Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To endgame:  "Firstly Drax well done to Galway. A brave performance from ye to topple the Dubs. I hope Shane Walsh and Sean Kelly are fit for the semi final and that Galway win it out now. It would be great for Connacht as well as for Galway and we'll all be shouting for ye. As to Roscommon, we can have no complaints or excuses. Yes Fallon was sent off but we were very poor with the 15 men before that anyway. Where were the forwards from Omagh. Not to be seen on gaa's biggest stage. Daire Cregg is young and will learn but what's with Diarmuid Murtagh kicking the ball short into the goalkeeper's hands. How often did he do it. Donie Smith on fire in Omagh was so poor yesterday. We had an All star yesterday who was so anonymous that I had to check a couple of times to see if he was still on the field. Brian Stack was heroic and that's what's needed to grind out a win in Croke park. Armagh are so ordinary and it was a great chance for Roscommon to get to a semi final but we blew it away, threw it away. Happens all the time in Croker. Under Davy or under Anthony. Remember the collapse against Clare two years ago. Roscommon don't have the mental fortitude to get to a semi final, to win in Croke park. It's so disappointing. 44 years of pain and on we go. Roscommon have some very good players but it's hard to know where we go from here. You can train and coach skills but how do you teach a county to know how the win."
2 Smiths, Murtagh, Cox and Cregg - was it 1 point from play between them all? And 8 or 9 scoreable ones missed?
Sadly a glorious chance of making the Semi Final blown against a very average Armagh.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1647 - 30/06/2024 10:30:48    2555887

Not for one second am I buying into this 'we can't win a game and never will in Croke Park'. '40 odd years of pain'. Get over it. Up until last weekend we couldn't beat Tyrone in the Championship. Up until yesterday Galway were nearly a century without beating Dublin in the championship. We all got a bit of a false lift after Omagh but the writing was on the wall all year - we weren't up to speed to compete at the top table this year and had no bench to close out games. So what. Resorting to calling out Diarmuid Murtagh who sometimes single handedly drags us through games. Or Enda Smith our only All-Star in decades. Or any of the new lads just starting to cut their teeth in this sort of environment. Would ya stop and think before posting. We are Roscommon people. We are never going to follow any other team than Roscommon, so let's not cry and throw the toys out every year when they exit the championship. If you want to change the mentality of the Roscommon man or woman or child, then start with yourself. Full post-mortem of the year to follow. Ros Comáin Abú.

SpanishRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 31 - 30/06/2024 11:09:29    2555900

Replying To endgame:  "Firstly Drax well done to Galway. A brave performance from ye to topple the Dubs. I hope Shane Walsh and Sean Kelly are fit for the semi final and that Galway win it out now. It would be great for Connacht as well as for Galway and we'll all be shouting for ye. As to Roscommon, we can have no complaints or excuses. Yes Fallon was sent off but we were very poor with the 15 men before that anyway. Where were the forwards from Omagh. Not to be seen on gaa's biggest stage. Daire Cregg is young and will learn but what's with Diarmuid Murtagh kicking the ball short into the goalkeeper's hands. How often did he do it. Donie Smith on fire in Omagh was so poor yesterday. We had an All star yesterday who was so anonymous that I had to check a couple of times to see if he was still on the field. Brian Stack was heroic and that's what's needed to grind out a win in Croke park. Armagh are so ordinary and it was a great chance for Roscommon to get to a semi final but we blew it away, threw it away. Happens all the time in Croker. Under Davy or under Anthony. Remember the collapse against Clare two years ago. Roscommon don't have the mental fortitude to get to a semi final, to win in Croke park. It's so disappointing. 44 years of pain and on we go. Roscommon have some very good players but it's hard to know where we go from here. You can train and coach skills but how do you teach a county to know how the win."
I don't think it's accurate to say that you blew it or threw it away. At no stage in the 70+ minutes were you ever in a winning position or ever look like winning. You just had a complete system failure, maybe it was your rotten luck in Croker since 1980 that weighs you down. Last week you shot the lights out so it's hard to figure out how everything went completely wrong. You can't blame the 3 games in 14 days because Galway came out after ye and beat Dublin and they were in the same boat. The sending off was correct. In fact the first yellow could have been a red. The marriage between yourselves and Davey hasn't worked so I think divorce proceedings will be issued this week.Theu question is, what level can you achieve? Are you at your peak now?

