Galway Football thread

Replying To Jellybaby:  "Nice player at club level in the Intermediate football championship and Division 4 league, he is not good enough. Nothing personal against the lad."
And sure you might need reminding of this one too! Good man, Rory Cunningham! 4 shots: 1-3. Mic drop.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 03/03/2024 20:51:26    2529565

Thought we tried a lot of aggressive passes, some of which were not on, which resulted in some sloppy turnovers. This is probably as a result of getting stuck for being so passive and playing sideways in other games. With experience they will learn the balance.

I wouldn't predict the final league games. History tells us they don't always go to form. Some teams have enough achieved and clock off early and maybe get another block of hard training in before championship.

Maher is a thoroughbred.

Great to see Kelly coming through full game.

Jack Glynn is a big plus, but hopefully Finnerty is ok

2 week break now. Hopefully a few more back.

Our defence is good.

If we can get some luck on there injuries we could be there or there abouts.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 03/03/2024 20:58:16    2529568

Replying To togoutlads:  "This aged well, Jellybaby! Cunningham was most certainly good enough today. Hope he can build on it."
And you can say that again !

gaamad26 (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 03/03/2024 21:41:51    2529582

Replying To smallfrank:  "Agree with a lot of this, it wasn't a great performance and we needed the goals.
1. Gleeson, solid enough but kick outs are definitely a problem. When we needed possession today he just bombed them out and Darren Hughes won the ball particularly after half time. It will cost us in the summer.
2. McGrath, brilliant again on a top forward. One of the first names on the team sheet.
3. Fitzgerald, not as good as previous games.
4. Mulkerrin Caught out a few times and taken off before half time.
5. McHugh, our HB line was our strongest. I thought he was back to his best today.
6. Daly Brilliant defending and covering of space today and always with the head up when carrying the ball.
7. O'Flaherty Very good again today, couple of sloppy moments. Very well conditioned even up against the Monaghan lads.
8. Kelly, good to see him back. Had an OK game.
9. Maher Turned over ball cheaply today but to be fair to him ran himself into the ground.
10. Heaney, slowed up the play a lot I thought and didn't break the line. HF line was our weakest today.
11. Darcy I was watching him off the ball making runs and he couldn't get out in front. Good hearted player but can't see him make the team when everyone's available.
12. Sweeney, mixed the great with the bad, some brilliant cameos and some poor handling. Another who ran himself into the ground.
13. Finnerty, was limping very early and very reluctant to shoot. I don't think he is kicking on at all, huge potential
14. Daly, not great today. Caught for pace a few times. Not sure of his best position.
15. Cunningham, one of the only ones prepared to pull the trigger(will they coach that out of him). One small thing and it's not his fault. Does not have the IC conditioning yet and it was visible today. Got pushed out over the line at one stage. Needs time.

Glynn, great cameo, very sticky and carried well
Molloy, sloppy enough with possession and tackling, needs time
O'Curraion, looks in great shape and very accurate
O'Conghaile, worked hard but very erratic shooting
Egan, looks the part when carrying the ball, good to see him get a run.

Poor enough day on the line. Kick out strategy non existent even when a man up.
Black Card, extra player second week in a row and we did not capitalise or have any plan
Very ponderous and cautious forward play. Guys very reluctant to shoot"
Galway scored 2-1 while Monaghan were down to 14. Not sure you could expect a whole lot more.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 03/03/2024 21:59:49    2529586

Replying To togoutlads:  "Well O'Conghaile needs to cop on a bit with his shot selection, it looks like juvenile level shot decision making much of the time, and he needs to put in some serious graft in his own time simply on shooting. Just repeatedly splitting the posts. He needs hard work to get that radar in but is capable of it. Not good enough or cute enough just yet but you'd have hope for him and I hope he gets there."
Agreed , i reckon over the 4 games he has taken at last 10 shots and could be 11/12 . Think he may have one point but thats about it. He has pace and does work hard so that gives him some kudos. Padraic is a strange fish -appears to hae great patience with Liam but reluctant to give Jack McHugh another run. He definitely could have done with 10 to 15 mins today to see if he's up to it. Ian Hynes from Kilkerrin Clonberne . As mentioned by another poster ,the Annaghdown lad got the chop . In fairness it wasnt his fault that they got knocked out last year

fairplay4ever (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 03/03/2024 22:05:49    2529588

I thought Galway were very sloppy in possession and got turned over numerous times with Fitzgerald, O'Flaherty, Maher and Sweeney the most guilty in that regard even though they all worked hard - Maher in particular gives it all for the jersey even though he may not be the most skillful in the world. A lack of S&C and being too easily dispossessed / pushed off the ball is a big issue in general with this team. Another thing I noticed is there is a "soft centre" in the Galway defence and opposition players find it very easy at times to run through our defenders with little or no tackles being put in to stop them. Darcy and Daly are not forwards but we all knew that already apart from PJ and his selectors it seems! The goals were vital but a couple of them were somewhat fortuitous. At last PJ picked an actual in-form forward in Cunningham who was excellent in his first start scoring 1-3 - not bad for an intermediate player!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 03/03/2024 22:39:00    2529593

