Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To The_analyser:  "Positional changes yes but Cunningham has since I hear opted for experience lads over lads making their first championship starts so probably only 1 or 2 changes now. Changing tact this late is odd, focusing more on the opposition and potential match ups perhaps? County board PRO unable to publish a team with such dillying dallying."
I'm guessing he might be keeping the players guessing too?
Rumour of same starting 15 as the last day but I suspect that was the team sent to the programme printers.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1400 - 11/06/2022 10:13:35    2423871

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "I'm guessing he might be keeping the players guessing too?
Rumour of same starting 15 as the last day but I suspect that was the team sent to the programme printers."
Kilroy in for Donie Smith the only change. Can't see that team starting

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1043 - 11/06/2022 11:22:50    2423884

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "I'm guessing he might be keeping the players guessing too?
Rumour of same starting 15 as the last day but I suspect that was the team sent to the programme printers."
Roscommon expected to win but it's probably one that might go to the wire. Clare are no bad outfit. I would not rule out them winning

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 11/06/2022 11:23:13    2423885

So according to the match day programme Donie Smith is dropped and Niall Kilroy takes his place. Be interesting to see if this is the team to start. I feel in championship matches Donie offers more coming off the bench so maybe no bad thing. Finish the game with a stronger team potentially especially if Diarmuid comes on for Cox and McCormack replaces Murray. Keith Doyle or Shane Cunnane to replace Eddie Nolan and one other forward also maybe. Really nice blend of players in our squad so hopefully we get to enjoy at least one more day out with this set of players. Best of luck everyone

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 103 - 11/06/2022 11:32:27    2423887

For all the talk here of changes, there is just one. Niall Kilroy in for Donie Smith. The captain is unlucky. He wasn't bad against Galway but was taken off. Our Defence was as open as the Red Sea but no changes there. Kilroy as a sweeper looks likely. No start again for Diarmuid Murtagh. Very little imagination in this team selection after Salthill but fingers crossed. Hope we can get our first senior championship win in Croke park since the sunny days of August 1980 when Charlie Haughey was Taoiseach, Margaret Thatcher was British Prime Minister and Jimmy Carter was President of the United States of America.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 11/06/2022 11:38:30    2423890

Replying To eoinog:  "Roscommon expected to win but it's probably one that might go to the wire. Clare are no bad outfit. I would not rule out them winning"
I'd say Roscommon people well know Clare are no bad team from the last two close league encounters in Hyde Park and the championship exit in 2016.

To others a better system and structure to the team that was displayed in Connacht final should be enough for Roscommon win this game.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 11/06/2022 11:48:20    2423892

Replying To endgame:  "For all the talk here of changes, there is just one. Niall Kilroy in for Donie Smith. The captain is unlucky. He wasn't bad against Galway but was taken off. Our Defence was as open as the Red Sea but no changes there. Kilroy as a sweeper looks likely. No start again for Diarmuid Murtagh. Very little imagination in this team selection after Salthill but fingers crossed. Hope we can get our first senior championship win in Croke park since the sunny days of August 1980 when Charlie Haughey was Taoiseach, Margaret Thatcher was British Prime Minister and Jimmy Carter was President of the United States of America."
Can't get over Hugh's not starting.. he offers something different to our other defenders.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1043 - 11/06/2022 12:38:42    2423902

Replying To Yondu:  "I'd say Roscommon people well know Clare are no bad team from the last two close league encounters in Hyde Park and the championship exit in 2016.

To others a better system and structure to the team that was displayed in Connacht final should be enough for Roscommon win this game."
Absolutely, no one in Roscommon is taking Clare for granted.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 11/06/2022 12:54:58    2423905

Replying To dave1988:  "Can't get over Hugh's not starting.. he offers something different to our other defenders."
Absolutely mental if no changes in that backline. Surely to God lads need to be kept on their toes after the abysmal defending the last day. Definitely thought Hughes would start. I think Donie coming off the bench could be good but thought D Murtagh earned a start.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 11/06/2022 12:59:13    2423906

Less than 20 mins in and it's the same story. No lessons learned, our defense wide open. Clare strolling through. Then when we break it's so lethargic and giving Clare all the time to organise their defense. An early exit for us if this continues. Why can management not see where the issues lie and shore it up? Very frustrating to watch

