Fermanagh GAA thread

I was at the game yesterday and it was very comfortable for Derry although if I am honest I expected it to be. Fermanagh had a great league campaign and deserve to be in Division 2 next year but this Derry team are the best I have seen in a generation. I think Fermanagh played with fear in the first half and Derry sensed it- like the team they are they punished it ruthlessly.

On a separate note I will be cheering Fermanagh in the Tailteann Cup as I really believe there is a chance to win it. Top seeds and hopefully a decent draw. Ultam Kelm looked a cut above and someone that at Tailteann level should be one of the top players. All the best for the season ahead lads.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 16/04/2023 18:50:16    2471247

Replying To macca999:  "Coa_gael - Simple explanation on result, two teams operating on different levels and game further highlighted why there is need for a tailteann cup competition now.

Realistically pre match dont think anyone was expecting Fermanagh to win the game, Derry have dismantled teams the same throughout their division 2 league campaign against teams Fermanagh will be aiming to try compete with next year.

Derrys physicality, quality on the ball, movement off the ball was excellent, angled runs and speed allowing them to work through and break lines at will even when Fermanagh had everyone behind the ball. Derrys transition was something Fermanagh havnt encountered before and couldnt get to grips with, within seconds 15 behind ball, then when turned it over had 14 in Fermanaghs half within 10 seconds, then all players comfortable on the ball with defenders kicking scores at will.

However I hoped that Fermanagh would be able to compete with Derry and make a competitive contest of it but especially in first half didnt get going or battle with Derry, played with fear and game was over within 25 minutes. Fermanagh needed to play with intense hunger to match a drilled Derry but it wasnt there and they quickly went for the kill ruthlessly.
We allowed Rodgers and the Keeper even to saunter through the middle of pitch at ease, the fact there wasnt a yellow card in the game highlights the lack of intensity, couldnt get close enough to foul at times.
The tactic of playing an extra man in their half to stop runners from deep has some logic as a huge strength of Derrys but on reflection should have played sweeper at least first half to try keep game competitive.

Midfield as worried really struggled, Derry as expected pushed up high and forced kickouts to go long which they dominated and in the breaks. Ryan Jones tried gamefully but didnt have enough support at times with the Derry keepers presence further impacting.

Ethan Doherty and Padraig Cassidy had the freedom of Brewster Park while McGuigan gave Che Cullen torrid 35 minutes. Jonny Cassidy had slightly more success on him second half but damage was long done. Ultan Kelm showed his quality on the few times he got ball in promising areas but huge reliance on him. The second goal conceded was very poor, McManus got sucked to the ball allowing Cassidy the space to attack although thought Ryan Jones didnt go towards him strangely so he could drop ball and still score.
Sean Quigleys absence due to injury a huge blow though 13 Seans wouldnt have stopped yesterdays result. Hopefully he is back fit for Tailteann Cup campaign next month

Second half was better with Conor McShea and Decky McCusker showing well and providing bit more energy, although thought harsh to sub Aidan Breen, was few others that could have been taken off ahead of him but throughout league has been same.

Disappointing day for players and management who will know didnt perform to what capable off but certainly exposed the difference in Division 3 and Division 1, every mistake we made was punished yesterday, even in league conceding goals so warning signs were there. Good interview with Kieran Donnelly on Newstalks Off the ball after game. They will take stock and get ready for Tailteann Cup Campaign,which given has 3 games guaranteed im sure will see other players getting opportunities too.

I know some were shocked at Rory Gallaghers behaviour yesterday on touchline, wasnt surprised by his energy or ruthlessness its his intense nature and he wont change, was same when with Fermanagh although given then game wasnt in melting pot his reactions were totally unneccessary, i dont think Oisin McConville would react that way against Armagh or Mickey Harte if Louth met Tyrone.

