Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "When Joyce was asked to manage the Connacht team it was agreed that he'd have all Connacht county managers at the time part of the management. Of course some are now speculating that he'll be the new Galway coach."
He is indeed another addition to the already bulging Galway backroom team.
He got one of those cool jackets that about 100 other hangers-on got last weekend.

I'm disappointed that his head got turned so easily by Joyce and so with that in mind I'll withhold my good wishes.
Fortunately for him the Supermacs franchise won't see him starve.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 713 - 22/10/2024 14:01:34    2576358

I done a 26 man squad on here earlier in the year of players not involved versus the players we'd available for the first round of the league. Chalk and cheese. The lads not involved would have bet them out the gate. It's only gotten worse now. More lads will probably decline to commit when they see whos missing now.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 318 - 22/10/2024 14:12:43    2576360

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "He is indeed another addition to the already bulging Galway backroom team.
He got one of those cool jackets that about 100 other hangers-on got last weekend.

I'm disappointed that his head got turned so easily by Joyce and so with that in mind I'll withhold my good wishes.
Fortunately for him the Supermacs franchise won't see him starve."
Heard Mickey left because of disagreement with board. Was asking for equipment to drive the camp on and was told no. Joyce then asked him in after seeing he was available.

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 38 - 22/10/2024 14:35:02    2576364

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "He is indeed another addition to the already bulging Galway backroom team.

Fortunately for him the Supermacs franchise won't see him starve."
Seething at it myself... Joke how these men can jump, personal reasons my rear end. I like Galway but it's another kick to a Leitrim team that is always on the back foot even on a good day

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 560 - 22/10/2024 14:36:53    2576365

My Leitrim GAA Team of the Year

A lot of difficult choices here, some lads very unfortunate to miss out.

Attempting to give every grade its deserved respect...

#1 : Padraig Tighe (Mohill). Saves in the shootout made up my mind
#2 : Keelan Lynch (Annaduff). His absence was duly noted in the relegation final. Top player
#3 : Mark Diffley (St Marys) A true leader of this Carrick team, expect him to win numerous championship medals.
#4 : James Mitchell (Mohill) Classic defender, proved his worth in the first final
#5 :Senan Harkin (Mohill) At the helm of everything for Mohill this year.
#6 : Wayne McKeon (Ballinamore) Have said it for a long time this man should be playing for leitrim. Second best kicker of a ball in the county (after Darren Cox)
#7 : Conor Hackett (St Marys) Dual player. Big and strong. Similar to Diffley, expect numerous county medals from this man
#8 : Domhnaill Flynn (Mohill) Life in the old dog yet. Led Mohill from the front.
#9 : Allan Croghan (Bornacoola) Inspirational in the Junior final.
#10 : Shane Moran (Ballinamore) Granted I am playing him out of position, but he had to be in this team. What a player.
#11 : Darren Cox (Annaduff). Pivotal as per usual for Annaduff, wasn't to be for him in the final. I wonder is the weight of annaduff weighing on this young man's shoulders.
#12 : Ben Guckian (St Marys) Another young man who will expect a number of county medals. Top class young man and expect to see him at the helm for Leitrim for years to come
#13 : Jonathan Boyle (Bornacoola) Man of the match in the junior final. Great day for the young man. Wonder will he be brought into the county setup.
#14 : Keith Beirne (Mohill) He has his critics, but stepped up in the replayed final. Top player
#15 : Tom Prior (Ballinamore) Incredible in both finals, Ballinamore's talisman. Excited to see him in NFLD3 in the new year.

footballexpertgyatt (Leitrim) - Posts: 6 - 22/10/2024 14:48:25    2576370

Someone has dragged Steven Poacher's name into the mix….
Can anyone envisage an O'Hara/Poacher combination!!!

I can't imagine the County Board baulking at some additional gear - based on last years accounts we must be nearly the best outfitted and equipped squad in the country. A red herring no doubt but shur' - Iookit!!!

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 713 - 22/10/2024 14:56:33    2576373

Replying To farneygael3:  "Heard Mickey left because of disagreement with board. Was asking for equipment to drive the camp on and was told no. Joyce then asked him in after seeing he was available."
Don't blame the board in this instance, he wanted a bag of those plastic marker yokes teams use in the warm up and for training drills. The board rightly felt they invested more than enough during the previous 3 years. Anyway happy ending as a publican has sponsored the training aids.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 516 - 22/10/2024 15:01:12    2576375

Replying To farneygael3:  "Heard Mickey left because of disagreement with board. Was asking for equipment to drive the camp on and was told no. Joyce then asked him in after seeing he was available."
A CAVAN MAN DISAGREEING ABOUT MONEY..... HARDLY

County Board should not be concerned about money invest invest invest into GAA games - every other county is at it, thats why we are falling behind. Football and Hurling should be invested in. We will always find the money in some shape or form.
Fair play to the hurling board on their appointment - Finally it looks like Hurling in the county is getting back some respect it deserves. Titanic battle in the hurling county final at the weekend also!

