Galway Football thread

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "Frayne, Kinsella, Hogan, Caulfield, Gray, O'Halloran won a leinster minor 2021. Lost to Derry in the semi final. That age didn't have much success at u20s.

Brian O'Halloran one year younger has won an all ireland minor, 2 leinster minors and one leinster u20s. Conor Duke didn't play meath minor but was part of the u20s leinster winning team."
Jez I forgot about meath recent underage success. No major surprise that they are coming strong now. Is Gray back in contention to play? He is some player.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 994 - 26/06/2025 21:12:04    2621363

Replying To JimB1991:  "Shane Walsh could get 6 months rest from inter-county football also if you're not careful.
In fairness the Galway players or management are not as misguided in their confidence as some of their supporters so I don't think it will be taking their eye off this game that will get them.
They have got the best draw even though I still think Meath are capable of beating them. Galway should get over the line though.
Whoever wins this will be the big outsiders in the semi final I feel."
Should Galway get through they'll be nothing in the odds of the last 4 it will be 4 evenly matched teams. Galway have reached 2 of the last 3 All Ireland finals losing on fine margins which seems to be something you totally ignore.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3671 - 26/06/2025 21:21:47    2621364

Replying To Kickitout:  "Looking forward to what should be another tight match I can see 1-2 changes next day personally I'd start Flahery in goal again I just think against a team as strong around the middle u need more variety in kickouts I know v Down he had a bad few mins but hopefully he learns from that I'd definitely start Cooke at prob centre forward I think Galway need play Mcdaid at midfield with John Maher I'd have conroy on bench I'd also ( know it won't happen) start Heaney at wing forward for tierney he has being very average last few games and actually did better when re introduced v Armagh ,, Galway half backs need to drop deeper from opposition kickouts leaving 2 much space in front of full back line they are almost undrr the midfielder for kickouts half backs need to be on breaking ball not under it"
Jaysus Kickitout I wouldn't agree with starting Heaney over tierney but each to their own

Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 95 - 26/06/2025 22:45:53    2621386

Replying To anotheralias:  "Jez I forgot about meath recent underage success. No major surprise that they are coming strong now. Is Gray back in contention to play? He is some player."
Hard to know if Gray will feature, he definitely wont start, He's been struggling to get on the pitch all year, a lot of knocks and niggles have been setting him back.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 252 - 27/06/2025 00:23:09    2621397

Replying To systematic:  "Ya looking at last year again Meath have been a bit of a surprise. New manager bounce and Brennan is a serious operator.

Losing by an average of 11 points per game in champ last year to topping group this year is a huge change.

To the Meath lads that are trying to turn this forum into our own - did these lads have any major success underage - ie a few lads from Frayne's age group on team, or Kinsella or Duke."
lol! Not really tbh, Meath have had great success under age the last few years i think 3 or 4 minors in the last 7/8 years but i don't remember many of the lads on that team, The minor team that won the AI in 2021 would have been there age group, they won the leinster U21's last year and were then beaten by Kerry but i dont remember many of these names on the team which is crazy, I think Duke and Kinlough but that's about it. I dont remember Kinsella or Caufield being involved.

Martinr5399 (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 27/06/2025 08:37:37    2621407

No changes to the team from the one named to play Down last weekend, hard to know whether there'll be one or two late switches before throw in. Will be interesting to see how our playstyle fares in Croker, expecting another shootout given the two teams attack minded nature.

Looking forward to the day up in Dublin, there's something great about the buzz on a QF day with 4 counties supporters mingling and having the craic beforehand.

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 62 - 27/06/2025 09:50:59    2621419

The bench is giving great impact so I'd be inclined to keep Cooke, O'Flaherty, Comer and Heaney for the second half against tiring bodies. Hopefully a dry day with minimal breeze will mean the kickouts aren't affected too much.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 930 - 27/06/2025 10:08:15    2621424

Team unchanged but PJ as always made 1 or 2 changes on day. Would not be surprised to see Cooke come in (possibly for McDaid depending on how he recovered from last wk). Hoping we are in a good position and Damo gets time. O Flaherty can feel hard done by not to start but he is best kept to "finish the game". If there is any doubt on Walsh I would holdhim in reserve and start Tomo and bring him on if needs be.

