Galway Football thread

Probably the most tense second half I've ever experienced in any game. Delighted. Absolutely delighted.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 136 - 14/07/2024 18:31:46    2559040

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Not a Galway person surely a WUM?"
Brand new poster and that's the nonsense they're coming out with. My guess is it's Claire trying a new tack. Either way WUM for sure. Tiresome.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3143 - 14/07/2024 18:47:05    2559042

Congratulations folks and best of luck in the final

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2113 - 14/07/2024 18:53:01    2559046

Great stuff to be in the All Ireland Final and a great opportunity to win it.
I got my 2pts win for Galway prediction spot on.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2420 - 14/07/2024 18:59:49    2559048

I was very impressed by Galway in the Connacht final at how they came back to win it , I felt that no team would like to be playing against them and it has been much the same with all their matches sence it has made it harder for teams to beat them. Let's hope it continues in the final against Armagh.

JamesDeVale (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 14/07/2024 19:01:24    2559049

Great to win that arm wrestle. Conceded 0-12 in 41mins, and 0-2 in the next 35mins. Quite the transformation! Did we change something defensively? You'd hope we did?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3820 - 14/07/2024 19:03:58    2559050

Replying To Vish:  "Great win for Galway footballers & many would have them favorites now.
Its a real shame their fans don't show up in bigger numbers given their lack of All Ireland semi-final appearances over the last 25 years.
Armagh will come in huge numbers and that's worth a few points especially in a final."
There was a huge Galway crowd there today

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 167 - 14/07/2024 19:10:10    2559054

Wouldn't you just love to see Paul Conroy getting a senior all Ireland medal. Another 70 minutes in midfield today. A true warrior.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 761 - 14/07/2024 19:11:34    2559055

Replying To Vish:  "Great win for Galway footballers & many would have them favorites now.
Its a real shame their fans don't show up in bigger numbers given their lack of All Ireland semi-final appearances over the last 25 years.
Armagh will come in huge numbers and that's worth a few points especially in a final."
How do you know how many fans show up from respective counties? Are you engaged in exit polling fans leaving grounds, working from home in the USA?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3820 - 14/07/2024 19:13:32    2559056

Replying To katser:  "Great stuff to be in the All Ireland Final and a great opportunity to win it.
I got my 2pts win for Galway prediction spot on."
You were overdue, after your Euro '24 quarter/semi 'no show'.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3820 - 14/07/2024 19:20:10    2559060

Well done lads! We have a big link to Galway in Ballinrobe Community School with many a great Clonbur GAA player lining out for us over the years. Delighted to see ye win today. It would be great if ye could help us develop our school while being in with a super chance of winning the all important match tickets for the final. See the link here : https://www.idonate.ie/raffle/AllIrelandTickets. Thanks and good luck in 2 weeks time.

BCS2 (Mayo) - Posts: 4 - 14/07/2024 19:32:26    2559070

There was a huge Galway crowd there today.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 329 - 14/07/2024 19:32:32    2559071

Padraig Joyce, the strength and conditioning guys and Conor Gleeson have taken some stick on this forum over the last few months. They stuck to their guns and fair play to them.

Ye have an indepth panel, are extremely fit and Conor Gleesons KICKOUTS were outstanding today today. (Possible All Star)
Some achievement to get into an All Ireland final with Walsh and Comer not going great.
Hope you finish the job now.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 612 - 14/07/2024 19:40:45    2559073

Replying To LimerickForLiam24:  "Donegal by 6-8 points"
Hope you staked your horse on it.

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 14/07/2024 19:45:05    2559076

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "There was a huge Galway crowd there today."
What as the split? Looked to me that there were more Galway. Maybe Galway 50%, Donegal 45% and neutral 5%. We don't always get great support so great to see it.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 136 - 14/07/2024 19:48:25    2559082

Replying To joeteor:  "Galway completely dominated us the last 25 minutes or so, well deserved win, if you play like that again I'd struggle to see Armagh winning, half our scores were from 50 yards, which isn't sustainable."
Yeah but they were some scores...ye had a great year and went down fighting. Great craic on the hill with your fans. See yiz next year!

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 14/07/2024 19:50:18    2559084

They'll come in the numbers they get tickets for!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1795 - 14/07/2024 19:50:19    2559085

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "How do you know how many fans show up from respective counties? Are you engaged in exit polling fans leaving grounds, working from home in the USA?"
Agreed. 67000 at the game and,I'd say it was 50-50. At least 30,000 westerners there. That is a great show for a late afternoon kickoff.

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 14/07/2024 19:54:56    2559089

Replying To Letitinnow:  "Lets not bother with the injury talk for 2 weeks, we have had a year of it. Next man up, and our next men up are more than good enough to beat division 2 opposition!"
Classy comment. Surprised you needed such a fortuitous goal to beat Division 2 opposition. You might need another next day

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 114 - 14/07/2024 19:55:08    2559090

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Padraig Joyce, the strength and conditioning guys and Conor Gleeson have taken some stick on this forum over the last few months. They stuck to their guns and fair play to them.

Ye have an indepth panel, are extremely fit and Conor Gleesons KICKOUTS were outstanding today today. (Possible All Star)
Some achievement to get into an All Ireland final with Walsh and Comer not going great.
Hope you finish the job now."
Was thinking the same. Gleason had a great game including a few key saves.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3143 - 14/07/2024 19:58:04    2559091