Galway Hurling thread

Replying To CillTormoir:  "We lack squad depth. not disagreeing with you but after so many underage titles, and supposedly one of the best club championships in Ireland, how can that phrase be used!!"
It's baffling it really is. They should have lads on top of lads at all times. There's something really wrong when all this young talent isn't showing up at the Senior Ranks. Sigh.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 20/06/2022 21:49:24    2426487

Replying To BLT:  "Haven't actually performed well for a full 70 minutes all year. The first half v Cork was painful. Lads touch a mile off, players falling into each other or else literally falling over themselves and hitting the deck. If Cork had any level of efficiency in front of goal then we would have been absolutely tonked. There is zero to suggest Galway will keep it pucked out to Limerick. IF we keep it below 10 it will be an achievement."
It's another game. The past won't matter when we play Limerick it's all on the day. The objective was to win and that's what they did on Saturday. I did not think the touch was a mile off, cork just ran us all over the place and it took us time to come to grips with them but we did in fairness. Galway have the strength to trouble Limerick. As you seen with Clare and Wexford, Clare were lucky to escape with the win also and people thought Wexford would not keep it pucked out to them! Every game presents a different set of challenges be positive maybe they won't keep it pucked out to us.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 21/06/2022 08:50:36    2426492

I still think we are spluttering through the season, hopefully next Sunday we get a 70min performance, and if we have to splutter over Limerick id take it!!!!!

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 485 - 21/06/2022 09:47:01    2426498

Replying To Trump2020:  "It's baffling it really is. They should have lads on top of lads at all times. There's something really wrong when all this young talent isn't showing up at the Senior Ranks. Sigh."
As some posters have pointed out Galway have not won an U20 title for 10 years now and in some of those years at least have been well off their opponents in terms of size / S&C etc. so the question should be how do good minors (many AI winning minors) not become good U20's and it has mainly to do with a lack of physical size and strength and conditioning as they do not lack the skills in most cases at least. Therefore its not a major surprise that more young players are not cutting it at senior level. Along with a lack of pace throughout the team currently, a lack of aerial ability is another huge issue for all Galway teams including the seniors for a long number of years now and we saw it again last Sunday where our forwards (some big men included like Conor Cooney, Cathal Mannion, Cianan Fahy, Joseph Cooney and Jason Flynn when introduced) were snuffed out completely when competing for aerial ball. The only players I can recall with the ability to catch high balls consistently in the last number of years were Johnny Glynn and JC himself.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 21/06/2022 10:28:40    2426522

Replying To tommy k:  "As some posters have pointed out Galway have not won an U20 title for 10 years now and in some of those years at least have been well off their opponents in terms of size / S&C etc. so the question should be how do good minors (many AI winning minors) not become good U20's and it has mainly to do with a lack of physical size and strength and conditioning as they do not lack the skills in most cases at least. Therefore its not a major surprise that more young players are not cutting it at senior level. Along with a lack of pace throughout the team currently, a lack of aerial ability is another huge issue for all Galway teams including the seniors for a long number of years now and we saw it again last Sunday where our forwards (some big men included like Conor Cooney, Cathal Mannion, Cianan Fahy, Joseph Cooney and Jason Flynn when introduced) were snuffed out completely when competing for aerial ball. The only players I can recall with the ability to catch high balls consistently in the last number of years were Johnny Glynn and JC himself."
Galway would have won the u20 this year if Lee and Killeen had been with the u 20s
There was no need to use them in the senior championship
Whats the point of lads like Kevin Cooney been in the panel when they cant get game time

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 21/06/2022 10:53:59    2426532

Very hard to know how good minors are now especially since its gone to U17, I don't think you can assess any players now for future seniors until they play U20. I as most think should be returned to U18 & U21.
By the way how many players from recent successful minor teams stand out at club level?

higgins (Limerick) - Posts: 246 - 21/06/2022 10:59:07    2426533

The Galway team I'd like to see take the field again Limerick:

1) Murphy

2) Grealish
3) DaithI
4) Morrissey

5) P Mannion
6) G Mac (although if he's injured prob play Joseph Cooney here and Johnny Coen in for Cooney further up the field)
7) Fintan

8) Ronan Glennon (based in pre-league injury form, had a run last weekend and hopefully getting back form/fitness)
OR
David Burke (or interchange i.e -> start Burke and finish with R. Glennon)

9) C Mannion (but to be fair I can see maybe Johnny Coen here V Limerick with Mannion named at 15)

10) Tom Monaghan
11) C Cooney
12) J Cooney (I think we need J Cooney here, a lot of ball into the half-forward line against Cork - JUST DIDNT STICK!), J C played further out the field and ended at 6 after G Mac injury

13) C Whelan
14) B Concannon (Fahy tried hard but nothing stuck for him against Cork, Concannon not in previous form but still better option I think)

15) Evan Niland
or Jason Flynn (purely for frees, Flynn went straight onto them when he came on at the weekend)

