Congrats to Ross, fully deserved and while there was a lot of guts and hunger shown I was impressed (and frustrated) with how Ross managed the game. There was a time in the 2nd half when Mayo looked like we were going to go ahead, Ross keeper was under serious pressure. But the Ross players slowed it down, didn't lose the head and that showed a maturity to me. Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 332 - 10/04/2023 10:22:42 2469960 Link 2 |
We would also like to thank Kildare for Davy Burke. He's ours for the next few years but I'm sure he will manage and be successful with Kildare in the future. He's such a likeable lad.
dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1155 - 10/04/2023 11:56:24 2469985 Link 1 |
A brilliant win, any day we go to Castlebar and beat them it's a good day! It might not mean much to Mayo in the overall picture but it was still a big result for us and this group under a new manager. The most pleasing thing for me was the way our lads went out and actually bullied Mayo around. The 2 hits on McLaughlin in a matter of seconds in first half, o Shea been thrown to the floor after we turned him over was brilliant to see. I don't recall a Ros team doing that to Mayo in recent times. We have developed a real edge and I love it. D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 217 - 10/04/2023 13:07:50 2470000 Link 1 |
Well done yesterday lads. Came with a plan and controlled the game from start to finish. No complaints the better team on the day won. Best of luck v Galway. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11410 - 10/04/2023 13:11:46 2470001 Link 3 |
Thanks to yourself and other Mayo fans who have been very gracious in defeat. I think the break will suit Mayo and there is now 6 weeks for yer management to rethink a few things when it comes to breaking down defences. I'd echo Endgame above on how the keeper holding on to the ball could have been very costly. Mayo pressure there nearly paid dividends and I'm sure Galway will target that area. I know it also depends on lads making themselves available to receive a pass so hopefully that is worked on. MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 10/04/2023 14:49:25 2470023 Link 3 |
Very satisfying performance. We are becoming a very difficult team to beat and the management team deserve great credit for improving our defensive system. The gameplan requires a huge physical effort and determination and all the players gave their all. It took a lot of time and effort in the gym and training field to produce that performance. It might be a bit unfair to pick out individual performances and while Enda and Diarmuid were outstanding, I thought Keith Doyle came of age as a senior championship player yesterday and unsung players like David Murray were critical to the win. letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 633 - 10/04/2023 16:34:44 2470056 Link 1 |
Less said about the newbie Roscomeo playing the wum. Thanks to our neighbours posters Cbar, yew_tree, Trump2020, GreenandRed, Albara, ahsure, ponga such comments much appreciated. As if the after match image of Cillian O'Connor and Ciarán Murtagh show respect give respect. The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3912 - 10/04/2023 17:08:10 2470067 Link 1 |
I wouldn't say it was any sweeter because of McStay. Myself and most Rossies I would say have nothing but huge respect for Kevin. He's practically one of us now and I would never take any extra satisfaction from beating a team just because he was over them. Mighty team effort from our lads but loads to work on and improvement needed again for Galway and the games that will follow. Well done to Davy, backroom team and all the players. Keep it going lads and hopefully this will be a summer to remember for all the right reasons
ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 131 - 10/04/2023 17:52:37 2470084 Link 1 |
The rossies won the all ireland, the thought of meeting one of ye in a bar with your shirt on saying hows its your year inbetween convos about this years lambs and the prices being demanded, awful crowd to listen to DCFCGAA (Derry) - Posts: 65 - 10/04/2023 18:43:43 2470090 Link 1 |
Could you repeat that again in English please.
Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 92 - 11/04/2023 09:22:40 2470131 Link 2 |
Fair play to the Rossies. great performance, referee was also consistent in letting the game flow, unlike the league final. Enda Smith was brilliant, Ruane gets a lot of plaudits but can't remember last time he played well, Smith caught a brilliant ball over his head on Sunday too. Real 50/50 game against us in 2 weeks time, nearly think we prefer the game in Hyde after Rossies record recently in pearse! candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 292 - 11/04/2023 09:30:55 2470134 Link 1 |
That is laughable on the ref. Didn't cost Mayo the game but he was constantly stopping the game to lecture people without handing out a card. He was dreadful in my opinion.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8160 - 11/04/2023 10:21:48 2470150 Link 2 |
You're on pretty much every county's forum spewing the same unpleasant bile. Why don't you take a break for a few weeks. PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 11/04/2023 10:29:44 2470152 Link 3 |
Tbh the Rossies got the benefit of the marginal calls on Sunday like Mayo got the benefit against us in the League final. However both victories were merited and deserved. In our case you cannot legislate for the goalkeeper making a number of critical saves. All part of the game. On Sunday again it was on this occasion (Enda Smith) who was the standout player. The learnings really is on any given day there is very little between Ros, Mayo and ourselves. As an aside the Rossies are due a championship victory over us in the Hyde. Think it was 1990 the last time. Obviously hope we can scrape through on Sunday week but as you day vert 50/50. We need Cillian McDaid back pronto.
kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 11/04/2023 10:35:24 2470154 Link 0 |
A gentleman and a character! link GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7651 - 11/04/2023 10:50:28 2470161 Link 2 |
Let the game flow in some cases, picked out phantom fouls behind his back at other stages!
MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 434 - 11/04/2023 11:03:12 2470171 Link 0 |
Great day in Castlebar, Great win, great performance. Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1963 - 11/04/2023 11:13:57 2470173 Link 0 |
I agree on the taking the ball into traffic etc. There wasn't many obvious frees. However they were frees against Galway the week before. People seem to assume Mayo get handy frees without any analysis. Lazy stuff.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8160 - 11/04/2023 11:29:42 2470186 Link 1 |
You can talk where you are from, All over the news today and yesterday. And as for your football team the antics are very little better
sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1186 - 11/04/2023 11:30:50 2470188 Link 1 |
Did uou forgot how to write English whole you were watching new York beat your shower.
OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1770 - 11/04/2023 12:17:34 2470212 Link 1 |