Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To ArmaghAndProud:  "Firstly just wanted to say keep the heads up lads you's will be back. Didnt happen for you yesterday but you's have a decent squad there who can come again. After losing two quarter finals running on penalties we Armagh fans know how horrible it is to go at this stage.

Thought it was a middling enough game myself, especially the first half. Conditions did ruin it a bit for both sides most likely.
Dont think there can be any arguments about the red card. The first yellow could have been red (we got one 2 years ago in the quarter final for the same tackle). Before the 2nd yellow the same player nailed Rian O'Neill on your 21 yard line. Rian got his hand to the ball and the no9 charged straight into Rian - couldnt believe the ref missed it.

Theres been 4/5 posts calling Armagh an average side. I think this is a wee bit disrespectful to be honest lads. We may not be the most exciting team but Geezer and his team has made them hard to beat. Only 2 losses all year (both in league) outside of penos and drew with Galway, hammered Derry and only loss to Donegal on penos in another Ulster final.

Good luck for the future lads, i'm sure we'll meet again."
Only 1 loss in league final and 2 draws in league

cds (Armagh) - Posts: 6 - 30/06/2024 22:03:19    2556083

Replying To D.Hyde:  "Completely agree. If we are still talking about going back to Fergal, I'm afraid we are in bother! Brilliant servant and had good success in the past but hasn't done anything in club management since, don't know how we would expect him to turn this team around now. Same with Curran, as much as I'm sure he would enjoy the attention he would get. Connellan might be a good man to have involved, if he was up for it. Not sure how his personal circumstances are now, hopefully he's good though. I'm sure the players will have their own review of how things are and what they want going forward. If Davy is to stay he has to have an experienced team around him. And he must be willing to listen and give a bit of authority to whoever comes in. He's still young and learning so he needs to be able to take advice/critisism from them. Get that and try to convince Murtagh, McKeon, Daly, Nolan etc back in and we have the makings of a more than decent squad"
I'd prefer Davy is left in seat no doubt he has his quirks but we beat Tyrone n championship this year best result we've had outside of connaght in years it's a shame yesterday didn't play out differently but it is what it is
It's not perfect but we're a small county giving it our absolute all constantly changing managers is not the answer - Armagh and Galway both in semi finals after a few frustrating years for them
Prooves this - we need to give the team and management time the aim for next year
Imo at
Least should be promotion from division 2
And by whatever means back to a qtr final where hopefully we perform

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 626 - 30/06/2024 22:12:16    2556086

Replying To rossy15:  "I'd prefer Davy is left in seat no doubt he has his quirks but we beat Tyrone n championship this year best result we've had outside of connaght in years it's a shame yesterday didn't play out differently but it is what it is
It's not perfect but we're a small county giving it our absolute all constantly changing managers is not the answer - Armagh and Galway both in semi finals after a few frustrating years for them
Prooves this - we need to give the team and management time the aim for next year
Imo at
And by whatever means back to a qtr final where hopefully we perform"
As a Roscommon man i respect your opinion but i have very little time for how Burke carries himself. Deflects blame away from himself when his team is clearly not performing.

Tyrone aren't exactly flying either despite the good result against them they have had major issues the scenes the past couple of years. And Galway were in the final 2 years ago and have had no luck with injuries so PJ was in a strong position. I think Burke will step away after discussions with the county board and be in the Sunday Game studio next year.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7944 - 30/06/2024 23:22:33    2556104

Replying To rossy15:  "I'd prefer Davy is left in seat no doubt he has his quirks but we beat Tyrone n championship this year best result we've had outside of connaght in years it's a shame yesterday didn't play out differently but it is what it is
Imo at
And by whatever means back to a qtr final where hopefully we perform"
What's the point in playing one good game all championship. Is that our standard now beat one decent team and think its bloody mighty. Burke came out and said Armagh are a seriously well conditioned team so the question is why aren't we a seriously conditioned team to ? Why can't we put a few consistent performances together? Why do our forwards go from hot to cold. Burke is the manager he's over all this. I think he had no backroom team or decent coaches this year. Is that part of the problem. If burke stays on and it's the same backroom team as this year then forget about us progressing next year. I think if we have everyone available next year we will be close to promotion but change is needed

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1114 - 01/07/2024 08:23:00    2556123

Couple of days to reflect on the game at the weekend. Firstly, fair play to Galway, an outrageous win and well deserved against the Dubs. Kerry and Donegal just that bit too strong on the day for Derry and Louth.