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 103 - 11/06/2022 16:08:20    2423939

Replying To ComainRos:  "Less than 20 mins in and it's the same story. No lessons learned, our defense wide open. Clare strolling through. Then when we break it's so lethargic and giving Clare all the time to organise their defense. An early exit for us if this continues. Why can management not see where the issues lie and shore it up? Very frustrating to watch"
This is absolutely chronic. Defence all over the place. No one able to follow their runners. Unfortunately some poor finishing from us. Very little aggression and ponderous again in attack. It's like the Galway game again.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 11/06/2022 16:28:59    2423945

Ffs,
Rossies have bottled it , had them backed as-well

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 11/06/2022 17:28:03    2423963

Nothing short of a disgraceful performance. Even when we were leading comfortably I knew we'd blow it. Just not good enough and a very poorly coached side. Management have to go and I don't say that lightly. Nothing has been learned from previous matches. The only saving grace is we have been spared a hiding in the quarter finals. Well done Clare, they had their homework done and never gave up. Can't see them going any further than the quarter finals but you can be guaranteed they'll make a better effort of it than we would have. Not sure where we go after this, such a disappointing and lame exit once again and the wait goes on to win a championship game in Croker.

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 103 - 11/06/2022 17:30:33    2423966

Replying To ComainRos:  "Nothing short of a disgraceful performance. Even when we were leading comfortably I knew we'd blow it. Just not good enough and a very poorly coached side. Management have to go and I don't say that lightly. Nothing has been learned from previous matches. The only saving grace is we have been spared a hiding in the quarter finals. Well done Clare, they had their homework done and never gave up. Can't see them going any further than the quarter finals but you can be guaranteed they'll make a better effort of it than we would have. Not sure where we go after this, such a disappointing and lame exit once again and the wait goes on to win a championship game in Croker."
Can't believe they lost after getting themselves 5 points up with a few minutes left. Did brilliant to get back into it and finally play with a bit of urgency. Why couldn't they bring that to the first half? Is that management or player's? Tried to be too smart at the end killing time instead of pushing for a few more scores. Shambolic defending led to the penalty.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 11/06/2022 17:48:58    2423975

Replying To eoinog:  "Roscommon expected to win but it's probably one that might go to the wire. Clare are no bad outfit. I would not rule out them winning"
I nailed it and also nailed the bookies

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 11/06/2022 17:51:27    2423976

It's hard to see where management go after this. Things have gone desperately stale. Bar 30 minutes in the second half against Clare, Roscommon have not played well in the championship since 2019.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 11/06/2022 17:56:14    2423980

Well done clare. Knew last week they were a good decent team.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2022 18:15:43    2423984

One of our most depressing championship defeats/exit. We had Clare beat 1-17 to 1-12 ahead yet Clare given the kiss of life with the penalty to turn around the momentum of the match out of nothing.

That will be the end of Cunningham now not that i ever thought he'd stay on for a 5th year but the players tonight will have a long hard look at themselves how they let a quarter final place slip through their fingers but perhaps a blessing in disguise imagine the beating we'd get off Dublin or Kerry.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 11/06/2022 18:17:59    2423986

It was very disappointing day at the office. Really the co board have serious questions to answer

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 11/06/2022 18:49:44    2423999

Replying To The_analyser:  "One of our most depressing championship defeats/exit. We had Clare beat 1-17 to 1-12 ahead yet Clare given the kiss of life with the penalty to turn around the momentum of the match out of nothing.

That will be the end of Cunningham now not that i ever thought he'd stay on for a 5th year but the players tonight will have a long hard look at themselves how they let a quarter final place slip through their fingers but perhaps a blessing in disguise imagine the beating we'd get off Dublin or Kerry."
With that level of defending we'd have got an awful hiding. I know AC will take some of the blame but are we also lacking high quality coaches as a result of resource constraints? Look how Joyce was able to bring in Cian O'Neill to the Galway set up, Mayo have McDonnell, Tomas o se even into Offaly. Are we just not able to get high level coaches in? It really does feel now a once in a generation group of players is being wasted.

Terrible year right across senior, u20 and minor.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 11/06/2022 19:04:11    2424006