years format helped in providing what was a great league final last Saturday. You can imagine if both teams had known they had eachother first round they might have held back a bit. Marys are a solid team very youthful and technical players but might be missing a few forwards. Mohill have great experience with numerous players playing at county level and the rest used being around at the business end of championship. I'd expect another shoutout between Beirne and Keaney this Friday but hopefully we can see Casey for Mary's and Reynolds for Mohill who are both class acts chip in with a few scores. Keaney probably has apoint to prove in this years championship after being overlooked by Moran this year. I thought Diffley done a good job on Beirne last weekend but that being said any Mohill fan i gave that opinion to rubbished it. I'd expect Mohill to get over the line but I expect a close game.

Onto Ballinamore and Dromahair. I cant see this going any other way than a Ballinamore win. They're experience, quality and sheer size and power will probably be too much for Dromahair. That being said its in dromahair which is always a tough place to go. From what i've seen from dromahair in the league they look to run the ball from deep with they're centre back Jamie Conlon a real leader who drives forward on powerful runs countless times a game. They've a goal hungry full forward line too in Feeney, Glancy and Fowley which will be needed if they're to have any chance. Unfortunately I expect a heavy win for Ballinamore the likes of McGoverns, Moran and Mckeon among others will just have too much for dromahair.

Gortletteragh have the long journey to make to Kinlough. Both teams would be happy with this draw avoiding the likes of Ballinamore and Mohill in this round and the next. Confidence i would imagine is on the floor after both have been relegated from Divison 1 and 2 respectively. A win on saturday for either team could really give them a boost for the rest of championship. Gortletteragh this year have been devastated with injuries most of them long term too and many lads didn't come back after the disapointment of last year. I heard they only had 7 lads starting against Fenagh in the last game of the league who started their last championship game. They've added 8 lads to the panel from last years minors which ive been told is the same amount that have came up from underage in the 6 years before that so its a massive boost for such a rural club. I've also heard they've a surprise in store with the return of ex county player to the team. As for Kinlough I couldnt tell you much we don't hear much about them this far down the county. Darragh Rooney has done a Shane Walsh and left for St judes in Dublin so that will be a big loss that being said the've another serious scoring threat in Caolonn Clancy who is lethal from the placed ball. The McGloins too will cause the Gortletteragh defenders plenty of trouble. Melvin Gaels are the favourites here but it really could go either way."
Well done to Gortletteragh. Big result for them in Kinlough..

You mention that the two teams playing in Kinlough would be happy with the draw.

I know it didn't happen that neither got Ballinamore or Mohill in the next round.

Was it an open draw or could Melvin Gaels or Gortletteragh not have got Ballinamore or Mohill.

Are you saying on cut and paste I have of yours below that
it wasnt possible for this to happen.

Gortletteragh have the long journey to make to Kinlough. Both teams would be happy with this draw avoiding the likes of Ballinamore and Mohill in this round and the next.

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 15/08/2022 08:51:23    2437449

Replying To leitrimforsam:  "Well done to Gortletteragh. Big result for them in Kinlough..

You mention that the two teams playing in Kinlough would be happy with the draw.

I know it didn't happen that neither got Ballinamore or Mohill in the next round.

Was it an open draw or could Melvin Gaels or Gortletteragh not have got Ballinamore or Mohill.

Are you saying on cut and paste I have of yours below that
it wasnt possible for this to happen.

Gortletteragh have the long journey to make to Kinlough. Both teams would be happy with this draw avoiding the likes of Ballinamore and Mohill in this round and the next."
Yes its my understanding that in the draw yesterday home teams from round one could only play the teams that played at home. Below is how i'd say the draw was conducted.

Pot 1 Pot 2
Gort Manor
Mohill Fenagh
Ballinamore St Marys
Leitrim Gaels Dromahair
Aughawillan Melvin Gaels

In round thee all teams will be drawn at random from the ten. The first 5 teams will have home advantage,.

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 15/08/2022 10:33:18    2437466

Replying To Buzzcagney62:  "Any sign of a New Roscommon Manager yet?
Losing to Clare like ye did, was a shock I'd say and wasn't in the script.
Ye could do worse than bring Evans back."
Yes losing to clare was a very poor result especially when you see what derry did to them and subsequently what galway did to derry.
Moving on, I am very surprised that they haven't a manager in place yet as the championship is in full swing. It all seems very amateur and lacking leadership.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 15/08/2022 10:39:32    2437467

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "Yes its my understanding that in the draw yesterday home teams from round one could only play the teams that played at home. Below is how i'd say the draw was conducted.

Pot 1 Pot 2
Gort Manor
Mohill Fenagh
Ballinamore St Marys
Leitrim Gaels Dromahair
Aughawillan Melvin Gaels

In round thee all teams will be drawn at random from the ten. The first 5 teams will have home advantage,."
Only exception is you can't play a team you've already played in round 3

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 15/08/2022 13:33:53    2437505

Who's the happiest team after the draw.

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 16/08/2022 11:12:04    2437610

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "Who's the happiest team after the draw."
Leitrim Gaels & Manor probably the happiest with that draw

Rossiemad (None) - Posts: 100 - 16/08/2022 12:26:14    2437624

Replying To Rossiemad:  "Leitrim Gaels & Manor probably the happiest with that draw"
Why would Manorhamilton be happy with that draw?

boxty_evaluator (Leitrim) - Posts: 11 - 16/08/2022 12:46:01    2437629

Replying To boxty_evaluator:  "Why would Manorhamilton be happy with that draw?"
Because Gort would be considered the weakest of the teams with home advantage.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 16/08/2022 13:36:44    2437646

Replying To Backheel:  "Because Gort would be considered the weakest of the teams with home advantage."
Aughawillan not pulling up any trees lately either for me.

boxty_evaluator (Leitrim) - Posts: 11 - 16/08/2022 13:53:05    2437651