2021 Hurling Championship

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Who would KK want face in the semi-final? I really don't know. They can't play Dublin, so that leaves the possibility of Tipp, Clare, Waterford, Cork or Galway. I think whoever gets through to face Kilkenny will be well up for it.
For all I've enjoyed Kilkenny's two games so far, we beat a dogged Wexford after extra-time, and a depleted Dublin side.
That said, with nearly 3 weeks of training before the semi-final, Cody will have them ready."
I'd fancy tipp to beat ye, for me ye'd be slight favourites against any of the others.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 19/07/2021 16:13:46    2361780

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Who would KK want face in the semi-final? I really don't know. They can't play Dublin, so that leaves the possibility of Tipp, Clare, Waterford, Cork or Galway. I think whoever gets through to face Kilkenny will be well up for it.
For all I've enjoyed Kilkenny's two games so far, we beat a dogged Wexford after extra-time, and a depleted Dublin side.
That said, with nearly 3 weeks of training before the semi-final, Cody will have them ready."
I think either Clare or Waterford purely based on the schedule of games both will have to go through to get to a semi final. It shows the importance of at least getting to your provincial final

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 470 - 19/07/2021 16:17:41    2361783

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Lets be honest ye werent a puck away from beating Clare. Ye scored a goal to bring ye to 3 points down against Clare with the last puck of the game."
Well two pucks then… Rory O'Connor's miss and Conor macs goal bound shot that hit conlon on the helmet (or Dee okeeffe's mishit into the goalies hand from 25 yards). Clare were the better team and deservedly won but the margins were small. That's all I'm saying .

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 470 - 19/07/2021 16:26:39    2361794

I don't think any team will live with Limerick from here….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 19/07/2021 16:38:44    2361798

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well your county man Fergal Horgan told a Wexford man who 'fell' in the Clare to get up and stop his nonsense last Saturday. Fergal was right. Where there are obviously hyped up displays of feigned possibly life changing injuries the culprit should be yellow carded. As Croke might say 'it is not racy of the soil' and if it is one of my club or county is at it he should be booked and told to stop making a show of himself."
Can you seriously say that both of those incidents didn't hurt the players involved? Honestly..

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 19/07/2021 16:40:56    2361800

Galway v Waterford is a match of two teams that really need to step up on their previous performances. Both teams are loaded with talent. It'll be interesting to see what team steps up. I see Galway winning a very close one. Galway by 2 points. Clare v Cork has the makings of an excellent match. I love both teams style of play. I'll take Clare by a point only because Tony Kelly has been savage good all year.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 19/07/2021 16:45:21    2361804

Replying To midfield9:  "The 2 big calls went Limericks way. Gillane should have seen red for striking and Seamus Kennedy should have seen red for his high tackle on Padraig Maher. Very poor by referee and his officials. Kennedys tackle was the worse of the 2."
There is a very simple answer:
"4th official, can you review the incident between Aaron Gillane and Cathal Barrett and advise on card colour".

This could be doing as quickly as Paud O'Dwyer went over to ask the linesman what he saw.

Help the referees out for god sake. Its not an easy job they have.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 19/07/2021 16:49:53    2361806

Replying To M Lyster:  "Waterford and Clare were kept apart for the draw. But for some reason Cork and Galway were kept apart too, after already receiving byes to their provincial semi-finals."
Because Waterford and Clare were kept apart Cork and Galway couldn't be drawn against each other either

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 19/07/2021 16:50:45    2361807

Just read back the last few pages. What is with the "Kick them when they are down" attitude? Nobody in Wexford is happy today. There are serious questions to be answered. Especially regarding the man at the helm, and other things as well after the year to date.
That said, there are posters on here from counties who have been where we are and worse. Success can be very temporary.
Be a good winner and a gracious loser.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 19/07/2021 17:06:39    2361823

Replying To Bon:  "Well said, hence how they finding themselves doing nothing but pick strawberries for the rest of the summer."
Its beyond me why Davy got this year with wexford or why the players wanted him back. His style of play has been holding them back so much.
Yes they brought Kilkenny to extra time, but they should have closed that out in normal time no excuses. Same on Saturday tactics failed them and played into Clare's hands.
Wexford have a seriously talented squad of players that should be going further than they have done both this season and last, and possible the year before too. I'd be appalled if I was a Wexford man the way they've petered out again. Back to second best again. A proper progressive manager in there could work wonders.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 19/07/2021 17:27:10    2361830