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1761 - 30/06/2024 11:29:46    2555903

First of all it is imperative to say hard luck to players amd management yesterday and thank them for all their efforts this year as it takes a huge commitment and is nearly 7 days a week now.

Unfortunately yesterday's performance mirrored the two Mayo matches this championship and Kildare and Cork last season. Yesterday was a golden opportunity and we will very unlikely have the same opportunity of getting beaten 3 times already and still only have to beat a Division 2 side to make a semi. The worrying trend is it is the 3rd time in 12 months a Division 2 side has beaten us in championship football.

Yesterday we were on the back foot from the throw-in conceding a pt after 20 seconds. Even allowing for the injuries and sending off we were struggling. We struggle when teams match our shape defensively as we have no target man inside, defenders take 4/5 plays and carry the ball 50/60 hards and inevitably pass it to the corner. Then we kick it back to our keeper who 99% of the time kicks it sideways. No disrespect to him and he has had a decent season but aisde from 1 or 2 moments he offers very little as an offensive goalkeeper. I'm sure it is part of the plan but it is very ineffective.

The most frustrating part of yesterday was we tried nothing different as what had failed miserably against Mayo. Enda Smith or Shane Cunnane at no stage were deployed to edge of square. The main difference Armagh got into our half with kick out and another kick pass while we persisted with slow ponderous lateral build up. Notwithstanding the red card the starting 15 was strange. Centre back and midfield were undercooked and totally exposed on the big pitch. I touched on it earlier this season. Dylan Ruane who was unlucky not to start made a big contribution. Adam McDermott was lively also and surely will feature more next season along with James Fitzpatrick and hopefully the returning Cian McKeon and Ben O Carroll.

Armagh are an average side but have the ¼ final monkey off their back. They scored 2-10 from 2-12 from play. Armagh had 9 wides while Ross had 10. Both teams committed 11 fouls each. What was key for Roscommon last week the right men shooting from right places returned to wrong men shooting and crazy shooting from ridiculous spots. We actually got a free in 1st half from a ridiculous shot from a defender which resulted in our 3rd point.

In terms of where are we now I would say not much has changed. We are in that 7-12 bracket where a numenr of teams can beat each other on any given day. We are a distance third in connacht alone after getting bet 3 times by Mayo and we see where Galway have gone on to beat them and Dublin despite injuries to main players. Factor in relegation on top of it and it's being mainly a poor season alround other than last weeks win in Omagh which has to be taken into context. Tyrone are similar to ourselves and would have been relegated to Div 2 were we not in Division 1 this year. They beat us at home in league, beat Monaghan at home which we also did and rallied v Mayo in 2nd half also at home to get the 2 pts which saved them. They are not the force by any stretch of 3 years ago and the teams of old. Tyrone are not good enough to take any team for granted which they did with us last week and tried to rectify it at half time but horse had already booked and Ross were never going to get caught.

Looking forward and I'm not going to comment on Davy Burkes position and it will be the players and county board to decide if he is given another year. What I didn't like is him coming out putting all the onus on S&C. It is an easy label to throw out. There wasn't an onus on S&C last week as we played on front foot and our style of play for past two seasons has to be questioned and the question has to be asked is he the right person to take this group forward..

Mentioning some of the players who may feature next season there will invariably be 2/3 who will move on who have given great service over the years and some who have only been squad players at best. That is the natural progression of a squad. Shane Killoran returning to Ireland permanently will also be an addition to an area that we have struggled in for years.

On two final notes the support for Ross yesterday was fantastic but had they little to cheer about aside from the two pts aftwr half time. It is very hard to see Ross getting any all star after getting beaten 4 times out of 6 matches and the timid exit yesterday will be costly. 1 or 2 nominations maybe but that will be it unfortunately.

