Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To The_analyser:  "Roscommon team named remains to be seen if any more than two changes from the Mayo match are made.

Conor Carroll;
David Murray, Brian Stack, Niall Higgins;
Eoin McCormack, Conor Hussey Niall Daly
Tadhg O'Rourke, Enda Smith
Ruaidhrí Fallon Shane Cunnane; Dylan Ruane
Donie Smith, Diarmuid Murtagh Daire Cregg

Subs Colm Lavin,Ronan Daly,Robbie Dolan,Patrick Gavin,Conor Cox,Ultan Harney,Andrew Glennon,Cian Connolly,Cathal Heneghan,James Fitzpatrick,Evan Flynn

Hopefully a competitive performance and see where it takes us. Best of luck to Roscommon on Sunday."
Don't see us racking up enough to win tomorrow with that team selection.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 16/03/2024 08:45:46    2531319

Replying To dave1988:  "Don't see us racking up enough to win tomorrow with that team selection."
Ben O'Carroll must still be injured. Just two changes from the dire performance against Mayo. Pity Ultan Harney isn't starting. Kerry have the Cliffords named to start. Roscommon need the 2 points. We'll take all the help we can get from St. Patrick tomorrow.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 16/03/2024 09:38:24    2531328

Replying To endgame:  "Ben O'Carroll must still be injured. Just two changes from the dire performance against Mayo. Pity Ultan Harney isn't starting. Kerry have the Cliffords named to start. Roscommon need the 2 points. We'll take all the help we can get from St. Patrick tomorrow."
Being the League there will probably be changes to both teams .
Nothing expected of our lads tomorrow except keep the score down it seems.
I'll be concerned if it's another lacklustre non tackling effort as v Mayo.
Hoping lads burst themselves with effort tomorrow and see what that results in.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 16/03/2024 11:38:42    2531336

Our best hope is the Clifford's and o shea stay in killarney for the paddy's day parade.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 16/03/2024 12:26:40    2531343

Best of luck to mgt and players, It would be great to get the result but supporters need to see some style with championship so close now

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 100 - 16/03/2024 12:30:17    2531345

Replying To dave1988:  "Don't see us racking up enough to win tomorrow with that team selection."
Team selected appears to be more focused on Keeping the Kerry score down to be the competitive. Easier said that done when you take into account Kerry have selected their strongest available team and Roscommon are not defending as well as a team as last year when they lost by 3 points and held Kerry to 1-12. I think the margin will be 6 points this time 1-11 to 1-17.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 16/03/2024 14:12:34    2531358

Best of luck to the team. Jesus I hope the lads are up for this one and get stuck in.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 17/03/2024 11:42:16    2531622

Awful first quarter from Roscommon. Kerry playing as if they needed the points. Roscommon out for a training spin. The Irish rugby team didn't pass the ball backwards as often yesterday. We'll struggle in division 2 next year

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 85 - 17/03/2024 14:11:05    2531670

Why aren't we having a go? Whet's the plan? We are so boring and frustrating to watch. There seems to be no system at all. We don't deserve to stay up at this rate. We'll be a long time in division two too if there isn't a drastic change in the coming month.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 17/03/2024 14:34:58    2531675

Derry might not be interested in a league final. A chance for Roscommon to get the vital points and hope Galway slip up down in Tralee.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 17/03/2024 16:12:11    2531693

We aren't a division 1 team simple as.. the players we have lost is massive because the players replacing them aren't division 1 standard. Our half forward line today was so bloody poor. We don't seem to have a game plan or a style we want to play.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 17/03/2024 16:13:56    2531694

Damage was done in the 1st half when we found ourselves four points behind and only scored four points with the wind advantage. 2nd half was improvement lost the half with a late goal and scored 1-7.

Defensively all afternoon we weren't tracking runners or putting in the tackles/hard hit. We did not make Kerry work hard to clock up 1-17.