On ourselves, we definately played into Armagh's hands and gameplan. They forced us into mistakes and were well set up, broke well and punished us with some accurate shooting. Our shooting was way off and when Diarmuid Murtagh and Daire Cregg are off the boil, we really struggle to notch up scores at important times. A red card changes a game but Armagh looked in control when it was 15 v 15 anyway.

Brian Stack was very impressive. Also thought Higgins had a decent game (was unlucky to be stripped for the 2nd goal). Conor Cox never stopped showing for ball, not his biggest fan but thought he had a good game also.

Hard to reflect on this season. Bar the Tyrone game, we were relatively poor across the whole year. Hard to see Davy Burke staying on, some fresh blood is probably needed. I think we'l look back in a few years at how good a chance Saturday was. But not meant to be.

The best of luck to Galway/Armagh in the semi finals.

Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 35 - 01/07/2024 09:22:57    2556140

Who do ye want as new manager?
Who do ye want as coaches (possibly more important than manager these days)?
What's the S&C plan for the lads from the U20s who'll be overage next tear?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1647 - 01/07/2024 10:31:53    2556151

Apart from a great performance in Omagh, the team never really got going this year. If you look at the teams left, they've all had good runs of momentum (Armagh unbeaten apart from penalties, Kerry unbeaten, Galway unbeaten and Donegal with one defeat to Cork). We end up with 4 championship defeats. Armagh are a very solid outfit and battle hardened at the QF stage. That's where we need to be more often if looking to progress. It's frustrating that the two goals ended up being the difference in the end and despite being very well taken, were down to basic errors from us. I feel sorry for R Fallon but when you are on a yellow you can't put yourself in that position. A touch of inexperience and he will learn from that. A very tough assignment for Armagh now but they at least now have the fresh experience of winning in Croker and it is possible to frustrate Kerry. Whether as Canavan said, their big forwards will be as poor the next day remains to be seen.

For Roscommon next year, do we use Div 2 to try and build a wider panel? Or can we even afford to do that? Louth will cause us plenty of trouble, Cork seem to be a team that is slowly progressing and add in Monaghan who will be looking to get back to Div 1 and Cavan who are never straight forward. A few bad results and you might not be getting out of Div 2. We lost some big players this year and just don't have the strength in depth in an age when who comes off the bench decides so many of the big games. Positives from the year I thought was the discovery of Higgins, the upward progession of D Cregg, R Fallon, Cunnane, McCormack and Carroll. I thought Brian Stack really came to the fore as the championship progessed, an absolutely brilliant player. Donie Smith's work rate in games is also excellent. The whole panel and management no doubt put in huge effort and need to be thanked for that.

Looking back on the year it seems the team still hasn't worked out a style of play that works. Conceding way too much in some games and then also struggling to score. Goals win games and we really struggle to create goal chances never mind scoring them. The Cavan game was an outlier really. Does it take a number of years to work out an effective way of playing? Then you look at Donegal and McGuinness works a miracle in less than 12 months.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 944 - 01/07/2024 11:00:11    2556162

Replying To Rossfan93:  "Couple of days to reflect on the game at the weekend. Firstly, fair play to Galway, an outrageous win and well deserved against the Dubs. Kerry and Donegal just that bit too strong on the day for Derry and Louth.

On ourselves, we definately played into Armagh's hands and gameplan. They forced us into mistakes and were well set up, broke well and punished us with some accurate shooting. Our shooting was way off and when Diarmuid Murtagh and Daire Cregg are off the boil, we really struggle to notch up scores at important times. A red card changes a game but Armagh looked in control when it was 15 v 15 anyway.

