Galway Football thread

St Michael's and Oranmore look ahead of Caltra and Glan for the Intermediate title. Caltra are building something however and I expect them to be back Senior in the next 3 years. I fear for Oranmore when they meet a well drilled defensive unit on a wet day. They are just a little naive in their game plan.

As for the Senior, Salthill put in one of the worst and soulless performances I have seen in the Galway championship. The talent they had on that pitch and the performance were light years apart. Corofin are bang average but bang average will win the championship this year. Same old story with Tuam, put in a galant effort but fall short. They just have too many journeymen and not enough quality but the future looks bright for the stars. Moycullen seem to be struggling big time with injuries which is why I see Corofin beating them. They fell over the line against Tuam. I have no sympathy for them, they deserve no luck with their antics recruiting players the last few years. As a club they need to look where they are going, they have young players who have represented Galway at underage who are Moycullen born and bred sitting on the bench. I can't see how this is good for the club and the parish.

St Michael's for Intermediate
Corofin for senior

Green&Gold2013 (Galway) - Posts: 7 - 13/10/2024 23:01:09    2574678

I know Tuam ultimately lost, but how has Rory O'Connor never been looked at for County?

WonTon5 (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 14/10/2024 00:52:16    2574682

I was in Tuam for both games yesterday. First off, Salthill really struggled. I was mocked on this forum for saying they weren't anything up to par, and yesterday's poor performance confirmed that. How any of these lads are playing county I can't understand. They wouldn't even be Junior B standard.

Corofin didn't show anything particularly remarkable, but they were comfortably ahead throughout the game and never had to push themselves out of third gear. That said, Gary Sice and Mike Farragher outperformed the younger lads like Dylan McHugh.

The Moycullen team has such depth. While we can discuss standout performances like David Wynee and Owen Gallagher, the reality is that losing their top scorers (Niall Walsh and Dessie) and even being able to sub off someone of the calibre of Peter Cooke doesn't faze them at all because their bench is that incredibly strong. They kept rotating players, each one seemingly better than the last. Just take a look at Aidan Claffey, Niall Mulchacy, O' Reilly,Fionn McDonagh-the depth on this team is just so impressive. Each player is exceptional, you'd excpet to see Ger Davoren on the Galway Team next year. I think this depth is what will win it for them.

In the final 10 minutes, Sean Kelly was hitting his stride again; when he injects that speed and power, hes unstoppable - just such a natural talent. The first time in a long time we've seen him back to form, and his defence was exceptional.

Tuam had a great team, but their accuracy let them down in the end. They had some very bad misses that will haunt them. From where we were, it looked like Grugan was grabbing Sean Kelly by the neck.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 14/10/2024 06:43:34    2574689

Replying To Green&Gold2013:  "St Michael's and Oranmore look ahead of Caltra and Glan for the Intermediate title. Caltra are building something however and I expect them to be back Senior in the next 3 years. I fear for Oranmore when they meet a well drilled defensive unit on a wet day. They are just a little naive in their game plan.

As for the Senior, Salthill put in one of the worst and soulless performances I have seen in the Galway championship. The talent they had on that pitch and the performance were light years apart. Corofin are bang average but bang average will win the championship this year. Same old story with Tuam, put in a galant effort but fall short. They just have too many journeymen and not enough quality but the future looks bright for the stars. Moycullen seem to be struggling big time with injuries which is why I see Corofin beating them. They fell over the line against Tuam. I have no sympathy for them, they deserve no luck with their antics recruiting players the last few years. As a club they need to look where they are going, they have young players who have represented Galway at underage who are Moycullen born and bred sitting on the bench. I can't see how this is good for the club and the parish.

St Michael's for Intermediate
Corofin for senior"
Who are the outsiders? O Gallagher, Johnny Maloney, Tom Clarke, Michael O Reilly is there more? Perhaps it's something Co board should look at as they used NUIG as a recruiting conveyor belt. Any idea how bad the injuries are? S Kelly fit and firing is huge and I think they have the depth and fitness and athletism for Corofin but depends on the injuries too.

