Replying To galway19: "Good news on Comer at least. No surgery required." Great news. even if he misses connacht hopefully he will be flying for round robin assuming we get there.
Very disappointed with weekend performance. many things were not good. for me the biggest thing was the work rate. players making runs with the ball had no support hence they had to turn back and then the mass defense was set. I am hopeful that this is just an early season issue and we are aiming to peak later in the year. Last year our athleticism was superb and we hit the ground running from the first game......but we had to win D2 and Mayo were our first game in Connacht.
Not sure if Dessie, Eoin Finnerty or Paul Kelly are I/C level. Some of the new comers to the backs did ok.
Some of the posts on here were crazy negative. Everything is wrong, bring back loads of lads etc etc.
Like Comer our team does not require surgery just a bit of refinement. I always worried that if more than one of our spine was missing we would struggle (Kelly, Daly, Comer, Walsh).
Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1895 - 08/02/2023 12:08:04
Replying To GDL: "Off note I was in Wexford on Saturday night and the atmosphere was very good. Having being in Castlebar the previous Saturday, night games appear to be the way forward. Galway need to get the night games and a smaller stadium sorted for league games. Personally I think it should be Tuam Stadium. It is time to get the stand renovated and the capacity to 15k to 18k. Could the terrace on the opposite side to the stand be covered ( but left standing for supporters). It would also be great for Tuam on a Saturday evening/night before and after games. DAFTS have done massive work but they need more support." I was also in Castlebar and Wexford over the last two weekends and I would agree that night time games are the way forward. Great atmosphere at the games. However I believe the plan for Galway is to have floodlighting installed in Pearse Stadium in time for next seasons national league which will be great to have night time games.
Yes other grounds should get some National league games as well.
Medals (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 08/02/2023 12:19:35
Severe bone bruising for Comer. 6 to 8 weeks out. Will miss rest of the league but should be ok for Connacht semi-final on April 23. Won't have much football played now heading into that game but good news either way. Could easily have been a lot worse.
Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2304 - 08/02/2023 12:42:29
Replying To Marooned: "Severe bone bruising for Comer. 6 to 8 weeks out. Will miss rest of the league but should be ok for Connacht semi-final on April 23. Won't have much football played now heading into that game but good news either way. Could easily have been a lot worse." Yes could have been the dreaded ACL so good news for Damien.
6 to 8 weeks gives him the outside chance of playing in round 7 of this league and if not will be back for the championship opener v Mayo or Roscommon.
Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 08/02/2023 13:02:15
Replying To Galwayspur: "Goalkeeping and kickouts are a massive issue.
The short ones are an accident waiting to happen, we seldom win clean catches on the long ones, and seldom win the breaking ball." I would agree that is the biggest issue. It seems straightforward enough to sort out i.e. get enough bodies around the middle to win the breaking ball seeing that we don't have midfielders than can catch high ball but again it doesn't appear that it is being addressed at all. Isn't that what Cian O'Neill was brought in to do?
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 08/02/2023 13:03:19
Replying To Medals: "I was also in Castlebar and Wexford over the last two weekends and I would agree that night time games are the way forward. Great atmosphere at the games. However I believe the plan for Galway is to have floodlighting installed in Pearse Stadium in time for next seasons national league which will be great to have night time games.
Yes other grounds should get some National league games as well." Salthill on a winter's night isn't appealing. Would be great to have a ground in the middle of a town. Pints either side of a match are great but a windy January night in salthill just doesn't warm the heart. Not going down the old road of Salthill vs Tuam, but if night time games in winter are going to be a thing, then a pitch beside the sea and a 15 minute walk back to Lonergans doesn't appeal on a wet windy night!
jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 172 - 08/02/2023 13:43:11
Replying To Marooned: "Severe bone bruising for Comer. 6 to 8 weeks out. Will miss rest of the league but should be ok for Connacht semi-final on April 23. Won't have much football played now heading into that game but good news either way. Could easily have been a lot worse." I know he is a heavy set man but Comer seems to be very prone to ankle / lower leg injuries which is a major worry going forward. During his senior career he has nearly spent the same time being out injured as he has playing.
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 08/02/2023 13:44:41
Replying To smallfrank: "The posts on here are bordering on ridiculous. Knives out for PJ, bring back Tom Flynn, Declan Kyne, Fionntan O'Curraoin and my own personal favourite let's add a few Dunmore and Ballinasloe lads to the panel.
It's barely Feb, we lost by a point missing a lot of players. Do ye not remember the game v Mayo in Tuam 2020 and the Kerry game in Tralee. That was humiliation. Some of these teams, Mayo and Ross are way ahead in terms of weeks back, pitch sessions and challenges played." Agreed. Mad stuff. PJ is on Yr 4. Any manager should be given a 5 Yr gig and if no progress after the term or if there is a massive fall after some progress within the term then certainly mgt reviewed. Let PJ et al at it.
kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 08/02/2023 13:47:34
Replying To Mayonman: "Great news. even if he misses connacht hopefully he will be flying for round robin assuming we get there.