Brian Stack was very impressive. Also thought Higgins had a decent game (was unlucky to be stripped for the 2nd goal). Conor Cox never stopped showing for ball, not his biggest fan but thought he had a good game also.

Hard to reflect on this season. Bar the Tyrone game, we were relatively poor across the whole year. Hard to see Davy Burke staying on, some fresh blood is probably needed. I think we'l look back in a few years at how good a chance Saturday was. But not meant to be.

The best of luck to Galway/Armagh in the semi finals."
I'd agree with a lot of that. Shooting was off which was down to Armagh pressure but also poor execution. I thought some of our forwards would be tied down but I did not expect all 4 of the main scorers to score only two points from play. We broke at one point on the counter in the second half and there was a definite goal chance on but we were too slow to move the ball. Now we scored a point from it but I think it typified our issues when it comes to creating goal chances all year.

My fear with Davy was that we were going to be a stepping stone to another job. If he does stay we need another high calibre coach in there.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 944 - 01/07/2024 11:24:06    2556168

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "I'd agree with a lot of that. Shooting was off which was down to Armagh pressure but also poor execution. I thought some of our forwards would be tied down but I did not expect all 4 of the main scorers to score only two points from play. We broke at one point on the counter in the second half and there was a definite goal chance on but we were too slow to move the ball. Now we scored a point from it but I think it typified our issues when it comes to creating goal chances all year.

My fear with Davy was that we were going to be a stepping stone to another job. If he does stay we need another high calibre coach in there."
Andy Moran

TJH (Sligo) - Posts: 25 - 01/07/2024 11:33:15    2556174

Replying To dave1988:  "What's the point in playing one good game all championship. Is that our standard now beat one decent team and think its bloody mighty. Burke came out and said Armagh are a seriously well conditioned team so the question is why aren't we a seriously conditioned team to ? Why can't we put a few consistent performances together? Why do our forwards go from hot to cold. Burke is the manager he's over all this. I think he had no backroom team or decent coaches this year. Is that part of the problem. If burke stays on and it's the same backroom team as this year then forget about us progressing next year. I think if we have everyone available next year we will be close to promotion but change is needed"
Also need to remember there wasn't exactly managers and coaches queing up 2 years ago
Changing every couple
Of years is getting this team nowhere
Your giving out on here all year Dave the team haven't made strides under any
Manager in the last number of years beating Tyrone was big if u were in omagh ud know that it's an absolute shame that they didn't perform in croker but losing Ultan and Davy Murray early in addition to a very harsh red didn't help our chances
he tried something different this year which was having us peak for end of championship it very nearly worked out
A new manager will
Come in next year go flat out
In the league get us promoted and we'll probably be flat again come championship
Anyway that's my
Two cents thanks to the lads for their efforts this year!

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 626 - 01/07/2024 11:43:04    2556181

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Who do ye want as new manager?
Who do ye want as coaches (possibly more important than manager these days)?
What's the S&C plan for the lads from the U20s who'll be overage next tear?"
If there is a change in Cork, Kevin Walsh would be a good addition to any coaching team

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 200 - 01/07/2024 11:53:18    2556187

Replying To TJH:  "Andy Moran"
Assuming you want Rosscommon supporters to go to matches next year.....

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7483 - 01/07/2024 12:08:41    2556193

We will never win anything in this new fangled basketball game.
Roscommon could reset the whole thing.
By reverting to the kick and catch game of the 1950s. Of the type that won us two All Irelands.
It was simple then .
You just caught the ball and gave it a forward kick .
No need for coaching or strategic plans or computers.
We still might not win but at least we would lose on our terms.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 350 - 01/07/2024 12:37:07    2556207

