Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To foreveryoung:  "And a handy two points for Roscommon whenever they're in the same league division as Galway.

Btw, what's the story with Ultan Harney? Injured? Being rested?"
Talking a year out.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 05/02/2023 18:04:09    2456659

Great to see some consistency starting to come to Roscommon football, and a tight defence structure also starting to emerge. Is Robbie Dolan taking over the Niall Kilroy role? From Willie Hegarty's commentary it sounded like Enda Smith wasn't quite at the races. Maybe a second half impact sub might be his strongest role when Cian McKeon and Cathal Heneghan are back fit. But it's mighty to see Roscommon find their feet at last in Division 1. Davy Burke's positive energy is definitely starting to take hold in the players. Roscomain abú.

SpanishRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 19 - 05/02/2023 18:15:30    2456666

Congrats to Roscommon

Very encouraging start to Div 1 and two big wins

Impressive

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/02/2023 18:28:51    2456675

Replying To Yondu:  "Looks like Belclare watched the match by listening to it on Galway Bay FM. Well done to Roscommon on deserved win in what was a disappointing low quality contest."
Very low on quality, but in fairness Roscommon are a league team!

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 05/02/2023 18:45:53    2456687

A dream start to this division 1 campaign for the Rossies. Two wins against the All Ireland champions 2021 and All-Ireland runners up 2022. Well done.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 05/02/2023 18:48:51    2456689

Replying To Belclare:  "Very low on quality, but in fairness Roscommon are a league team!"
You seem to have a short memory. 2017, 2019 Connacht titles won in Salthill against Galway.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 05/02/2023 18:57:49    2456699

Replying To Belclare:  "Very low on quality, but in fairness Roscommon are a league team!"
Not the best game for sure, but Roscommon beat a hugely negative galway team, a ref who gave ye everything going and is married to the galway team psychologist (surely a conflict there missed by our glorious organisation ).
And Roscommon did all that without playing well.

Jonnycee (Longford) - Posts: 185 - 05/02/2023 19:14:35    2456713

Replying To jimbodub:  "Congrats to Roscommon

Very encouraging start to Div 1 and two big wins

Impressive"
We are going well. We were shocking today for 50 mins. We still have plenty of players to come into that team. No donie Smith today Cathal Henaghen and Cian McKeon coming back from injury. Eddie Nolan will be Pushing hard to get back into that team to. Massive improvement needed for Armagh. Also hope Damien Comer is ok, it looked serious.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 05/02/2023 19:24:38    2456724

Replying To foreveryoung:  "And a handy two points for Roscommon whenever they're in the same league division as Galway.

Btw, what's the story with Ultan Harney? Injured? Being rested?"
Ronan Daly and Ultan Harney going travelling

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 05/02/2023 19:31:48    2456733

Very poor game from a quality standpoint. It was all about the result. A win is a win. Both teams were very conservative in the 1st half, so boring. Roscommon started to come out of their shell in the last 10 minutes Don't understand why Conor Cox keeps coming out from the forward line, totally ineffective tactics. Daire Cregg looks like a good footballer but his decision-making with his shot selection needs to improve. Onwards and upwards .

imformed (Roscommon) - Posts: 163 - 05/02/2023 20:02:20    2456752

Great two weeks. We were favourites for the drop but have given ourselves a real chance. Would never have dreamt we would have four points and be too after first two games. As good as things have been I don't believe we played overly well in either game and loads of room for improvement which is an added bonus. One more win should see us safe

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 05/02/2023 20:25:17    2456761

I was under impression that Cathal Heneghan was gone for this year? I see a few mentioning him as a possible returning player.

Rossie2022 (Roscommon) - Posts: 26 - 06/02/2023 11:38:01    2456844

I see Davy Burke is saying that injuries are clearing up. I wonder what our starting 15 will be, if everybody is fit, for the big one in Castlebar against Kevin McStay's Mayo on April 9, just two months away now.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2156 - 06/02/2023 14:30:04    2456866

How are we all feeling today after another hard earned and deserved Div 1 win?

Good turn over of players due to injury and lads stepping away meant we fielded a team yesterday with just 6 same starters from last years championship. Never easy when any new management is appointed late and more so when they had to form a new midfield which was probably our strongest line last year and forwards needed to step in for Donie Smith,McKeon and Heneghan and our experienced sweeper Kilroy.

The lads in their early 20s Daire Cregg,Robbie Dolan,Ben O'Carroll.Dylan Ruane have all performed well and with Donie,Nolan,McKeon,Kilroy all to return during this league campaign we should have good competition for starting spots and impact sub roles and the latter which we proved the last two weekends is role as important if not more than starting.

One small word on Galway i still can't get over how defensive and over coach they were yesterday. Tyrone are known for such style but they were no where near as defensive as Galway yesterday. Its was almost like their tactics/game plan was, we conceded huge scores against you last year today will be a low scoring contest.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 06/02/2023 15:51:40    2456874

Replying To Jonnycee:  "Not the best game for sure, but Roscommon beat a hugely negative galway team, a ref who gave ye everything going and is married to the galway team psychologist (surely a conflict there missed by our glorious organisation ).
And Roscommon did all that without playing well."
Better team on the day won given number of chances but tbh disingenuous comments that ref was one way. Thought he erred a lot for both sides. We are in a relegation fight with the amount of top players we are missing. 1 more win should make ye guys safe.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 06/02/2023 18:54:27    2456899

Replying To The_analyser:  "How are we all feeling today after another hard earned and deserved Div 1 win?