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 294 - 14/10/2024 08:03:43    2574695

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "It's not like you, to not think of all the scenarios from the outset."
Im obviously not infallible, Pope.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 948 - 14/10/2024 09:37:51    2574713

Replying To Eire89:  "Who are the outsiders? O Gallagher, Johnny Maloney, Tom Clarke, Michael O Reilly is there more? Perhaps it's something Co board should look at as they used NUIG as a recruiting conveyor belt. Any idea how bad the injuries are? S Kelly fit and firing is huge and I think they have the depth and fitness and athletism for Corofin but depends on the injuries too."
Owen Gallagher has been playing with moycullen since 2019, that's five years now. Micheal O Reilly is from moycullen. Tom Clarkes family are from moycullen orginally also, he's got uncles and cousins in the area. He lives in moycullen and works as a gaurd in Galway , why would he be going back to mayo? Makes no sense. These lads are in their 30s and settled in moycullen. Johnny Maloney has had a house in the area and a wife & kids etc . Not one of lads mentioned came from NUIG except Gallagher, and he's still being knocked although he's on the team 5 years now.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 14/10/2024 10:28:09    2574727

Why are they changing the translation of Gallagher's name? Program at the start of the year had him down as Ó Gallchobhain and yesterday's has Ó Gallachoir.

Also moycullen 9 selectors? That won't win ye anything

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 108 - 14/10/2024 10:29:11    2574728

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "I was in Tuam for both games yesterday. First off, Salthill really struggled. I was mocked on this forum for saying they weren't anything up to par, and yesterday's poor performance confirmed that. How any of these lads are playing county I can't understand. They wouldn't even be Junior B standard.

Corofin didn't show anything particularly remarkable, but they were comfortably ahead throughout the game and never had to push themselves out of third gear. That said, Gary Sice and Mike Farragher outperformed the younger lads like Dylan McHugh.

The Moycullen team has such depth. While we can discuss standout performances like David Wynee and Owen Gallagher, the reality is that losing their top scorers (Niall Walsh and Dessie) and even being able to sub off someone of the calibre of Peter Cooke doesn't faze them at all because their bench is that incredibly strong. They kept rotating players, each one seemingly better than the last. Just take a look at Aidan Claffey, Niall Mulchacy, O' Reilly,Fionn McDonagh-the depth on this team is just so impressive. Each player is exceptional, you'd excpet to see Ger Davoren on the Galway Team next year. I think this depth is what will win it for them.

In the final 10 minutes, Sean Kelly was hitting his stride again; when he injects that speed and power, hes unstoppable - just such a natural talent. The first time in a long time we've seen him back to form, and his defence was exceptional.

Tuam had a great team, but their accuracy let them down in the end. They had some very bad misses that will haunt them. From where we were, it looked like Grugan was grabbing Sean Kelly by the neck."
I don't think he'll be in the panel. Especially if you think farragher put in a better performance than McHugh.
Best player on the pitch by far was one of the youngest in Paddy Egan.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 108 - 14/10/2024 10:31:01    2574730

Replying To WonTon5:  "I know Tuam ultimately lost, but how has Rory O'Connor never been looked at for County?"
Because he's not from Salthill/Knocknacara !! Super player. Should be playing county.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 14/10/2024 10:31:02    2574731

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "I was in Tuam for both games yesterday. First off, Salthill really struggled. I was mocked on this forum for saying they weren't anything up to par, and yesterday's poor performance confirmed that. How any of these lads are playing county I can't understand. They wouldn't even be Junior B standard.

Tuam had a great team, but their accuracy let them down in the end. They had some very bad misses that will haunt them. From where we were, it looked like Grugan was grabbing Sean Kelly by the neck."
Salthill were borderline-disgraceful - no method, game plan, desire. Truly shocking display given the amount of talented players *on paper* that they have. Doesn't strengthen Finian Hanley's case to manage at a higher level I'm afraid.