Best of luck to Galway after their enthralling 2nd half display yesterday of ambition, grit and courage and hope they take the bacon home for the province.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 279 - 30/06/2024 12:29:47    2555914

Replying To eoinog:  "I don't think it's accurate to say that you blew it or threw it away. At no stage in the 70+ minutes were you ever in a winning position or ever look like winning. You just had a complete system failure, maybe it was your rotten luck in Croker since 1980 that weighs you down. Last week you shot the lights out so it's hard to figure out how everything went completely wrong. You can't blame the 3 games in 14 days because Galway came out after ye and beat Dublin and they were in the same boat. The sending off was correct. In fact the first yellow could have been a red. The marriage between yourselves and Davey hasn't worked so I think divorce proceedings will be issued this week.Theu question is, what level can you achieve? Are you at your peak now?"
Having watched the two games live in Croke Park the fitness and conditioning between Galway and Roscommon was on a different level now maybe the traveling made a difference in that, Galway at home to Monaghan last week and the rossie up in Omagh plus one can't ignore it was 14 v 15 men for all of the first game yesterday so the 3 games in 14 days would have taken it's toll in that regard. On the sending off for me, correct call on the first yellow and warning instead of 2nd yellow should have been given for the 2nd foul.

Galway scored 17 times from 25 shots yesterday even the missed ones there was no tired looking shots and was great energy got was each score especially in the final 20 minutes.

Roscommon 12 scores from 31 shots with each miss the energy was draining further and it was misses from normally reliable shooters in Diarmuid Murtagh,Donie Smith and Daire Cregg. One point in total from those three yesterday the chances of that happening again?

Davy Burke has already said he plans to stay on. Led Roscommon to the Quarter final against the odds this year for the first time in a while which is something the Roscommon county board will take into account on their season review.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 158 - 30/06/2024 13:19:47    2555928

"The worrying trend is it is the 3rd time in 12 months a Division 2 side has beaten us in championship football"

Armagh played in Div 2 and gained promotion back to Div 1 with a few games to spare making next year to be Armagh's 4th year in Div 1 for the last 5 years. In the last two years they were penalty shoot out away from reaching All Ireland semi finals and in their last 18 championship matches they have only lost one game in 70 minutes and that was when they had to play half of that game with 14 men so SmokieRoss stop trying to suggest this Armagh team are anything similar to Cork who got relegated from Div 1 in 2016 and unable to get back since or Clare who have since dropped to Div 3

I had Armagh down to win by 6 points yesterday and that was mainly based on Roscommon playing their 3rd match in 14 days against a rested Armagh and once the Rossies went down to 14 men before half time whatever chance Roscommon had of causing upset was gone.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3418 - 30/06/2024 13:42:25    2555931

Firstly just wanted to say keep the heads up lads you's will be back. Didnt happen for you yesterday but you's have a decent squad there who can come again. After losing two quarter finals running on penalties we Armagh fans know how horrible it is to go at this stage.

Thought it was a middling enough game myself, especially the first half. Conditions did ruin it a bit for both sides most likely.
Dont think there can be any arguments about the red card. The first yellow could have been red (we got one 2 years ago in the quarter final for the same tackle). Before the 2nd yellow the same player nailed Rian O'Neill on your 21 yard line. Rian got his hand to the ball and the no9 charged straight into Rian - couldnt believe the ref missed it.

Theres been 4/5 posts calling Armagh an average side. I think this is a wee bit disrespectful to be honest lads. We may not be the most exciting team but Geezer and his team has made them hard to beat. Only 2 losses all year (both in league) outside of penos and drew with Galway, hammered Derry and only loss to Donegal on penos in another Ulster final.

Good luck for the future lads, i'm sure we'll meet again.

ArmaghAndProud (Armagh) - Posts: 34 - 30/06/2024 13:54:55    2555935

Replying To SpanishRossie:  "Not for one second am I buying into this 'we can't win a game and never will in Croke Park'. '40 odd years of pain'. Get over it. Up until last weekend we couldn't beat Tyrone in the Championship. Up until yesterday Galway were nearly a century without beating Dublin in the championship. We all got a bit of a false lift after Omagh but the writing was on the wall all year - we weren't up to speed to compete at the top table this year and had no bench to close out games. So what. Resorting to calling out Diarmuid Murtagh who sometimes single handedly drags us through games. Or Enda Smith our only All-Star in decades. Or any of the new lads just starting to cut their teeth in this sort of environment. Would ya stop and think before posting. We are Roscommon people. We are never going to follow any other team than Roscommon, so let's not cry and throw the toys out every year when they exit the championship. If you want to change the mentality of the Roscommon man or woman or child, then start with yourself. Full post-mortem of the year to follow. Ros Comáin Abú."
Lads, ye were fierce unlucky yesterday with Murray and Harney going off injured and having Fallon sent off made it a mountain to climb.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 136 - 30/06/2024 14:11:52    2555937

Replying To peiledoir20:  "What has Davy ever done to you?

