Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To Jack L:  "Looks like promtion to D1 will be between Cavan, Monaghan and Roscommon. Roscommon and Monaghan will be slight favourites."
Yeah roscommon have an all star despite not getting out of their group last year (poor mcmanus) so they should go up win the all ireland, World series and world Cup and a sheep will win the rose of tralee just for the craic

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 24/03/2024 15:18:23    2533081

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "From Derry, to Galway to Clare, your travelling the country looking for that second brain cell. No sign of you finding it anytime soon."
I'm travelling the country and still looking for a roscommon point for the past 30 min while fighting for survival

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 24/03/2024 15:28:12    2533090

Replying To Whestofthewest:  "I'm travelling the country and still looking for a roscommon point for the past 30 min while fighting for survival"
We're relegated and disappointed but we can have no complaints. Take a hike with your trolling. Up the Banner in the League semi final against Tipp.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 24/03/2024 15:37:46    2533098

Replying To Whestofthewest:  "Roscommon wouldn't beat the steelstown team never mind a Derry b team. A county who always think they are 20-30% better than they are and who achieve nothing. As a Derry man living in Galway when I see a fela in a rossie top come into the var I leave. The absolute muck they talk is unbearable. But don't forget they got an all star so basically rhey should have won the all oreland last year. Just read back on this fourm. Post after post of excuse after excuse"
Hope you are enjoying the friendly life and hospitality in the West of Ireland. You are probably meeting the wrong kind of Rossie in bars. There is no great rivalry between our two counties, I find myself supporting the Oak Leaf in most matches including next Sunday's league final as well as the 'Brandywell Boys' on their big days. You have a big Summer ahead , good luck with all that.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 24/03/2024 15:42:42    2533103

Replying To Curlew66:  "Hope you are enjoying the friendly life and hospitality in the West of Ireland. You are probably meeting the wrong kind of Rossie in bars. There is no great rivalry between our two counties, I find myself supporting the Oak Leaf in most matches including next Sunday's league final as well as the 'Brandywell Boys' on their big days. You have a big Summer ahead , good luck with all that."
Fair play lad. Fact is rossie fans are hard to listen to. You are a d2 d3 team but have excuse after excise why Sam didn't come home. Its a well known (fact is the wrong word) but statement we all hear from rossies

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 24/03/2024 15:56:13    2533120

Replying To Curlew66:  "Hope you are enjoying the friendly life and hospitality in the West of Ireland. You are probably meeting the wrong kind of Rossie in bars. There is no great rivalry between our two counties, I find myself supporting the Oak Leaf in most matches including next Sunday's league final as well as the 'Brandywell Boys' on their big days. You have a big Summer ahead , good luck with all that."
Ya can't take this lad seriously, he has multiple accounts on here upticking and attempting to debate with himself and going by whats between the ears I'd wager he's matching with his own multiple tinder accounts. He's over on the Galway thread trying to stir up rubbish there. There's zero Derry Roscommon rivalry, I'd be shocked if he's even from there.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 24/03/2024 15:56:19    2533121

Replying To endgame:  "We're relegated and disappointed but we can have no complaints. Take a hike with your trolling. Up the Banner in the League semi final against Tipp."
Endgame is an apt name

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 24/03/2024 15:58:06    2533124

Very harsh scoreline in a match we were very competitive in for 50 mins and created four big goal chances in that period and wasted them all without even getting a point. Last 20 minutes we most certainly ran of of stream against a Derry team with all of their big hitters on the field who were clinical as we dropped the heads once going 5 points behind.

To be honest I feared relegation and the writing was on the wall when we lost to Tyrone and only drew with Galway. Mad to think we would have stayed up with a win over Galway so a very similar relegation as 2019 and hopefully we bounce back with promotion next year.

Four weeks to prepare for the championship now whereby we'll be big underdogs against Mayo, how we do in the upcoming championship is where we'll be judged for the year Ben O'Carroll,Keith Doyle should be back for the opener is one bit of good news.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 24/03/2024 16:03:32    2533127

Replying To endgame:  "We're relegated and disappointed but we can have no complaints. Take a hike with your trolling. Up the Banner in the League semi final against Tipp."
No complaints, was always going to be an uphill task leaving it to the Derry game to try and stay safe. We had to go for it in that second half and scoreline probably reflects that. However, big improvements needed defensively for championship. Bar the Tyrone game, our margins of defeat were not good in the league. Championship is where the season will be judged now.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 24/03/2024 16:05:33    2533129

Wasn't buying it last week, but there sure seems to be discontent within the group. Mayo will devour us but hopefully we can recover some form in the round robin. The wooden spoon in that competition would I think spell the end for Davy.

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 97 - 24/03/2024 16:10:19    2533136

Div 1 status was secured with that win in Tyrone some weeks ago, were always going to beat Monaghan and the point in Hyde Park was huge one as would be down without it.

