Galway Football thread

Shane Walsh is obviously a superb talent, but he was really very poor today. He had the game of his life last year in the All Ireland final, which is of course the stage on which to shine, but he has had more bad days than good for Galway and today was one of his worst. Plenty of time to improve but he needs to. We need him to.

Comer, Sweeney, Kelly, McHugh all excellent.

Cooke and Heaney… not so much.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 23/04/2023 20:08:09    2472915

Interestingly both Walsh and Clifford off their game but really its at the business end we need Shane firing.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 23/04/2023 20:18:04    2472926

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "2022 - Walsh did his talking on the field. 2023 - Walsh seems to be doing his talking off the field. His shooting was poor today, after a shambolic league final on placed balls."
Tbh, Shane is a free spirit. He probably works more than most. from the official training programme to ensure he maintains the skills. I think it's really up to management to direct his potential - one of the senior members, alas, also one of the most immature..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 587 - 23/04/2023 20:18:27    2472927

Yep thought Walsh shot selection wasn't great unfortunately, forcing it. And that high ball in towards Finnerty at the end of the game when Walsh was in the corner forward position was just reckless stuff, especially just being three points up. Recycle and keep possession please.

Worked very hard though. Like all 15 lads. Great to get the win.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1571 - 23/04/2023 20:21:48    2472931

Replying To candlewax:  "good win especially after roscommon came back at us after the break. comer man of the match, ma chugh was good breaking thru the lines. conroy had many assists burke was brilliantmaher got some point. shane and cooke not on the ball."
Burke is a funny player, obviously massive talent and a huge asset for ye to have back this year but he seems to rarely shoot or have the confidence too.He is very unselfish though and is like a playmaker setting up so many plays but just find it unusual he rarely backs himself.
Anyway good win for ye. First half was desperate more down to us than ye. We made a game of it for a while second half thankfully but don't think Galway were anywhere near yer best. Walsh was surprisingly poor and ye still won comfortably which is a good sign going forward

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 23/04/2023 20:24:48    2472932

Replying To Really:  "Ian always makes the correct decision.. unfortunately, others don't.. I thought Jack Glynn was very efficient - tidying up with no fuss. McGrath took a ballsy decision to cover ground right to left in second half, and won crucial possession. Comer displayed strikers instinct for his goal. The one problem I see is, they continue to perform as individuals, and management need to work on this."
He's a clubman of my own so I'll always defend him, but he doesn't always take the right option. He should shoot more. He had a terrible wide today at a key time - very little football played the last 3 years or so.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 23/04/2023 20:51:06    2472948

The negatives, Walsh, Daly and Conroy. Thought they had poor games but we will need them later and they have been very good for a while so allowed an off day.

The positives, McGrath was tigerish, McHugh was our main launch pad with Kelly being tracked, Maher was immense, work rate, scores, tracking runs. Comer took his chances and Burke I thought just adds something very different.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 364 - 23/04/2023 20:52:02    2472949

Expected win in the end although things looked dodgy 15 minutes into the 2nd half. Got the rub of the green with slip that could well have given Roscommon a four point lead and Comer reacting quickest on rebound off the post.

Was a bit like the AI semi final whereby Comer was the main man and Walsh was off colour if Galway if can get both on song at the same time in the business end few if any teams will beat Galway but up next is Galway v Sligo Connacht final in Castlebar for the first time in 21years.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 23/04/2023 21:05:28    2472960

Replying To Yondu:  "Expected win in the end although things looked dodgy 15 minutes into the 2nd half. Got the rub of the green with slip that could well have given Roscommon a four point lead and Comer reacting quickest on rebound off the post.

Was a bit like the AI semi final whereby Comer was the main man and Walsh was off colour if Galway if can get both on song at the same time in the business end few if any teams will beat Galway but up next is Galway v Sligo Connacht final in Castlebar for the first time in 21years."
I don't think so. Pj will remember a forgettable 2007 season!!!!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3419 - 23/04/2023 21:27:09    2472973

We'll meet again the the All Ireland semis. Best of luck!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1079 - 23/04/2023 21:43:53    2472981

What a leap John Maher has taken this year. I know he has impressed at club level the last two years but he is turning into a very solid inter county midfielder this season.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 23/04/2023 21:56:37    2472984

Great win for those who thought goalkeeping issue would be solved by dropping gleeson I don't think so

