Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To rossie4sam:  "Most club teams in Tyrone have a better coaching set up than our senior team now. How are we not asking questions ?"
Whatever point you are trying to make It might have been better than to use a better example than Tyrone whom were knocked out of the senior championship at home by Roscommon this summer and a Tyrone club team has won Ulster senior title since for 22 years!

Goes to show how tough the Roscommon championship is when last year winners and runners up were unable to reach the last 4. Intermediate winner should be a strong rep in the Connacht championship also.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 205 - 22/09/2024 21:57:09    2571326

Replying To Leitrim01:  "Big surprise seeing the two big hitters Boyle and Brigids out of the championship!!! Who's the favourites now, Pearses?"
Boyle looked nothing like big hitters today.
Hard to think they had any County men on the field.
As for the looked like a foul on Niall Daly ...it was to me....but where was Ref positioned and did it maybe look like a clean dispossession to him?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1832 - 22/09/2024 22:24:02    2571334

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Whatever point you are trying to make It might have been better than to use a better example than Tyrone whom were knocked out of the senior championship at home by Roscommon this summer and a Tyrone club team has won Ulster senior title since for 22 years!

Goes to show how tough the Roscommon championship is when last year winners and runners up were unable to reach the last 4. Intermediate winner should be a strong rep in the Connacht championship also."
Tyrone won the all Ireland 3 years ago. They have won 2/3 u20s , the point is not about how good or bad club or county is. Ok so you may actually understand the point . Look at Armagh coaching set up (Donaghy,McKeever , Gilligan)
Galway (divilly,Oneill) mayo (Buckley,rochford) kerry have just revamped theirs , Donegal have 3/4 top lads) what have Roscommon got ? Why are all coaches leaving after 1 year? Why haven't we got 1-2 top coaches replacing them ? Was there a review done ?

rossie4sam (Roscommon) - Posts: 12 - 22/09/2024 23:10:03    2571338

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Boyle looked nothing like big hitters today.
Hard to think they had any County men on the field.
As for the looked like a foul on Niall Daly ...it was to me....but where was Ref positioned and did it maybe look like a clean dispossession to him?"
I think the ref thought Daly was looking for the free to honest. Definite foul with the pull on the arm. Crazy game overall.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1151 - 22/09/2024 23:35:27    2571340

Went to all senior quarter finals this weekend.
What a championship we have. Incredible drama, games and surprises. So much euphoria and disappointment with such fine margins

Yesterday was shock city. I thought Glaveys would win. However at half time I would have easily said oran as they were in the driving seat. Fair play to Glaveys and to win it the way they did will give Oran more nightmares than last year

Faithleachs were deserved winners in kiltoom. An almighty game of football and it's a pity that a game like that had to have a losing team. Clann going man for man for a lot of it contributed to their downfall

Roscommon Gaels will be delighted and will fancy getting to a county final. They controlled the game for large parts and always had Boyle at arms length after their goal mid way through first half

The brigids pearses game. What can I say. As a brigids man I am devastated for our players. They did not turn up. They played for 25 mins in the second half and poor for the rest. Interesting Mooney was not on the line. Seems to always watch games away from the line. No blame anywhere. That is no disrespect to Pearse's who are deserved winners. it is hard defeat but we will bounce back. We have a good management and hope they stay.

Not looking forward to semi final weekend for what might have been but will be going both games as an avid neutral

BrigidsToom (Roscommon) - Posts: 23 - 23/09/2024 00:12:02    2571343

Replying To endgame:  "Some of us have been asking questions about the management of the Roscommon senior football team for some time. As the club quarter finals this weekend show, there are plenty of good footballers in Roscommon. I don't know one Roscommon supporter who thinks Davy Burke is up to it but there he is back next year for season 3 not a bother. Roscommon won three out of thirteen competitive fixtures this season. Not good. I think we have the players to be doing better than that."
For some context all bar one of those 13 matches would have been against Div one opposition and Roscommon had to deal with starters opting out in Conor Daly,Eddie Nolan,Ciaran Murtagh,Cian Mckeon etc then injuries and Brigids extended run didn't help matters and after league relegated most would not have expected Roscommon to reach the last 8 of the championship. I could make a case that players have reachd close to their celling as Since 2015 Roscommon have either won the Div 2 title or played in Div 1 a record that your neighbours Leitrim,Sligo,Offaly,Longford and Westmeath would love to have over the last decade.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3461 - 23/09/2024 02:01:50    2571347

