Galway Football thread

Replying To Howardhunt1:  "As I said the weather ruined the Galway v Mayo champo game 2023.. Galway tried their hardest to kick into the breeze in the second half and couldn't score into it. If I remember they had a fair few drop short and they got close in too.

But you enjoyed your 99s and got some sun on the bones!!"
The wind doesn't ruin a game. It usually favours the better prepared team, now more than ever. Chess battle.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 399 - 27/02/2025 18:39:23    2593556

Replying To yew_tree:  "I don't believe we had a great record in Tuam against ye over the years? Much prefer going there for ease of access and Tuam is a real football town in fairness for atmosphere and pubs around town. Salthill apparently has the lowest conversion rates of frees of any county ground according to Newstalk during the week."
There's also a lot of lazy journalism about Pearse Stadium, never ending cliches about the wind, rain and difficulty of access etc. I often played in PS in my youth and it was a fine pitch. The Tuam pitch wasn't of the same quality but easier for those living in North and East Galway to get to it.
The weather in Tyrone was just as bad last weekend and is often as bad or worse in Donegal and Kerry but very little is said about it. There were games postponed in various counties last weekend, eg Nowlan Park but hardly a word about.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 90 - 27/02/2025 19:31:58    2593569

Replying To Kickitout:  "So u think Galway are good supporters? U obviously don't go matches either"
I would regard Galway and Cork as the two strongest dual counties. When you say Galway supporters are the worst do you have the figures for hurling and football attendances on the days that both codes clash? Do you have the figures for the other dual counties?

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 90 - 27/02/2025 19:37:16    2593573

Replying To Triffic:  "Whatever about all your other points, match day parking and departure home afterwards is far better in Tuam and Athenry than Salthill. There are a number of different approach roads plus easy access to the motorway from both. For supporters east of the Corrib, there's little choice but to go through the confines of the city using one of the 4 bridges to get to Salthill."
3 of those bridges are within less than a kilometre of each other right in the middle of town. So basically the quincentennial is the main crossing point.
Pure joke how it's 2025 and there isn't even planning for an outer city bypass.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 187 - 27/02/2025 19:47:13    2593575

Replying To Trump2020:  "I know it's early in the year and football season but where would you rank Galway as far as likely to win the All Ireland? I personally rank them 3rd behind Dublin and Kerry only because them two have the knack of winning so many. I believe when we have everyone available to play we are as talented as anyone."
Galway haven't found a new forward, or found more scores in an existing forward. Same as last year, they aren't getting enough scores from other forwards besides Walsh mainly. It'll come back to haunt them if it's not rectified. Walsh is propping up that team so far.
I find it hard to rank. Id have Dublin Kerry Donegal Galway on a par. Armagh too if they hit top form. All capable of knocking each other out in the summer.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 187 - 27/02/2025 19:55:06    2593577

Every other county has their GAA ground in the main town. Limerick, Waterford, Thurles, Mullingar, Cork, Kilkenny, Mullingar, Cavan, Killarney and on and on and on. It's to do with loads of things, games promotion, accommodation, transport links, access to sponsorship(multi nationals) and obviously a population centre. I just can't see Galway ever moving to a stadium not in the city. A lot of the issues weather, traffic etc are Galway City issues, not Pearse Stadium. I've had a few nightmares traffic wise getting in and out of Thurles, Cavan, Croker and Pairc Ui Chaoimh in the past few years

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 456 - 27/02/2025 21:18:27    2593589

Immaterial I guess as he's not involved but Peter Cooke would have been some weapon for the 2 pointers. Probably the best long range point scorer in Galway club football. Given that Walsh is playing in Dublin.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2341 - 28/02/2025 12:31:40    2593681

Replying To Triffic:  "Whatever about all your other points, match day parking and departure home afterwards is far better in Tuam and Athenry than Salthill. There are a number of different approach roads plus easy access to the motorway from both. For supporters east of the Corrib, there's little choice but to go through the confines of the city using one of the 4 bridges to get to Salthill."
Nonsense, it's only easy to get out of those grounds because there's never a crowd at them. Put 29k (The attendance of the 2023 championship game vs Mayo) in Athenry or Tuam and it would be chaos.