Do you know him personally? If you have a word with him man to man. If you don't, Ireland is a small place so it won't be hard to track him down. Again man to man, instead of an anonymous Internet forum."
xx

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7944 - 30/06/2024 14:15:36    2555939

Replying To TheFlaker:  "xx"
He is the man to get outa D2 and back to you big time

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3121 - 30/06/2024 15:06:59    2555953

Replying To Jack L:  "He is the man to get outa D2 and back to you big time"
And if he does it's not the worst place to be for prep for the championship. Armagh,Donegal who played in Div 2 this year gained promotion are now into the semi final. Last year Dublin won the All Ireland from playing Div 2 football and Derry reached the last four of the championship two years in a row from playing in Div 2.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 158 - 30/06/2024 15:54:02    2555966

Replying To dave1988:  "Wouldn't make a bit of difference.. I don't think we have anyone in the county good enough to take the job or be involved. St Brigid's last year had a Kerry man over them and I even see Cunningham has a Offaly and Galway man involved in Brigid's this year. The usual names will be thrown around but I'd be going all in on some one like Malachy O'Rourke but I'd say Micky Harte will be gone if Derry get beat today and Malachy will take the Derry job then. We need a manager that will bring us up to a top standard in fitness and conditioning and change our mentality within the team. The talent is there with 4/5 young lads coming through and hopefully getting Ciaran murtagh Cian McKeon Eddie Nolan Richard Hughes Conor Daly all back next year with a fit Ben O'Carroll and Cathal Heneghan and hopefully no one else dropping out. We will have a strong panel. The decision on burke needs to be made asap and not left like we did with Cunningham. Get everything done early so we give ourselves the best chance to be ready for next January."
It is a poisoned chalice being involved in your own county. Damned if you do and damned if you don't

If Davy stays we give him our full support
If Davy goes I agree that the county board needs to be quick and decisive in who takes over

The players missing this year would have made a huge difference. We cannot afford to lose players of the calibre if Eddie, Cian, Richard and Conor. Ben being injured was very unfortunate

The only Galway man in the St Brigids management is Anthony. James is a club mate of mine, Niall Kelly is Offaly and Owen is from Fermanagh

BrigidsToom (Roscommon) - Posts: 12 - 30/06/2024 16:52:26    2555984

Replying To ArmaghAndProud:  "Firstly just wanted to say keep the heads up lads you's will be back. Didnt happen for you yesterday but you's have a decent squad there who can come again. After losing two quarter finals running on penalties we Armagh fans know how horrible it is to go at this stage.

Thought it was a middling enough game myself, especially the first half. Conditions did ruin it a bit for both sides most likely.
Dont think there can be any arguments about the red card. The first yellow could have been red (we got one 2 years ago in the quarter final for the same tackle). Before the 2nd yellow the same player nailed Rian O'Neill on your 21 yard line. Rian got his hand to the ball and the no9 charged straight into Rian - couldnt believe the ref missed it.

Theres been 4/5 posts calling Armagh an average side. I think this is a wee bit disrespectful to be honest lads. We may not be the most exciting team but Geezer and his team has made them hard to beat. Only 2 losses all year (both in league) outside of penos and drew with Galway, hammered Derry and only loss to Donegal on penos in another Ulster final.

Good luck for the future lads, i'm sure we'll meet again."
the same people who wil praise galway ( rightly so at that ) will call armagh and ulster teams average yet sing the praises of the mayos and kerrys ...kerry had some woefull shots in that game today anybody else and theyd be bashed for wastefull shooting in this case itl be that derry made it a muck game ..same carry on year in year out ..but sure look two ulster teams ( aparrently if you read on here only competitive because we are all average) through to the semis ...best of luck v kerry and fingers crossed we meet in the final