Second match while no classic, was an epic compared with the opener. Tuam looked slightly more likely winners until Moycullen's goal, which could have been preceded and followed by another. They were the only goal chances created by any side in Tuam yesterday. Good to see Sean Kelly's form improving, though from where I was it looked as if he instigated the entanglement with Grugan in the very first instance.

Moycullen will need to improve more and get more players fit to have a chance in the final, but are a battle-hardened outfit all the same and are able to work through low patches in games when they come.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 156 - 14/10/2024 10:39:42    2574736

Replying To Eire89:  "Who are the outsiders? O Gallagher, Johnny Maloney, Tom Clarke, Michael O Reilly is there more? Perhaps it's something Co board should look at as they used NUIG as a recruiting conveyor belt. Any idea how bad the injuries are? S Kelly fit and firing is huge and I think they have the depth and fitness and athletism for Corofin but depends on the injuries too."
Yes and add in Neil Walsh and Cillian Gallagher ( from Donegal) who came on yesterday. 1/3 of their team is brought in. All living in Galway city also (Well according to commentary yday Gallagher is in Dublin which makes it more of a laugh, his home club is closer!!) . My gripe is they have quality players born and bred from Moycullen on the bench (Aidan claffey, Neil mulcahy, the two cox brothers etc etc) and Galway club football would be much better if these players joined the city clubs (St James and Michael's) as an example. It would improve the overall standard in Galway club football. Moycullen should be competing for a county title without the lads they have poached from guards and UCG. As an underage coach in Moycullen what do you do! Oh well done lads great effort stay going now until senior and we will hoax in a player so you can sit on the bench. It could hurt them long term when these players up and leave.

Green&Gold2013 (Galway) - Posts: 7 - 14/10/2024 10:43:36    2574739

This stuff about lads transferring to clubs is becoming tiresome on here. Fr Griffins had Johnny Geraghty, Colin McDonagh and a whole host of others when they were on top. Lads will always end up moving to urban areas for work etc and the days of having families with 5 or lads are long gone as well as the day of the small farm. Throwing jibes at clubs is utterly pointless

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 437 - 14/10/2024 10:54:05    2574743

Replying To Green&Gold2013:  "Yes and add in Neil Walsh and Cillian Gallagher ( from Donegal) who came on yesterday. 1/3 of their team is brought in. All living in Galway city also (Well according to commentary yday Gallagher is in Dublin which makes it more of a laugh, his home club is closer!!) . My gripe is they have quality players born and bred from Moycullen on the bench (Aidan claffey, Neil mulcahy, the two cox brothers etc etc) and Galway club football would be much better if these players joined the city clubs (St James and Michael's) as an example. It would improve the overall standard in Galway club football. Moycullen should be competing for a county title without the lads they have poached from guards and UCG. As an underage coach in Moycullen what do you do! Oh well done lads great effort stay going now until senior and we will hoax in a player so you can sit on the bench. It could hurt them long term when these players up and leave."
Its a difficult one. Lads who are living far from home are entitled to play ball without the burden of long travel so the GAA must allow it. In that context you cant knock Moycullen for accommodating them. While it is getting a bit on the excessive side and we can question the fairness , we just have to accept it. I dont think it will impact Moycullen long term, there is still a clear path for under age players to make senior teams.. there are still 10 + homegrown players on 1st 15 . I dont think its comparable to Fr Griffins in the 1970s where the level of imports was a contributory factor to their demise and to the rise of Salthill/Knocknacarra,

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 948 - 14/10/2024 11:37:44    2574757

Replying To Green&Gold2013:  "Yes and add in Neil Walsh and Cillian Gallagher ( from Donegal) who came on yesterday. 1/3 of their team is brought in. All living in Galway city also (Well according to commentary yday Gallagher is in Dublin which makes it more of a laugh, his home club is closer!!) . My gripe is they have quality players born and bred from Moycullen on the bench (Aidan claffey, Neil mulcahy, the two cox brothers etc etc) and Galway club football would be much better if these players joined the city clubs (St James and Michael's) as an example. It would improve the overall standard in Galway club football. Moycullen should be competing for a county title without the lads they have poached from guards and UCG. As an underage coach in Moycullen what do you do! Oh well done lads great effort stay going now until senior and we will hoax in a player so you can sit on the bench. It could hurt them long term when these players up and leave."
Maybe you could add lads not born or bred within 500 miles of Moycullen so you can double your envy list. It would be just as relevant as some of the half truths posted.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 131 - 14/10/2024 11:40:05    2574758

