Come On Engerland.....Peoples' Views???

Personally I don't care if England are represented by the Limerick hurling team, and have connections to Ireland to that extent.

Once they step out in that jersey, their flag is the butcher's apron. When they stand for God Save the Queen... They don't represent me on any level.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 09/07/2021 19:30:59    2358135

Replying To Jackeen:  "People use "woke" as if its an insult. Bizarre."
It's meant to be an insult.

It recaptures it from humourless virtue signalling hypocrites.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2586 - 09/07/2021 19:31:08    2358136

England is a horrible country for any foreigner to live in and especially now that nationalism is on the rise, that's the main reason an England win would be bad news.

Brexit was about English Nationalism, nothing else.

You just could not write off another invasion of Ireland in the future, would be foolish to do so.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 09/07/2021 19:40:43    2358137

Replying To Maroonatic:  "I could never support Denmark. Not after what they did to Brian Boru, and him an old man at the time"
lol!

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 09/07/2021 19:51:41    2358139

Replying To lionofludesch:  "It's terrible grammar.

"Awake" or "woken" surely."
HAHAHA!

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 09/07/2021 20:02:53    2358142

Ok! An honest question for everyone on this thread. Have any of you ever lived in England?

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 203 - 09/07/2021 20:11:45    2358145

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "It's meant to be an insult.

It recaptures it from humourless virtue signalling hypocrites."
Woke was officially added into the Oxford English Dictionary as an adjective in June 2017.

The dictionary defines it as "originally: well-informed, up-to-date. Now chiefly: alert to racial or social discrimination and injustice".

Guess I'm woke so!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/07/2021 20:48:08    2358154

Replying To Jackeen:  "Woke was officially added into the Oxford English Dictionary as an adjective in June 2017.

The dictionary defines it as "originally: well-informed, up-to-date. Now chiefly: alert to racial or social discrimination and injustice".

Guess I'm woke so!"
I "woke" up tied on a stool when working nights and lay down on my break. The lads got a rope and tied me down. Then went out and called the canteen phone. Is that the same thing ? Felt it was an "injustice " to my pride walking with a stool on my back after I "woke".

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2671 - 09/07/2021 21:27:56    2358164

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "People also forget our most successful soccer teams had plenty of English on their team. The Irish team was like an English B team. Without their help we d never have qualified. There was one high profile player than had never even been to Ireland before he got the Irish call up. It is after all an English game so good luck to them."
You can thank a certain Scot to get the ball rolling. When Ireland were qualifying for Euro 88 they finished up beating Bulgaria 2-0 at home. Bulgaria still had one match left to play and were one point behind Ireland. They had a better goal difference then the Republic and only needed a point at home to Scotland to go through. Scotland had nothing to play for so the Bulgarians were hot favs to go through. It looked like that they would go through until Gary Mackay scored for the Scots with 3 mins left. Scotland won 1-0 and as they say the rest is history.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 787 - 09/07/2021 21:39:20    2358170

Replying To Jackeen:  "Woke was officially added into the Oxford English Dictionary as an adjective in June 2017.

Guess I'm woke so!"
I'd say you are in fairness :-)

(I prefer my and many others' redefinition.)

Good example of wokeness today in fact where your man who runs Basketball Ireland got jumped for making a joke about the penalty.

Humourless, and so on ...

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2586 - 09/07/2021 21:52:16    2358176

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "People also forget our most successful soccer teams had plenty of English on their team. The Irish team was like an English B team. Without their help we d never have qualified. There was one high profile player than had never even been to Ireland before he got the Irish call up. It is after all an English game so good luck to them."
Different times, we, as a nation of success-starved sports fanatics, would have jumped on any bandwagon at the time.
God knows most of us had a great time supporting that team but when you look back it was a bit of a joke really.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 09/07/2021 22:26:28    2358182

Replying To Ollie2:  "You can thank a certain Scot to get the ball rolling. When Ireland were qualifying for Euro 88 they finished up beating Bulgaria 2-0 at home. Bulgaria still had one match left to play and were one point behind Ireland. They had a better goal difference then the Republic and only needed a point at home to Scotland to go through. Scotland had nothing to play for so the Bulgarians were hot favs to go through. It looked like that they would go through until Gary Mackay scored for the Scots with 3 mins left. Scotland won 1-0 and as they say the rest is history."
Oh I remember well Ollie.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3680 - 09/07/2021 23:01:13    2358190

