Galway Football thread

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Most are pleased when O'Rourke tips the other team, he knows next to nothing about Connacht football. who is Tom O'Hara? Of the previews i listened to Eammon O'Hara has tipped Galway as did Cian Mackey, all on the smaller fish podcast did, Paddy Andrews,James O'donoghue and a very clued in Paul Rouse who i might add tipped Roscommon to win the NFL final but like the majority of pundits he's tipped the favourties Galway for this Connacht final."
Thanks for the confidence in Galway GAA Lover but I'm afraid Colm O'Rourke is usually correct in these things with his vast experience etc. so it looks like Roscommon are going to do the 3 in a row over Galway. Of course I meant to say Eamon O'Hara and I heard him on Off The Ball a couple of days ago saying that he would tip Roscommon if it was a tight match heading into the last few minutes as he is very impressed with their forwards saying that its not a good sign that Galway have a good outfield player like Sean Kelly playing at fullback and Conleith Gilligan said that Galway could be "flaky" so he was edging it to Roscommon also.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 28/05/2022 20:38:50    2420690

Replying To tommy k:  "Thanks for the confidence in Galway GAA Lover but I'm afraid Colm O'Rourke is usually correct in these things with his vast experience etc. so it looks like Roscommon are going to do the 3 in a row over Galway. Of course I meant to say Eamon O'Hara and I heard him on Off The Ball a couple of days ago saying that he would tip Roscommon if it was a tight match heading into the last few minutes as he is very impressed with their forwards saying that its not a good sign that Galway have a good outfield player like Sean Kelly playing at fullback and Conleith Gilligan said that Galway could be "flaky" so he was edging it to Roscommon also."
Well that's wrong because both OHara and gilligan tipped Galway.

Jonnycee (Longford) - Posts: 188 - 28/05/2022 21:28:51    2420696

I've a funny feeling Roscommon will out number us in support in Pearce Stadium tomorrow. Roscommon always travel in large numbers.....10,000 +
But I still fancy Galway to win by 4 or 5pts.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2647 - 28/05/2022 21:42:26    2420697

Replying To katser:  "I've a funny feeling Roscommon will out number us in support in Pearce Stadium tomorrow. Roscommon always travel in large numbers.....10,000 +
But I still fancy Galway to win by 4 or 5pts."
There's nothing funny about that feeling. It's a common theme at Galway football matches for the past decade. I expect there to be more Roscommon supporters in Salthill today, but I'll be delighted if I'm wrong.
Go n-éirí linn inniu!

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2413 - 29/05/2022 08:54:41    2420701

Replying To Jonnycee:  "Well that's wrong because both OHara and gilligan tipped Galway."
I don't know why you are twisting what they were saying but they both tiped Roscommon from what I heard and Colm O'Rourke is fully convinced that Roscommon are going to do the 3 in a row.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 29/05/2022 09:19:31    2420708

Good luck and safe traveling to both sets of supporters today. I've the draw backed at 8/1 ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11670 - 29/05/2022 10:34:22    2420724

Galway looked good today I must say. However it must be said that roscommon were extremely poor. Put a bit of a gloss on the scoreboard near the end but they looked lethargic and had no system up front at all. It was like a training session at times.

Hard to know how good ye are but can only beat what is in front of ye. Must be a worry going into all Ireland series not having a proper test since mayo game. Bit like Dublin and kerry. However job done today so well done. Biggest thing today was not picking up say serious injuries. Well done.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 29/05/2022 15:22:41    2420760

I was in Galway on business and decided to take in the second half of what was a very strange game, Galway looked very comfortable yet only won by three points, which certainly flattered Roscommon who looked out of the races for most of the game. The worry for Galway now is that there is a huge step up in standard and quality in the AI series.

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 29/05/2022 15:29:36    2420761

Galway are Connacht champions,
God's in his heaven
- and all's right in the world.

Gaillimh Abú!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 29/05/2022 15:31:54    2420763

Well done . By far the better team today. Better game plan and wanted it way more. Roscommon management have alot of work to do in the next two weeks

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1283 - 29/05/2022 15:44:07    2420764

Congratulations Galway, well played. Fine, enjoyable game. Great team, plus individual displays by Galway: Walsh, of course, the Kelly's, Finnerty, Comer and Molloy. Plus of course, Harney from Roscommon. He's some player, too.