Very disappointed with weekend performance. many things were not good. for me the biggest thing was the work rate. players making runs with the ball had no support hence they had to turn back and then the mass defense was set. I am hopeful that this is just an early season issue and we are aiming to peak later in the year. Last year our athleticism was superb and we hit the ground running from the first game......but we had to win D2 and Mayo were our first game in Connacht.
Not sure if Dessie, Eoin Finnerty or Paul Kelly are I/C level. Some of the new comers to the backs did ok.
Some of the posts on here were crazy negative. Everything is wrong, bring back loads of lads etc etc.
Like Comer our team does not require surgery just a bit of refinement. I always worried that if more than one of our spine was missing we would struggle (Kelly, Daly, Comer, Walsh)." 'assuming we get there'? Our div1 status guarantees we'll be there.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3914 - 08/02/2023 14:02:38
Glad to hear that Damien Comer isn't too badly injured, he's a brilliant player to watch, hope he's back with ye for Championship anyway.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3070 - 08/02/2023 14:10:43
Good news regarding Damian Comer but I hope he wont be expected to come back and immediately change the teams performances straight after a 6/8 week layoff.
Current injuries and player losses are unfortunate but most Div 1 teams are surely in the same boat ? Mayo lost Keegan and Mullin with Conroy, Durcan, O Hora all out injured .. Eoin Mcloughlin and O Connor only on way back from injury. Donegal missing 7-9 of their possible Match day 15.. Kerry the same...I'm sure there are other Counties too ?
Lack of depth in our squad is a worry especially after so many Minor and u20 teams reaching the last 4 in those competitions over consecutive years.
People need to stop including Michael Daly in our list of 'missing starters'.. he's a fine footballer but seems to have been desperately unlucky with injuries and is currently not a missing player.
On current player form and indeed over the last 12 months, the player I think is the heartbeat of the team is Cillian McDaid ?.. if he gets injured Galway could be in big trouble as he has become the leader and driving force on the pitch for this team and has probably been more consistently influential in last 5/7 games than either Damian or Shane .
Team looked very nervous last Sun v Roscommon and at times different players didn't seem to want the ball or others to take on shots...14 shots on target over 75 mins (8 points, 4 wides and 2 into keepers hands ) must be an unwanted record ...
Hope a few of the younger players and the goalkeeper, can get an injection of confidence during the next 2 weeks ...that may help put an injection of pace and speed into our build up play !
Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 08/02/2023 15:05:41
Replying To togoutlads: "He's in Australia as far as I'm aware. He was due to leave months ago." Unless he left in the last couple of days he is not in Australia!
Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 182 - 08/02/2023 15:22:17
Replying To Black+Blue: "Good news regarding Damian Comer but I hope he wont be expected to come back and immediately change the teams performances straight after a 6/8 week layoff.
Current injuries and player losses are unfortunate but most Div 1 teams are surely in the same boat ? Mayo lost Keegan and Mullin with Conroy, Durcan, O Hora all out injured .. Eoin Mcloughlin and O Connor only on way back from injury. Donegal missing 7-9 of their possible Match day 15.. Kerry the same...I'm sure there are other Counties too ?
Lack of depth in our squad is a worry especially after so many Minor and u20 teams reaching the last 4 in those competitions over consecutive years.
People need to stop including Michael Daly in our list of 'missing starters'.. he's a fine footballer but seems to have been desperately unlucky with injuries and is currently not a missing player.
On current player form and indeed over the last 12 months, the player I think is the heartbeat of the team is Cillian McDaid ?.. if he gets injured Galway could be in big trouble as he has become the leader and driving force on the pitch for this team and has probably been more consistently influential in last 5/7 games than either Damian or Shane .
Team looked very nervous last Sun v Roscommon and at times different players didn't seem to want the ball or others to take on shots...14 shots on target over 75 mins (8 points, 4 wides and 2 into keepers hands ) must be an unwanted record ...
Hope a few of the younger players and the goalkeeper, can get an injection of confidence during the next 2 weeks ...that may help put an injection of pace and speed into our build up play !" You talk about lack of pace and speed but with players like Conroy and Tierney who are not known for their "pace and speed" in the midfield / half forward line, this will always be an issue. Also I know PJ is using a lot of Moycullen players but he also seems to have embraced the continuous slow, lateral hand-passing game (without hardly any kick-passes) and reluctance to shoot for points when the chances arise from the forwards of the current Moycullen team and that is not going to win you too many games at intercounty level.
