Roscommon GAA thread

I dont think Davy Burke is up to the job that's just my opinion. Roscommon looked disinterested today. I'd love to know what they are doing at all these training sessions.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 17/03/2024 18:59:57    2531734

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "I dont think Davy Burke is up to the job that's just my opinion. Roscommon looked disinterested today. I'd love to know what they are doing at all these training sessions."
I would not say disinterested, and it has to be taken in the context of key players missing, and Kerry being at full strength apart from Tom Sullivan. I do agree for other reasons that Davy is not the man to take Ross to the next level. Ross never lack passion and are never found wanting in the rough and tumble stakes. Under the previous manager the team were set up better tactics wise, but were just short 2 or 3 really class players. Davy seems to me to be too much a Davy Fitz type manager, never say die, we will show them, etc. A more measured approach is required now, someone who will bring new thinking to the team. As far as the Derry game is concerned, I think you have every chance of winning it. Derry will have one eye on Ulster and will be keen to avoid injuries, so could rest a few key players. Ross have, in the past, had great wins against both Galway and Mayo when the latter were both long odds on. The ref taking charge next Sunday was also in the middle for both of this wins. Galway will not want to go down, but will gamble on surviving on 5 points, rather than risk players who are not 100%, having learned valuable lessons from last year. Kerry will go for it, not because they want to get to the final but because this is the last meaningful game until the round robin.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 499 - 17/03/2024 19:47:51    2531758

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Team selected appears to be more focused on Keeping the Kerry score down to be the competitive. Easier said that done when you take into account Kerry have selected their strongest available team and Roscommon are not defending as well as a team as last year when they lost by 3 points and held Kerry to 1-12. I think the margin will be 6 points this time 1-11 to 1-17."
Before anyone asks I don't have the lottery numbers after that prediction. Should have been 1-16 as the Clifford penalty was kicked wide. Today showed if not already known that Roscommon have regressed from last year and with the short turnaround to the championship it will be hard to improve on league performances and have what would be considered a good championship.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 17/03/2024 20:26:51    2531781

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Before anyone asks I don't have the lottery numbers after that prediction. Should have been 1-16 as the Clifford penalty was kicked wide. Today showed if not already known that Roscommon have regressed from last year and with the short turnaround to the championship it will be hard to improve on league performances and have what would be considered a good championship."
Disappointing how far we have regressed compared to last year's League when both Mayo and Kerry were delighted to hear the full time whistle to give them narrow wins.
This year they both bet us in a canter as we looked like a Division 3 team in comparison?

What role have Davy's assustants got if any? What do they bring to the squad?
Has Davy lost the dressing room?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 17/03/2024 20:46:30    2531789

I wonder will Davy Burke be left there for the championship. It's clear from the last few games he has lost the support of the players. It's a shame we have another year wasted and some of our best players are coming to the end of their careers. One thing for sure Davy should be kept away from the camera. His interviews are terrible.

rossam (Roscommon) - Posts: 65 - 17/03/2024 23:15:34    2531830

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "On an aside.Its been a few years since I was in Roscommon but Hyde Park looked in great shape and is going to be a fine stadium when finished."
Well said Mick. Great credit is due to Club Rossie for raising much needed funds and to the current members of the county board for pressing ahead with the work. It is not easy keeping the show on the road when our population is only about 1% of the 32 counties. (About 70,000 at the last census).

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 18/03/2024 06:54:22    2531848

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "I dont think Davy Burke is up to the job that's just my opinion. Roscommon looked disinterested today. I'd love to know what they are doing at all these training sessions."
The number of wides kicked today by Roscommon was their downfall. I lost count.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 18/03/2024 07:22:03    2531849

Replying To Rossieforever:  "After today's efforts I think Mickey Heart could pick a junior club team next week and still be confident of beating us. There was one passage of play today when with 15 men defending Kerry cut through us with 3 quick passes and should have had a goal. Maybe the championship will bring a bit of direction into this team."
We are a long way off division 1 teams. We would want to be very careful going down to division 2. Plenty of decent teams slipped further.management is done in my opinion.. I have heard to many bad reports this year that are true and it's visible to anyone watching us. McGowan and McHugh didn't leave for no reason after a decent first year. How far this team has gone back is crazy

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 18/03/2024 07:26:29    2531850

Replying To dave1988:  "We are a long way off division 1 teams. We would want to be very careful going down to division 2. Plenty of decent teams slipped further.management is done in my opinion.. I have heard to many bad reports this year that are true and it's visible to anyone watching us. McGowan and McHugh didn't leave for no reason after a decent first year. How far this team has gone back is crazy"
Very worrying if true. Our style of play a joke at this stage. Players afraid to play ball. Forwards every where bar where they need to be. The whole team back and still not able to put in a tackle. It's not acceptable for supporters who pay good money to watch this. As the saying goes "let the ball do the work"

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 100 - 18/03/2024 10:22:02    2531875

Replying To rossam:  "I wonder will Davy Burke be left there for the championship. It's clear from the last few games he has lost the support of the players. It's a shame we have another year wasted and some of our best players are coming to the end of their careers. One thing for sure Davy should be kept away from the camera. His interviews are terrible."
Be losing by a lot more than 6,7 points in matches to the likes of Dublin, Kerry if the manager had lost the support of his players.

