Westmeath SFC Club 2021

Replying To BigSur:  "Garrycastle very impressive vs both Shamrocks and The Downs. However, both teams set up very naively and let Gardiner and Dolan run riot. Lomans will not allow that to happen, even if they need to put 12 behind the ball as they did for the 1st half v Kinnegad. The Downs had no excuse having seen the 2 boys make hay in the quarter final. Garrycastle's accuracy was unreal, maybe 3 or 4 wides in total while I'd say the downs had 14 or 15. Should be a tight entertaining final but I really think the Lomans strength off the bench will win it for them."
How bad is Lomans defence that they had to put 12 men behind the ball against a team like Kinnegad ????

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 384 - 02/11/2021 10:12:22    2388131

Replying To Claretandblue:  "I made a detailed comment on the first game Mick. In between both games. Loman's have been the standard bearers for almost ten years, seventh successive final, Garrycastle their biggest rivals in that time but the Athlone outfit won 1 game out of 5 in league stages, hardly justifies favourites tag. Loman's have won their last four matches when they've been back to full strength. I'm not a betting man but would be amazed if Loman's are not decent favourites, maybe 4-6."
my profound apologies , i have just read your report on first game

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 02/11/2021 11:26:08    2388139

Bizarre comment by Temple re Loman's 12 man defence. Loman's have always played attractive, attacking football and their set up was hardly defensive considering they scored 2-14. Tyrone, Dublin and other successful counties regularly get players behind the ball but hardly labelled defensive sides. Loman's invariably employ winning tactics and shoot big scores in the process.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 02/11/2021 15:34:35    2388183

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Bizarre comment by Temple re Loman's 12 man defence. Loman's have always played attractive, attacking football and their set up was hardly defensive considering they scored 2-14. Tyrone, Dublin and other successful counties regularly get players behind the ball but hardly labelled defensive sides. Loman's invariably employ winning tactics and shoot big scores in the process."
Think they were a good bit more defensive than usual including playing a defender at wing forward. Also Fola and Foy listed as forwards but generally play between the 45's. Horses for courses and you do what is needed to win. Maybe The Downs should have taken a similar approach. Kinnegad are a decent side improving every year with a good mix but also some top young players with more to come back from injury. I guess Lomans defence was always a little suspect and it will be interesting to see how they deal with Dolan and Gardiner. No doubt Kelly will have a plan.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1129 - 02/11/2021 16:40:00    2388196

Replying To Temple56:  "How bad is Lomans defence that they had to put 12 men behind the ball against a team like Kinnegad ????"
Sounds like you're implying kgad are a poor team?

Leftpeg1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 88 - 02/11/2021 19:53:57    2388219

Replying To Temple56:  "How bad is Lomans defence that they had to put 12 men behind the ball against a team like Kinnegad ????"
surely you have to show Kinnegad Respect they Beat lomans in the first game and were unlucky to lose on Sunday. They have been bet with injuries all year and still made the semi final they didn't have the panel like lomans with at least 2 players for every position. The were lot of 18 , 19 , 20 year olds playing that came all the way through from u8 up and the older players I think they held their own considering couple of players played with injuries were unlucky so early when I can't remember the guys name got the Goal he's from Longford. Declan kelly said it himself the scoreline flattered Lomans I think it was a Brilliant Game to watch.

Bettyboo22 (Westmeath) - Posts: 108 - 03/11/2021 16:19:11    2388303

Replying To Bettyboo22:  "surely you have to show Kinnegad Respect they Beat lomans in the first game and were unlucky to lose on Sunday. They have been bet with injuries all year and still made the semi final they didn't have the panel like lomans with at least 2 players for every position. The were lot of 18 , 19 , 20 year olds playing that came all the way through from u8 up and the older players I think they held their own considering couple of players played with injuries were unlucky so early when I can't remember the guys name got the Goal he's from Longford. Declan kelly said it himself the scoreline flattered Lomans I think it was a Brilliant Game to watch."
Yep, really impressed by Kinnegad. Have to say I didn't give them much chance beforehand but they were very good. Lot of good young players. Game could have gone either way in the last couple of minutes. They were really unlucky with the Heslin free that put Lomans a point up.. best game I've seen in Cusack Park in a long time.

westmeathman99 (Westmeath) - Posts: 105 - 03/11/2021 17:17:55    2388313

Kinnegad out scored the champions 1-13 to 0-14 outside the opening and closing 30 seconds. Yes, those periods are crucial and I felt that Loman's slightly edged the enthralling contest and deserved to win. This year and especially last Sunday was a Huge learning curve for Kinnegad and if they can build on this and avoid injuries to key players then a first championship title since 1996 is not far away. Younger players like Briain Cooney and Podge Quinn are players of great potential who are going to be key players in next 2-3 years. Their supporters probably have more reason for optimism than their neighbours The Downs who fell well short on Sunday and are probably at a bit of a crossroads with a youngish team that look 3-4 players short of a championship winning side.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 03/11/2021 17:52:50    2388325

Replying To westmeathman99:  "Yep, really impressed by Kinnegad. Have to say I didn't give them much chance beforehand but they were very good. Lot of good young players. Game could have gone either way in the last couple of minutes. They were really unlucky with the Heslin free that put Lomans a point up.. best game I've seen in Cusack Park in a long time."
ye unlucky I can only imagine if kinnegad were at full strength no injuries I Defo think would have been different although the younger players stood up to the plate with their defence and attack and kicked their scores confidently . The Downs Game was Great comeback too Garrycastle were on fire

Bettyboo22 (Westmeath) - Posts: 108 - 03/11/2021 18:42:09    2388333

Replying To Bettyboo22:  "ye unlucky I can only imagine if kinnegad were at full strength no injuries I Defo think would have been different although the younger players stood up to the plate with their defence and attack and kicked their scores confidently . The Downs Game was Great comeback too Garrycastle were on fire"
Kinnegad are a fine young team but they must learn and concentrate on playing football, a few of their senior members were hell bent on giving their markers a belt. When they settled to play football, (after a few yellow cards) they were much better than Lomans. EXPERIENCE.

