Galway Football thread

Id say there's so many injuries they haven't a clue who'll be fit until this evening or tomorrow morning.
Im expecting a good few changes. Can't see Mulkerrin starting. Finnertys knee must be worse after playing last Sunday, I don't know how he's not being minded by at least being a sub.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 21/06/2024 11:26:50    2553357

Replying To Belclare7:  "There should be no fearing Monaghan..
I'd imagine Comer will still be named on the bench but hopefully won't be needed..
One or two other changes needed just to rest a couple of lads..
A convincing win needed..."
Ah yes indeed ...and there will be a change or two before the start

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 21/06/2024 11:31:59    2553359

Replying To jam83:  "Id say there's so many injuries they haven't a clue who'll be fit until this evening or tomorrow morning.
Im expecting a good few changes. Can't see Mulkerrin starting. Finnertys knee must be worse after playing last Sunday, I don't know how he's not being minded by at least being a sub."
Wow!!

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 344 - 21/06/2024 11:45:10    2553361

Replying To Kickitout:  "Highlights of Monaghan v Galway league match came up on phone hard Believe a player who scored 1-03 from 4 shots can't get into squad and players who have not scored 1-03 In 4 matches are playing,, if either Walsh or Finnerty get injured he probably play John Daly and eoghan Kelly in forwards they must be only 2 backs he not tried there yet ,,, for such a brilliant smart player Joyce making most baffling positional decisions I've ever come across,,"
Are you actually Rory himself by any chance?

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 344 - 21/06/2024 11:46:20    2553364

Looking forward to getting to and staying in Salthill this weekend!!

Where do ye recommend for a few pre match settlers and also where to watch the Derry Mayo game after??

breaking.ball45 (Monaghan) - Posts: 23 - 21/06/2024 12:46:15    2553384

I find the Daly and Heaney thing strange.
They were ever present for around 2 years.
I know form hasn't been great but no worse than a couple of others.
The subs are completely lobsided again.
Sweeney, Hernon, O'Flaherty, Molloy, Daly. How many replacement half backs do we need.
Then if we need a finisher to come on, we're relying on an unfit Comer, Culhane and O'Conghaile.
I saw a programme recently where PJ, Derek Savage and Michael Meehan were started and Cormac Bane, Kieran Comer, Armstrong and Noel Meehan were subs.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 386 - 21/06/2024 13:30:28    2553394

Replying To breaking.ball45:  "Looking forward to getting to and staying in Salthill this weekend!!

Where do ye recommend for a few pre match settlers and also where to watch the Derry Mayo game after??"
Can never go wrong with Lonergans/Killorans before a match in Pearse stadium, right on the prom beside one another and a very short walk to the pitch. For afterwards I'm pretty sure P.J. Flaherty's in lower salthill has GAA Go so worth a look.

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 21/06/2024 13:34:09    2553397

Replying To breaking.ball45:  "Looking forward to getting to and staying in Salthill this weekend!!

Where do ye recommend for a few pre match settlers and also where to watch the Derry Mayo game after??"
PJ Flaherty's is a solid option and will have GaaGo

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 228 - 21/06/2024 13:43:51    2553400

Replying To Jellybaby:  "Wow!!"
Where's the wow factor in that post?

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 21/06/2024 13:52:49    2553405

Replying To jam83:  "Where's the wow factor in that post?"
I found your level of negativity astounding!!

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 344 - 21/06/2024 14:24:02    2553422

Replying To galway19:  "Good to see the club championship draw done. Couple of lopsided groups and then one very strong group with Corofin, Tuam and Claregalway in it. At the end of the day I think it is between Corofin, Mountbellew, Moycullen, Claregalway and maybe Salthill to win it out although I'd say Salthill can probably be ruled out given Rob Finnerty will probably be having surgery on his knee once Galway's year is over."
You mustn't know much about Galway football if you think claregalway are contenders. They wouldn't win an egg and spoon race

Mountbellya (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 21/06/2024 14:36:23    2553427

Strongest 26 Galway have selected this year which includes Comer back. Can be no excuses not to take care of Monaghan tomorrow. Next weekend will be more troublesome with three games in 14 days against a rested Donegal,Kerry or Dublin.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 148 - 21/06/2024 15:24:03    2553443

Replying To Jellybaby:  "Are you actually Rory himself by any chance?"
No I'm not him hard believe that was played in March and he hardly got a game since and management playing midfield and backs up in forwards and they not scoring and then they take them off and keep playing them out of position it's a form of madness to do same thing over and over agsin and expect different results,,,, Sean Kelly and Mcdaid prob the 2 players who have suffers the most being played out position they are mere shadow of what they were as players,, I still expect galway win 2 morrow in order 2 do that galway need keep Monaghan to 12 scores it's hard see galway getting much more than 13-15?

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 893 - 21/06/2024 15:29:41    2553448

Replying To Mountbellya:  "You mustn't know much about Galway football if you think claregalway are contenders. They wouldn't win an egg and spoon race"
They managed 4 points in a full game last night...
Beaten by Tuam in the Div 1 league final...

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 21/06/2024 16:18:30    2553461

Replying To Mountbellya:  "You mustn't know much about Galway football if you think claregalway are contenders. They wouldn't win an egg and spoon race"
I wouldn't be reading anything into the game against Tuam last night. After Corofin, it's a complete lottery as to who the 2nd-5th best teams are. Salthill will be without Finnerty, Michael Daly just had another surgery so that rules Mountbellew out of winning it but they will be competitive, Tuam have a very ageing team. Claregalway could beat anyone on their day but also lose to lower teams. That's what you are going to get with a very young team.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 728 - 21/06/2024 17:01:47    2553470

Replying To Belclare7:  "They managed 4 points in a full game last night...
Beaten by Tuam in the Div 1 league final..."
Semi final I meant... Tuam play Corofin in the final

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 21/06/2024 17:12:56    2553475

On a night you wouldn't put a dog out in.Will wait for championship to see how Claregalway are and indeed all the other teams.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 242 - 21/06/2024 18:20:12    2553488

Replying To Belclare7:  "They managed 4 points in a full game last night...
Beaten by Tuam in the Div 1 league final..."
That's wrong it was league semi final.Plus alot of their younger players only back after finishing LC and not training.It is long Summer.Will see what happens in championship.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 242 - 21/06/2024 18:22:24    2553490

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Strongest 26 Galway have selected this year which includes Comer back. Can be no excuses not to take care of Monaghan tomorrow. Next weekend will be more troublesome with three games in 14 days against a rested Donegal,Kerry or Dublin."
Never mind next weekend. We'll worry about that if we get through tomorrow. I see another cagey game and for that reason, I think it'll be tight.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2096 - 21/06/2024 19:16:37    2553496

Get out of Salthill after the match and head into town.....Murphys Pub near the Front Door will show it and have lovely Guinness.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2332 - 21/06/2024 19:17:34    2553497