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 08/02/2023 16:18:09
Good news regarding Damien injury it's obvious to everyone bar management we need a goalie who can kick ball out he can't even rises it off the Tee if Galway are doing video analysis of matches in last 2 years and can't see that they need get new video ,, he putting his own players under pressure every kick out ,conroy days are done as well was a great servant hard believe Galway can not find a midfielder, surely put Peter cook out there , we all know lasts year the depth in panel was not good enough, so what did they do this year , bring back same lads who were not good enough 2 years ago ,,we all know who we missing none of full forward line scored in 76 mins v Ross , 8 points in 77 mins just think about that it's brutal , Shane Walsh scored 9 on his own in All Ireland,, what players were top scorer in intermediate last year surely can't be any worse , even if they didn't score a thing they be the same ,,
Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 968 - 08/02/2023 16:33:01
I personally think that many Galway posters have been a little hard on the Galway players over the last couple of weeks. Like ourselves who have had several injuries, many members of your team have had very little rest over the last few months/year. You got to an All Ireland Final and then Moycullen did very well and had a prolonged season. Many of your players have also played hard Sigerson matches with the University of Galway over the last few weeks. I am not sure how the Kelly brothers and Matthew Tiernan etc, are still going to be honest, as they have be on the go for the best part of a year at least. Don't ask me where they get the time to study!!! I think our management team (Roscommon) have managed the workload on players/students a little better.
We in Connacht want our own teams to obviously win, but after that, we would like to see our Connacht neighbours doing well. Practically all of Roscommon were shouting for Galway in the recent All Ireland final. Good to hear that the injury to Damien Comer is not as bad as first feared. Nobody wants to see top amateur players badly injured and out of work. Hopefully we will meet again in this years Connacht final.
letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 646 - 08/02/2023 16:55:01
The MaighCuilinn contingent who played Sigerson last year were in constant action from Feb 10 \ 22 to Jan 8 \ 23 , the non college players from that club started their league campaign on Feb 19 again ending Jan 8\23.Does anyone wonder why they look like they lack energy?P.j. should be trying some of his rested stars to make sure he has a ready panel to pick from for the championship.College , county & club every week or every other week for a full year is a sure fire burnout.
backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 08/02/2023 17:10:10
some positive news about Damien alright, glad for him. Posters need to stay positive and supportive of all of the panel. Stop calling for retirements in February already.
suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 08/02/2023 18:57:46
Big game for Claregalway College on Saturday trying to win their first Senior A final. Probably will hinge on whether Eanna Monaghan is fit enough to start but they do have 10 players from last year's Minor and U20 county panels so they definitely are talented enough.
galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 806 - 09/02/2023 07:49:06
Replying To suckvalleypaddy: "some positive news about Damien alright, glad for him. Posters need to stay positive and supportive of all of the panel. Stop calling for retirements in February already." Well said. short memories on here, they wonder why people walk away
cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 212 - 09/02/2023 09:26:20
While the Roscommon game is only the league but we have two fundamental problems which have nothing to do with the time of year or personal.
The kickouts are beyon pathetic and IMO cost us the AI last year. I was at it, never rewatched so going off memory but my recollection is that Kerry won all of theirs in the first half and we won maybe 50-60% of ours. Reverse that trend and we could have been out of sight instead of two up.
If Cian is supposed to be some coaching Guru he's not covering himself in glory based on how poor they are, ditto for Joyce who I wouldn't have even given three years too based on the above.
Gleeson can't even get a tee and ball ready when the ball in is in play, Cluxton would get the ball and tee when he had a moment and would grab and sprint out and often have the ball back in play within 5 seconds, speed is the key to most of the easy ones. Gleeson is arsing around looking for a ball and tee and then getting out slow. Our players movement is just awful as well, 6 back crowd at CB then job slowly into their pre set positions.. it's comical if they think that's effective. All they have to do is watch Dublin games during the Cluxton era.. heck even Comerford has continued the fundamentals of it. Clear space out the wings and a runner comes from deep towards the full back line and put it in front of him.
The other issue is the constant taking the ball into the corners. There was one attack at the weekend where we went into one corner, back out, switched, into the other corner back out, switched. We did this about 7 times before losing the ball, again if Cian is a great coach how does he think taking the ball into any corner is viable option. You can't score in there and you risk losing the ball going in and out. No runners through the middle so the whole exercise is a waste of time.
How many marks have we had since it came in?. Is it that hard to work on spacing and a passer hanging outside the 45 and just kicking it 15 yards for a shot at goal?.. sorry but any team worth their salt should be getting 4/5 kicks a game through marks. We had one against Mayo, and maybe 1/2 in the whole Championship last year.
There's a lot you can't play for, but working on kick out, not taking the ball down into the corners and marks are three which you can pretty much nail down in sessions.
We have the players but we are getting nothing from the sideline to match the quality on the pitch.
Gilberto_Eire (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 09/02/2023 11:55:38