He's probably too honest in his interviews and has to say something positive to lift the gloom. It will be relegation now and Roscommon was favourites for that before the league started the team/management and year like every other will be fully judged after the championship.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 96 - 18/03/2024 11:03:04    2531881

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Be losing by a lot more than 6,7 points in matches to the likes of Dublin, Kerry if the manager had lost the support of his players.

He's probably too honest in his interviews and has to say something positive to lift the gloom. It will be relegation now and Roscommon was favourites for that before the league started the team/management and year like every other will be fully judged after the championship."
If we got our act together and won another smash and grab Connacht Title nobody will remember the League.
It's possible albeit looking unlikely at this stage.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 18/03/2024 11:37:12    2531889

It is funny the way things work out, Roscommon prevented Derry from being promoted 2 years ago and next week they will get to relegate them. Similar with Monaghan knocking Tyrone out of Ulster and Tyrone got to relegate them.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 222 - 18/03/2024 12:06:15    2531898

Have to say first there was an improvement in performance yesterday and don't think there was anyone lacking effort. However, I would have questions on how we setup. Defensive systems are not easy on the eye but if that is your strategy at least be effective. We are a counter attacking team that counters with the speed of a turtle. There were Kerry supporters in the stand bamboozled at how when we turned them over we were so slow moving it up the field and allowed them ample time to get men back. The few times we played good direct kick passes we created chances. We laboured for scores and Kerry got their's so easy. Losing runners seems to be a constant theme. Midfield a major issue as well. Maybe you notice the ones you lose more but we seem to win feck all long kick outs. Can't seem to win the breaking ball. Regardless of league survival we need to be seeing more improvement in the last game to get some form of momentum coming into championship.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 18/03/2024 12:32:25    2531905

Replying To PattyONeill:  "It is funny the way things work out, Roscommon prevented Derry from being promoted 2 years ago and next week they will get to relegate them. Similar with Monaghan knocking Tyrone out of Ulster and Tyrone got to relegate them."
We were hoping ye might have forgot about it. There was a bit of bite in that game. Horrendous wind spoiled it and Gallagher was a show on the line. We've made little progress if not regressed and ye have become title contenders.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 18/03/2024 14:34:39    2531926

Replying To PattyONeill:  "It is funny the way things work out, Roscommon prevented Derry from being promoted 2 years ago and next week they will get to relegate them. Similar with Monaghan knocking Tyrone out of Ulster and Tyrone got to relegate them."
Galway beating you in round 6 on your home patch prevented you from being promoted 2 years old. Can play a part to relegate our neighbours now by playing a 2nd choice team on Sunday.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 18/03/2024 15:17:09    2531929

Very disappointing carry on by the Roscommon goal scorer yesterday, not something one would associate with Roscommon

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 673 - 18/03/2024 15:48:29    2531934

Replying To The_analyser:  "Galway beating you in round 6 on your home patch prevented you from being promoted 2 years old. Can play a part to relegate our neighbours now by playing a 2nd choice team on Sunday."
Exactly, and a heavy defeat at that. The Tribesmen had Derrys number in both league and championship that year.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 18/03/2024 15:55:06    2531936

Roscommon very passive yesterday and lacking any real intensity for a team attempting to avoid relegation. The slow build up and time wasting tactic of using the goalkeeper is a real cop out when you need scores urgently to get back into the game. Kerry didn't really have to go up a gear to win the game. A lot more urgency shown by the supporters who got tight on David Clifford after the game for autographs.

Rossi (Roscommon) - Posts: 2 - 18/03/2024 16:48:45    2531948

The number of wides kicked today by Roscommon was their downfall. I lost count.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 18/03/2024 18:05:45    2531968

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "The number of wides kicked today by Roscommon was their downfall. I lost count."
Think it was 13 wides to four in favour of Roscommon in the wide count. Poor shot selection and decision making on the majority of those wides was the main issue. Kerry have plenty of careful and composed build up play and picked their shots yet was greatly helped none of their shooters was put under much pressure.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 18/03/2024 18:58:48    2531979