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 349 - 27/06/2025 11:09:30    2621449

tierney & mc daid playing poorly in the forwards.

i would like to see heaney and cook in instead

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 251 - 27/06/2025 12:02:30    2621473

Our greatest problem it seems are our wing defence being caught out and forcing the central players to try and remedy the problem thus exposing the middle before midfield and half forward line can compensate.Hope that some steps will be taken in this regard before Sunday. Let hope we again leave happy.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 153 - 27/06/2025 12:48:32    2621489

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Should Galway get through they'll be nothing in the odds of the last 4 it will be 4 evenly matched teams. Galway have reached 2 of the last 3 All Ireland finals losing on fine margins which seems to be something you totally ignore."
There won't be much in it of course but Galway will be the outsiders of the 4 if it's Donegal, Armagh & Tyrone/Dublin.

Tyrone, Armagh and Dublin have all won All Irelands in the recent past. Then Galway scrapped over the line against Donegal last year and Donegal are much better this year.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 93 - 27/06/2025 12:54:41    2621492

Replying To JimB1991:  "There won't be much in it of course but Galway will be the outsiders of the 4 if it's Donegal, Armagh & Tyrone/Dublin.

Tyrone, Armagh and Dublin have all won All Irelands in the recent past. Then Galway scrapped over the line against Donegal last year and Donegal are much better this year."
Clare, go away. I see Yew has told you something similar on the Mayo thread.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 851 - 27/06/2025 13:24:59    2621506

Replying To cavan.galway:  "tierney & mc daid playing poorly in the forwards.

i would like to see heaney and cook in instead"
I have to strongly disagree. Tierney is scoring and his goals are important and Cillian is linking play brilliantly and breaking lines.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 851 - 27/06/2025 13:26:51    2621508

Replying To GDL:  "I have to strongly disagree. Tierney is scoring and his goals are important and Cillian is linking play brilliantly and breaking lines."
I would see Tierney as the player who could do serious damage against Meath, Walsh or no Walsh if Tierney clicks into gear and starts running at Meath they will be in trouble with Cooke in reserve to do the same in the second half. O Flaherty to come in with 20 minutes left as another running option and hopefully Comer and if not Tomo who will be full of confidence after his contribution against Down. We have the players there to cause Meath serious trouble and with 8 goals in the last three matches we are starting to seriously click and missed some simple enough goal chances that PJ would have slotted in his sleep. Its around the middle that PJ needs to be alert to, if its not going well he needs to make quick personnel changes, bring in Cooke early and move McDaid into midfield too. It should be a good match and I am expecting us to deliver a big performance and if that isnt enough then fair play to Meath.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 164 - 27/06/2025 14:06:06    2621519

Replying To JahTribe:  "I would see Tierney as the player who could do serious damage against Meath, Walsh or no Walsh if Tierney clicks into gear and starts running at Meath they will be in trouble with Cooke in reserve to do the same in the second half. O Flaherty to come in with 20 minutes left as another running option and hopefully Comer and if not Tomo who will be full of confidence after his contribution against Down. We have the players there to cause Meath serious trouble and with 8 goals in the last three matches we are starting to seriously click and missed some simple enough goal chances that PJ would have slotted in his sleep. Its around the middle that PJ needs to be alert to, if its not going well he needs to make quick personnel changes, bring in Cooke early and move McDaid into midfield too. It should be a good match and I am expecting us to deliver a big performance and if that isnt enough then fair play to Meath."
Tierney has not played well last 2 days out.

Mcdaid while not at mayo levels had his best day since at weekend.

I'd imagine with Thompson getting more focus it could allow them more freedom.

Conroy also could benefit as not primary ball player he could enjoy more space and will likely be matched with menton who is similar age

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1603 - 27/06/2025 15:22:29    2621552

Replying To JimB1991:  "There won't be much in it of course but Galway will be the outsiders of the 4 if it's Donegal, Armagh & Tyrone/Dublin.

Tyrone, Armagh and Dublin have all won All Irelands in the recent past. Then Galway scrapped over the line against Donegal last year and Donegal are much better this year."
Galway are currently the same odds as Armagh. They'll be nothing no real outsider in the last 4.

Donegal better than last year based on what? Once again scrapped past Armagh In the Ulster final. Were beaten by Tyrone and beat a disjointed Mayo with the last kick of the game. They'll have their work cut out to beat a rested Monaghan this weekend and Donegal with a six day turnaround. They only beat Monaghan by 2 points in Ulster aswell.

Galway will beat Tyrone,Dublin should they meet in All-Ireland semi final IMO.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3671 - 27/06/2025 15:54:36    2621562

Only reason i suggested starting Heaney is that he good for 2 pointer and in reality Tierney has being very average last 2 matches and was actually better when re introduced v Armagh

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1093 - 27/06/2025 16:28:38    2621569