Replying To Bon:  "Its beyond me why Davy got this year with wexford or why the players wanted him back. His style of play has been holding them back so much.
Yes they brought Kilkenny to extra time, but they should have closed that out in normal time no excuses. Same on Saturday tactics failed them and played into Clare's hands.
Wexford have a seriously talented squad of players that should be going further than they have done both this season and last, and possible the year before too. I'd be appalled if I was a Wexford man the way they've petered out again. Back to second best again. A proper progressive manager in there could work wonders."
Were they so much better before Davy as they are now? If so how did Davy even get the job? They have some very nice hurlers but not enough of them.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 19/07/2021 17:40:57    2361836

Replying To Bon:  "Its beyond me why Davy got this year with wexford or why the players wanted him back. His style of play has been holding them back so much.
Wexford have a seriously talented squad of players that should be going further than they have done both this season and last, and possible the year before too. I'd be appalled if I was a Wexford man the way they've petered out again. Back to second best again. A proper progressive manager in there could work wonders."
Personally I think we're 3 or 4 players short of being real all Ireland contenders and that we blew our chance in '19. I also think it's time for a change. I just hope the decision doesn't drag on

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 470 - 19/07/2021 17:52:38    2361840

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Personally I think we're 3 or 4 players short of being real all Ireland contenders and that we blew our chance in '19. I also think it's time for a change. I just hope the decision doesn't drag on"
You didn't blow it in 2019 ...... Limerick did!

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 19/07/2021 18:27:49    2361858

Like who?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11722 - 19/07/2021 18:42:28    2361868

He got 2 years so he had this year before the start of last year.
I think he should have gone after 2019. That was the chance and we blew it.
I just hope the players think it is time for a new voice too.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 19/07/2021 18:49:21    2361870

Back to 2nd best again? We were only 1 of a couple of bad refereeing decisions from winning the Leinster semi final and a matter of inches away from probably beating Clare when Rory O Connor hit the side netting. That turned into a 6 point swing. And if it had of gone in we would probably have never been even halfway to the 11 points down we got to in the 1st half. If Waterford lose to Galway no doubt you will be on this saying Liam Cahill should be shown the door as their only Championship win will have been a very close win over a Laois team we hammered by more than 20 points. Maybe best you buy a ticket for Croke Park where hopefully the Lilywhites can shock the Dubs because you seem to know nothing about hurling.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11722 - 19/07/2021 18:53:43    2361872

Back to 2nd best again? We were only 1 of a couple of bad refereeing decisions from winning the Leinster semi final and a matter of inches away from probably beating Clare when Rory O Connor hit the side netting. That turned into a 6 point swing. And if it had of gone in we would probably have never been even halfway to the 11 points down we got to in the 1st half. If Waterford lose to Galway no doubt you will be on this saying Liam Cahill should be shown the door as their only Championship win will have been a very close win over a Laois team we hammered by more than 20 points. Maybe best you buy a ticket for Croke Park where hopefully the Lilywhites can shock the Dubs because you seem to know nothing about hurling.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11722 - 19/07/2021 18:54:48    2361873

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Galway need to be very careful. Apart from the '17 AIF, I think, they have lost every championship game they have ever played against the Decies"
That's right. I believe the counties met 10 times in the championship before 2017 and Waterford won them all. In 1998, half of the Waterford team were carrying injuries after a bruising 12 point Munster final replay defeat to Clare. They asked for the all-Ireland quarter-final to be put back a week to give them a chance to recover but the GAA refused. They still beat a highly fancied Galway team out the gate, just 6 days after the Clare match.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 19/07/2021 18:56:03    2361875

They've a serious spine down the centre to start with, good solid lads. I think if they were managed correctly they'd be dangerous.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 19/07/2021 18:57:32    2361877

Replying To Viking66:  "Back to 2nd best again? We were only 1 of a couple of bad refereeing decisions from winning the Leinster semi final and a matter of inches away from probably beating Clare when Rory O Connor hit the side netting. That turned into a 6 point swing. And if it had of gone in we would probably have never been even halfway to the 11 points down we got to in the 1st half. If Waterford lose to Galway no doubt you will be on this saying Liam Cahill should be shown the door as their only Championship win will have been a very close win over a Laois team we hammered by more than 20 points. Maybe best you buy a ticket for Croke Park where hopefully the Lilywhites can shock the Dubs because you seem to know nothing about hurling."
Bon might be a Dub living in Kildare and might not like that. Anyway Viking just want to say Wexford have given us great pleasure the last few years and you can keep your heads held up high.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 19/07/2021 19:45:53    2361898