Ciaran359 (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 28/02/2025 14:21:13    2593704

Replying To Ciaran359:  "Nonsense, it's only easy to get out of those grounds because there's never a crowd at them. Put 29k (The attendance of the 2023 championship game vs Mayo) in Athenry or Tuam and it would be chaos."
Yeah I remember a joeduffy show about Tuam in 1999, after the Galway Mayo match. Patrons couldn't get in (to the stadium, not the town), let alone get out that day apparently. I was there on time myself.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3985 - 28/02/2025 16:01:05    2593735

Replying To CorkLiamMcCarthy24:  "Galway wont get 30k at games. Only bandwagoners should up for finals"
Might be time to change that username and stay in your own lane while youre at it. Despite what you may think, we don't need your help counting spectators.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 399 - 28/02/2025 17:02:13    2593751

Replying To jam83:  "Galway haven't found a new forward, or found more scores in an existing forward. Same as last year, they aren't getting enough scores from other forwards besides Walsh mainly. It'll come back to haunt them if it's not rectified. Walsh is propping up that team so far.
I find it hard to rank. Id have Dublin Kerry Donegal Galway on a par. Armagh too if they hit top form. All capable of knocking each other out in the summer."
I get your point but they are so far getting more scores out of an existing forward called Shane Walsh.
He wasn't himself last year and that's all down to injuries (in saying that he was good against Mayo when he came on & excellent against the Dubs).
But you're right - outside of Shane we have nobody really stepping up as a regular scorer.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1302 - 28/02/2025 20:41:54    2593791

Replying To galwayman2:  "I get your point but they are so far getting more scores out of an existing forward called Shane Walsh.
He wasn't himself last year and that's all down to injuries (in saying that he was good against Mayo when he came on & excellent against the Dubs).
But you're right - outside of Shane we have nobody really stepping up as a regular scorer."
Shane, Damo and Robbie have all contributed well during our 2 All Ireland final runs in 2022 and 2024. They have all stepped up on different occasions. Damo was our best forward in 2022. He played well all the up to the final but was then tightly marked which subsequently gave Shane Walsh the space to flourish. Everyone remembers Walsh's performance in the final as it was one of the greatest performances ever considering the occassion but he was actually quite vs Armagh and Derry. Shane actually had a more consistent season in 2024 than 2022 from general play. His injuries inhibited his kicking in the final which proved very consequential.

I've no doubt if we can keep Damo, Robbie and Shane fit they will allow contribute during the season.It's a potent full forward line which is one of the best in the country. Not many other teams have 3 All Stars in their full forward line. However, I will concede that those 3 staying fit is more unlikely than likely. It takes about 9 games to get to a final now so injuries are inevitable. We lack a proven inside forward to come off the bench who is assured to kick a score or two when needed. Hopefully Tomo or Cillian O' Curraoin can prove to be this. It's an awful pity we didn't have one or two to come on last year in the final when we needed them and it's important Joyce tries his best to remedy this. It could be the difference this year as like the last 3 seasons all our games in the knock out phase will be close and only a score will be in all our games.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 142 - 28/02/2025 23:01:36    2593837

Replying To Marooned:  "Immaterial I guess as he's not involved but Peter Cooke would have been some weapon for the 2 pointers. Probably the best long range point scorer in Galway club football. Given that Walsh is playing in Dublin."
Definitely. Cooke can get those 2 pointers with ease. Surely Joyce will ask him back? It's our best hope of an all Ireland.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 01/03/2025 03:19:30    2593850

