Old structure, try to keep up, at least.
TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 236 - 13/12/2024 21:01:23 2583484 Link 0 |
Huge congratulations to Kilkerrin Conberne on another All Ireland.. Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 143 - 14/12/2024 19:39:18 2583538 Link 1 |
Must be best team to ever come out of galway, wat a club Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 148 - 14/12/2024 21:10:39 2583545 Link 0 |
It's a phenomenal achievement. 4 All-Irelands in a row. For a rural club as well, it's even more impressive. We have a number of 3-in-row All-Ireland winners in the county, obviously our legendary football team of the 60s, the minor hurlers recently enough and the Corofin footballers. I can't think of any 4-in-row teams off the top of my head though. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2210 - 14/12/2024 21:39:10 2583551 Link 0 |
Fair play to them, it's some achievement! Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 887 - 14/12/2024 21:41:31 2583553 Link 0 |
Pearses won 3 in a row in Camogie in the early 2000's. St Jarlaths came close in the Hogan Cup, won in 58, won in 60 and 61 and beaten in the 62 final.
GDL (Galway) - Posts: 774 - 14/12/2024 22:52:16 2583560 Link 0 |
Terrific achievement, a special group of players. Great reps for the area on and off the pitch. Congratulations ladies.
Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 578 - 15/12/2024 10:13:53 2583576 Link 1 |
I'm almost nervous to point it out here but the minor hurlers won four in a row in 2020. Final played 2021 due to covid
UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 15/12/2024 10:27:18 2583578 Link 0 |
They did of course. I had it in my head as 4 in 5 years, with in a 3-in-a-row. It was of course 5 in 6 years with a 4-in-a-row. The first of the 4 was the last U18 minor championship. Some achievement all the same. On Kilkerrin-Clonberne, it's really remarkable given they're a small club. The amount of quality players they have incredible. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2210 - 15/12/2024 10:54:31 2583581 Link 0 |
No excuses for Donoghue and Co this year do....
Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 143 - 15/12/2024 12:59:30 2583601 Link 0 |
Yes definitely was a four in a row . But with a slight wrinkle. There was 2 championship in 2017 as part of the migration to u17. Cork won the u17. But I think galway had the irish press cup for 4 years.
anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 15/12/2024 13:43:15 2583604 Link 0 |
My God theres some bile inside of you boy, no excuses for joyce either i suppose after throwing away an Ireland last year
Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 15/12/2024 15:49:20 2583623 Link 1 |
Imagine saying that about our wonderful footballers.. They gave us some year last year.. Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 143 - 15/12/2024 20:35:53 2583678 Link 1 |
Can we cut out the childish hurling vs football BS for the love of God! gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 358 - 16/12/2024 14:05:37 2583745 Link 4 |
The so called Hurling supporting posters coming on here stirring it.. Cop on lads ...Its Christmas.. after all we're all the one... Christmas is a time for sharing... Or in regards to Loughgeorge all year is a time for sharing !! Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 143 - 16/12/2024 16:41:50 2583769 Link 3 |
I think reading the posts on this form that it reflects the mis match of conflicting excuses, confused blaming and contradictory aims being all put forward together as the magical answer to perceived Galway woes.We need to realise that inter county GAA is very imbalanced, football is very dominated by two counties who have 69 tiles between them and hurling is more so with three counties having harvested 93 of all the titles won so far.The structures need to be looked at, I don't think that the uneven provincial set up has been of benefit to either code especially hurling, just as I can't see the new purgatory division (Senior B) as being an improvement to hurling.Its a bit like not being good enough for the team but being in then picture. backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 16/12/2024 19:55:36 2583793 Link 0 |
Massive congrats to Kilkerrin Clonberne ladies. What a brilliant achievement. Even if it was one of the big clubs, population wise, it would be some achievement but from a small rural population base it's even more remarkable. togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 980 - 16/12/2024 21:04:11 2583798 Link 1 |
Tipp have only won 6 in the last 60 years approx, and Cork none since 2005. Hardly much evidence of the hurling monopoly you mention there? How did Limerick's recent 5 out of 6 emerge from this 'monopoly'? Should we write it off to 'training methods' I wonder?
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3906 - 16/12/2024 21:20:52 2583800 Link 1 |
Exactly, and Kilkenny are almost 10 years without a title at this stage. Just as well Clare and Limerick didn't think it was futile.
WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2210 - 17/12/2024 10:04:35 2583826 Link 1 |
Any updates on the Club management scene? WonTon5 (Galway) - Posts: 16 - 17/12/2024 19:28:23 2583898 Link 1 |