Boyle looked like a team who didn't want to be there today apart from a ten minute spell. Gaels should have won by 5 or 6

jimmy11 (Roscommon) - Posts: 18 - 23/09/2024 03:39:18    2571348

Replying To new comer:  "Oran will be sick, but they can only blame themselves.."
and the ref, as a neutral i attended oran by far the better team and should have been out of sight. But mother of god i dont know what the ref was looking at

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 769 - 23/09/2024 08:20:27    2571357

Took in all 4 Championship games at the weekend (some via ros GAA TV):

Pearses v Brigit's: Pearses thoroughly deserving of their victory. St. Brigit's looked a little bit flat at times and Pearses were well set up. Unfortunate not to have a free for the victory in normal time but Paul Carey showed his class in extra time with some fine scores. Brian Derwin a big loss for the Kiltoom men. Niall Daly's impact off the bench was huge and helped Pearses over the line. They will fancy the title now but after the weekend will not be underestimating any team left.

St. Faithleachs v Clann na Gael: Did not see this result coming but what a game of football. Some great scores from both teams across the 80 minutes. Diarmuid Murtagh was excellent, drove his team on when they needed it. Jonathan Hussey, James Browne, Ciarain Murtagh and David Rooney all chipping in with scores aswell. Clan will have some soul searching to do - lucky to get the extra time opportunity and still could not get the win. Fair play to both teams.

Boyle v Roscommon Gaels: Roscommon Gaels are tipping along nicely and are now a real contender for the county title. Boyle were poor and looked really flat throughout, hoping for some inspirational moments from Cian McKeon and Donie Smith which came at times. Purcell, Conlon and Walsh impressive for Ros Gaels. Roscommon Gaels always looked comfortable and deserving winners.

Glaveys v Oran: Oran again have failed to deliver on the big stage. There will be frustration amongst the group how they managed to let a lead like that slip. Glaveys will be delighted and are a team to be reckoned with. They are a strong team unit and with Glennon and the Henghans they have match winners at their disposal.

A great weekend of upsets. More to come in 2 weeks time hopefully. Predicting a Pearses v Ros Gaels final but I have a feeling St. Faithleach's could cause an upset and will now fear no team after the weekend, similar to Michael Glaveys who will be written off by everyone.

Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 58 - 23/09/2024 09:55:36    2571385

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "For some context all bar one of those 13 matches would have been against Div one opposition and Roscommon had to deal with starters opting out in Conor Daly,Eddie Nolan,Ciaran Murtagh,Cian Mckeon etc then injuries and Brigids extended run didn't help matters and after league relegated most would not have expected Roscommon to reach the last 8 of the championship. I could make a case that players have reachd close to their celling as Since 2015 Roscommon have either won the Div 2 title or played in Div 1 a record that your neighbours Leitrim,Sligo,Offaly,Longford and Westmeath would love to have over the last decade."
For some further context, a team that played in Division 2 won the All Ireland title. I agree with Rossie4sam. Has there been a Review of Roscommon's season by the County Board. Meath had a review and Colm O'Rourke is gone. Mayo had a review and Kevin McStay remains. We have two coaches gone after one year, a season that saw relegation, not a sniff of a Connacht Final and one good win in Tyrone that got us to an All Ireland quarter final ( despite having lost three matches) where we lost by 6 points. Why no review of all of that. Also no disrespect to Leitrim, Sligo, Longford or Westmeath but Roscommon have a far stronger gaa tradition than any of those counties. Offaly are a serious gaa county but their senior footballers have been in the doldrums for a long time.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2288 - 23/09/2024 13:27:35    2571446

Replying To rossie4sam:  "Tyrone won the all Ireland 3 years ago. They have won 2/3 u20s , the point is not about how good or bad club or county is. Ok so you may actually understand the point . Look at Armagh coaching set up (Donaghy,McKeever , Gilligan)
Galway (divilly,Oneill) mayo (Buckley,rochford) kerry have just revamped theirs , Donegal have 3/4 top lads) what have Roscommon got ? Why are all coaches leaving after 1 year? Why haven't we got 1-2 top coaches replacing them ? Was there a review done ?"
Armagh had to suffer plenty of bad results and early championship exits and dropped to Div 3 in the league under their current manager before reaching the promised land in July. Galway didn't know if they were coming or going in Div 2 stuck down there for about 6 years before rising with Walsh in charge. Under Joyce still dropped back down before bouncing straight back to Div 1. It takes time and patience to build team. You need big money for high profile named coaches and to keep them on for a few years and even then a rookie coach can be better than some of those coaches who have used the media to build up their profile,

How much of Roscommon's available money is currently going into the Redevelopment of Hyde Park and the planned COE in Roscommon town?