More worrying than yesterdays game v Derry was the minors result v Monaghan,(Rory Gallagher even mentioned it in post match interview with RTE) warning signs there throughout the league campaign, they have 3 more games which could be very tough on the young lads and highlight further the issues we have and face going forward. This on top of the Under 20s result v Derry has alarm bells ringing about development of players in the county and future, really this needs to be looked at as doesnt look like producing players at moment who will make step into senior team anytime soon, current team backboned by successful St Michaels team, whom themselves have slipped done pecking order!"
A rather long-winded comment macca considering most would have seen the game live or TV live anyway. I'm not convinced by Donnelly that the Fermanagh 'weak and costly holes' in the yesterday's game can be that easily mended. Donnelly's seemed to struggle with his game plan and some players didn't seem to have that motivation that was evident in the league campaign. Let's hope for better days ahead in the Tailteann Cup which is more suitable competition at this stage. By the way, I got more value from without paying a penny from today's Tyrone v Monaghan game which had us on the edge of our seats - what a game! On the BBC tv panel, like Oisin McConville, I really enjoyed seeing Mickey Harte's cocky position at halftime being demolished by the final whistle!

Coa_gael (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1182 - 16/04/2023 23:07:03    2471294

"A rather long-winded comment macca considering most would have seen the game live or TV live anyway."

Coa Gael, must most have watched it on TV as there wasnt too many in Brewster Park Saturday,lowest crowd for Ulster Championship game there in a long time

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1098 - 20/04/2023 12:15:21    2471940

So the Tailteann Cup Group Draw;
Group A: Cavan, Offaly, Laois, London
Group B: Meath, Down, Tipperary, Waterford
Group C: Limerick, Wicklow, Longford, Carlow
Group D: FERMANAGH, Antrim, Wexford, Leitrim

Group D should be handy enough for Fermanagh

Coa_gael (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1182 - 02/05/2023 13:22:12    2475036

Replying To Coa_gael:  "So the Tailteann Cup Group Draw;
Group A: Cavan, Offaly, Laois, London
Group B: Meath, Down, Tipperary, Waterford
Group C: Limerick, Wicklow, Longford, Carlow
Group D: FERMANAGH, Antrim, Wexford, Leitrim

Group D should be handy enough for Fermanagh"
Hard to get excited all the same

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 03/05/2023 22:23:06    2475547

Not much talk ahead of opening Tailteann Cup game v Wexford on Sunday.

Hopefully both Quigley and Corrigan are fit and ready to go.

With hurlers playing Saturday at 3pm don't see why wasn't fixed as double header for 5.30pm instead of 1pm Sunday,same day as ulster final! Definitely won't help get supporters in for it

Best of luck Fermanagh

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1098 - 11/05/2023 18:19:44    2477718

Really poor collapse today. A common theme this season where we have let commanding positions slip due to unforced errors. We should be putting teams like Wexford away quite easily based on who we have beaten already this year. I suppose championship football is a different ball game but we should have been out the gate mid way through the second half.

A win next week against Leitrim is a must now, obviously.

Bailah (Fermanagh) - Posts: 43 - 14/05/2023 19:56:56    2478470

Replying To Bailah:  "Really poor collapse today. A common theme this season where we have let commanding positions slip due to unforced errors. We should be putting teams like Wexford away quite easily based on who we have beaten already this year. I suppose championship football is a different ball game but we should have been out the gate mid way through the second half.

A win next week against Leitrim is a must now, obviously."
Totally agree with you...Fermanagh should have put Wexford to bed earlier on in the game but through their own fault rather than any great football by the yellowbellies made it a draw. No excuses from macca I hope and speaking of excuses in a current GAA controversary I noticed a kind of an apology from macca in a previous post

BigToeJoe (Fermanagh) - Posts: 186 - 15/05/2023 11:30:38    2478640

Very poor performance yesterday, especially in second half, wexford kicked some grear scores and could have won the game even.