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "There's also a lot of lazy journalism about Pearse Stadium, never ending cliches about the wind, rain and difficulty of access etc. I often played in PS in my youth and it was a fine pitch. The Tuam pitch wasn't of the same quality but easier for those living in North and East Galway to get to it.
The weather in Tyrone was just as bad last weekend and is often as bad or worse in Donegal and Kerry but very little is said about it. There were games postponed in various counties last weekend, eg Nowlan Park but hardly a word about."
I agree with you a lot about PS being a class pitch to play in as a young ladeen. As I said Tuam always had issues with drainage.
There is too much shite about pearse stadium like talk of banning us from hime intercounty games there is ludicrous.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 01/03/2025 11:04:34    2593878

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "Definitely. Cooke can get those 2 pointers with ease. Surely Joyce will ask him back? It's our best hope of an all Ireland."
If I don't hear you talk about cooke until we see him in a moycullen jersey I'll be a happy man

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 01/03/2025 11:05:26    2593879

Coukd be a tricky game 2 morrow Tyrone need win and if they restrict Shane to 8 points they will have a great chance every team from now on knows that Galway have 1 scoring threat curtail him to 8 points and u have a serious chance of beating them , in last 5 years for what ever reason Galway have not found a new scoring forward at all it's still Walsh comer ( when he fit ) which unfortunately is 2-3 times a year and Finnerty much the same if only we as a county could find few forward rest of squad is good but don't know where we get them from obviously something wrong at development squads last 7-8 years ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1011 - 01/03/2025 12:29:16    2593887

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "Definitely. Cooke can get those 2 pointers with ease. Surely Joyce will ask him back? It's our best hope of an all Ireland."
Cooke, at his age, should give it a proper go in my humble opinion. He's 28, turning 29. Still in his prime. And going by the age profile of some of the Galway leaders on the field like footballer of the year,
Paul Conroy, a completely rejuvenated Shane Walsh, Damo and a few more, this really needs to be their year. I don't think this Galway team and mgmt will have a better shot at it, and therefore it's Cooke's best shot at it too.
His Galway-based cybersecurity firm employers could surely accommodate the lad for one year! He's missed time before, with his placement in Connecticut. I think it would be hugely appreciated by a lot of the Galway GAA fraternity if they could try and accommodate him getting some time here this year and having a shot at AI glory. The windows of opportunity for most counties to win Sam are very, very narrow when looking back the years. A team gets its chance, and despite two losses we still have our chance, a real shot at redemption and something tells me that if that lad was on the 40, he could add some critical 2 pointer fire power as the year progresses. Peter, your county needs you, do it, I don't believe you'll regret it if you do. Life flies by and work and career will be there for decades, le cunamh Dé, but shots at the summit of our beautiful game are very fleeting and need to be grasped.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1018 - 01/03/2025 16:49:01    2593918

Replying To Kickitout:  "Coukd be a tricky game 2 morrow Tyrone need win and if they restrict Shane to 8 points they will have a great chance every team from now on knows that Galway have 1 scoring threat curtail him to 8 points and u have a serious chance of beating them , in last 5 years for what ever reason Galway have not found a new scoring forward at all it's still Walsh comer ( when he fit ) which unfortunately is 2-3 times a year and Finnerty much the same if only we as a county could find few forward rest of squad is good but don't know where we get them from obviously something wrong at development squads last 7-8 years ,,"
Stop being negative! Look at what teams have scored v Galway so far - 9 points, 16 points, 16 points, and 14 points. If Shane scores 8 points we win the game.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 01/03/2025 17:28:04    2593928

After today is there any point in even togging anymore?

Mayo just bet Kerry to win Sam in Castlebar, some scenes!

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 188 - 01/03/2025 17:36:48    2593930

Replying To Belclare7:  "After today is there any point in even togging anymore?

Mayo just bet Kerry to win Sam in Castlebar, some scenes!"
How do you know what scenes there are like?

Cumann1 (Mayo) - Posts: 4 - 01/03/2025 18:13:02    2593942