Meath V Dublin

I think the whole "Maybe I'm mad, but feck it I have a feeling Meath will win" shtick might be more believable if people didn't say it before every single Meath game of the last 10 years.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 16/07/2021 12:45:51    2360383

Replying To superbluedub:  "Mick Dublins first 15 is not the best 15 in the country , Kerrys is , its there time now unfortunately"
Been a long time since 15 won a championship, its a 20 man game now, Dublin known for over powering teams when they empty the bench over the last 20.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 16/07/2021 18:14:17    2360479

Replying To joeteor:  "Been a long time since 15 won a championship, its a 20 man game now, Dublin known for over powering teams when they empty the bench over the last 20."
Exactly.

Mayo even had Dublin's number until Howard came on last year. Before that, Cluxton was hitting Oisín Mullin with kickouts like he wanted to kill the lad.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 16/07/2021 21:23:39    2360509

Yeah it's a 20 man game these days and Meath have a strong bench probably be as strong as Dublin's, their subs wouldn't be great though.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 16/07/2021 22:48:09    2360534

Replying To jonno:  "Yeah it's a 20 man game these days and Meath have a strong bench probably be as strong as Dublin's, their subs wouldn't be great though."
What ? Strong bench but subs not great.
Is this code for something ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/07/2021 08:41:24    2360568

Replying To jonno:  "Yeah it's a 20 man game these days and Meath have a strong bench probably be as strong as Dublin's, their subs wouldn't be great though."
They didn't perform too bad against Kildare when called upon.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/07/2021 09:12:53    2360570

A few changes I'd expect before throw in. Think McGill will start as Will mcentee, and possibly Jones.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/07/2021 09:14:18    2360571

Considering Dublin the champs and it being a very traditional fixture I'm surprised with RTE/ Sky showing 4 GAA games this weekend they didn't find a suitable throw in time so they could slot it in for TV. Meath may not be much good at the moment but I'm sure a Meath Dublin game would have drawn a bigger TV audience than at least 2 of the 4 matches being shown on RTE/ Sky this weekend.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 17/07/2021 15:19:04    2360698

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Considering Dublin the champs and it being a very traditional fixture I'm surprised with RTE/ Sky showing 4 GAA games this weekend they didn't find a suitable throw in time so they could slot it in for TV. Meath may not be much good at the moment but I'm sure a Meath Dublin game would have drawn a bigger TV audience than at least 2 of the 4 matches being shown on RTE/ Sky this weekend."
I don't think is any disrespect to Meath bdbuddah as ye play a nice style of football but it's awful hard to watch dublin as they're so robotic and repetitive with their style of play, hand passing the ball over and back across the field, I for 1 wouldn't have watched it if it was on telly.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/07/2021 15:29:27    2360709

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I don't think is any disrespect to Meath bdbuddah as ye play a nice style of football but it's awful hard to watch dublin as they're so robotic and repetitive with their style of play, hand passing the ball over and back across the field, I for 1 wouldn't have watched it if it was on telly."
TV showing 4 GAA matches so amazed it not on TV, your a Kerry man I'd say few in even Kerry will watch your hurling match against Westmeath which is being shown on TV.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 17/07/2021 15:53:59    2360724

Replying To bdbuddah:  "TV showing 4 GAA matches so amazed it not on TV, your a Kerry man I'd say few in even Kerry will watch your hurling match against Westmeath which is being shown on TV."
Ya there will a lot from North Kerry watching it where hurling is really strong. I'll keep an eye on it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/07/2021 16:56:06    2360750

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya there will a lot from North Kerry watching it where hurling is really strong. I'll keep an eye on it."
Kerry and Westmeath deserve their day on TV. we complain when the lesser competitions are ignored, there is little or no interest in Leinster semi-finals outside the four counties taking part and then interest is at best poor. 18K allowed in tomorrow and reading todays papers a smaller crowd expected.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 17/07/2021 17:15:37    2360757

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I don't think is any disrespect to Meath bdbuddah as ye play a nice style of football but it's awful hard to watch dublin as they're so robotic and repetitive with their style of play, hand passing the ball over and back across the field, I for 1 wouldn't have watched it if it was on telly."
Dublin can only play what's in front of them kingdomboy

I can remember Kerry dropping 13-14 behind the ball while being down by 5-6pts at the time against Dublin. Not sure what you'd call that.. you went with Robotic up above..

