Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To Crinigan:  "Exactly.

Look I'm sure I'll be lambasted for daring to slag off Dublin for marking a sensitive occasion ... but the music, the RTÉ cameras perfectly placed, the mask wearing, the formation ... all nicely setup. I'm sure the multiple sponsors of both the team and many of the individual players will be delighted anyway as well as their commercial team. It'll keep the cheques flying in."
Bit ott that Crinigan....

If it was a serious post, well it was in really bad taste considering what was being honoured...

Time and a place...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 23/11/2020 09:58:13    2313665

Replying To royaldunne:  "Actually we don't care what anyone thinks of us."
It doesn't look like you're much of a county spokesman

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 23/11/2020 10:04:21    2313673

Replying To Fionn:  "Bit ott that Crinigan....

If it was a serious post, well it was in really bad taste considering what was being honoured...

Time and a place...!"
He has a point though?

Why weren't Meath asked to take part in it?

The fact that it looked totally staged and choreographed doesn't sit well with me or most i'd say. It looked like a photo op more than anything else.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 23/11/2020 10:26:55    2313707

Replying To Fionn:  "Bit ott that Crinigan....

Time and a place...!"
Why weren't the Meath team asked then? Why were the cameras all in place? Why the specific music ready to go on stadium speakers? Real acts of remembrance and dignity are not for show. This was like a movie being directed ... or a commercial.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 23/11/2020 10:30:34    2313711

Replying To supersub15:  "Open post.
I walked away from it literally in 2002 at a relatively young age in protest against the introduction of the back door system and the further damage it may do to the weaker counties, I signed up here specifically to canvas for the knock out system to be reintroduced but no such luck, however over the past couple of weeks more high profile gaa sports people including Joe Brolly today have said the knock out system is the way forward.

Personally I would have been in favor of something like the Tommy Murphy cup for us unfortunates but I was in the minority, at the mention of the Back Door system I was totally and utterly against it but I was in the minority there too, as far as I could see way back then was it was papering over the cracks, it gave a false sense of security to the so called weaker counties and another day out for more of the same.

Ciaran Whelan said to day that Leinster football was" psychologically smashed" he may have meant National football. Dublin may not be the cause of the problem, but for the moment Dublin are the problem.
When Kerry lost out to Cork, Kildare lost out to Meath and Meath lost out heavily to Dublin everyone shouted stop, enough is enough especially as they have historically valued provincial and All Ireland senior football titles, with that can I humbly ask, where is the traditional sincerity, brotherly comradery and understanding that the association is supposed to share with all those in competitive trouble, there is weaker counties in Leinster than Kildare and Meath, have they to take their place in a different Que.

The overall problem with inter county gaelic football is beyond fixing.

To keep it ticking over, revert back to the traditional knock out system, get rid of the super 8's and put in place a worthwhile program to support the very weakest of counties, the rest will fall into place."
Very good post.

If I was in charge, I'd make it that every county competing has roughly same population (this would involve Dublin split in 4 and about three/four amalgamated teams( to be voted on, not forced but I imagine Carlow would go with Laois) with each county getting the same funds each year. GAA to hire CEO for every county to run each counties finances.

Would likes of Carlow amalgamate with Laois? I'd happily go with Louth or Westmeath if necessary to go along with the thing. Amalgamations would only be at senior level, not minor or underage.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 23/11/2020 10:37:39    2313722

Replying To daytona11:  "He has a point though?

The fact that it looked totally staged and choreographed doesn't sit well with me or most i'd say. It looked like a photo op more than anything else."
You boys suggested this was organised by Dublin? That's what I took from it.

Based on what? How does he know it was arranged by Dublin? You didn't even question it. .

This was a ceremony to mark bloody Sunday

A game in which a large portion of those killed were from Dublin including little kids

The GAA surely organised this ceremony not Dublin but as Dublin were part of the original game it was very appropriate for Dublin to lay the wreath

Tipp wore their County colours I'm 1920 and Dublin marked the day by laying a wreath

Meath took part in the opening ceremony and minutes silence

The suggestion that it was down to commercial reasons if fecking deplorable

An absolutely disgraceful comment based on groundless begrudgery of the highest order

You should be ashamed of yourselves

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/11/2020 10:39:35    2313724

Replying To Crinigan:  "Why weren't the Meath team asked then? Why were the cameras all in place? Why the specific music ready to go on stadium speakers? Real acts of remembrance and dignity are not for show. This was like a movie being directed ... or a commercial."
It was a ceremony arranged by the GAA to mark bloody Sunday man.. what is wrong with you. .