Pushup567 (Leitrim) - Posts: 5 - 22/10/2024 15:17:48    2576382

Replying To martinjoe:  "Don't blame the board in this instance, he wanted a bag of those plastic marker yokes teams use in the warm up and for training drills. The board rightly felt they invested more than enough during the previous 3 years. Anyway happy ending as a publican has sponsored the training aids."
Waffle!

Leitrim01 (Leitrim) - Posts: 12 - 22/10/2024 15:25:30    2576385

Replying To leitrimfan123:  "Incorrect. You should change your name because you clearly don't know all. Killer ( Cillian McGloin ) scored Melvin Gaels first goal to inspire their Istanbul like come back. He also set up the winner.

Pete McGowan played a pivotal part in the victory too. Him booting the ball at a drumshanbo lady in the crowd was the turning point in the game.

So both are worthy mentions!!!"
Incorrect yourself. It was Shane McGloin the brother of Cillian McGloin who scored the first goal. He was also their captain.
Seems to be two lads trying to make a shambles out of this forum in yourself and this self-proclaimed man from Marys.

sillyjambon12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 5 - 22/10/2024 16:10:36    2576396

Lost a lot of respect for Mickey Graham after all this. Should never have accepted the job if he had any doubts over anything he's left us in the lurch because a better offer came along.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 237 - 22/10/2024 16:51:49    2576410

Think Leitrim are better off with someone committed to giving us the best of their abilities in management no matter how bad/good/indifferent that may be than someone happy to be the second or third banana in another county, so perhaps in a way today is a positive day for the county to move forward as such for me.

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 7 - 22/10/2024 18:57:25    2576433

Mickey Graham walking out and taking up a coaching role with Galway is the ultimate slap in the face to the county board and the players themselves.
Anyone know what budget the co board have to spend on a new Manager

harleys (Leitrim) - Posts: 308 - 22/10/2024 19:16:42    2576440

Mikey Graham to Galway

CorkLiamMcCarthy24 (Cork) - Posts: 33 - 22/10/2024 21:28:19    2576463

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "Someone has dragged Steven Poacher's name into the mix….
Can anyone envisage an O'Hara/Poacher combination!!!

I can't imagine the County Board baulking at some additional gear - based on last years accounts we must be nearly the best outfitted and equipped squad in the country. A red herring no doubt but shur' - Iookit!!!"
Niall Carew is linked now also, seems to jump from gig to gig without making any progress with any team he manages.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3471 - 23/10/2024 06:57:30    2576486

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "Think Leitrim are better off with someone committed to giving us the best of their abilities in management no matter how bad/good/indifferent that may be than someone happy to be the second or third banana in another county, so perhaps in a way today is a positive day for the county to move forward as such for me."
Maybe it could be a blessing in disguise. That GAA folk in Leitrim realise that we have to develop our own coaches and depend on ourselves. Needs a culture change at all levels of the organisation in Leitrim but ultimately this debacle won't be forgotten for a while.

That being said, I've lost a lot of respect for Mickey after this but obviously he's not going to care one bit.... no honour left in GAA. Maybe there wasn't much to start with in the first place.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1003 - 23/10/2024 08:54:41    2576501

Replying To Square_B:  "Maybe it could be a blessing in disguise. That GAA folk in Leitrim realise that we have to develop our own coaches and depend on ourselves. Needs a culture change at all levels of the organisation in Leitrim but ultimately this debacle won't be forgotten for a while.

That being said, I've lost a lot of respect for Mickey after this but obviously he's not going to care one bit.... no honour left in GAA. Maybe there wasn't much to start with in the first place."
If you were promised A B C D E F & G from the county board so you could give the players every opportunity to compete next year, but when you went looking for it you were told you actually could only have A B & C what would you do? Fail on the pitch next year or walk away from a county you've no connection to?

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 38 - 23/10/2024 10:04:53    2576510

Replying To martinjoe:  "Don't blame the board in this instance, he wanted a bag of those plastic marker yokes teams use in the warm up and for training drills. The board rightly felt they invested more than enough during the previous 3 years. Anyway happy ending as a publican has sponsored the training aids."
Ye should throw everything into hurling in Leitrim cus with the football...lets face it its been a disaster from start to finish.

TJH (Sligo) - Posts: 53 - 23/10/2024 10:24:19    2576513

Replying To farneygael3:  "If you were promised A B C D E F & G from the county board so you could give the players every opportunity to compete next year, but when you went looking for it you were told you actually could only have A B & C what would you do? Fail on the pitch next year or walk away from a county you've no connection to?"
Sure he will fail with a county he has no connection to anyway next year, Galway!

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 7 - 23/10/2024 11:05:20    2576522

Replying To TJH:  "Ye should throw everything into hurling in Leitrim cus with the football...lets face it its been a disaster from start to finish."
We in Leitrim stand back in awe at all Sligo GAA have achieved in 140 years of the GAA, it has been a magnificent spectacle.

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 7 - 23/10/2024 11:10:23    2576524