Peadarw (Donegal) - Posts: 42 - 30/06/2024 17:05:56    2555993

I just watched back Davy's post-match interview there. The man seemed devasted. And judging by his and the players reaction together after the Tyrone win, I don't think they're having internal problems like some are probably imagining. I could be wrong. But the easy thing to say now is Burke out, I'm just not sure that's the way to go. Perhaps just let him finish out his final year and put the energy into strengthening his back room with better coaches and selectors, preferably some of them from Roscommon? And don't say there's no one inside Roscommon that's not good enough to be involved in the county setup. It's vital there's some local blood in the heart of it now, so that in the future we can have our own internal manager. (Has a county ever won an All-Ireland with an external manager? Imagine suggesting to the people of Kerry that next year Mickey Harte will be taking over!) I'll throw out some names of who could possibly get involved in our current setup and why, but my knowledge is limited as I live outside the country at the minute and so don't get to club games or see what's happening on the ground level 1. Liam Tully (Got us to our two recent underage all-ireland finals and knows the current new breed of players inside out) 2. Don Connellan (Brought Moycullen their first Galway SFC title) 3. Frankie Dolan (I can't imagine a half-time chat from this lad would do anything other than bring the animal out in ya) 4. Shane Curran (Similar to Frankie re: bringing out the animal. The original roaming keeper. High energy) 5. Fergal O´Donnell (seems to be a very solid footballing mind, managed the minors to an All-ireland, but not sure if he would get involved again after what happened on the McStay ticket). Any more contenders?

SpanishRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 31 - 30/06/2024 17:54:21    2556007

Replying To SpanishRossie:  "I just watched back Davy's post-match interview there. The man seemed devasted. And judging by his and the players reaction together after the Tyrone win, I don't think they're having internal problems like some are probably imagining. I could be wrong. But the easy thing to say now is Burke out, I'm just not sure that's the way to go. Perhaps just let him finish out his final year and put the energy into strengthening his back room with better coaches and selectors, preferably some of them from Roscommon? And don't say there's no one inside Roscommon that's not good enough to be involved in the county setup. It's vital there's some local blood in the heart of it now, so that in the future we can have our own internal manager. (Has a county ever won an All-Ireland with an external manager? Imagine suggesting to the people of Kerry that next year Mickey Harte will be taking over!) I'll throw out some names of who could possibly get involved in our current setup and why, but my knowledge is limited as I live outside the country at the minute and so don't get to club games or see what's happening on the ground level 1. Liam Tully (Got us to our two recent underage all-ireland finals and knows the current new breed of players inside out) 2. Don Connellan (Brought Moycullen their first Galway SFC title) 3. Frankie Dolan (I can't imagine a half-time chat from this lad would do anything other than bring the animal out in ya) 4. Shane Curran (Similar to Frankie re: bringing out the animal. The original roaming keeper. High energy) 5. Fergal O´Donnell (seems to be a very solid footballing mind, managed the minors to an All-ireland, but not sure if he would get involved again after what happened on the McStay ticket). Any more contenders?"
Was Davy's appointment a 2 or 3 year?
Or 2 and consider a 3rd?
I can't recall the details.
Whether the former or latter the CB has a decision to make.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1647 - 30/06/2024 18:37:07    2556018

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Was Davy's appointment a 2 or 3 year?
Or 2 and consider a 3rd?
I can't recall the details.
Whether the former or latter the CB has a decision to make."
It was a three year term according to the press articles at the time.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/davy-burke-returns-to-inter-county-management-after-taking-roscommon-football-reins/42097946.html

SpanishRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 31 - 30/06/2024 18:46:03    2556020