Best of luck going forward.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2324 - 29/05/2022 16:01:38    2420774

Well I said the only way PJ could redeem himself was a return to div 1 and a connacht title . I had very little faith but absolutely delighted in being wrong.

Thought galway had some great spells but also periods where not all the lads were tuned in. It definitely needs to be worked on but certainly can be fixed, when they worked as a cohesive unit (most notably for me at the start of the second half) they did serious damage.

Some excellent individual performances finnerty , walsh, Kelly to name but a few.

I'm sure the team will enjoy tonight but all eyes will be on the QF tomorrow.

Well done team and management. Zero issue with them playing defensively when necessary. I also thought they played some lovely football too

Roscommon are a very good side . Just my opinion but if they got a great management team I honestly think they'd be serious contenders.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1704 - 29/05/2022 16:04:11    2420775

Replying To dave1988:  "Well done . By far the better team today. Better game plan and wanted it way more. Roscommon management have alot of work to do in the next two weeks"
I second that. Galway learned their lessons from previous games, we did not. Thought Ultan and Lavin were our best players.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 29/05/2022 16:06:21    2420776

Roscommon a side always hovering 7th or 8th in rankings, Galway easily 7-8 points better, wouldn't matter who managed Rossies

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2233 - 29/05/2022 16:06:31    2420777

A 3 point hammering really. Kinda felt like Galway got the slight edge on decisions with the foot block, even though stack was very lucky not to be black carded. The game was well over by then though, and in reality was over 10 mins into the second half.

Very interesting analysis by the media all week, and o Rourke was at it before kick off aswel. Supposedly Galway have 3 good players but the rest aren't up to much and Roscommon have 6 excellent forwards. Rob Finnerty was UCDs best player this year in singerson. Tierney (who had a quiet game) was NUIGs best forward by a mile and captain. Yet they're supposedly poor yet Ros with 6 much better forwards start Heneghan (who's a very tidy likeable player notwithstanding), who didn't start the final for NUIG for one reason or another.

It's completely lazy crap to not know by this stage that Sean Kelly and John Daly are two of the best backs in the province, never mind just Galway. The driving power from even realitvely unheralded players like McHugh and Molloy was something Roscommon couldn't handle at all. Sprinkled then with the touch of class from Finnerty, Comer and Walsh. A very good display all in all

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 305 - 29/05/2022 16:27:19    2420786

I wouldn't pay any attention to O'Rouke

Well done to our lads and a big Galway following which was encouraging to see. Worried about how we let Ros back into it but in truth the game was as good as done with 15 to go. Onwards to the AI series, Gaillimh Abu.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1716 - 29/05/2022 16:50:59    2420791

Credit where it's due, the goals at the start of the season would have been a return to D1 and a Connacht title so well done to PJ, backroom tram and players on a job well done. 4 weeks to a q/f and lots to work on, kickout still a major issue particularly coming down the stretch. We've been by far the better side v both Mayo & Ros but have fallen over the line due to poor game management in the last 10 mins. That's for another day, I'm sure the lads will enjoy tonight and rightly so.

johnjoe21 (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 29/05/2022 16:52:12    2420792

I was happy enough with the performance but 2-16 was a lot to concede and Sean Cavanagh said at halftime that Galway had plenty of players back in the first half when Roscommon were attacking without any tight defending or tackles going in. He also said a lot of the Galway players "were there to look good but were not really doing anything" which is very true and giving away the 2 sloppy goals in the second half compounded that. A lot done but a lot more to do as they say and a lot of improvements to make.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 29/05/2022 16:55:10    2420793

Great to see Galway win a Connacht title in Pearse Stadium
Some good perfromances i thought John Daly was outstanding
But im afraid we still have huge issues with this team
We will need to up our intensity big time
We were cleaned out in midfield The Rossies won a lot of breaking ball
This is an area that can be worked on otherwise we will pay dearly
Our defending still not up to scratch not tight or agressive enough
Roscommon ran thhrough us at times an old problen with Galway again
I like to see more blocking and better dicipline in the tackling from Galway
But theres plenty of time to get things right

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 29/05/2022 17:20:19    2420800

Galway certainly wore the favourites tag very well today and i don't think from now on should Galway feel uneasy with that tag or chose to play the poor mouth.

For large portions of that game the defending by the two teams was like chalk and cheese and it set the platform for Galway to win but the late rally and conceding 2-16 is a concern moving forward against a likely top 6 team in the All-Ireland series.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 29/05/2022 17:52:20    2420812