Galway V Limerick

Posing a hypothetical here; If Joseph Cooney was wearing a green shirt, would anyone believe him it was an accident? Couldn't have timed it worse/better. Red card all day?

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 30/11/2020 13:20:55    2316908

if hegartys incident ( which i taught was very tame when you compare that to what brendan maher did to peter casey in last years munster final nearly took the head off of him). happened 2 years ago there woudnt be a word as everyone in the country wanted limerick to end the 45 year famine. but an all ireland , 2 munster titiles , and 2 national leagues and people are starting to get fed up of limerick winning ......but i guess thats the way life is, the more you win the more neutral supporters you loose there will be 31 counties shouting for waterford . but so what.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 30/11/2020 13:28:26    2316911

The Hegarty foul was a yellow, but no worse than the wild pull of D Burke in the air on Barry Nash just before Limerick's first score. I would be more frustrated with the continuous fouling of Hegarty (must've given away 4 scores...cancelling out the 4 he scored).

Setanta11 (Louth) - Posts: 42 - 30/11/2020 13:30:29    2316912

Setanta I'm glad you mentioned the Barry Nash incident,I didn't for fear people would say it's pure stupid..if we look at the full 80 mins again I'd be very certain a lot of Galway boys went in late and slightly loose with Hurley's..also I'm laughing at some complaining about limericks size,my god galway certainly have fellas every bit as big and physical as our boys..Burke's,cooney s,mcinerney even whelan.just have a look at how mcinerney ploughed through gillane..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 30/11/2020 13:44:38    2316923

What was the Galway keeper playing at with the drop to the ground carry on only to dramatically recover once no Limerick player was getting spoken to. Amateur dramatics classes were taken I'd say.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 30/11/2020 14:00:42    2316929

Replying To Oldtourman:  "You did not by any chance notice the following sentence from the same article 'John Donnelly was the recipeint of common sense too when he broke a hurley acroos Tadgh de Burca and it was the right call'. One law for Hegarty and as always a different one for Ciaody's boys."
Good point. As always " thou shalt not cry foul against Cody or Kilkenny", the Very architects of cynical play who go so far as to facilitate who go so far as to have former heroes such as Keher, DJ and the mugger Eddie Brennan (2009) final) make comments to the media and refs to "let the game flow". The wild swing was in invented by Tommy Walsh, just ask Brian Gavin. Love Tommy as an analyst but he got away with murder in his hayday in the black and amber. Jackie Tyrell , Mick Fennelly in the same exclusive club.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1355 - 30/11/2020 14:04:28    2316933

Well done Limerick yesterday on a massive win against a very good Galway team.
On the incidents that are being discussed, certainly the ref and the linesman missed Hegarty's contact with Joe. To me, it was awkward, late and not a realistic attempt to hook. We had the advantage of slow motion - a few times!
It is often very difficult to measure or determine the level of intent of a player in such an incident, and I think overall that if the incident was seen clearly by the officials then it should have been a yellow for careless use of the hurl. Yes he did strike but to me it was awkwardness and he got him with the flat of the hurl and I don't think that this incident represented an attempt to hurt or injure the player. For the most part those days are long gone where a player or team actually try to take a player out of the game due to the threat that that player presents.

The hurl that was broken... it is about time that we had two players actually trying to strike a ball along the ground... the hurley carriers are almost redundant now!

All that I have talked to about the game admire the physicality, deftness of touch, the tactics and above all the precision of pass and the scoring exploits of this top class Limerick team. This team from Limerick are currently at the top of their powers and people admire them... Limerick lads would want to relax and enjoy their new found status as favourites this year for the Liam McCarthy and enjoy the short build up.

We are lucky to have our games this year!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 30/11/2020 14:20:24    2316942

Replying To CTGAA10:  "It's amazing limerick have now turned into enemy number 1..we know every county bar our own will be shouting for Waterford..I'd be the same myself..I said yesterday hego was stupid and it looked terrible..definite yellow and could have been red..I said to that if the limerick ref was there it was a red and no questions..it's a pity because I don't think our fellas need to resort to that kind of stuff..everyone of them able to hurl and all are as good as what's in country..I'm looking forward to every county in Ireland shouting for Waterford but there are enough of us in limerick to outshout them all..it looks like we are in the position of Dublin footballers,no one likes us,we don't care.."
While I am a huge fan of Hegarty ,I agree his One handed over reaching swing appeared reckless and stupid, whatever his intention was. It would call it poor judgment in in the heat of an All-Ireland semi-final.
A re- watch if the game will also probably highlight that Galway implemented the "wild swing" game plan from the start yesterday . This may have be an attempt to pull a "Kilkenny 2019 " on Limerick to gain the upper hand.
Galway have been in no way averse to engaging in the same dark arts over the years.
"Sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander" and all that.

Come On Ye Boys In Green.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1355 - 30/11/2020 14:25:45    2316944

Replying To catch22:  "What was the Galway keeper playing at with the drop to the ground carry on only to dramatically recover once no Limerick player was getting spoken to. Amateur dramatics classes were taken I'd say."
Good point- he may be a student of there Druid Theater.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1355 - 30/11/2020 14:28:29    2316946

Replying To munsterchamps:  "if hegartys incident ( which i taught was very tame when you compare that to what brendan maher did to peter casey in last years munster final nearly took the head off of him). happened 2 years ago there woudnt be a word as everyone in the country wanted limerick to end the 45 year famine. but an all ireland , 2 munster titiles , and 2 national leagues and people are starting to get fed up of limerick winning ......but i guess thats the way life is, the more you win the more neutral supporters you loose there will be 31 counties shouting for waterford . but so what."
You could do with learning a thing or two from your neighbours in Tipp and Kerry who have won a lot and know how that feels. 1 All Ireland in about 50 years is hardly going to make people fed up

johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 582 - 30/11/2020 14:40:32    2316955

Replying To PatOLogical:  "While I am a huge fan of Hegarty ,I agree his One handed over reaching swing appeared reckless and stupid, whatever his intention was. It would call it poor judgment in in the heat of an All-Ireland semi-final.
A re- watch if the game will also probably highlight that Galway implemented the "wild swing" game plan from the start yesterday . This may have be an attempt to pull a "Kilkenny 2019 " on Limerick to gain the upper hand.
Galway have been in no way averse to engaging in the same dark arts over the years.
"Sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander" and all that.