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 205 - 23/09/2024 13:54:10    2571452

Replying To endgame:  "For some further context, a team that played in Division 2 won the All Ireland title. I agree with Rossie4sam. Has there been a Review of Roscommon's season by the County Board. Meath had a review and Colm O'Rourke is gone. Mayo had a review and Kevin McStay remains. We have two coaches gone after one year, a season that saw relegation, not a sniff of a Connacht Final and one good win in Tyrone that got us to an All Ireland quarter final ( despite having lost three matches) where we lost by 6 points. Why no review of all of that. Also no disrespect to Leitrim, Sligo, Longford or Westmeath but Roscommon have a far stronger gaa tradition than any of those counties. Offaly are a serious gaa county but their senior footballers have been in the doldrums for a long time."
Armagh was unlucky to get relegated in 2023, had Mayo not played their 2nd string team against Monaghan it would be Monaghan down instead of them. Next year will be Armagh's 4th year in Div 1 in the last 5 years. Div 2 should allow Roscommon win more games than they could in Div 1 this year with the issues they had to deal with that I already highlighted.

Meath made no improvement under O'Rourke and that nostalgia appointment made no sense to begin with. Mayo's two years under McStay was last 8 12 point beating and this summer not reaching the last 8. Review was to be had midway through his 4 year term and will probably need a good championship next summer to last 4 years.

Davy Burke said yesterday a review was had and all systems go for what was agreed three year term. If I recall right you are the same poster that wanted Anthony Cunningham gone after two years and was kept for 4, Armagh slogged it out for ten years under Mcgeeney before the county board trust and tolerance was rewarded.

GAA tradition only gets a team so far. You shouldn't lose sight of where Roscommon have been the last decade and remember before it 2014 to 2005 Roscommon was a Div 3 team and even dropped to Div 4 one year.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3461 - 23/09/2024 14:19:40    2571458

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Armagh was unlucky to get relegated in 2023, had Mayo not played their 2nd string team against Monaghan it would be Monaghan down instead of them. Next year will be Armagh's 4th year in Div 1 in the last 5 years. Div 2 should allow Roscommon win more games than they could in Div 1 this year with the issues they had to deal with that I already highlighted.

Meath made no improvement under O'Rourke and that nostalgia appointment made no sense to begin with. Mayo's two years under McStay was last 8 12 point beating and this summer not reaching the last 8. Review was to be had midway through his 4 year term and will probably need a good championship next summer to last 4 years.

Davy Burke said yesterday a review was had and all systems go for what was agreed three year term. If I recall right you are the same poster that wanted Anthony Cunningham gone after two years and was kept for 4, Armagh slogged it out for ten years under Mcgeeney before the county board trust and tolerance was rewarded.

GAA tradition only gets a team so far. You shouldn't lose sight of where Roscommon have been the last decade and remember before it 2014 to 2005 Roscommon was a Div 3 team and even dropped to Div 4 one year."
I doubt there was a review of any substance by the Roscommon county Board. It's hard to get Managers and Davy Burke will be there next year for better or worse. He was in the papers again yesterday talking about the amount of time involved in managing an inter county team. The Kieran McGeeney situation is unusual in the length of time he's managing Armagh but he has a very professional setup around him with Kieran Donaghy travelling up from Kerry. We'll see who's on Davy's management team next season.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2288 - 23/09/2024 18:59:57    2571514

Replying To endgame:  "I doubt there was a review of any substance by the Roscommon county Board. It's hard to get Managers and Davy Burke will be there next year for better or worse. He was in the papers again yesterday talking about the amount of time involved in managing an inter county team. The Kieran McGeeney situation is unusual in the length of time he's managing Armagh but he has a very professional setup around him with Kieran Donaghy travelling up from Kerry. We'll see who's on Davy's management team next season."
You doubt so basically you are saying Burke is telling lies? it depends on the county board on how hard it is to get managers. Tyrone got one in a matter of weeks while Derry are searching for one since July. Already know from Roscommon's last few appointments that your county board are slow. They currently have to find a new U17 and U20 manager those appointments will be more important to the future than keeping Davy Burke on for his agreed 3 year period with the seniors.

