Galway V Tipperary (Gaillimh In Aghaidh Tiobraid Arann).

Big match today in Semple stadium. Who will win, well I hope Galway. Galway look a bit unfit to me though, they leaked two late goals against Kilkenny for example. Tipp will be fired up, I sincerely hope Galway will be too. I expect the first half to be fairly even. And the team that is fitter and wants it most will pull away in the second half. My heart says Gaillimh, my head says Tipp. On RTE at 1.15pm, live on RTE2.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 21/11/2020 13:07:47    2311984

Ref is s limerick man and I've a pain in my head from his whistle..not playing advantage either..also jake Morris would have seen red if it was a club match in limerick..I just hate seeing a ref dominating..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 21/11/2020 14:02:44    2311997

Replying To galwayford:  "Big match today in Semple stadium. Who will win, well I hope Galway. Galway look a bit unfit to me though, they leaked two late goals against Kilkenny for example. Tipp will be fired up, I sincerely hope Galway will be too. I expect the first half to be fairly even. And the team that is fitter and wants it most will pull away in the second half. My heart says Gaillimh, my head says Tipp. On RTE at 1.15pm, live on RTE2."
That match is on in Limerick.Great first half.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 21/11/2020 14:07:31    2312001

Cathal Mannion and Noel McGrath are great to watch. Very similar styles

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 317 - 21/11/2020 14:15:16    2312002

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Ref is s limerick man and I've a pain in my head from his whistle..not playing advantage either..also jake Morris would have seen red if it was a club match in limerick..I just hate seeing a ref dominating.."
Yeah. As a neutral the whistling is head wrecking. No continuity to the second half at all.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 21/11/2020 14:43:14    2312007

Absolutely delighted we beat "them" but we made hard work of it!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 21/11/2020 14:54:50    2312009

Well done to Galway. Is it Galway v our lads next week? and Waterford and Kilkenny on the other side?

hamsterdean (Limerick) - Posts: 223 - 21/11/2020 14:59:01    2312013

I knew this match would be the typical Galway-Tipp battle. I didn't see it. Was the Red Card legit?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 21/11/2020 15:01:45    2312017

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Ref is s limerick man and I've a pain in my head from his whistle..not playing advantage either..also jake Morris would have seen red if it was a club match in limerick..I just hate seeing a ref dominating.."
I agree. Very little advantages played. Too many whistles for things that could be let develop. Its something they need to look at. I thought both teams served up a cracker inspite of the ref. But generally speaking this year has seen too much stop start nonsense which takes away from what used to be the most passionate free flowing game in the world.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 21/11/2020 15:01:51    2312018

Replying To skillet:  "Yeah. As a neutral the whistling is head wrecking. No continuity to the second half at all."
Brian Hogan hit ball when he went for goal 7 yards forward from where Callahan was fouled.

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 127 - 21/11/2020 15:22:23    2312023

Never mind all this, we will have a Kerry hurling team playing in Croker on All Ireland hurling final day!

You've done us proud lads with a brilliant win over Carlow.

Up D Hurling Kingdom!!!!!!!!!!11

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/11/2020 15:23:47    2312026

Stephen Bennett to score 16points. Best freetaker in the country.

hamsterdean (Limerick) - Posts: 223 - 21/11/2020 15:51:39    2312035

Replying To Trump2020:  "I knew this match would be the typical Galway-Tipp battle. I didn't see it. Was the Red Card legit?"
Should have been a black card no? I don't think Galway posters will be doing much giving out this week about pull downs?? ;)

Well done to Galway. Great game. Will be another classic v Limerick.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 21/11/2020 16:00:29    2312038

Heart-stopping stuff as usual between these teams! It looked like the game was slipping away from Galway when they went six points down - they showed great character to come back and win it. Hard luck to Tipp. It could easily have gone either way.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 21/11/2020 16:04:25    2312040

Well done Galway, very close and an exciting game, Tipp a bit hamstrung with 14 players, but well done all the same. I didn't think before match that either of these would have a prayer against Limerick, I believe it less so afterwards. But still a really entertaining game.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 21/11/2020 16:10:13    2312048

Replying To hamsterdean:  "Stephen Bennett to score 16points. Best freetaker in the country."
TJ is best free taker in the country.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/11/2020 16:13:37    2312050

Look lads tipp are probably going to give out about the red card..it was Barrett's own fault,he was on a very harsh yellow but 2nd was stupid from him..the black card is going to have to be considered..a lot of very deliberate pull downs in matches this year..everyone will say it had to be done but there must be a harsher punishment..I think today was first time I only saw mcinerney involved at very end of match..don't think he had touched the bull up to last attack of match..thought both full back lines were struggling for long parts of that match..I saw Liam sheedy mouthing afterwards,maybe he should have a long hard luck at himself,he has stayed to loyal to all the older players he has..galway will be a right handful for limerick..this has the makings of a thriller and an extra bit of spice with Shane o neill on the galway line..I'll just say a good job Johnny Murphy can't do it..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 21/11/2020 16:30:39    2312056

Ba mhaith liom comhgardeas a dhéanamh go dtí foireann Gaillimh. Well done Galway. A great gutsy victory. Onwards now to face Limerick. (PS match was on in Limerick today, not Semple stadium)

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 21/11/2020 16:45:42    2312060

Replying To yew_tree:  "Should have been a black card no? I don't think Galway posters will be doing much giving out this week about pull downs?? ;)

Well done to Galway. Great game. Will be another classic v Limerick."
Sheflin and Cusack called for greater sanction for pull downs during the leinster final. They both agreed that a yellow card is not sufficient punishment / disincentive for such an offense. However, the powers that be have a see no evil, hear no evil approach to punishments regarding hurling. There's far more high profile pull downs in hurling than football these days, in my opinion, but they continue to occur as i) it's not suitably punished and ii) there's little stink kicked up by commentators / analysts / journalists to highlight the prevalence of these events.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 21/11/2020 16:51:07    2312065

Replying To Trump2020:  "I knew this match would be the typical Galway-Tipp battle. I didn't see it. Was the Red Card legit?"
It was a second yellow but I think it should have been a straight red. Barrett brought his hurley down on Concannon's head. If that's not a red card offence, I don't know what is. Commentators appeared to think a yellow card was appropriate enough, though

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 21/11/2020 16:55:18    2312066