Replying To SpanishRossie:  "I just watched back Davy's post-match interview there. The man seemed devasted. And judging by his and the players reaction together after the Tyrone win, I don't think they're having internal problems like some are probably imagining. I could be wrong. But the easy thing to say now is Burke out, I'm just not sure that's the way to go. Perhaps just let him finish out his final year and put the energy into strengthening his back room with better coaches and selectors, preferably some of them from Roscommon? And don't say there's no one inside Roscommon that's not good enough to be involved in the county setup. It's vital there's some local blood in the heart of it now, so that in the future we can have our own internal manager. (Has a county ever won an All-Ireland with an external manager? Imagine suggesting to the people of Kerry that next year Mickey Harte will be taking over!) I'll throw out some names of who could possibly get involved in our current setup and why, but my knowledge is limited as I live outside the country at the minute and so don't get to club games or see what's happening on the ground level 1. Liam Tully (Got us to our two recent underage all-ireland finals and knows the current new breed of players inside out) 2. Don Connellan (Brought Moycullen their first Galway SFC title) 3. Frankie Dolan (I can't imagine a half-time chat from this lad would do anything other than bring the animal out in ya) 4. Shane Curran (Similar to Frankie re: bringing out the animal. The original roaming keeper. High energy) 5. Fergal O´Donnell (seems to be a very solid footballing mind, managed the minors to an All-ireland, but not sure if he would get involved again after what happened on the McStay ticket). Any more contenders?"
John O'Mahony , a Mayo man managed Galway to All Ireland titles in 1998 and 2001. Most successful Managers though have been in charge of their own county. Jim Gavin in Dublin, Mick O'Dwyer in Kerry, Sean Boylan in Meath and many more. Nigel Dinneen managed our U21s to two All Ireland finals in 2012 and 2014 and I think he was interested in the senior job at some stage. I agree Fergal O'Donnell would be a very safe and solid appointment but he may not want it. It should not be forgotten that bar the win last week in Omagh, Roscommon have been very poor all this season. Yesterday was their fourth defeat in the championship. Davy Burke has a third year but I wonder would he be interested in the Kildare job. I'd prefer change in Roscommon because I don't think his two years in charge have worked but I'd say the County Board will keep Davy if he wants to stay.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2244 - 30/06/2024 19:28:27    2556032

The only one that you mentioned is Don Connellan. The rest you can forget about unless you want us relegated to division 3.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1114 - 30/06/2024 19:38:39    2556038

Replying To dave1988:  "The only one that you mentioned is Don Connellan. The rest you can forget about unless you want us relegated to division 3."
Completely agree. If we are still talking about going back to Fergal, I'm afraid we are in bother! Brilliant servant and had good success in the past but hasn't done anything in club management since, don't know how we would expect him to turn this team around now. Same with Curran, as much as I'm sure he would enjoy the attention he would get. Connellan might be a good man to have involved, if he was up for it. Not sure how his personal circumstances are now, hopefully he's good though. I'm sure the players will have their own review of how things are and what they want going forward. If Davy is to stay he has to have an experienced team around him. And he must be willing to listen and give a bit of authority to whoever comes in. He's still young and learning so he needs to be able to take advice/critisism from them. Get that and try to convince Murtagh, McKeon, Daly, Nolan etc back in and we have the makings of a more than decent squad

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 200 - 30/06/2024 20:18:31    2556050

Replying To D.Hyde:  "Completely agree. If we are still talking about going back to Fergal, I'm afraid we are in bother! Brilliant servant and had good success in the past but hasn't done anything in club management since, don't know how we would expect him to turn this team around now. Same with Curran, as much as I'm sure he would enjoy the attention he would get. Connellan might be a good man to have involved, if he was up for it. Not sure how his personal circumstances are now, hopefully he's good though. I'm sure the players will have their own review of how things are and what they want going forward. If Davy is to stay he has to have an experienced team around him. And he must be willing to listen and give a bit of authority to whoever comes in. He's still young and learning so he needs to be able to take advice/critisism from them. Get that and try to convince Murtagh, McKeon, Daly, Nolan etc back in and we have the makings of a more than decent squad"
I wouldn't be underestimating Fergal O'Donnell. He has a cool and solid football brain. He brought our minors in 2006 from nowhere to All Ireland champions and he got them to believe and not choke on the big day. I think we mostly agree that part of Roscommon's problem is a losing mentality. With respect to the panel, we're unlikely to have all the players available any year. Both Ultan Harney and Ronan Daly who started yesterday were travelling last season and unavailable. Are the players happy with Davy Burke and the management setup this year. Somebody posted here a few weeks ago that the players are not happy with Burke but I haven't heard anything myself. I'm disappointed about yesterday. I just feel that we never gave it a shot at all. Best of luck to Armagh in the semi final. They have plenty of strong athletic players if Mcgeeney would let them play. He seems to be ultra cautious in his approach and that won't beat Kerry. I thought Derry were really poor today. Apart from Shane McGuigan, they have nothing up front. Roscommon have forwards but the attack malfunctioned badly for us yesterday. 12 points won't win you much, not in this game.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2244 - 30/06/2024 21:50:34    2556079