Galway Football thread

John Maher has been immense for us since he came in last year.
Kieran Molloy is going through a bit of a dip.
In his body language at the moment he seems a bit lackadaisical or something. Kind of like he's not getting stuck in in a physical sense.
He has the ability though so hopefully he gets his form back.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 05/03/2024 07:58:51    2529874

Replying To galwayman2:  "John Maher has been immense for us since he came in last year.
In his body language at the moment he seems a bit lackadaisical or something. Kind of like he's not getting stuck in in a physical sense.
He has the ability though so hopefully he gets his form back."
Maher might not be the most talented on the ball but doubt there's a midfielder who covers more ground then he does.

Agree on Molloy, he's got another few months to return to form. We've got good options at the back now with Silke to return too.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 05/03/2024 09:47:37    2529891

Replying To galwayman2:  "John Maher has been immense for us since he came in last year.
He has the ability though so hopefully he gets his form back."
Maher might not be the most talented on the ball but doubt there's a midfielder who covers more ground then he does.

Agree on Molloy, he's got another few months to return to form. We've got good options at the back now with Silke to return too.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 05/03/2024 10:13:34    2529893

I also think that Galway were lucky that Rory Beggan was not playing for Monaghan (trying out the American football it seems and why wouldn't he?!) as I think he would have scored most of those long range frees / 45's that their current keeper thankfully missed and he wouldn't have conceded 3 goals either. It may have been a very different result if he was playing but I'm not complaining!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 05/03/2024 10:32:33    2529898

It's more than a little concerning that we haven't seen Comer at all this year (and Walsh since the Mayo game). Does anyone have any update on where they are on their return to play journey? It takes games to get match sharpness back and the season is very condensed.

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 05/03/2024 10:36:02    2529899

I thought Gleeson had a good game too. The palmed clearance from cross ball into square was effective under the circumstances, and he also got down quickly to save shot on goal. Of course, he needs to improve on quick turnaround when ball goes dead.

Some posters looking (with rose-tinted glasses) imo, towards injured players coming back and solving a lot of problems. This may not happen.. The longer players are out injured, the bigger their reputation gets..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 588 - 05/03/2024 10:55:45    2529905

Replying To Rocky.Road:  "It's more than a little concerning that we haven't seen Comer at all this year (and Walsh since the Mayo game). Does anyone have any update on where they are on their return to play journey? It takes games to get match sharpness back and the season is very condensed."
Agree but at the same time, previously we've 'needed' them back, rushed them into playing not fully fit (Sean Kelly limping around the field) and then just extended their injuries of not made them even worse off. At least we might get players back, properly fit and mad for road. Hopefully!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 05/03/2024 12:07:44    2529913

Out of the missing players, it's Comer and McDaid I'm most eager to see as they offer the biggest impact. It will be interesting to see what level Silke is at after missing a year of IC. Walsh is very hot and mostly cold so hard to see where he'll be at when he returns.

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 05/03/2024 12:43:59    2529918

Replying To jobseekersbent:  "Out of the missing players, it's Comer and McDaid I'm most eager to see as they offer the biggest impact. It will be interesting to see what level Silke is at after missing a year of IC. Walsh is very hot and mostly cold so hard to see where he'll be at when he returns."
Hot and cold maybe, but one shudders to think where we'd have come up with a credible scoreline at the 2022 allireland final v Kerry, if Walsh hadn't magic'd up his memorable first half hot hot streak on the day. Certainly impressed any Kilmacud scouts looking in on the day.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 05/03/2024 13:45:10    2529927

Replying To jobseekersbent:  "Out of the missing players, it's Comer and McDaid I'm most eager to see as they offer the biggest impact. It will be interesting to see what level Silke is at after missing a year of IC. Walsh is very hot and mostly cold so hard to see where he'll be at when he returns."
Hot and cold maybe, but one shudders to think where we'd have come up with a credible scoreline at the 2022 allireland final v Kerry, if Walsh hadn't magic'd up his memorable first half hot hot streak on the day. Certainly impressed any Kilmacud scouts looking in on the day.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 05/03/2024 13:46:38    2529929

Replying To Really:  "I thought Gleeson had a good game too. The palmed clearance from cross ball into square was effective under the circumstances, and he also got down quickly to save shot on goal. Of course, he needs to improve on quick turnaround when ball goes dead.

Some posters looking (with rose-tinted glasses) imo, towards injured players coming back and solving a lot of problems. This may not happen.. The longer players are out injured, the bigger their reputation gets.."
The general point is true in relation to injured players, but I don't need glasses of any shade to tell me what a fit Damien Comer offers to Galway.
His reputation is based on performances.
McDaid is also key as he's very dynamic in an area in which we're struggling at the moment.
We all know what Shane Walsh can offer and I'd much rather have him available than not.
I can tell you for certain opposition players and management would prefer for him not be lining out for us.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 05/03/2024 15:21:34    2529943

I thought Shane was playing well for Kilmacud and I think he will have a good Championship when he returns. He is that bit of x factor that we badly need as is Cillian who both drove us close to an All-Ireland in 2022. Add in Paul and Mattie and a fit Liam Silke and we will be a dangerous opponent.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 05/03/2024 16:37:58    2529958