Fermanagh looked comfortable first half but wernt clinical with goal chances to kill the game off.
Luke Flanagan took his penalty very well, Conor McSheas goal probably harshly ruled our for a square ball which would have put Fermanagh 9 ahead and won the game but can't blame that for poor collapse.

The messing about with short kick out and Cullen giving ball back(options ahead) to McNally who couldn't take possession due to rule summed up second half which gave Wexford penalty and impetus.

I'd imagine Donnelly was not a happy man yesterday with what he saw and would anticipate few changes for Leitrim game.

Looked like Johnny Cassidy tweaked a hamstring

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1098 - 15/05/2023 13:44:04    2478682

Interesting statement from your county board today .

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 390 - 15/05/2023 17:08:16    2478772

Replying To veterngaa:  "Interesting statement from your county board today ."
Using the words "no official" in their statement is a clever way of skirting around the issue and addressing the fact of being "made aware of" or "were aware of."

BigToeJoe (Fermanagh) - Posts: 186 - 16/05/2023 10:46:08    2478886

Replying To macca999:  "Very poor performance yesterday, especially in second half, wexford kicked some grear scores and could have won the game even.

Fermanagh looked comfortable first half but wernt clinical with goal chances to kill the game off.
Luke Flanagan took his penalty very well, Conor McSheas goal probably harshly ruled our for a square ball which would have put Fermanagh 9 ahead and won the game but can't blame that for poor collapse.

The messing about with short kick out and Cullen giving ball back(options ahead) to McNally who couldn't take possession due to rule summed up second half which gave Wexford penalty and impetus.

I'd imagine Donnelly was not a happy man yesterday with what he saw and would anticipate few changes for Leitrim game.

Looked like Johnny Cassidy tweaked a hamstring"
Plenty of criticism of the team but none of the manager...very selective comment there!

BigToeJoe (Fermanagh) - Posts: 186 - 16/05/2023 10:48:47    2478888

Replying To BigToeJoe:  "Plenty of criticism of the team but none of the manager...very selective comment there!"
With the greatest of respect, it's not Donnely's fault that Cullen had a complete brainf**t in the lead up to the penalty and subsequent goal. I know panic set in, but if McNally just would have received the pass at least you would only be conceding a point from a free and not a goal + black card. Let's face it, that was the big turning point of the game, you can't blame Donnelly for it.

Everything else up until that point was going fine.

Bailah (Fermanagh) - Posts: 43 - 16/05/2023 11:31:21    2478915

Replying To BigToeJoe:  "Using the words "no official" in their statement is a clever way of skirting around the issue and addressing the fact of being "made aware of" or "were aware of.""
Ye not official complaint means there was not an official complaint in terms of the process.. receding an email is not an official complaint

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 390 - 16/05/2023 13:36:55    2478970

Replying To Bailah:  "With the greatest of respect, it's not Donnely's fault that Cullen had a complete brainf**t in the lead up to the penalty and subsequent goal. I know panic set in, but if McNally just would have received the pass at least you would only be conceding a point from a free and not a goal + black card. Let's face it, that was the big turning point of the game, you can't blame Donnelly for it.

Everything else up until that point was going fine."
All I can say Bailah is that you and macca need educated on the core of Fermanagh's problem i.e. employing lower tier management ...so you get what you pay for.

BigToeJoe (Fermanagh) - Posts: 186 - 16/05/2023 16:39:44    2479033

Replying To BigToeJoe:  "All I can say Bailah is that you and macca need educated on the core of Fermanagh's problem i.e. employing lower tier management ...so you get what you pay for."
BigToeJoe can you please give explanation on what management team you would propose and how this would instantly enhance Fermanaghs county team and players available?

Is senior team accountable for minor/under 20 shortcomings too then lately?

Agreed Ballah, Kieran Donnelly hardly to blame for Cullens game changing error!!

Only thing I'd suggest is Sean Quigley on pitch from throw in,from now on and maybe have Stephen McGullion in 26 as we don't have other midfielder on bench, unless count Conal Jones who more forward.