Wasn't great today but only lost by two points away to Kerry when it looked like the margin would be a lot bigger. With players coming back from injury should be alright shape to give the expected Connacht final a right good rattle.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 96 - 24/03/2024 16:13:56    2533141

I think Willie stated it aptly earlier. If you don't pay the rent, you will be evicted and that was the case for Monaghan and Roscommon

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 276 - 24/03/2024 17:06:05    2533185

Replying To B&G:  "I think Willie stated it aptly earlier. If you don't pay the rent, you will be evicted and that was the case for Monaghan and Roscommon"
After 42 minutes, the score was 1-8 to 1-8 having gifted Derry a goal and missing a couple of goal chances ourselves. Then Derry outscored us 1-11 to 0-1. Hard to make sense of that. I certainly can't!
Fair play to Derry for proving what an outstanding team they are in that second half and to our near neighbours Leitrim on getting promotion.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 24/03/2024 18:17:37    2533230

Extremely disappointing league for us. The style of football is worrying as we seem afraid to play any type of football. You would pull your hair out watching the football we have played this year. We basically have the same defenders as last year but the difference In communication organisation intensity tackling in unbelievable. That's simply down to management and coaching. We had a good thing going I believe with McGowan and McHugh as coaches last year I know it didn't end well but signs were good. Burke then replaces the two lads with an average coach and let's be honest if you are a player last year and happy with everything then all that happens it's only going one way. It's going to be very hard for us to change this around in a few weeks. This year when some things don't go out way like missing few chances we fall apart and that's down to a poor mentality in the team and no real leaders on the pitch to talk and settle things down. If we get beat by mayo and have poor group stage will burke be there next year?? Also do the county board have a say when the two lads left the backroom team in who burke brings in?

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 24/03/2024 18:50:19    2533252

We weren't good enough this year to stay up and will need drastic changes for championship. There still is time to spring a surprise in The Hyde and we'll have to get behind the lads and support them. Listening to Nigel dineen , we will have to go all out next year to gain promotion as it will be the weakest div 2 in a long time as the heavy hitters will be back in division 1.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 24/03/2024 18:55:24    2533258

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "After 42 minutes, the score was 1-8 to 1-8 having gifted Derry a goal and missing a couple of goal chances ourselves. Then Derry outscored us 1-11 to 0-1. Hard to make sense of that. I certainly can't!
Fair play to Derry for proving what an outstanding team they are in that second half and to our near neighbours Leitrim on getting promotion."
I felt in the first half and start of second half Derry were in second gear. Once we upped it we ran out easy winners. I was a little disappointed with Roscommon to be honest. Seem to have stood still. We played in the Hyde few years back and drew- not much improvement since then. I hope you have a good championship and bounce back next year. And a big shout out to the Roscommon guys sat beside me. Gracious in defeat and good supporters.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 24/03/2024 19:15:04    2533270

Replying To dave1988:  "Extremely disappointing league for us. The style of football is worrying as we seem afraid to play any type of football. You would pull your hair out watching the football we have played this year. We basically have the same defenders as last year but the difference In communication organisation intensity tackling in unbelievable. That's simply down to management and coaching. We had a good thing going I believe with McGowan and McHugh as coaches last year I know it didn't end well but signs were good. Burke then replaces the two lads with an average coach and let's be honest if you are a player last year and happy with everything then all that happens it's only going one way. It's going to be very hard for us to change this around in a few weeks. This year when some things don't go out way like missing few chances we fall apart and that's down to a poor mentality in the team and no real leaders on the pitch to talk and settle things down. If we get beat by mayo and have poor group stage will burke be there next year?? Also do the county board have a say when the two lads left the backroom team in who burke brings in?"
I can't comment on any of the coaches but I do feel Mark McHugh was a great asset. Although I don't think his departure should have meant he went off with the defensive handbook, he did know the standards that are required for success under a meticulous manager like McGuinness. I think you need at least one person in the coaching/managerial team that has that knowledge of being involved in a top tier set-up if we are looking to break into the top 8 bracket. Look at any of the other Div 1 teams, outside of the most recent AI winning teams, all the others have people who have been in and around top tier set-ups. Likewise Donegal and Armagh.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 24/03/2024 19:27:11    2533280

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "I felt in the first half and start of second half Derry were in second gear. Once we upped it we ran out easy winners. I was a little disappointed with Roscommon to be honest. Seem to have stood still. We played in the Hyde few years back and drew- not much improvement since then. I hope you have a good championship and bounce back next year. And a big shout out to the Roscommon guys sat beside me. Gracious in defeat and good supporters."
That's our problem for years now . we get to a certain standard and go back never forward. Ye have a serious team there and won't be far off winning an all Ireland in the next couple of years. Best of luck next weekend

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 24/03/2024 19:43:52    2533286

Lads, was there any reason Jack Duggan wasn't given a chance in the league? He made the bench for 2 league games but didn't see any playing time. He'll be back with Longford if/when Christie is shown the gate here.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 112 - 24/03/2024 19:46:26    2533287

Replying To Frank74:  "Lads, was there any reason Jack Duggan wasn't given a chance in the league? He made the bench for 2 league games but didn't see any playing time. He'll be back with Longford if/when Christie is shown the gate here."
He looks good but off it physically..the thinking is he'll take this year to get up to speed.

spion7 (Roscommon) - Posts: 55 - 24/03/2024 20:32:21    2533307