2021 National Hurling League

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "What confuses me about people complaining about the high point scoring, is that most of the points scored yesterday didn't really come from long range, not really. How many points were due to Limerick turning over Cork backs, intercepting Cork puckouts etc? Huge workrate by the Limerick forwards to create those chances.

Its funny, I was watching the game yesterday, and I can't remember which Limerick forward it was, but he won the ball on Corks end-line, came back in field, and popped it over the bar. And that was typical of how Limerick were playing. But I knew people would be just looking at the full-time score, and complaining about the high point total, At this stage, I think there are people who are complaining about the full time scores, that aren't actually watching the matches."
Thanks Marlon- you cut to the chase there alright. I think you are talking about Pat Ryan- if the ball had gone under the bar, instead of over it would have been a carbon of his '18 extra time goal in Croke Park against the same opposition.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 06/06/2021 18:49:20    2348681

Replying To bennybunny:  "Agreed. 1st half of of Limerick v Cork had 28 scores and 14 wides in 37 minutes..ie the ball was constantly out play..a bore fest.."
You should be giving credit to a team to have the ability to put the ball over the bar 20 times in the 1st half. They also had some wides so the ball was in play a lot but Cork didnt have it. In fact Cork lost possession to the ferocious pressure applied by Limerick all over the field. The day of 2 dominant halfback lines pucking the ball up and down the field are over and now the art of striking the ball over the bar from all over the field is key to success.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 06/06/2021 19:16:54    2348682

Replying To Richardkimble:  "I thought it was a very good league game with some great displays on view. Conor Whelan and Des Hutchinson were outstanding as was Calcannon."
The one think pleasing today was the reduced rucks. However because of the amount of scoring I don't think that will last long. Coaches will be shouting get in there and bottle them up. Not that I would give Horgan any credit even if he led us through the pearly gates because he has robbed us way too often in the past but there was zero tolerance of loose hands. Waterford penalized deservedly more than Galway.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 06/06/2021 19:20:22    2348683

Replying To cityman73:  "The ref last night allowed advantage too,not sure what match you saw."
Byrne's was fouled at 1 stage in the 2nd half and rode the tackle before passing to Lynch in acres of space on his own and the ref blew it back for a free is 1 instance. See I was watching the match were you.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 06/06/2021 19:26:09    2348686

I'm very happy with Galway's win as they had to come from behind against a very good team to get the job done. Waterford got off to a great start and were faster to every ball. It took Galway a long time to settle. It'll be fun to see who makes the Galway team for the Championship.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2125 - 06/06/2021 19:30:43    2348688

Replying To Canuck:  "I taught the game in Salthill was more like a challenge game. Liam Cahill has to be worried about that defence. Too open through the centre. Aussie not the answer. Probably three of these goals with Tadgh covering would not happen. Again the ref struggling with fair and foul tackles. Gleeson blow for a good shoulder while receiving one straight to the head himself. No question now a marked man and it is effecting his game."
I rather have that type of game Canuck than the 40 frees non touch tackling we had in the first 2 rounds of the league. As a neutral watching it the first 50 minutes was as good a league game you will get the pace and intensity of it but then all the subs coming on broke up the game. I don't think Waterford can complain too much about the referring as both sides got away with a bit.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 06/06/2021 19:32:41    2348690

Joe Canning looks in good nick thought he was class and I dont think he was even nominated for motm. His two one-handed passes were perfectly weighted for two of the goals. The advantage rule was used yesterday as well in Antrims game. I have to say it is very irritating to look at the referee sticking his arm out and pulling the play back 5 seconds later. Not sure what they should do with it

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 320 - 06/06/2021 19:44:21    2348694

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Joe Canning looks in good nick thought he was class and I dont think he was even nominated for motm. His two one-handed passes were perfectly weighted for two of the goals. The advantage rule was used yesterday as well in Antrims game. I have to say it is very irritating to look at the referee sticking his arm out and pulling the play back 5 seconds later. Not sure what they should do with it"
Joe Canning is a maestro.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 06/06/2021 20:06:56    2348699