Come On Ye Boys In Green."
Galway were too nice yesterday imo. Gullane knew well what he was going and it wasn't a friendly tap he was trying to upset the young keeper and our players let him away with it. It was the full backs job to not allow anyone in the square to the goal keeper.eg If it happened when Brian Logan was full back with Clare it would not happen again. Same with Hegarty he had one intension in that swing and it was not to hook canning. Again if the ref wants to turn a blind eye to this, then our players have to step up for one and other he should not have been allowed get away with that.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 30/11/2020 15:01:45    2316966

Probably too early to ask, but is there any update on the status of Joe Canning and Aaron Gillane? Last I heard, both were hospitalized overnight (Joe with concussion, Aaron with a back injury), haven't seen any update today though. Hope they're both okay.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 30/11/2020 15:06:46    2316968

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Good point. As always " thou shalt not cry foul against Cody or Kilkenny", the Very architects of cynical play who go so far as to facilitate who go so far as to have former heroes such as Keher, DJ and the mugger Eddie Brennan (2009) final) make comments to the media and refs to "let the game flow". The wild swing was in invented by Tommy Walsh, just ask Brian Gavin. Love Tommy as an analyst but he got away with murder in his hayday in the black and amber. Jackie Tyrell , Mick Fennelly in the same exclusive club."
Jesus you Limerick lads are painful. You're on here defending an offence that by the rule book is indefensible. No one who has played the game would mistake that swing for an attempted hook, Hegarty wanted to get something on JC and he succeeded, and by the rules this was a straight red. You can use all the weak excuses you want "poor judgment" FFS, you can bring examples of offenses by other players, whatever, but its a red by the rules.

Now, despite this, many people (including me) think a yellow would have been enough and the most high profile member of the group of players that you are still whining about for preferring "refs to "let the game flow"", Henry Shefflin, actually stated as much on television when reviewing the incident! No only this but he has been quoted by Limerick posters in excusing Hegarty's pull! You're all over the shop!

And that's before we mention that your infantile whinge about Kilkenny was prompted by a post from another Limerick poster, who pulled a single sentence from an article by a ex-referee that praised the referee's performance in giving both Waterford and Kilkenny players the benefit of the doubt when they committed offences by the rule wanted more severe punishment and somehow took that to mean that Kilkenny are treated differently to other teams! Did you even read the article you're posting about?

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 30/11/2020 15:17:13    2316974

Replying To johnterry:  "You could do with learning a thing or two from your neighbours in Tipp and Kerry who have won a lot and know how that feels. 1 All Ireland in about 50 years is hardly going to make people fed up"
You would be surprised. Remember what Daly said about the attitude of some from other counties to Clare when they won two. Remember how Galway felt the same attitude was prevailing to them in the late eighties, when they did the same. It seems that certain from the smaller are happy when the Big Ones, but when the other crowd get 'above their station' well that is not ok.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 30/11/2020 15:26:10    2316980

Replying To ecad123:  "Galway were too nice yesterday imo. Gullane knew well what he was going and it wasn't a friendly tap he was trying to upset the young keeper and our players let him away with it. It was the full backs job to not allow anyone in the square to the goal keeper.eg If it happened when Brian Logan was full back with Clare it would not happen again. Same with Hegarty he had one intension in that swing and it was not to hook canning. Again if the ref wants to turn a blind eye to this, then our players have to step up for one and other he should not have been allowed get away with that."
Gillane probably wishes he swung at McInerney at this stage, to keep him away if nothing else

johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 582 - 30/11/2020 15:26:26    2316981

Replying To johnterry:  "You could do with learning a thing or two from your neighbours in Tipp and Kerry who have won a lot and know how that feels. 1 All Ireland in about 50 years is hardly going to make people fed up"
stick to the ping pong.....

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 30/11/2020 15:27:38    2316983

you must have been in the corridor for most of your maths classes....because i make it 2 allirelands in 50 years.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 30/11/2020 15:31:06    2316987

Agreed.. it's right up there with Galway's 3 or 4 in 125 years..people who live in glass houses..

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1355 - 30/11/2020 15:32:12    2316989

Your post smack of sour grapes. By the way Tipperary are the worst winners you'll ever come across. Kerry are grand. Let's call.a spade a spade..Galway lost and as Cody says 'that's it' ..done. Limerick are actually going for their 3rd in 50 years in 2 weeks. The busking season will be in full swing in Galway...all the hippies and environmentalists will be there so you could make a few quid if you break out your ukelele

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 30/11/2020 15:38:59    2316995

Its such a pity that posters on here about our wonderful game hurling have been so negative in their critiques of the game.Yes Limerick won and deservedly so,they played poor enough for parts of the game especially first quarter and that was as a result of the pressure Galway applied and fair play to them.There were a few incidents on both sides and I don't believe any player intended to deliberately hurt an opponent.I understand that Galway supporters will be feeling sore and looking for reasons as to why they lost but lads Limerick won and were the better team and are looking fwd to the final now.Yesterdays game is over and no matter how often you replay those incidents the result will be the same.Good luck to Galway in the future and wishing Joe Canning a full recovery.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 30/11/2020 15:44:08    2316999