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Galway scored 2-1 while Monaghan were down to 14. Not sure you could expect a whole lot more."
Based on a free that came off the post and a sideline into the square. The first goal was a free we got after Finnerty lost the ball and the second was from a sideline after an interception. We should have been able to open them up. Monaghan scored 3 points

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 365 - 03/03/2024 23:14:29    2529597

Good win today albeit Monaghan were very poor. Based on todays team
Gleason, yes for championship
McGrath, yes
Fitzgerald, unsure
Mulkerrin, not as cb or hb,
McHugh, yes
Daly, yes
O'Flaherty, unsure. Great going forward, suspect defending
Maher, yes
Kelly, not at midfield, prefer to see him at fb
Heaney, yes
Darcy, no
Sweeney, unsure
Finnerty, no…no work rate
Daly, no
Cunningham, yes

Like to see…
Gleeson
McGrath, Kelly, Silke,
McHugh, Daly, Heaney ?
Maher, McDaid
Tierney, Conroy, o' Flaherty ?
Cunningham, Comer, Walsh.

1951andwaiting (Galway) - Posts: 83 - 03/03/2024 23:18:12    2529598

Gleeson had a good game today. He'll never be brilliant but he's the only realistic option for championship now.
McGrath excellent again.
Fitzgerald a bit sloppy at times but the next 2 games will tell us much more about him.
Mulkerrin silly error just before he was subbed. Glynn a huge improvement and more composed on the ball.
Flaherty sloppy at times but direct and adds pace.
Daly was ok, middle is still easy to penetrate for other teams.
McHugh was ok, poor in possession at times but had been more direct lately.
Maher good goal and solid despite it not being a stellar performance.
Darcy felt pace was an issue. Not convinced by him.
Sweeney great goal but gave away some ball too.
Kelly was ok, feel he's more a threat at full back but he's only finding his feet again.
Heaney one of his poorer games.
Cunningham was excellent. Clinical finisher.
Daly worked hard but didn't get on much ball.
Finnerty wasn't great but taken off with injury.

Conaighle needs to be quicker and less obvious with shot selection. And accurate with the ones he does get off. Basically needs massive improvement.
O'Curraoin was brilliant and frees and won a good mark and showed for the ball. Would start him for his place kicking.
Glynn very good, alert and direct.
Molloy looked leggy and flat.

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 04/03/2024 08:22:57    2529612

Assuming Conroy is back but rest are injured, here's team I'd like to see against the Dubs

Gleeson
McGrath Fitzgerald Glynn
McHugh Daly Flaherty
Maher Kelly
Sweeney Conroy Heaney
Cunningham O Curraoin Finnerty (O Conaighle if Finnerty is injured)

Championship then assuming all are fit I'd go for:
Gleeson
McGrath Kelly Glynn
McHugh Daly Silke
Maher McDaid
Sweeney Walsh Heaney
O Curraoin Comer Finnerty

Tierney Conroy Walsh Flaherty Cunningham Molloy for impact. Probably forgot a few players

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 04/03/2024 08:29:35    2529613

By my count Johnny McGrath has now held his direct opponent (McCarron, McGuigan, Canavan, O'Carroll, O'Donoghue) to a total of four points from play across five games. That is exceptional.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 04/03/2024 09:14:35    2529618

Huge win & gives us breathing space should be safe. No taking away Monaghan poorest side in Div 1 by a long shot. Next 2 games against Dubs & Kerry will tell us alot but im looking forward to it as will tell us where we are especially defensively. McGrath is top class & I have been pleasantly surprised with Fitzgerald but these 2 games will tell alot. Mulkerrin out for Glynn jsut not good enough. O curraoin is some free taker & I would have him on frees ahead of Walsh in champo at this rate. Any of the injuries expected back befored end Comer Walsh Conroy McDaid Tierney Silke considering the injuries great to stay up & also given mins to players Cunningham O Conghaile O Curraoin. O Conghaile needs to work on shot selection but no doubt of his potential and works hard. Great for Kelly to get a full 70 in tank also.

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 250 - 04/03/2024 09:39:25    2529623

Replying To jobseekersbent:  "Assuming Conroy is back but rest are injured, here's team I'd like to see against the Dubs

Gleeson
McGrath Fitzgerald Glynn
McHugh Daly Flaherty
Maher Kelly
Sweeney Conroy Heaney

