Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To Hatchetman76:  "Square B I generally find myself agreeing with you most of the time, but I do think Andy Moran Is getting the most out of this squad. People beat the drum about the population issue but the reality is there is a massive amount of quality footballers not committing to the panel. Mohill have been the standout team in Leitrim the last 10 years and they had no one in the match day 26, a club like them should have 5/6 players on the county panel. Ballinamore are another club who should have more players on the panel. There is bigger issues at play in the county other than Andy. What's the alternative/solution do you think ?"
yeah there's bigger issues behind the scenes clearly, i also noticed last week in the minor game versus Sligo, there was no one from Mohill, Ballinamore or Carrick starting. i think Mohill had 1 as a sub and 1 Carrick man injured, does this indicate a shift in power for the future or something else.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 71 - 24/05/2024 13:54:15    2546827

Replying To eoinog:  "God, New York have really got into your mindset. Before we played them I said that we would hammer them and posters said I was too cocky. That's exactly what we did. Move on, it's history and you can't change it"
Timely reminder you beat them by just 4pts in NY in 2022 and were level with three mins to go.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 87 - 24/05/2024 16:11:53    2546872

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "Timely reminder you beat them by just 4pts in NY in 2022 and were level with three mins to go."
Timely reminder, we won.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1748 - 25/05/2024 07:26:18    2546898

Replying To Hatchetman76:  "Square B I generally find myself agreeing with you most of the time, but I do think Andy Moran Is getting the most out of this squad. People beat the drum about the population issue but the reality is there is a massive amount of quality footballers not committing to the panel. Mohill have been the standout team in Leitrim the last 10 years and they had no one in the match day 26, a club like them should have 5/6 players on the county panel. Ballinamore are another club who should have more players on the panel. There is bigger issues at play in the county other than Andy. What's the alternative/solution do you think ?"
It's been all said before on this page by myself & others. It's well known that this 'project" has cost an absolute fortune. By the end of it all you'd have another pitch relayed in Cloone if you wanted, phenomenal money for a county of Leitrim's size & resources. Anyhow we'll move on & leave it at that... my initial point was related to a stupid comment about IF we meet NY in the TC, I wasn't wanting to talk again about the wider issues we have in Leitrim.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 866 - 25/05/2024 13:06:13    2546958

Replying To eoinog:  "Timely reminder, we won."
Barely

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 87 - 25/05/2024 18:49:42    2547016

I would not look beyond whoever we get in the preliminary QF, they'll all want us too and will set their stalls out like NY did last year.
A good showing against Kildare world not go amiss, might makes teams respect us

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 493 - 26/05/2024 12:57:50    2547187

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "I had wondered, without looking it up or knowing anything about it, whether the other counties in Connacht just hadn't bothered to enter this U20 C hurling championship, which left us as the only Connacht representatives and a slot in the All-Ireland semi-final. But then I did look it up, specifically by looking for results on the official GAA website, and I was surprised not to be disappointed. It seems that back in March, Monaghan beat Longford and Fermanagh had a walkover against Louth, and then yesterday, Monaghan beat Cavan, and Leitrim stormed to a 3-14 to 0-7 victory over Fermanagh! So we're into an All-Ireland final on May 25th or 26th. Hon Leitrim!"
Hon Leitrim! 1-17 apiece after extra time, but Leitrim won 2-1 on penalties. Nice to win an All-Ireland in something! And win a penalty shootout! Fair play to the lads for digging in.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1089 - 26/05/2024 13:35:10    2547195

I see Leitrim minors (u17) defeated London in the Tier 3 All Ireland Preminary Quarter Finals.

Does anyone know more about this competition, who are the teams involved and results to date.

Anyway well done Leitrim, following an excellent performance but 1pt defeat by Sligo in the Connacht Shield final.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 482 - 26/05/2024 15:20:22    2547215

Replying To joeman123:  "I see Leitrim minors (u17) defeated London in the Tier 3 All Ireland Preminary Quarter Finals.

Does anyone know more about this competition, who are the teams involved and results to date.

Anyway well done Leitrim, following an excellent performance but 1pt defeat by Sligo in the Connacht Shield final."
Was it arsenal or spurs they were playing

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 278 - 26/05/2024 19:53:39    2547373

Replying To Timmy86:  "Was it arsenal or spurs they were playing"
Thank you for your idiotic comment.You don't have to contribute, we will get along without you.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 482 - 26/05/2024 20:36:57    2547401

Would love to see a full forward line of Darren cox , Tom prior and Jack Flynn against Kildare . Three big units

leitrimman1994 (Leitrim) - Posts: 26 - 27/05/2024 07:33:58    2547430

Called into Dromod Friday evening on way from work to see Cloone and Bornacoola, first time I witnessed Eamonn Dolan reffing a game and I have to say I enjoyed his performance let alot go kept game flowing and the highlight for me was booking fellow ref Fintan McBrien Cloone manager. I was impressed and while plenty of mistakes made by both teams I enjoyed it.