Kuga (Westmeath) - Posts: 52 - 04/11/2021 12:14:36    2388377

Replying To Kuga:  "Kinnegad are a fine young team but they must learn and concentrate on playing football, a few of their senior members were hell bent on giving their markers a belt. When they settled to play football, (after a few yellow cards) they were much better than Lomans. EXPERIENCE."
I think the pressure got to Heslin more with free taking than kinnegad but experience mattered at the end it also he knows how to fake when there was a foul as did Fola the Same trying to get the lads sent off kinnegad Lucky they didn't get sent off as the Ref was v confusing I his decisions I thought .

Bettyboo22 (Westmeath) - Posts: 108 - 04/11/2021 16:06:51    2388407

Think John Heslin has shown his capabilities under pressure from frees and play innumerable times over the past ten years, last year's county final free to secure extra time springs to mind.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 04/11/2021 19:15:22    2388428

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Think John Heslin has shown his capabilities under pressure from frees and play innumerable times over the past ten years, last year's county final free to secure extra time springs to mind."
That was my point John has experience and normally under pressure no bother him atall I think they were put under pressure by kinnegad and they weren't expecting it tbh. John experience as did other guys showed at the end .

Bettyboo22 (Westmeath) - Posts: 108 - 05/11/2021 15:27:28    2388487

Replying To Bettyboo22:  "I think the pressure got to Heslin more with free taking than kinnegad but experience mattered at the end it also he knows how to fake when there was a foul as did Fola the Same trying to get the lads sent off kinnegad Lucky they didn't get sent off as the Ref was v confusing I his decisions I thought ."
Whatever about the Ref being confusing there might not be many to pick from next year. Apparently a number of refs have either given up or have indicated they are giving up at the end of the year. Supposedly a row brewing over the past few weeks

WestmeathFan (Westmeath) - Posts: 26 - 05/11/2021 16:40:29    2388493

Replying To WestmeathFan:  "Whatever about the Ref being confusing there might not be many to pick from next year. Apparently a number of refs have either given up or have indicated they are giving up at the end of the year. Supposedly a row brewing over the past few weeks"
They have an awful job I defo wouldn't like to be a ref they take some abuse but some of them their decisions can be so confusing. if they were all on the one page it might be easier for them and everyone to understand their decisions

Bettyboo22 (Westmeath) - Posts: 108 - 06/11/2021 12:06:42    2388533

Looking forward to game next week. Really hope it's great final. The last 3 county finals have been brilliant. Shamrocks beating rivals Lomans in 2018 was a special day! Garrycastle making an unthinking comeback to shock Lomans in 2019 was a great day in the park! Unfortunately due to covid last years final was behind closed doors for most people but still proved to be a great game where Lomans beat tpass after extra time.

What kind of match do we all expect next weekend?

Garrycastle won't fear Lomans like other teams have in the past in finals. Lomans won't fear Garrycastle either but I'd say they would have rather play the downs in the final

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 384 - 06/11/2021 16:46:17    2388564

Replying To Temple56:  "Looking forward to game next week. Really hope it's great final. The last 3 county finals have been brilliant. Shamrocks beating rivals Lomans in 2018 was a special day! Garrycastle making an unthinking comeback to shock Lomans in 2019 was a great day in the park! Unfortunately due to covid last years final was behind closed doors for most people but still proved to be a great game where Lomans beat tpass after extra time.

What kind of match do we all expect next weekend?

Garrycastle won't fear Lomans like other teams have in the past in finals. Lomans won't fear Garrycastle either but I'd say they would have rather play the downs in the final"
Looking forward to it should be a Great Game

Bettyboo22 (Westmeath) - Posts: 108 - 07/11/2021 19:51:53    2388667

If you want to attend the junior intermediate and senior finals this weekend you have to cough up €45 to get in €15 a game which is madness & also €10 for a student ticket which was €5 all the way up to now but not one bit surprised with the county board again putting out the paw . If you look down to Offaly it's only a tenner into there final this weekend.
Also disappointing that the junior 2 final between killucan and Caulry is only adult final not in cusack park this year across both codes.

Westmeath213 (Westmeath) - Posts: 332 - 12/11/2021 08:53:09    2389166

Replying To Westmeath213:  "If you want to attend the junior intermediate and senior finals this weekend you have to cough up €45 to get in €15 a game which is madness & also €10 for a student ticket which was €5 all the way up to now but not one bit surprised with the county board again putting out the paw . If you look down to Offaly it's only a tenner into there final this weekend.
Also disappointing that the junior 2 final between killucan and Caulry is only adult final not in cusack park this year across both codes."
Comparing with Offaly is unfair. Their match is a replay and I've no doubt it was more expensive on the drawn game. I agree both games on Saturday should fall under the one ticket. To charge separate for both is tight but I think what's worse is charging for children to get in. I know it's not a whole lot but in the spirit of things children should be let in for free. With two adults already paying €15 each a ticket there is no need to be taking any more for children.

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 12/11/2021 11:03:36    2389181

Certainly should be a weekend ticket for €30-35 to allow attendance at all three matches. However, it was €20 in to Offaly final last weekend so swings and roundabouts. It's only a €10 this week with it being a replay.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 12/11/2021 11:11:07    2389183