Galway Football thread

Now when will the first Armagh smoke-blower appear...telling us how wonderful we are, how they are lucky to be on the same field as us...etc etc

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 14/07/2024 19:58:07    2559092

Replying To galway19:  "Wouldn't you just love to see Paul Conroy getting a senior all Ireland medal. Another 70 minutes in midfield today. A true warrior."
no galway player deserves it more
he won't get the attention but great again today

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 212 - 14/07/2024 20:18:07    2559095

Great for Galway to be back into another All Ireland final. No Dublin in it as Galway already took them out, no Kerry as Armagh claimed that scalp. Opportunities like this don't come along like this too often and will be fitting should Galway win the All Ireland in the same month John O'Mahony past away.

Serious fitness,conditioning and strong panel Galway have now full credit to Joyce and his management for that.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 198 - 14/07/2024 20:20:07    2559097

Replying To cavan.galway:  "no galway player deserves it more
he won't get the attention but great again today"
Super player.

But is it just me who thinks Comer is over-rated.?
No offence meant - but I just dont rate him that highly at all.
Give me Walsh any day of the week.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 14/07/2024 20:31:38    2559103

Replying To DonegalAtlantic:  "Classy comment. Surprised you needed such a fortuitous goal to beat Division 2 opposition. You might need another next day"
Don't feed the troll bud. Brand new account and he's clearly trying to get a wind up from people posing as an obnoxious Tribesman. My money says it's our favorite Mayo poster trying to wind people up.

Hard luck today. Quite the battle.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3143 - 14/07/2024 20:33:43    2559104

Galway are the best team in the country with a full panel. Comer, Walsh, McDaid, Kelly, Finnerty, Silke, Daly. Unreal panel. Congrats on getting to the final well deserved.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 206 - 14/07/2024 20:45:21    2559110

Congrats to all involved with galway county football. Well deserved winners today, based on the 2nd half performance...Your defence kept us out and I dont think we did much wrong other than not being able to score.

Should be a great final.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 14/07/2024 21:10:09    2559116

Very much deserved finalists

Both Armagh and Galway, congratulations to both

I can already see the colour in CP.. it'll be a great occasion

2024 has been a good year

Cork v Clare

Armagh v Galway

Fair play to you if you guseesd that combo at the start of the year

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 14/07/2024 21:11:17    2559117

Replying To Fionn:  "Super player.

Give me Walsh any day of the week."
He is injured all year... a fit Comer is a superb player..
Even playing injured today means the opposition are kept on their toes..

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 85 - 14/07/2024 21:32:02    2559120

Comer would die to get the ball and put his hand or head in where no one else would while Shane Walsh can do magic when he is tuned in.Two different types of player so can't really compare.If you can get both on a good day they are unstoppable.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 329 - 14/07/2024 21:36:32    2559122

Correct it's only you that thinks that

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 30 - 14/07/2024 22:04:04    2559127

Just in the door, hoarse from roaring the lads on. A great win but Donegal kicked some wonderful points and put us to the pin of the collar. We can improve on that performance and will need to do so to beat Armagh. Up Galway.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 14/07/2024 22:07:58    2559132

Will Armagh wear the black jersey in the final?

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 14/07/2024 22:32:10    2559143

Replying To JahTribe:  "Just in the door, hoarse from roaring the lads on. A great win but Donegal kicked some wonderful points and put us to the pin of the collar. We can improve on that performance and will need to do so to beat Armagh. Up Galway."
Great win, donegal are hard bet and a win was unreal with croke park rocking, I actually think armagh will suit us better, donegal were defensively strong today i dont think armagh will be as hard break down

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 14/07/2024 22:55:44    2559149

Well done boys & girls, small margins but a deserved win for Galway. As always, great chat & banter with Galway GAA folk. The game was closely fought, but I don't think there was one dirty stroke in the entire match.
All the best in the final.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9432 - 14/07/2024 23:00:45    2559151

He's very under-rated. Walsh is a better scoring threat than Comer and he's one hell of a scoring threat. But when he's on his game his class but can be fairly anonymous when he isn't. He's not going to put his body in the line like Comer. Damien Comer, no matter his form, injuries, opposition will never give less than his all for the Galway jersey. He hates losing, can drag them to victory by winning ball in the back line and setting up play again and a good man to take his score. I'm a bit biased because lovely long range scores from Walsh are great to watch but Comer winning lost causes and getting the crowd off their feet is one of the great sights in Gaelic football.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7564 - 14/07/2024 23:26:37    2559153

Replying To Taypot:  "Correct it's only you that thinks that"
Well hopefully he proves me wrong in the final.

No doubt a good player but....

Anyway, hopefully both himself and Walsh are fully fit in 2 weeks.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 14/07/2024 23:38:52    2559156

Well done Galway,you are an excellent team.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8667 - 14/07/2024 23:42:57    2559158

There is a term we use in Galway to describe a player who has achieved and "punched" above his weight, and it's called a "manufactured" footballer. However, the thing is Damien was well manufactured and has a resilience that other players feed off. His main attribute is physicality, and of course can also score, Strictly speaking, once he gains possession he tends to push opponents aside, and technically should be a free against. So far, he hasn't been called out.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 619 - 14/07/2024 23:54:15    2559161

If you are capable of rating players accurately, based on your own evaluations, and adjusting those evaluated ratings accurately with the passage of time, then there is no reason why you should be overrating any player at any time.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3820 - 15/07/2024 00:33:59    2559171