My ratings
Power 6
McGrath 9
Kelly 7
Glynn 7
Mchugh 8
Daly 7
Sweeney 7
Conroy 5
Maher 9
Tierney 7
Heaney 6
Cooke 5
Burke 7
Comer 9
Walsh 5

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1159 - 23/04/2023 22:28:12    2472995

Replying To Kickitout:  "Good win gave ball away so many times conroy at least 4 times way 2 slow brining subs on Mcdaid should being on 55 mins no point talking f about the quality of bench and not using them ,same happened In all. Ireland last year need improved on sideline as well as on field ,,"
Have to agree I thought management very slow to bring on subs in time to make an impact and can someone tell me why Tommo Culhane isn't given a chance. Any time I've seen him he is direct and not afraid to shoot.

SAM1998 (Galway) - Posts: 18 - 23/04/2023 22:46:15    2473004

Replying To Really:  "Ian always makes the correct decision.. unfortunately, others don't.. I thought Jack Glynn was very efficient - tidying up with no fuss. McGrath took a ballsy decision to cover ground right to left in second half, and won crucial possession. Comer displayed strikers instinct for his goal. The one problem I see is, they continue to perform as individuals, and management need to work on this."
I don't know about individuals. Some serious interplay today for scores. Im struggling to think of many wides where you'd be asking what the hell was he at?

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 23/04/2023 23:44:27    2473012

Replying To brisbane:  "Don't think I've seen Walsh as poor hopefully he can get back into a team mindset. What was keegan at with the motm award? Pretty poor form not letting Comer have his day in the sun"
He didn't score from play but he carried ball long distances and laid it off. Obviously there's way more in him. I remember one shot in second half that went high and wide. Another cross field ball at the end was a 50/50 for Finnerty. But I don't recall him wasting ball on any kind of chronic level.
Other lads did the scoring, happy days. Happy camp too.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 23/04/2023 23:50:04    2473014

Lot to be very happy about. Some great interplay for scores, kicking and handpassing.
Kickouts are still a huge problem. Flynn highlighted it on Sunday Game. Being there today, I could see there was nobody moving into space most of the time. Lads just static. Power waited ages for options.
Roscommon were marked at times but then a lad would ghost into space to receive a kickout. It's a chess move, we never seem to have these prepared.
Walsh obviously had some wild shots or passes but I think only a few. Not chronic though. He did link or add to an awful lot of plays.
Cooke was tightly marked but was disappointed he didn't score. Had a shot from a hard angle in the first half.
I read Shane Walsh's interview in the indo. Have to say I got worried when he said something about Cian o Neill giving out to him regularly in training for hearing but not listening, or something like that. If one of the most senior players, a leader and role model in the dressing room, is clowning around not following instructions in training, that's a bad sign. I hope the all Ireland performance plus his win with kilmacud isn't gonna **** things up for Galway by us having a bit of a mé féiner on our hands this summer.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 24/04/2023 00:02:15    2473016

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I don't think so. Pj will remember a forgettable 2007 season!!!!!"
I think he meant the first Galway v Sligo Connacht final to be played specifically in McHale Park in 21 years. Remember being at that game in 2022 the same day as the World Cup final if memory serves me!

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 24/04/2023 00:26:57    2473019

Power was poor yesterday, if gleeson made the mistakes he made we d have to be listening to it today. Gleeson needs to start connacht final

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 24/04/2023 08:36:17    2473044

Replying To jm25:  "Great win for those who thought goalkeeping issue would be solved by dropping gleeson I don't think so

My ratings
Power 6
McGrath 9
Kelly 7
Glynn 7
Mchugh 8
Daly 7
Sweeney 7
Conroy 5
Maher 9
Tierney 7
Heaney 6
Cooke 5
Burke 7
Comer 9
Walsh 5"
dont quit the day job

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 185 - 24/04/2023 08:49:25    2473048

Replying To jm25:  "Great win for those who thought goalkeeping issue would be solved by dropping gleeson I don't think so

My ratings
Power 6
McGrath 9
Kelly 7
Glynn 7
Mchugh 8
Daly 7
Sweeney 7
Conroy 5
Maher 9
Tierney 7
Heaney 6
Cooke 5
Burke 7
Comer 9
Walsh 5"
Fairly decent assessment .. I think you are within +/- 1 in all cases.
I would argue +1 versus your scores for for Power, Kelly, Sweeney, Heaney, Burke, Walsh, Comer and maybe -1 for 1 or 2 of the others.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 24/04/2023 09:40:30    2473067