Well I'd call Kerrys antics idiotic..

Dubs rightly held the ball as the Kerry lads had no desire to try and take it off them. I mean why do any different?

Now I'm sorry if that's hard for you to watch.. but that's the way Kerry setup.. just like almost all teams setup versus Dublin.

Dublin just masterfully counter such rudimentary and outdated tactics.

I'm not surprised you don't want to watch it :)

Must be hard to watch alright. . Especially when your own inadequacies are so blatantly exposed.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/07/2021 17:25:47    2360759

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dublin can only play what's in front of them kingdomboy

I can remember Kerry dropping 13-14 behind the ball while being down by 5-6pts at the time against Dublin. Not sure what you'd call that.. you went with Robotic up above..

Dubs rightly held the ball as the Kerry lads had no desire to try and take it off them. I mean why do any different?

Now I'm sorry if that's hard for you to watch.. but that's the way Kerry setup.. just like almost all teams setup versus Dublin.

Must be hard to watch alright. . Especially when your own inadequacies are so blatantly exposed."
100% agree. Lots of teams seem to try and keep their "shape" when they are 4 or 5 points down with time running out rather than taking a risking and forcing a turnover that they must get. The winning team passing the ball back and forth when literally no pressure is being put on them is doing exactly the right thing in terms of ensuring they win the game

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 17/07/2021 18:50:38    2360788

Success is not as easy as winners make it look nor as hard as losers make it sound.

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 203 - 17/07/2021 19:50:51    2360808

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Considering Dublin the champs and it being a very traditional fixture I'm surprised with RTE/ Sky showing 4 GAA games this weekend they didn't find a suitable throw in time so they could slot it in for TV. Meath may not be much good at the moment but I'm sure a Meath Dublin game would have drawn a bigger TV audience than at least 2 of the 4 matches being shown on RTE/ Sky this weekend."
Bit of strategy in it i think.

The GAA need the money, that comes from the biggest crowd possible and Dublin, Kildare, Meath always bring a crowd.

No harm at all.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/07/2021 20:25:18    2360820

Replying To seadog54:  "Kerry and Westmeath deserve their day on TV. we complain when the lesser competitions are ignored, there is little or no interest in Leinster semi-finals outside the four counties taking part and then interest is at best poor. 18K allowed in tomorrow and reading todays papers a smaller crowd expected."
They did deserve their day on telly seadog your spot on, and congrats to West Meath on their victory today.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/07/2021 20:30:11    2360822

Replying To Onion_Sack:  "Success is not as easy as winners make it look nor as hard as losers make it sound."
We all know it is easier to lose than win but not for Dublin it appears. Just look at all the teams that have been losing the AI's over the last 6 years (32+ teams every year). To beat Dublin (as big Jack would say you have to put them under pressure from start to finish) and you have to end up on the correct side of the score line-easier said than done. Successful teams do not care whether people around the country like their style or not. The one fact is certain is that they will be beaten in the future-when is a guess (and it could be this year but by whom is another guess). Who predicted last year that Tipperary and Cavan would win their respective provincial championships (Dublin are different though).

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 17/07/2021 20:45:13    2360833

Ok it might sound crazy but I reckon this is gonna be a lot closer than people expect. Dublin by a maximum of 6 in the end and I think they will get a big scare tomorrow.

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 17/07/2021 21:55:17    2360863

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dublin can only play what's in front of them kingdomboy

Must be hard to watch alright. . Especially when your own inadequacies are so blatantly exposed."
Well you can call it whatever you want Jim, it looks to me like I'm not the only 1 who doesn't like watching dublin play anymore as seadog says the 18,000 tickets for tomorrows game hasn't even been sold, and even RTÉ and Sky couldn't be bothered showing it either.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/07/2021 22:11:24    2360870