Weaternpro (Leitrim) - Posts: 51 - 27/05/2024 11:36:18    2547541

An amalgamation. Called A***spur. Happy?
I did not know London had a minor team, great to see and they do not need village idiots making little of them, GAA abroad is a great thing and even better to see locals rather than imports making their mark. Not a great outing for them but it may well have been their first outing of the year vs an Irish side, the seniors have caught a few teams on their day and hopefully their underage sides will improve as the years go on

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 493 - 27/05/2024 12:27:02    2547582

Replying To gaelsboy:  "I would not look beyond whoever we get in the preliminary QF, they'll all want us too and will set their stalls out like NY did last year.
A good showing against Kildare world not go amiss, might makes teams respect us"
A good showing vs Kildare would certain tell where we're at but it's hard to know how serious Kildare will take the game... they bet Longford fairly well so could afford to rest a few players. Either way everyone, as you say, will want us in the prelim QF (making the assumption we do not beat Kildare which I don't think we will).

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 866 - 28/05/2024 15:14:08    2547939

Replying To joeman123:  "I see Leitrim minors (u17) defeated London in the Tier 3 All Ireland Preminary Quarter Finals.

Anyway well done Leitrim, following an excellent performance but 1pt defeat by Sligo in the Connacht Shield final."
Tier 3 is a new Minor competition involving 8 counties from 4 Provinces who failed to qualify for B competition . Leitrim meet Down in Semi Final this weekend possibly in Cavan.Dow we're well beaten by Tyrone & Donegal in Ulster but will be favourites. However this is a good Leitrim side who had a one sided Victory over London . Fingers crossed but great to get another game & with Kelly & I'Rourke up front anything is possible.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 135 - 28/05/2024 15:22:47    2547947

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Tier 3 is a new Minor competition involving 8 counties from 4 Provinces who failed to qualify for B competition . Leitrim meet Down in Semi Final this weekend possibly in Cavan.Dow we're well beaten by Tyrone & Donegal in Ulster but will be favourites. However this is a good Leitrim side who had a one sided Victory over London . Fingers crossed but great to get another game & with Kelly & I'Rourke up front anything is possible."
By Jesus ur deftly glass half full ,sligo are a poor minor side ,but they drew with galway and beat ye twice ,and there in the 2nd tier ....and u think that leitrim are a good side after losing every game up to beating a London team!!!and yer in tier 3 ,...Jesus if ye won a connacht title ur head would blow with excitement

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 278 - 28/05/2024 16:13:07    2547969

I think I know this poster Timmy86- I work with him in Sligo. I'm off work this week and also on Monday for the bank holiday so - See You Next Tuesday Timmy

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 648 - 28/05/2024 16:47:36    2547976

Replying To Timmy86:  "By Jesus ur deftly glass half full ,sligo are a poor minor side ,but they drew with galway and beat ye twice ,and there in the 2nd tier ....and u think that leitrim are a good side after losing every game up to beating a London team!!!and yer in tier 3 ,...Jesus if ye won a connacht title ur head would blow with excitement"
To be totally and utter fair about it...what is it to you?

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 87 - 28/05/2024 18:58:36    2548004

Replying To Timmy86:  "By Jesus ur deftly glass half full ,sligo are a poor minor side ,but they drew with galway and beat ye twice ,and there in the 2nd tier ....and u think that leitrim are a good side after losing every game up to beating a London team!!!and yer in tier 3 ,...Jesus if ye won a connacht title ur head would blow with excitement"
Compared to previous years the current Leitrim Minors are the best we have produced to date. Sligo youth development is ahead of us at underage as indicated by success of U20 team. We like to encourage our youngsters to do well unlike you who denigrates you own teams. Ultimately not interested in your negativity so make your comments in the Sligo forum & see the reaction.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 135 - 29/05/2024 15:49:39    2548187

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Compared to previous years the current Leitrim Minors are the best we have produced to date. Sligo youth development is ahead of us at underage as indicated by success of U20 team. We like to encourage our youngsters to do well unlike you who denigrates you own teams. Ultimately not interested in your negativity so make your comments in the Sligo forum & see the reaction."
Couldn't agree more

Good luck to the team against a very strong Down outfit who are hot favourites and were narrowly beaten by Tyrone.

I hear they also beat Meath

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 482 - 29/05/2024 16:56:01    2548204