Replying To Canuck:  "I taught the game in Salthill was more like a challenge game. Liam Cahill has to be worried about that defence. Too open through the centre. Aussie not the answer. Probably three of these goals with Tadgh covering would not happen. Again the ref struggling with fair and foul tackles. Gleeson blow for a good shoulder while receiving one straight to the head himself. No question now a marked man and it is effecting his game."
You'd wonder would it be worthwhile sticking Kevin Moran in centre back and tell him just to hold the position. He's great in the air, fantastic distribution of the ball. He'd stop an awful lot down that middle. There's plenty of younger guys around him like Lyons who'd do all the running. He mightnt necessarily be the future of Waterford hurling but he's never let them down.
Austin was fairly anonymous today, he done well not to be called ashore earleir.
Waterford people must be thrilled with Dessie's performance today, he brings huge energy and ability to that forward line. And its also another game under the belt for Shane Bennett, showed his class with his goal.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1911 - 06/06/2021 20:23:19    2348704

Replying To Canuck:  "Joe Canning is a maestro."
Canning has matured into an all round team player, he looks hungrier, sharper and deadly. Looking forward to seeing how far Galway go.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 06/06/2021 21:36:53    2348718

Replying To Bon:  "You'd wonder would it be worthwhile sticking Kevin Moran in centre back and tell him just to hold the position. He's great in the air, fantastic distribution of the ball. He'd stop an awful lot down that middle. There's plenty of younger guys around him like Lyons who'd do all the running. He mightnt necessarily be the future of Waterford hurling but he's never let them down.
Austin was fairly anonymous today, he done well not to be called ashore earleir.
Waterford people must be thrilled with Dessie's performance today, he brings huge energy and ability to that forward line. And its also another game under the belt for Shane Bennett, showed his class with his goal."
That would be my move also. Shore up the middle and dare I say sweep up behind the full backs. Prunty is good but needs protection.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 06/06/2021 21:40:16    2348719

Replying To Clubgaa:  "You should be giving credit to a team to have the ability to put the ball over the bar 20 times in the 1st half. They also had some wides so the ball was in play a lot but Cork didnt have it. In fact Cork lost possession to the ferocious pressure applied by Limerick all over the field. The day of 2 dominant halfback lines pucking the ball up and down the field are over and now the art of striking the ball over the bar from all over the field is key to success."
I have no problem giving credit to Limerick. My comment was on the spectacle. To me it was boring.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 06/06/2021 22:28:51    2348737

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Joe Canning looks in good nick thought he was class and I dont think he was even nominated for motm. His two one-handed passes were perfectly weighted for two of the goals. The advantage rule was used yesterday as well in Antrims game. I have to say it is very irritating to look at the referee sticking his arm out and pulling the play back 5 seconds later. Not sure what they should do with it"
Joe was very good today but he needed a big performance not been great the last couple of years but great to see him back on form. There were better forwards on the day Whelan, Concannon and Hutchinson were outstanding.

Richardkimble (Laois) - Posts: 39 - 06/06/2021 22:47:33    2348740

Replying To bennybunny:  "I have no problem giving credit to Limerick. My comment was on the spectacle. To me it was boring."
Yeah,Cork were very boring alright,allowed Limerick 54 scoring chances and Limerick were boring with 21 of those that they put wide.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 06/06/2021 23:09:49    2348742

It's brilliant that we've held on to our top tier status. We have massively improved in all areas; attitude, fitness, physical strength, skills, belief, competitiveness but especially commitment to the county jersey. Yes there will bumps and disappointments along the way but we seem to be putting the petty club and geographical differences aside at long last and playing for ANTRIM. I am so proud of all the lads but our thanks and gratitude must go to Darren Gleeson and his management/backroom team. Thank You.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 07/06/2021 01:57:38    2348754