Good turn over of players due to injury and lads stepping away meant we fielded a team yesterday with just 6 same starters from last years championship. Never easy when any new management is appointed late and more so when they had to form a new midfield which was probably our strongest line last year and forwards needed to step in for Donie Smith,McKeon and Heneghan and our experienced sweeper Kilroy.

The lads in their early 20s Daire Cregg,Robbie Dolan,Ben O'Carroll.Dylan Ruane have all performed well and with Donie,Nolan,McKeon,Kilroy all to return during this league campaign we should have good competition for starting spots and impact sub roles and the latter which we proved the last two weekends is role as important if not more than starting.

One small word on Galway i still can't get over how defensive and over coach they were yesterday. Tyrone are known for such style but they were no where near as defensive as Galway yesterday. Its was almost like their tactics/game plan was, we conceded huge scores against you last year today will be a low scoring contest."
Great to get out of Salthill with the win. We could have easily won that game by 3/4 points only for poor shooting. We were playing fairly defensive as well and on many occasions took the easy option of going backwards to keeper etc. Thankfully our subs made the difference. Personal I would like to see E Smith come on as sub, he doesn't have the stamina to do both a defensive and attacking role, also Cox will find it hard to keep his spot and probably won't have started only for O Carroll signerson duties

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 99 - 06/02/2023 18:57:32    2456900

Replying To The_analyser:  "How are we all feeling today after another hard earned and deserved Div 1 win?

One small word on Galway i still can't get over how defensive and over coach they were yesterday. Tyrone are known for such style but they were no where near as defensive as Galway yesterday. Its was almost like their tactics/game plan was, we conceded huge scores against you last year today will be a low scoring contest."
As noted by my earlier comment ye were better overall on the day. I think you will find football in general at intercounty is ultra defensive. On many occasions yesterday ye also had masses behind the ball. Our panel depth or lack of is being shown up with now 4 of the 6 who started the all ireland in July out. Galway Ros in recent yrs has been tit for tat so nobody should be surprised that ye won yesterday.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 06/02/2023 19:01:01    2456901

Have to say it is funny how a small contingent of Galway supporters on here were seeing yesterday as a positive based on how we were supposedly at full strength and they weren't. As you say our best midfield pairing in years not available and only 6 starters from last year plus the young lads being brought in.

Well I definitely didn't expect 4 points after 2 games. If we do manage to get one more win I would have thought that would be enough, but the way results have gone that second relegation spot could potentially include someone on 5 or 6 points. Hopefully 6 will be enough though. Strength in depth is going to be key this year. It'd be great if Heneghan did make it back. Great to see the team finishing strong in game's. The Armagh game will be a great tester as teams will be getting near full strenght after two weeks and have more training under their belts.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 773 - 06/02/2023 20:31:37    2456918

Replying To endgame:  "I see Davy Burke is saying that injuries are clearing up. I wonder what our starting 15 will be, if everybody is fit, for the big one in Castlebar against Kevin McStay's Mayo on April 9, just two months away now."
I'll have a guess…
O'Carroll
Hussey
C Daly
McCormack
Hughes
Stack
Niall Daly
Doyle
O'Rourke
Kilroy
Enda Smith
McKeon
C Murtagh
D Murtagh
Ben O Carroll

Lavin
Murray
Walsh
Ruanne
Dolan
Nolan
Daire Cregg
Ciaran Lennon
D Smith
Cox
Heneghan

So many options in the forward line really is hard to know at this stage! Dolan has done nothing wrong but is very light. We will know a lot more in the next few weeks!

Rossie2020 (Roscommon) - Posts: 169 - 06/02/2023 21:43:37    2456932

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Have to say it is funny how a small contingent of Galway supporters on here were seeing yesterday as a positive based on how we were supposedly at full strength and they weren't. As you say our best midfield pairing in years not available and only 6 starters from last year plus the young lads being brought in.

Well I definitely didn't expect 4 points after 2 games. If we do manage to get one more win I would have thought that would be enough, but the way results have gone that second relegation spot could potentially include someone on 5 or 6 points. Hopefully 6 will be enough though. Strength in depth is going to be key this year. It'd be great if Heneghan did make it back. Great to see the team finishing strong in game's. The Armagh game will be a great tester as teams will be getting near full strenght after two weeks and have more training under their belts."
Delighted and pleasantly surprised to be top of Div 1 and only team not to have dropped points.
Great to see young lads coming in and doing so well.
Some of our forward subs would be starters for Mayo .
We dug it out Sunday and held AI Finalists scoreless for something like the last 20 minutes.
We had Tyrone to 3 points in the last 25 or so as well.

Of course it's "only the League", it's early February, other teams will be fitter and nearer full strength etc etc but let's embrace the Positivity and feel good factor.
Tús maith......

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1404 - 07/02/2023 11:13:04    2456961