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 21/06/2022 11:20:45    2426544

Replying To ecad123:  "It's another game. The past won't matter when we play Limerick it's all on the day. The objective was to win and that's what they did on Saturday. I did not think the touch was a mile off, cork just ran us all over the place and it took us time to come to grips with them but we did in fairness. Galway have the strength to trouble Limerick. As you seen with Clare and Wexford, Clare were lucky to escape with the win also and people thought Wexford would not keep it pucked out to them! Every game presents a different set of challenges be positive maybe they won't keep it pucked out to us."
For all their crowing about Munster hurling they'd be far happier if Cork won last Saturday!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 21/06/2022 11:22:29    2426546

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes its a Clare jealousy thing with the neighbour's Galway hurlers and footballers relative success to their paltry total of AI's. You can't knock that bad-mind out of them I'm afraid and they get even worse when they win a few matches like this year."
Jaysus Tommy you really are clutching at straws if you think that Clare are sitting there incredibly jealous of the success of Galway. Our footballers have won two All Irelands in the last 56 years, the hurlers one in the last 34 years, hardly a good reason for Clare people to sit crying into their cornflakes every morning mad jealous of the success of Galway. I would hazard a guess that no more than ourselves they are casting an envious eye at their neighbours to the South in Limerick, and not their neighbours to the North.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 21/06/2022 12:18:07    2426596

Replying To gilly1910:  "Jaysus Tommy you really are clutching at straws if you think that Clare are sitting there incredibly jealous of the success of Galway. Our footballers have won two All Irelands in the last 56 years, the hurlers one in the last 34 years, hardly a good reason for Clare people to sit crying into their cornflakes every morning mad jealous of the success of Galway. I would hazard a guess that no more than ourselves they are casting an envious eye at their neighbours to the South in Limerick, and not their neighbours to the North."
Its not just senior intercounty success Gilly - it is underage, club football / hurling, camogie etc. All of it goes into the one mix.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 21/06/2022 13:38:06    2426636

Replying To rhudson:  "Galway would have won the u20 this year if Lee and Killeen had been with the u 20s
There was no need to use them in the senior championship
Whats the point of lads like Kevin Cooney been in the panel when they cant get game time"
True an U20 was possibly lost because of that even though we have no way of knowing for sure of course. Lee and Killeen have seen very little game time with the seniors anyway so it was a definitely a waste of their talents where they could have been used more constructively with a possible AI on offer.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 21/06/2022 13:53:40    2426646

Replying To tommy k:  "Its not just senior intercounty success Gilly - it is underage, club football / hurling, camogie etc. All of it goes into the one mix."
Most senior intercounty hurling fans don't watch minor or u20 games and would struggle to name any current players on either panel. And probably wouldn't be able to name any current senior camogie players let alone underage 1s. In any county. Try a few of your clubmates over a pint some evening. Ask them to name 10 current Galwaycamogie players from any grade and 10 current Galway minor and u20 players not from your own club. Bet most won't be able.
In the last 30 years Clare have won 3 senior AI hurling titles. That's more than you and us put together.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 21/06/2022 15:00:47    2426669

Replying To The_DOC:  "The Galway team I'd like to see take the field again Limerick:

1) Murphy

2) Grealish
3) DaithI
4) Morrissey

5) P Mannion
6) G Mac (although if he's injured prob play Joseph Cooney here and Johnny Coen in for Cooney further up the field)
7) Fintan

8) Ronan Glennon (based in pre-league injury form, had a run last weekend and hopefully getting back form/fitness)
OR
David Burke (or interchange i.e -> start Burke and finish with R. Glennon)

9) C Mannion (but to be fair I can see maybe Johnny Coen here V Limerick with Mannion named at 15)

10) Tom Monaghan
11) C Cooney
12) J Cooney (I think we need J Cooney here, a lot of ball into the half-forward line against Cork - JUST DIDNT STICK!), J C played further out the field and ended at 6 after G Mac injury

13) C Whelan
14) B Concannon (Fahy tried hard but nothing stuck for him against Cork, Concannon not in previous form but still better option I think)

15) Evan Niland
or Jason Flynn (purely for frees, Flynn went straight onto them when he came on at the weekend)"
What's happened Tom Monaghan. He was excellent earlier in the year but his touch has been very poor in the championship. I'd love to see it but I can't see Galway taking Limerick.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 21/06/2022 15:14:22    2426675

Replying To baire:  "For all their crowing about Munster hurling they'd be far happier if Cork won last Saturday!"
Well Baire, when I saw Clare gone in '18 I was very happy. Mind you I was not overconfident or anything when they went, but that is the way it was. As regards last Sunday, I was not too worried either way. I think I reflect how most Limerick supporters think at the moment. Let the two of them go at it full tilt and may the best team win- we know there is little between them and it will be all about who can bring their A Game to Croke Park