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Not a bit boring if you are a Limerick follower. If it is so easy to hit those long range points why are every team not doing it. Apart from all that Limerick, with what even there biggest begrudgers will admit are a fine team, missed something like fifteen shots at goal yesterday, so scoring from distance even to good forwards is not that easy at all. They had 31 shots at goal in the first half yesterday. Remember also when Kilkenny beat them with a string of long range points themselves in '19 no one was complaining. I also recall that neutrals felt watching Tipperary sweep to All Final victory time after time in the sixties boring as they did watching Kilkenny and Cork doing the same in later decades. The same applied on occasion to Kerry and Dublin in Football when they were in utter domination. As regards '90s been 'peak hurling' anytime I play back recordings I see nothing but poorly prepared teams with very low skill levels and practically no combination play at all"
I started watching the game in 1999, didn't follow it in the early 90s,but I think the game is less skilful now than it was then,definitely in terms of individual skill, (I agree with you that the teamwork aspect of the sport has improved alot.)Players these days are all tall and big shouldered /chested etc, you'd wonder if going to the gym is more important than working with the ball. I often think if DJ Carey was around now would he even get a look in due to his size.

I also think that hurling needs goals, looking back at most of my favourite games of the last 20 years, pretty much all of them had lots of goals in them.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1709 - 07/06/2021 07:23:49    2348759

Replying To bennybunny:  "Agreed. 1st half of of Limerick v Cork had 28 scores and 14 wides in 37 minutes..ie the ball was constantly out play..a bore fest.."
It's never a bore fest when we're giving Cork a good clipping. Anybody with half an iota about hurling would really appreciate the skill that was on show, and that includes the play of the young Cork corner forward

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 07/06/2021 08:06:54    2348763

To be honest I'm finding the huge scorelines very unsatisfying. Waterford and Galway s combined total was 72 yesterday. The skill and pace off the game are off the charts but as a spectacle I now find it boring. The extreme scoring means a point and a goal have now been completely devalued. Scoring a single point is pretty insignificant now , and a goal ( which used to be a massive score in a game ) is now little more than a boost to your chances. These scores aren't celebrated to the same extent because of their devaluation . There really is no jeopardy in the game until the the last 5 minutes . It also bothers me that the scoring feats of all the past greats are going to be wiped out pretty quickly if this continues. I know the game has evolved but I don't think it's for the better.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 07/06/2021 10:17:42    2348768

Replying To Galway9801:  "I started watching the game in 1999, didn't follow it in the early 90s,but I think the game is less skilful now than it was then,definitely in terms of individual skill, (I agree with you that the teamwork aspect of the sport has improved alot.)Players these days are all tall and big shouldered /chested etc, you'd wonder if going to the gym is more important than working with the ball. I often think if DJ Carey was around now would he even get a look in due to his size.

I also think that hurling needs goals, looking back at most of my favourite games of the last 20 years, pretty much all of them had lots of goals in them."
I can't agree that individual skill levels were higher 20 years ago. The striking and first touch of players today is of a much higher standard. Some of the best hurlers back then were very one-sided. You wouldn't get away with that in today's game.
On DJ, he'd absolutely thrive in any era. He was strong and very quick, very good in the air. He'd be lethal. Look at the likes of Richie Hogan, who's even smaller than DJ. Likewise, Noel McGrath who doesn't have a big frame.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 07/06/2021 10:49:48    2348770

Replying To Ulsterman:  "It's brilliant that we've held on to our top tier status. We have massively improved in all areas; attitude, fitness, physical strength, skills, belief, competitiveness but especially commitment to the county jersey. Yes there will bumps and disappointments along the way but we seem to be putting the petty club and geographical differences aside at long last and playing for ANTRIM. I am so proud of all the lads but our thanks and gratitude must go to Darren Gleeson and his management/backroom team. Thank You."
Well done it takes a complete buy in well done to antrim that result against wexford was well deserved. As a Laois supporter we were making great strides under Eddie Brennan but then we had the usual roadblocks put in the man's way and now we are gone back to square one. I'd be very very surprised if antrim don't beat us next weekend.

Richardkimble (Laois) - Posts: 39 - 07/06/2021 11:01:50    2348772