Replying To realdub:  "Different times, we, as a nation of success-starved sports fanatics, would have jumped on any bandwagon at the time.
God knows most of us had a great time supporting that team but when you look back it was a bit of a joke really."
We all went nuts. It was new to us and exciting.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3680 - 09/07/2021 23:02:59    2358192

Replying To Ollie2:  "You can thank a certain Scot to get the ball rolling. When Ireland were qualifying for Euro 88 they finished up beating Bulgaria 2-0 at home. Bulgaria still had one match left to play and were one point behind Ireland. They had a better goal difference then the Republic and only needed a point at home to Scotland to go through. Scotland had nothing to play for so the Bulgarians were hot favs to go through. It looked like that they would go through until Gary Mackay scored for the Scots with 3 mins left. Scotland won 1-0 and as they say the rest is history."
Going off on a tangent. Ireland 0 - Spain 1 November 1965

Ireland V Spain in 1966 World Cup Qualification Playoff

This match was initially to be played in London.

"FAI General Secretary Joe Wickham immediately went into negotiations with the Spanish football authorities about the neutral venue for the third play-off match. Reportedly the Spanish were pushing for a venue in Spain (hardly neutral) or Portugal. The Irish wanted London or Manchester which would have guaranteed a large number of Irish supporters."

"After many hours of negotiation the parties came up with Paris as a compromise. This meant that the match crowd would be almost exclusively French as international travel was more difficult and very expensive in 1965 for Irish fans."

"In the build up to the match Spanish and French newspapers reported that Ireland had agreed to Paris as a play-off venue in exchange for Spain's share of the gate receipts. The total gate receipts for the play-off were £25,000 - almost three times the annual FAI income at the time. The FAI had the chosen a guaranteed amount rather than the potential of far higher revenue had Ireland qualified for the 1966 World Cup finals. This displayed a distinct lack of ambition and a lack of belief in the ability of the Irish team."

"The venue was Parc des Princes, Paris and the match was played on Wednesday, November 10th, 1965. Irish TV soccer pundit Eamon Dunphy made his debut in the match. Of the almost 36,000 crowd that attended the match it was estimated that over 30,000 were Spanish fans. Goal keeper Pat Dunne remarked "The only Irish flag I saw in the stadium was the one on the flag pole."

Full story here: link

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2481 - 09/07/2021 23:36:01    2358201

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Oh I remember well Ollie."
Great times indeed. Sunday 12th June 1988 at Stuttgart at 2.36 pm is my fav memory when Ray Houghton scored his first ever goal for Ireland against England. You could not right the script better. Ireland's first ever match at a major tournament against the oule enemy.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 787 - 09/07/2021 23:46:05    2358205

Two things I don't want to see in my lifetime..
England winning a major competition and
Mayo winning Sam...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 09/07/2021 23:48:52    2358207

At the end of the day I don't think anyone in England really cares what we think over here …. It's their big day on Sunday and we can only dream of been in their position…. Most of Europe will be shouting for Italy and England know that…and do they care…? Not one jot….. If England win it won't annoy me… I would be more annoyed when Cavan loose a HURLING match believe me…..!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1955 - 10/07/2021 00:16:55    2358209

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "We all went nuts. It was new to us and exciting."
And it was a good excuse to get out and into the pub where we all enjoyed ourselves.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/07/2021 00:45:48    2358212

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Actually there is a great clip on YouTube of fella giving out about the queen coming to Ireland and fellas who support English teams he says we should support Irish teams like St. Pats. He was asked who is his favourite player for St. Pats and he said "the fella in the green" he then says we should nt support English teams just irish teams and Celtic of course
Wgat a muppet! You can google it by typing in "St Pats fan""
I heard the story actually behind that recently your man in question actually has no interest or doesn't have the first clue about soccer. The only reason he said St Pats was because they lives close to Inchicore and he got them mixed up with Shamrock Rovers.

CartaDubh (Clare) - Posts: 51 - 10/07/2021 08:11:31    2358224

Replying To CartaDubh:  "I heard the story actually behind that recently your man in question actually has no interest or doesn't have the first clue about soccer. The only reason he said St Pats was because they lives close to Inchicore and he got them mixed up with Shamrock Rovers."
He obviously hadn't much of an idea about either but he'd be closer to Bohemians than Rovers if he's in Inchicore.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 10/07/2021 10:50:52    2358240