Replying To smallfrank:  "This stuff about lads transferring to clubs is becoming tiresome on here. Fr Griffins had Johnny Geraghty, Colin McDonagh and a whole host of others when they were on top. Lads will always end up moving to urban areas for work etc and the days of having families with 5 or lads are long gone as well as the day of the small farm. Throwing jibes at clubs is utterly pointless"
Yes, but look what happened Fr Griffin's

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 948 - 14/10/2024 12:06:42    2574769

Replying To smallfrank:  "This stuff about lads transferring to clubs is becoming tiresome on here. Fr Griffins had Johnny Geraghty, Colin McDonagh and a whole host of others when they were on top. Lads will always end up moving to urban areas for work etc and the days of having families with 5 or lads are long gone as well as the day of the small farm. Throwing jibes at clubs is utterly pointless"
Maybe it's tiresome but when it's one club, they keep on getting new outside players, and we have a fool on here lying about when one lad joined moycullen and where he lives, providing cover for them, that's tiresome too.

Lads yer 9 selectors and 10 panel members from outside the club won't help ye one bit Corofin have yer number. 8 more in a row!

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 108 - 14/10/2024 12:17:15    2574775

Was in tuam yesterday corofin look like they are getting back to where they were a few years ago, salthill really disappointing believing the hype from the media building them up, but lacked and plan b, still sat back when 5/6 points down but they have a young team and management so hopefully they can improve in the next 2 years,

Second game was a bit more exciting and some really good football played, tuam will be kicking themselves had a few bad sides, but moycullen looked the better side throughout,

Need to get injured players back could be a distraction in the build up for them, looks like it is Corofin's to lose!!
And thankfully it's in tuam should bring all us neutrals out again!

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 14/10/2024 12:19:12    2574777

It's Corofins to lose from here, they have a much strong panel than Moycullen and thats what will get them over the line!

Really impressed with the midfield pairing of Egan and Farragher yesterday & Wall, Canney and Sice in attack really shone for the champions.

Corofin haven't even come out of third gear yet so there is a big boom coming in 2 weeks.

LetsPlayBall (Galway) - Posts: 64 - 14/10/2024 13:07:55    2574790

Question : When was the last time that Moycullen beat Corofin in senior championship ( knockout stages)? They need to do it this year to really prove themselves. 2 county titles since 2020 is a great achievement , but to me there is a sense that in those years they were done a big favour by Mountbellew beating Corofin. Moycullen seemed to have Mountbellew's number ( apart from 2021) , but I have a suspicion that their running game exposed Mountbellew's deficiencies and Corofin seem to be a different animal.
Sunday week will be intriguing, so much at stake . If Moycullen win not only will they lay the ghost mentioned above but will firmly be the team of the decade ( 2020, 2022, 2024) and the top dogs. Corofin win and they are firmly back top of the pile with a 2 in a row , and 9 out of 12. Roll on 2 weeks time.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 948 - 14/10/2024 14:04:40    2574805

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "Owen Gallagher has been playing with moycullen since 2019, that's five years now. Micheal O Reilly is from moycullen. Tom Clarkes family are from moycullen orginally also, he's got uncles and cousins in the area. He lives in moycullen and works as a gaurd in Galway , why would he be going back to mayo? Makes no sense. These lads are in their 30s and settled in moycullen. Johnny Maloney has had a house in the area and a wife & kids etc . Not one of lads mentioned came from NUIG except Gallagher, and he's still being knocked although he's on the team 5 years now."
Johnny Maloney had a house in the area? If he does, it's one hell of an area.

BellewsBoys (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 14/10/2024 14:31:20    2574816