One game left now in the league be nice to finish on a high but getting certain players up to speed and improving ourselves defensively before the championship is the main objective now.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 17/03/2024 16:49:15    2531698

Replying To dave1988:  "We aren't a division 1 team simple as.. the players we have lost is massive because the players replacing them aren't division 1 standard. Our half forward line today was so bloody poor. We don't seem to have a game plan or a style we want to play."
The loss of the two Creggs particularly Cathal and Conor Devaney who would get on any team in country has left its mark. Losing Ciaran Murtagh was massive. I don't think we appreciated how good he is. Enda smith can't do it all. Diarmuid Murtagh can't be covering back and then he expected to beat his man. We're never going to score two goals a game the way we are playing.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 17/03/2024 16:59:04    2531707

I understand we have lost key players and we were playing a top team but we have regressed hugely. Forwards hanging around the 45 and our corner backs in there full forward line. Mgt are coaching the skills out of key players. The game is fairly simple but now we are needed moments of class from players to get scores. Not good enough.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 100 - 17/03/2024 17:12:03    2531711

Replying To hontherossie:  "I understand we have lost key players and we were playing a top team but we have regressed hugely. Forwards hanging around the 45 and our corner backs in there full forward line. Mgt are coaching the skills out of key players. The game is fairly simple but now we are needed moments of class from players to get scores. Not good enough."
Watching mayo Vs Derry and we are a long way from that intensity and speed

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 17/03/2024 17:21:30    2531713

Replying To Jack L:  "Derry might not be interested in a league final. A chance for Roscommon to get the vital points and hope Galway slip up down in Tralee."
After today's efforts I think Mickey Heart could pick a junior club team next week and still be confident of beating us. There was one passage of play today when with 15 men defending Kerry cut through us with 3 quick passes and should have had a goal. Maybe the championship will bring a bit of direction into this team.

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 85 - 17/03/2024 17:50:27    2531715

Game was lost in the first half as the Kerry players were given too much space and time on the ball. Things improved a little in the second half as there was more fight and directness in our play. While Kerry missed some scores we had several very near misses which would normally have been converted. The only two minor positives were both Ronan Daly and Ultan Harney played well given they played very little football to date. Will head to Derry next week in more hope than expectation. Good Kerry support at the game given the distance, and had a good bit of craic with some of them.
Was sitting towards the back of the stand and the head was blown off us all with loud music just a couple of feet away. Madness to have the speakers so close to peoples heads and blaring loud music where people could not talk. (Health hazard!)
Two small recommendations before the next match.
1. Relocate the speakers to the very front of the stand up high, facing back towards the crowd in the stand and also facing out towards the field. (Several & safe meters from people's heads) Only cost a few euro for a few meters of cable.
2. Get a ball boy behind each goal as umpires are no longer willing to walk two yards to retrieve a ball.
Hopefully things will start to improve for the championship, as we are struggling at the moment.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 17/03/2024 17:52:46    2531717

On an aside.Its been a few years since I was in Roscommon but Hyde Park looked in great shape and is going to be a fine stadium when finished.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 17/03/2024 18:09:40    2531719

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Game was lost in the first half as the Kerry players were given too much space and time on the ball. Things improved a little in the second half as there was more fight and directness in our play. While Kerry missed some scores we had several very near misses which would normally have been converted. The only two minor positives were both Ronan Daly and Ultan Harney played well given they played very little football to date. Will head to Derry next week in more hope than expectation. Good Kerry support at the game given the distance, and had a good bit of craic with some of them.
Was sitting towards the back of the stand and the head was blown off us all with loud music just a couple of feet away. Madness to have the speakers so close to peoples heads and blaring loud music where people could not talk. (Health hazard!)
Two small recommendations before the next match.
1. Relocate the speakers to the very front of the stand up high, facing back towards the crowd in the stand and also facing out towards the field. (Several & safe meters from people's heads) Only cost a few euro for a few meters of cable.
2. Get a ball boy behind each goal as umpires are no longer willing to walk two yards to retrieve a ball.
Hopefully things will start to improve for the championship, as we are struggling at the moment."
You're wrong about umpires being " no longer willing to walk two yards to retrieve a ball".
Umpires are instructed to not leave their position beside the goal, retrieving a ball is not the umpires responsibility.

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 112 - 17/03/2024 18:32:02    2531727

Replying To dave1988:  "Watching mayo Vs Derry and we are a long way from that intensity and speed"
Watched the game in MacHale Park it was like a challenge game with little focus on defending and it ended up as expected as a high scoring game.

Be interesting to see how Derry treat the match against Roscommon regardless they score high with how loose marking Roscommon are defending at moment.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 96 - 17/03/2024 18:53:59    2531732