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 21/06/2022 18:39:06    2426722

only way i see galway having a chance is by going man to man..
they simply cant leave hannon free to mob up ball and pick out who ever he wants..

the galway players looked very tired on sat but i hope with the win and the sight of limerick will
put serious energy into those legs..
gmac is deffo out..

id start joe cooney at 6 and maybe start hastings at 11 who can compete in the air..
for me glennon needs to start with burke at midfield and if needs be let mannion come in and
out and see how it goes..

its vitally important we leave whelo and concannon close to there goal no matter what..

team v limerick.
1.murphy
2.grealish
3.daithi
4.morrissey
5.mannion
6.j.cooney
7.f.burke
8.glennon
9.burke.
10.monaghan
11.cooney
12.hastings
13.concannon
14.whelan
15.mannion

id bring in flynn., fahy.,coen.,niland and maybe kevin cooney who by all accounts is going really
well in training..
all we can ask of the lads like the footballers this sunday is go out and produce a serious performance
and what will be will be..
best of luck lads..
speedy recovery gmac..
UP GALWAY

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 21/06/2022 21:00:53    2426734

Replying To tommy k:  "As some posters have pointed out Galway have not won an U20 title for 10 years now and in some of those years at least have been well off their opponents in terms of size / S&C etc. so the question should be how do good minors (many AI winning minors) not become good U20's and it has mainly to do with a lack of physical size and strength and conditioning as they do not lack the skills in most cases at least. Therefore its not a major surprise that more young players are not cutting it at senior level. Along with a lack of pace throughout the team currently, a lack of aerial ability is another huge issue for all Galway teams including the seniors for a long number of years now and we saw it again last Sunday where our forwards (some big men included like Conor Cooney, Cathal Mannion, Cianan Fahy, Joseph Cooney and Jason Flynn when introduced) were snuffed out completely when competing for aerial ball. The only players I can recall with the ability to catch high balls consistently in the last number of years were Johnny Glynn and JC himself."
10 years??? Time is flying. Johnny Glynn was a big lad so no surprise that he could get up and catch a ball or two. Cork did seem to get every puck out and high ball.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 21/06/2022 21:24:37    2426737

Replying To Viking66:  "Most senior intercounty hurling fans don't watch minor or u20 games and would struggle to name any current players on either panel. And probably wouldn't be able to name any current senior camogie players let alone underage 1s. In any county. Try a few of your clubmates over a pint some evening. Ask them to name 10 current Galwaycamogie players from any grade and 10 current Galway minor and u20 players not from your own club. Bet most won't be able.
In the last 30 years Clare have won 3 senior AI hurling titles. That's more than you and us put together."
Laughable. Any right Hurling fan in Galway would easily name 10 camogie players and 10 minor/u20 players. You wouldn't even have a sup of your pint down. Maybe it's tougher in Wexford where they are all irrelevant but here in Galway our camogie and minor players are playing in AI finals every other year

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 22/06/2022 08:20:36    2426746

Replying To Viking66:  "Most senior intercounty hurling fans don't watch minor or u20 games and would struggle to name any current players on either panel. And probably wouldn't be able to name any current senior camogie players let alone underage 1s. In any county. Try a few of your clubmates over a pint some evening. Ask them to name 10 current Galwaycamogie players from any grade and 10 current Galway minor and u20 players not from your own club. Bet most won't be able.
In the last 30 years Clare have won 3 senior AI hurling titles. That's more than you and us put together."
Why did you restrict it to the last 30 years? I can remember to about 45 years ago and if you do that Galway have won 4 senior AI's. Nothing to write home about I agree but at least be fair about it. I don't agree that most people do not watch minor or U20 games and you don't have to name 10 underage or camogie players to know who won those AI's.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 22/06/2022 09:08:43    2426749

Replying To Trump2020:  "10 years??? Time is flying. Johnny Glynn was a big lad so no surprise that he could get up and catch a ball or two. Cork did seem to get every puck out and high ball."
Yes Johnny was a big lad but so are the Cooney's, Mannion, Fahy and Flynn and they can't seem to catch high ball consistently (maybe the odd one here and there) from what I have seen especially when competing with opponents who very often are even shorter than them.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 22/06/2022 10:01:35    2426762

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well Baire, when I saw Clare gone in '18 I was very happy. Mind you I was not overconfident or anything when they went, but that is the way it was. As regards last Sunday, I was not too worried either way. I think I reflect how most Limerick supporters think at the moment. Let the two of them go at it full tilt and may the best team win- we know there is little between them and it will be all about who can bring their A Game to Croke Park"
If you go by championship form, OTM, there is a lot between them. Limerick have more or less the same players they had in 2018, all in their prime and in top shape, 3 All Ireland's in their pockets whilst Galway are slowly rebuilding, lost the Leinster final and were lucky enough against a wasteful Cork team.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 22/06/2022 10:14:27    2426774