I think it's like this regarding our returning players and Galway football timing the biggest gallop in over two decades for 2024. Despite our depleted squad and some disappointing play so far this year, we're not positioned too badly now and you'd hope we'll do enough to retain DIv 1 status. So, no guarantees of course, but that should hopefully be a case of job done - stayed up.
Then there's the business end. It's all about a right auld tilt at the All Ireland and as worrying as things have looked at times none of us supporters should rule that out. Any team - Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, Derry, anyone - where you take out 3, 4 or 5 of their star quality players look eminently beatable. That's a fact. So look at the calibre of the roster of players we've been missing (Walsh, Comer, McDaid, Silke - more recently Conroy and Tierney) or are only recently returning - Sean Kelly, Jack Glynn etc. That group are an absolutely powerhouse collective of ballers and leaders on the field, when they're primed.
And I'm hoping it's primed they're going to be. The fact is we've just over 4 weeks to go to the championship opener in London (looking forward to the craic there that weekend). We simply don't have to have everyone back for that. It's not a formality but we should have ambition to do a number on them there, and I think our 'maybe's' will be itching to put down a marker in Ruislip to get their name in the hat for the summer. All going well there, you've then Sligo or Leitrim in just over 6 weeks time in Pearse on Apr 20th. That's where you'd hope to have most of the injured roster back for at least a 25-30 min full championship tempo return. And all going well there, you're looking at the cavalry being at full fitness and sharpness in a little over 8 weeks from now for a full 'white heat' showdown with Mayo or Roscommon in the Connacht Final on May 5th. Getting game time into them all is a challenge but fitness and flexibility (so as to avoid our litany of muscular injuries) is something these lads and our management critically must have right for 6 to 8 Wks time. And given the championship draw, the lads still have some time on their side to be properly ready. Come the 5th May, I hope we'll be seeing Galway locked and loaded with everyone on board and at pretty much peak fitness. The dressing room door will come off the hinges if we're ready. Beyond Connacht, well we'll see what happens. Cmon lads, one big rattle at 24 and let's see where we go!! It's doable. Up Galway!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 05/03/2024 17:12:32    2529967

Replying To WanPintWin:  "The general point is true in relation to injured players, but I don't need glasses of any shade to tell me what a fit Damien Comer offers to Galway.
His reputation is based on performances.
McDaid is also key as he's very dynamic in an area in which we're struggling at the moment.
We all know what Shane Walsh can offer and I'd much rather have him available than not.
I can tell you for certain opposition players and management would prefer for him not be lining out for us."
People forget, even when these injured players were available, we still wern't able to beat Mayo...

I'd consider Dublin and Kerry a massive step up from Mayo's standard.. So, I feel it's the right thing to concentrate on the young fringe players with a view to making a realistic challenge say 2-3 years down the road. Again just my opinion.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 588 - 05/03/2024 17:52:08    2529974

Shane Walsh has the most money in the bank going back over the last decade. He has just been nominated for club footballer of the year! He makes the odd poor decision but the amount of games he has won single handedly! His contribution to the cause is prob 2nd only to Paul Conroy! 2nd half in Dr Hyde park in 2018. Show me a better performance in a Galway shirt? They gave an all star to handpass McHugh that year at wing forward!

He looked a little off last year but look closely and every team will have their best marker and a sweeper in the space in front of him. He went through a strange year last year & all the controversy over his transfer couldn't have helped but he wasn't flying for Crokes.

OhReally (Limerick) - Posts: 23 - 05/03/2024 20:11:31    2530002

I think a lot of Galway supporters have very short memories or maybe selective memories Shane Walsh is a class player has being doing it for Galway 10 years he would walk on 2 any team in Ireland over last 20 years than include the great Dublin team ,, we in Galway are blessed to have him unfortunately lots don't appreciate how good he has being for Galway of course he had some poor games but ever player does ,I guarantee you that any team galway play be happier if he was not playing, people have to accept he not going 2 be making them runs like he was 5/6 years ago but in full flight soloing left snd right and kicking off either foot he is a joy 2 watch that's a proper player only wish we had 6 forwards like him then football be a great entertaining game again and Dublin not be dominating football. Even though I do enjoy watching them they play it the way it was meant to be ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 05/03/2024 21:03:39    2530007

Replying To Really:  "People forget, even when these injured players were available, we still wern't able to beat Mayo...

I'd consider Dublin and Kerry a massive step up from Mayo's standard.. So, I feel it's the right thing to concentrate on the young fringe players with a view to making a realistic challenge say 2-3 years down the road. Again just my opinion."
Couldn't beat Mayo with a half fit hobbling Sean Kelly and Comer only lasting the first half?? So I'm not sure these injured players were actually available....

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 05/03/2024 21:45:57    2530010

Replying To Really:  "People forget, even when these injured players were available, we still wern't able to beat Mayo...

I'd consider Dublin and Kerry a massive step up from Mayo's standard.. So, I feel it's the right thing to concentrate on the young fringe players with a view to making a realistic challenge say 2-3 years down the road. Again just my opinion."
If you're referring to last year's championship game Comer went off injured at half time, Sean Kelly wasn't even close to fit and Walsh was also not right.

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 05/03/2024 21:52:05    2530012

I don't agree. We weren't full strength for Mayo last year. Even Mayo know that. Sean Kelly was hobbling from the start and he's the fulcrum. Comer got injured and Shane was well off the boil. Hoping that won't be the case this year. I think Shane has to use these precious few weeks this year to get himself to a place where he has his fitness, pace and hunger back. He's a showstopper when on form. Mayo lads telling me young Callanan can shackle him again, well I'd like to see Walsh tear the place asunder if he's fully ready. Comer strikes fear into any team and is devestating when he's fully on. We've a few jobs to do in the meantime but I'm expecting it to be an old firm Connacht final. Bring it!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 06/03/2024 02:17:48    2530019

Dylan McHugh and to a lesser extent Kieran Molloy were also not fit for that Mayo game. Another in a long string of bizarre posts from that poster, one wonders...

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 210 - 06/03/2024 07:23:07    2530023