Neither of these cost us win on sunday, 7 points up, players game management and decision making not good enough.

Hope to see McGurn and Corrigan involved on Saturday

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1098 - 16/05/2023 17:42:33    2479058

Replying To BigToeJoe:  "All I can say Bailah is that you and macca need educated on the core of Fermanagh's problem i.e. employing lower tier management ...so you get what you pay for."
Good man. A Fermanagh team widely tipped for relegation at the start of the year end up with promotion to Div 2 which I suppose Donnelly and his backroom team have had no part of.

Last weekend was a poor result in a good season. I relay the point that individual errors are costing us in these games, which I wouldn't pin on the management. Yes there are things that I don't agree with regarding team sheets and who I think should be on the panel in general, but overall they've done a good job.

Can you honestly look at this Fermanagh team and tell me that they should be challenging beyond Div 2 football and a Tailteann Cup? The players have done a great job in their achievements thus far this season.

Bailah (Fermanagh) - Posts: 43 - 16/05/2023 22:55:25    2479130

Just my tuppence worth .. the Wexford match almost felt like a training game at times .. Leon carters shouting at runners to go for goal when it wasn't on and the point was ..like it was only the margin of the win that would ever be in question. Fermanagh don't do favourites tag well never have and then Sunday they were raging favourites. That said the game was comfortable until a freak 2 minutes.. we went from - position of thinking we had just gone 8 clear to being 2 up and keeper black carded and totally untried keeper on .. now the derrygonnelly man did great when he came on and I don't know why we don't see more of him ..
ref had two bad moments .. Cullen had brain fart and McNally should have just booted the ball and conceded a point .. throw into the mix that Wexford long range point taking was a sight to behold and we had a 10 min wobble of all wobbles and tad dah suddenly we hand Wexford motivation oxygen belief in spades …. I think Leitrim are firm favourites for Saturdays match … we have to think that because we Just don't do being favourites lol
I read and agree with comments on strange selections .. can anybody explain what's up with mcgurn … quigley on bench … and breeno given chance after chance when he just isn't delivering these days ….. anyway I can't see how
Manager can be strung up for this .. game plan good .. structure good .. execution of it was so so and concentration was not there

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 18/05/2023 14:22:31    2479435

I see more player bashing posts citing the manager as blameless, yet my response has not published as I guess it was too hard-hitting being genuinely honest about what I think of management and my support for our team players wo give so much to Fermanagh GAA. Whether these posters like it or not the buck stops with the manager! I'm quite sure there are similar minded honest people who feel I am correct then they are welcome to like my comment. Now I'm off to work where some of my earnings go to Club Eirne and to the manager that is failing us!

BigToeJoe (Fermanagh) - Posts: 186 - 19/05/2023 08:36:34    2479559

Replying To BigToeJoe:  "I see more player bashing posts citing the manager as blameless, yet my response has not published as I guess it was too hard-hitting being genuinely honest about what I think of management and my support for our team players wo give so much to Fermanagh GAA. Whether these posters like it or not the buck stops with the manager! I'm quite sure there are similar minded honest people who feel I am correct then they are welcome to like my comment. Now I'm off to work where some of my earnings go to Club Eirne and to the manager that is failing us!"
What failings are you even on about? The team got promoted to Division 2, can't ask much more other than winning the final against a very much fancied Cavan side.

A poor result (which was still a draw btw) against a Wexford side that had their full compliment of players for the first time this season won't define our tailteann cup campaign. I agree that the manager shouldn't be seen as blameless. For example, the league final and Derry game I could find faults with the way the team was set up. However, I personally think he can't be blamed for last week and I believe on the season as a whole both the PLAYERS AND MANAGEMENT deserve huge credit up until this point.

Bailah (Fermanagh) - Posts: 43 - 19/05/2023 12:02:51    2479616