Galway V Limerick

Replying To munsterchamps:  "you must have been in the corridor for most of your maths classes....because i make it 2 allirelands in 50 years."
Fair play, dominant

johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 582 - 30/11/2020 15:55:29    2317002

Replying To bloodyban:  "Your post smack of sour grapes. By the way Tipperary are the worst winners you'll ever come across. Kerry are grand. Let's call.a spade a spade..Galway lost and as Cody says 'that's it' ..done. Limerick are actually going for their 3rd in 50 years in 2 weeks. The busking season will be in full swing in Galway...all the hippies and environmentalists will be there so you could make a few quid if you break out your ukelele"
Its not sour grapes, better team won end of story.
To suggest people are fed up with Limerick because of their "success" is a bit far fetched though. Not sure what busking season your talking about, I hope thats not a joke, jokes are normally funny.

johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 582 - 30/11/2020 16:00:40    2317005

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Agreed.. it's right up there with Galway's 3 or 4 in 125 years..people who live in glass houses.."
Now you have it. Its called winning very little and its why the more successful counties are not fed up with us.

johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 582 - 30/11/2020 16:02:50    2317006

Replying To johnterry:  "You could do with learning a thing or two from your neighbours in Tipp and Kerry who have won a lot and know how that feels. 1 All Ireland in about 50 years is hardly going to make people fed up"
Yerra go easy. Galway a county with at least twice more hurling played in it than Limerick had one Ireland from 1887 to 1979. Even Tipp a huge hurling county went 18 years without one and Cork have gone fifteen years and counting without one.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 30/11/2020 16:06:22    2317009

There are some posters who are nothing more than winde up merchants and blow and blow , they go on to other counties form group where they have no business to be. In regards to yesterday's match as we say in Galway " Galway were not at the races " how we were level after 70 minutes is only down to a nervous Limerick who should have beaten us by at least 10 points. The sweeper system is not a Galway system we the supporters wanted man on man but SON went for a sweeper. We wont nor will any county win a All Ireland playing a sweeper system. A very poor match in which JC was the best player on the field.

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 30/11/2020 16:31:28    2317023

Replying To catch22:  "What was the Galway keeper playing at with the drop to the ground carry on only to dramatically recover once no Limerick player was getting spoken to. Amateur dramatics classes were taken I'd say."
The umpires must have been on their tea break!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1790 - 30/11/2020 16:32:06    2317025

Replying To johnterry:  "Its not sour grapes, better team won end of story.
To suggest people are fed up with Limerick because of their "success" is a bit far fetched though. Not sure what busking season your talking about, I hope thats not a joke, jokes are normally funny."
i found it funny......why would a galway hurling supporter call himself a english soccer player on a gaa forum....thats even funnier.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1096 - 30/11/2020 16:36:07    2317030

Replying To johnterry:  "Its not sour grapes, better team won end of story.
To suggest people are fed up with Limerick because of their "success" is a bit far fetched though. Not sure what busking season your talking about, I hope thats not a joke, jokes are normally funny."
i found it funny......why would a galway hurling supporter call himself an english soccer player on a gaa forum....thats even funnier.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1096 - 30/11/2020 16:37:17    2317033

Can we now leave the discussion to the match and forget all this silly stuff..we need limerick,Galway,Waterford and others to be competing against the so called big 3..I think there will definitely be a huge swing for next 5 years and I hope it continues.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 30/11/2020 16:38:32    2317034

Replying To bloodyban:  "Your post smack of sour grapes. By the way Tipperary are the worst winners you'll ever come across. Kerry are grand. Let's call.a spade a spade..Galway lost and as Cody says 'that's it' ..done. Limerick are actually going for their 3rd in 50 years in 2 weeks. The busking season will be in full swing in Galway...all the hippies and environmentalists will be there so you could make a few quid if you break out your ukelele"
Luckily for the Limerick team, with a billionaire and big business funding them there's no need for busking!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1790 - 30/11/2020 16:39:53    2317036

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Yerra go easy. Galway a county with at least twice more hurling played in it than Limerick had one Ireland from 1887 to 1979. Even Tipp a huge hurling county went 18 years without one and Cork have gone fifteen years and counting without one."
Great stuff, and none of them fed up with all of Limericks success

johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 582 - 30/11/2020 17:02:38    2317039

The fustrating thing is that Galway completely underperformed...only about half the team played well yet the opponents stumbled over the line by the skin of their teeth while playing at their best!
Poor team selection and management decisions cost us the game.
Hegarty should have got straight red as it was intended to do harm.
Karma got Guillane in the end (ending up in hospital when he acted the big man )

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 30/11/2020 17:12:50    2317040

Awful amount of negative begrudgery on this. Nobody cares who won what back in the year of dot. Best team won yesterday, the two best teams this year are in the final now. Should be a cracker .

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1905 - 30/11/2020 17:22:27    2317043

Replying To katser:  "Was chatting a Galway legend from the '80s in a shop the other day........and he reckons the Galway full foward line will score 5 goals, BC 1, CC 2, CW 2!!"
Was he from Galway United?

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 30/11/2020 17:22:58    2317044

Replying To katser:  "The fustrating thing is that Galway completely underperformed...only about half the team played well yet the opponents stumbled over the line by the skin of their teeth while playing at their best!
Karma got Guillane in the end (ending up in hospital when he acted the big man )"
kathleen chat to you again in march or april when the league starts....

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1096 - 30/11/2020 18:03:33    2317059

Replying To katser:  "The fustrating thing is that Galway completely underperformed...only about half the team played well yet the opponents stumbled over the line by the skin of their teeth while playing at their best!
Karma got Guillane in the end (ending up in hospital when he acted the big man )"
If you think LK were playing at their best yesterday you are in a minority of one.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 30/11/2020 18:14:50    2317068

Replying To baire:  "Luckily for the Limerick team, with a billionaire and big business funding them there's no need for busking!"
What wrong with JP and big business men in LK supporting their team, are there no business people from Galway. For God sake you have at least twice the number of people hurling in Galway than there are in Limerick and in fact hurling has struggled in the shadow of rugby for decades in out city.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 30/11/2020 18:19:43    2317070

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Was he from Galway United?"
the legend was one of the sawdoctors.....

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1096 - 30/11/2020 18:26:18    2317077

Congrats to JP and the lads, the better team won. Its wonderful to see a team overcome a limited hurling population and limited underage success in 5-10 years. Great to see the investment pay off.

Looking forward to seeing them beat Waterford now.

Please God the travel restrictions will be over soon to allow JPs lads enjoy their holiday in his resort in Barbados.

Its a pity the Galway county board couldn't come up with a few extra bob to keep Micheál Donoghue's preferred strength and conditioning coach last year and maybe C. Mannion wouldn't have had to limp off.

All_square (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 30/11/2020 18:51:03    2317097

Would I be right in saying it's Superman's on the galway jersey,the same man has a number if hotels,so think there would be no problem for galway financially..the difference might be in the way there was a huge emphasis put on academy in limerick..there is also ard school where a lot of these fellas went to school..then there is fitzgibbon hurling,I could be completely wrong but Nicky is only one of starting team I don't remember playing fitzgibbon..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 30/11/2020 19:00:57    2317100