Gleeson
McGrath Kelly Glynn
McHugh Daly Silke
Maher McDaid
Sweeney Walsh Heaney

Tierney Conroy Walsh Flaherty Cunningham Molloy for impact. Probably forgot a few players"
2023 Top Scorer (comfortably) in all competitions left for impact

t.g (Galway) - Posts: 106 - 04/03/2024 09:51:44    2529626

Skill levels very poor from a lot of players. The goals came at good time and were needed.
Positives are Cunningham and O' Corrain - maybe will not start come championship if Walsh and Comer available, but certainly will make very effective impact subs in last 20 minute of games and are natural scorers. Rob Finnerty was quiet.
Can't see Mulkerrin keeping his spot - Glynn will start. Between Fitz and Silke for full back.
We go long with an awful lot of kick outs making it a 50/50 contest which the Dubs will love.
That would be my half back line come championship. - McHugh, Daly, Flaherty.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 377 - 04/03/2024 10:08:20    2529632

My championship team with everyone fit
Gleason
McGrath. Kelly. Glynn
Mchugh. Daly Silke
Mcdaid / Maher
Tierney. Finnerty. Heaney

Cunningham. Walsh. Comer

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 04/03/2024 10:11:23    2529635

Replying To Kickitout:  "My championship team with everyone fit
Gleason
McGrath. Kelly. Glynn
Mchugh. Daly Silke
Mcdaid / Maher
Tierney. Finnerty. Heaney

Cunningham. Walsh. Comer"
Galway having a "soft centre" for opposition players to run through like a knife through butter has to be the number one concern for management. John Daly is a good player going forward and can give astute passes etc. but his number one attribute has to be tigerish defending (ala Johnny McGrath who is now Galway's best defender) but unfortunately he is not doing that or doing it effectively. The others that have played at halfback this year such as McHugh, O'Flaherty, Mulkerrin and Molloy are not great at defending / tackling either which is a huge concern facing Dublin because if you don't tackle or defend tightly against the likes of Kilkenny, Bugler, Small, Scully, O'Callaghan etc. they will eat you alive!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 04/03/2024 11:15:06    2529664

Replying To jobseekersbent:  "Assuming Conroy is back but rest are injured, here's team I'd like to see against the Dubs

Gleeson
McGrath Fitzgerald Glynn
McHugh Daly Flaherty
Maher Kelly
Sweeney Conroy Heaney

Gleeson
McGrath Kelly Glynn
McHugh Daly Silke
Maher McDaid
Sweeney Walsh Heaney

Tierney Conroy Walsh Flaherty Cunningham Molloy for impact. Probably forgot a few players"
Presume Walsh on the bench is a mistake (as you have him centre forward also).
Not a bad team.
Only thing I would say is they won't play 3 inside in all likelihood so it will be Comer plus one other (Finnerty, O Curraoin, Cunningham etc).
That opens the door for Tierney to come in as an extra body around the middle (or Conroy).
Mulkerrin has to be dropped - he's not at the races at this level.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 04/03/2024 11:47:16    2529673

Replying To tommy k:  "Galway having a "soft centre" for opposition players to run through like a knife through butter has to be the number one concern for management. John Daly is a good player going forward and can give astute passes etc. but his number one attribute has to be tigerish defending (ala Johnny McGrath who is now Galway's best defender) but unfortunately he is not doing that or doing it effectively. The others that have played at halfback this year such as McHugh, O'Flaherty, Mulkerrin and Molloy are not great at defending / tackling either which is a huge concern facing Dublin because if you don't tackle or defend tightly against the likes of Kilkenny, Bugler, Small, Scully, O'Callaghan etc. they will eat you alive!"
I think our biggest problem at the moment is the HF line, we are playing converted defenders and midfielders there and that means that the ball going into the FF line is non existent. Daly, McHugh, O'Flaherty and to some degree Maher are the ones creating but with runs from deep. Our main score creator last year was Sean Kelly, with incisive runs.

In 22, Comer had a great year but it was Daly playing in the right ball to him inside. In the final, Walsh did his own thing and fair play to him but Comer had no impact, because he wasn't supplied with the ball.

The Half Forwards we are picking are not heads up type players like Daly. The likes of Molloy, Sweeney, Heaney, Darcy even Tierney. The team is crying out for a heads up ball player in the HF line. David Clifford creates havoc because Paudie Clifford plays it into the space in front of him. Same as Con, Paddy Small, Costello.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 365 - 04/03/2024 11:47:46    2529674

Replying To togoutlads:  "And sure you might need reminding of this one too! Good man, Rory Cunningham! 4 shots: 1-3. Mic drop."
Good kicking yesterday, fair play to the lad. I won't be changing my view or opinion until I see more of the same yesterday over the season.

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 04/03/2024 12:13:19    2529687

Replying To galwayman2:  "Presume Walsh on the bench is a mistake (as you have him centre forward also).
Not a bad team.
Only thing I would say is they won't play 3 inside in all likelihood so it will be Comer plus one other (Finnerty, O Curraoin, Cunningham etc).
That opens the door for Tierney to come in as an extra body around the middle (or Conroy).
Mulkerrin has to be dropped - he's not at the races at this level."
Ya Walsh starting, my mistake. I agree, in all likelihood, Tierney will start instead of O Curraoin. I like O Curraoin's free taking but aside from London maybe one of the other weaker teams, he won't be starting.

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 04/03/2024 12:23:03    2529694