Dublin played that day in 1920

It was the continuation of the commerative ceremony and Dublin GAA being involved and losing the vast portion of citizens killed that day laid a wreath in memory of those murdered

Cameras were there because of the same reason cameras were there at the opening ceremony

It was one and the same and it was the conclusion of the ceremony

Christ Almighty...!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/11/2020 10:44:48    2313731

The fact that it looked totally staged and choreographed doesn't sit well with me or most i'd say. It looked like a photo op more than anything else."
Oh I dunno about that...
I listened to Dessie's after match interview and it appears the Dubs only spoke during the week about doing something at the end of the game...

IMO, you are doing them a dis-service assuming their intentions were not pure of thought and their actions were only for a photo op. I dont believe that. If you do, well that is your prerogative.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 23/11/2020 10:45:44    2313733

Replying To Crinigan:  "Very good post.

If I was in charge, I'd make it that every county competing has roughly same population (this would involve Dublin split in 4 and about three/four amalgamated teams( to be voted on, not forced but I imagine Carlow would go with Laois) with each county getting the same funds each year. GAA to hire CEO for every county to run each counties finances.

Would likes of Carlow amalgamate with Laois? I'd happily go with Louth or Westmeath if necessary to go along with the thing. Amalgamations would only be at senior level, not minor or underage."
Glad your not in charge then. Not many countries putting up their hands to join up with Meath. So play on same team until adulthood and then get dropped when you join another County. Are ye wise?

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 23/11/2020 10:48:38    2313738

Replying To jimbodub:  "You boys suggested this was organised by Dublin? That's what I took from it.

Based on what? How does he know it was arranged by Dublin? You didn't even question it. .

A game in which a large portion of those killed were from Dublin including little kids

The GAA surely organised this ceremony not Dublin but as Dublin were part of the original game it was very appropriate for Dublin to lay the wreath

Tipp wore their County colours I'm 1920 and Dublin marked the day by laying a wreath

An absolutely disgraceful comment based on groundless begrudgery of the highest order

You should be ashamed of yourselves"
Hi Jimbo,

Whether Dublin or the GAA organised it, for some to same it was only done for a photo op is really sad.
And to question the motives for doing it, is in really bad taste imo.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 23/11/2020 10:49:58    2313741

Absolutely groundless and baseless assertions

Hugely disrespectful and down right outrageous

To think all the players did was to lay a wreath for those that died during the official ceremonies..

To have that twisted into being about commercial gain and for the Dublin lads profiles to be purposely boosted.. disgusting

Ah here.. I don't know.. I've been on here many years but that's the lowest of the low

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/11/2020 10:52:23    2313743

Replying To Crinigan:  "Why weren't the Meath team asked then? Why were the cameras all in place? Why the specific music ready to go on stadium speakers? Real acts of remembrance and dignity are not for show. This was like a movie being directed ... or a commercial."
Ouch - it is really disappointing you feel that way.
You must have a really low opinion of their intentions.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 23/11/2020 10:52:43    2313744

Same reason why Cork didn't join with Tipperary in marking the anniversary at the Munster Final.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 23/11/2020 10:53:42    2313746

Replying To jimbodub:  "You boys suggested this was organised by Dublin? That's what I took from it.

You should be ashamed of yourselves"
No Jim. That's what it looked like to me.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 23/11/2020 10:54:09    2313747

Also the reason it looked staged and choreographed was because it was staged and choreographed.

Meath didn't take part for the same reasons Cork didn't take part in marking the anniversary at the Munster Final.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 23/11/2020 10:56:18    2313752

Replying To Crinigan:  "Very good post.

Would likes of Carlow amalgamate with Laois? I'd happily go with Louth or Westmeath if necessary to go along with the thing. Amalgamations would only be at senior level, not minor or underage."
How come kerry have won so many All Ireland's with such a small population or Kilkenny in the Hurling.???

I dont want to see them win but you have to tip their hat to them for what they have achieved in the past with such a small population base.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 23/11/2020 10:57:26    2313754

Replying To jimbodub:  "Absolutely groundless and baseless assertions

Hugely disrespectful and down right outrageous

To think all the players did was to lay a wreath for those that died during the official ceremonies..

To have that twisted into being about commercial gain and for the Dublin lads profiles to be purposely boosted.. disgusting

Ah here.. I don't know.. I've been on here many years but that's the lowest of the low"
+1

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 23/11/2020 10:58:51    2313759

Replying To daytona11:  "No Jim. That's what it looked like to me."
Well you're mistaken

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/11/2020 10:59:05    2313760

Replying To MesAmis:  "Same reason why Cork didn't join with Tipperary in marking the anniversary at the Munster Final."
Have you ever seen such rubbish..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/11/2020 11:01:26    2313763

I suppose Dean Rock mentioning the little lad when he was accepting the MOM award was staged too. What exactly where Dublin supposed to do? Some random act of kindness? No matter what Dublin did you'd be there! 9 of the dead at the match were from Dublin, Dublin are entitled to remember their dead in whatever way it suits them.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 23/11/2020 11:08:39    2313775