Replying To rossy15:  "Also need to remember there wasn't exactly managers and coaches queing up 2 years ago
Changing every couple
Of years is getting this team nowhere
Your giving out on here all year Dave the team haven't made strides under any
Manager in the last number of years beating Tyrone was big if u were in omagh ud know that it's an absolute shame that they didn't perform in croker but losing Ultan and Davy Murray early in addition to a very harsh red didn't help our chances
he tried something different this year which was having us peak for end of championship it very nearly worked out
A new manager will
Come in next year go flat out
In the league get us promoted and we'll probably be flat again come championship
Anyway that's my
Two cents thanks to the lads for their efforts this year!"
Rossy15 I'm giving out because we haven't had anything to be positive about for god's sake. I'm not having a go at players but il definitely question county board and management if I have to. You are saying we haven't professional under any management and I agree so what makes you think sticking with Davy and the backroom team will improve next year. It's all about getting the right people involved and of course that will cost money but the lads Davy brought in this year to replace McHugh and McGowan was very disappointing. If Davy stays on he has to go get 2 class coaches and county board will have to find a way in backing that but he also has to be more open with them and take on there advice. Look at the shambles Donegal were last year and all it took was a top class manager and coaches to turn them into a top team. Their fitness and conditioning is through the roof and I just can't understand how we can't get to that level of fitness and conditioning.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1114 - 01/07/2024 14:01:41    2556256

Replying To worple:  "We will never win anything in this new fangled basketball game.
Roscommon could reset the whole thing.
By reverting to the kick and catch game of the 1950s. Of the type that won us two All Irelands.
It was simple then .
You just caught the ball and gave it a forward kick .
No need for coaching or strategic plans or computers.
We still might not win but at least we would lose on our terms."
This a windup?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1647 - 01/07/2024 14:14:05    2556262

Replying To TheFlaker:  "As a Roscommon man i respect your opinion but i have very little time for how Burke carries himself. Deflects blame away from himself when his team is clearly not performing.

Tyrone aren't exactly flying either despite the good result against them they have had major issues the scenes the past couple of years. And Galway were in the final 2 years ago and have had no luck with injuries so PJ was in a strong position. I think Burke will step away after discussions with the county board and be in the Sunday Game studio next year."
Davy Burke and county board agreed on 3 year term which carries him into the end of the 2025 season and won't be any sit down discussions with the county board other than adding or shaking up Burkes management team for the year ahead.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3827 - 01/07/2024 16:05:09    2556312

Replying To dave1988:  "What's the point in playing one good game all championship. Is that our standard now beat one decent team and think its bloody mighty. Burke came out and said Armagh are a seriously well conditioned team so the question is why aren't we a seriously conditioned team to ? Why can't we put a few consistent performances together? Why do our forwards go from hot to cold. Burke is the manager he's over all this. I think he had no backroom team or decent coaches this year. Is that part of the problem. If burke stays on and it's the same backroom team as this year then forget about us progressing next year. I think if we have everyone available next year we will be close to promotion but change is needed"
"Burke came out and said Armagh are a seriously well conditioned team so the question is why aren't we a seriously conditioned team to ?"

I think there was more context to what he was saying there. All teams are conditioned to a certain level but Armagh was helped with the week break and having the man advantage for all of the 2nd half. Roscommon might have got away with against a less conditioned than Armagh but the scoring after the 2nd goal was 0-4 each which suggests Roscommon's fitness and conditioning is improved from what it was under McStay and Cunningham.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3418 - 01/07/2024 16:45:33    2556326

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "This a windup?"
It may sound like a windup to the youngsters who never saw authentic Gaelic football .

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 350 - 01/07/2024 17:05:34    2556329

Replying To TheFlaker:  "As a Roscommon man i respect your opinion but i have very little time for how Burke carries himself. Deflects blame away from himself when his team is clearly not performing.

Tyrone aren't exactly flying either despite the good result against them they have had major issues the scenes the past couple of years. And Galway were in the final 2 years ago and have had no luck with injuries so PJ was in a strong position. I think Burke will step away after discussions with the county board and be in the Sunday Game studio next year."
I think you could be right here.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1094 - 01/07/2024 17:39:53    2556338

Replying To The_analyser:  "Davy Burke and county board agreed on 3 year term which carries him into the end of the 2025 season and won't be any sit down discussions with the county board other than adding or shaking up Burkes management team for the year ahead."
He might want to leave himself. Also review meetings take place every year. They might not be on the same page.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7944 - 01/07/2024 17:40:34    2556340