On Armagh, Kieran McGeeney is a forward coach, the main strength of Armagh was defensively,fitness and conditioning and strong bench to call on. All built over the 10 years.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3461 - 24/09/2024 15:53:58    2571643

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "You doubt so basically you are saying Burke is telling lies? it depends on the county board on how hard it is to get managers. Tyrone got one in a matter of weeks while Derry are searching for one since July. Already know from Roscommon's last few appointments that your county board are slow. They currently have to find a new U17 and U20 manager those appointments will be more important to the future than keeping Davy Burke on for his agreed 3 year period with the seniors.

On Armagh, Kieran McGeeney is a forward coach, the main strength of Armagh was defensively,fitness and conditioning and strong bench to call on. All built over the 10 years."
Minor and u 20 managers decided on according to those in the know.
When it will be Officially announced....God knows.
I hear Lavin (understandably), Connolly and unfortunately Eoin McCormack not committing next year.
Davy and company may have some big decisions to make re the panel and team selections.
Being in D2 makes experimenting more feasible but still need to finish top half of table to avoid TC.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1832 - 24/09/2024 17:36:33    2571653

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "You doubt so basically you are saying Burke is telling lies? it depends on the county board on how hard it is to get managers. Tyrone got one in a matter of weeks while Derry are searching for one since July. Already know from Roscommon's last few appointments that your county board are slow. They currently have to find a new U17 and U20 manager those appointments will be more important to the future than keeping Davy Burke on for his agreed 3 year period with the seniors.

On Armagh, Kieran McGeeney is a forward coach, the main strength of Armagh was defensively,fitness and conditioning and strong bench to call on. All built over the 10 years."
Read what I said Lover before jumping in. No review of substance. What's your county because I doubt it's Roscommon. 80 years ago today since Roscommon last won the All Ireland senior football title. Will we e'er see it again. We can only dream. Great to see a statue to Jimmy Murray is to be built in Knockcroghery. A true Roscommon hero and legend.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2288 - 24/09/2024 20:11:04    2571672

Ger McDermott-Roe and Tadgh Lowe called up to Roscommon panel after their great form with Castleknock.

CorkLiamMcCarthy24 (Cork) - Posts: 27 - 24/09/2024 21:00:15    2571681

Delighted to see that Roscommon County Board have been awarded a grant of €383,429 this morning towards building new toilets and dressing rooms in Hyde Park. (well deserved). Fair play to the government for allocating 230 million euro and around 2,000 grant to numerous sports clubs this morning. Pearse Stadium and MacHale Park also getting good grants for floodlighting.
Great to see the Hyde being developed over the last year or two. Hopefully we should be able to hold a Connacht final before too long. Week done to Club Rossie and to the County Board for their efforts.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 614 - 25/09/2024 13:58:36    2571797

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Delighted to see that Roscommon County Board have been awarded a grant of €383,429 this morning towards building new toilets and dressing rooms in Hyde Park. (well deserved). Fair play to the government for allocating 230 million euro and around 2,000 grant to numerous sports clubs this morning. Pearse Stadium and MacHale Park also getting good grants for floodlighting.
Great to see the Hyde being developed over the last year or two. Hopefully we should be able to hold a Connacht final before too long. Week done to Club Rossie and to the County Board for their efforts."
We won't get a CF next year unless we're playing Sligo (or Mayo play Sligo or Leitrim) as we are due away to Leitrim, Mayo and Galway .
Nice to see a good grant coming the way of the Hyde.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1832 - 25/09/2024 14:43:26    2571810

Replying To CorkLiamMcCarthy24:  "Ger McDermott-Roe and Tadgh Lowe called up to Roscommon panel after their great form with Castleknock."
Was Lowe not taken off in most games? Was whipped at half time in one game that was on tv anyway. Not what i would call great form.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1182 - 25/09/2024 15:35:08    2571826