Well Done Cork!

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I was the Donegal lad that took him to task haha, in fairness we just agree to disagree on it but I don't understand Username's point about it not being as much value as previous All-Irelands for Dublin. The Super 8s add a wrinkle to it and for the Dubs to have been unbeaten in the Super8s as well adds another level to their achievement in terms of the amount of games, but by the same token there is very little danger in the Super 8s for Dublin in reality.

But yes I think if Dublin went 6 in a row it'd be a massive achievement, considering the change in management, retirements, the disruption this year with new management in place as well. They are hot favourites and rightly so but to go to the well for 6th time with all the problems that 2020 has brought would be great.

But sure agree to disagree as myself and Username said last time out"
Ah fair play Joe, and I remember that thussel allright, usernames argued that teams should have to play teams from all 4 provinces for it to be a proper allireland, well that's bad news for Galway limerick Tipp Cork and Kilkenny hurlers so if that's the case as none of them teams have played an ulster team on there way to winning their recent allirelands.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/11/2020 13:21:01    2307190

Ha ha alright lads you convinced me, 6 in a row then (fingers crossed), if it keeps you all happy. :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/11/2020 13:32:29    2307192

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ha ha alright lads you convinced me, 6 in a row then (fingers crossed), if it keeps you all happy. :D"
Ya sure it was only going to be half an allireland if Kerry won it.. Sure we know how it goes..

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/11/2020 14:17:05    2307208

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "No disrespect taken whatsoever CiarraiMick.

I suppose where i was coming from was; for me, your biggest rival is the team you would love to beat more than any other team. And obviously at the moment Dublin are that team for Kerry"
Well in fairness you ré spot on there Conn. At the moment the team I would like to beat the most is Dublin(in the championship in particular) but we will have to wait. I thought we were probably slightly the better team v Dublin in 11 but did nt get the luck but in 13 15 16 and last year Dubs were just too good for us. Yes imo Cork biggest rivals but as Kev Keegan once said about Man u ill say it about Dublin '"I would love it really love it if we beat them". The main reason being us because of Dublin brilliance

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 10/11/2020 14:45:35    2307225

Replying To TheUsername:  "Paul was on the bench alright Mick (Thankfully). I think the rumors' were him not being involved came from him not being in the panel for the last two league games and caught fire over whattsapp. I caught up with someone who knows whats, what out Crokes way and was told - they hadn't heard he left the Dublin panel but he was carrying an injury from the club championship.

With Jayo, there was an issue and was touch and go for a while. The media were late to the story, it was funny as it was breaking news before our game against Kerry in Tralee, we had played a few games in the league before that and every dog in the street knew Jayo wasn't there and Paul Clarke was doing the Jayo role on the sideline. Similar to how the eagle eyed spotted Darren Daly in Dessies backroom team Vs Meath in the league and media reported it this weekend."
Yeah you were saying that about the kilmacud lad alright. With Sherlock last year twas strange cos the fella I heard it from is solid and he was told by a member of the Dublin backroom team so there def was something to it but as we say rumours are called rumours for a reason. However glad Paul is back. He s a lovely footballer to watch in action and I don't have to worry bout what he scores this year lol.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 10/11/2020 14:55:48    2307232

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mick who has beaten us more in the championship over the years Cork or dublin?"
Jaysus , you've changed you're tune ha !
Mick now is it ? A while ago you were accusing the man of not being from Kerry and you were full sure of it.
You really are in a heap Tommy.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 10/11/2020 16:45:17    2307272

Replying To catch22:  "Jaysus , you've changed you're tune ha !
Mick now is it ? A while ago you were accusing the man of not being from Kerry and you were full sure of it.
You really are in a heap Tommy."
Unbelievable eh.....

Best buds now - after all the accusations from the teppum
Sums him up....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 10/11/2020 17:05:57    2307282

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Cork are div 3 as you say but we were saying div 2 as they promoted easily. Fionn it was you and others that gave Cork no hope while we in Kerry did and flagged this. We never considered Cork div 3 material as was proved by winning every game there easily. I find it hilarious all this to be honest. Most Dublin folk will be gappy even delighted Kerry are beaten but now you giving out because we did nt beat Cork. When we spoke of our respect for Cork you thought we being cute. You don't like the fact that Cork are our biggest rivals. Sure why don't you tell me what to like and think Fionn lol. I have said on my occasions what a brilliant team Dublin are on and off the field but when u give another county credit you seem to belittle it. Finally on Keane yes his job will be questioned and its not because of the loss but more the way he set up the team. Again a few of us on the Kerry forum stated our displeasure of this before the fame Finally Fionn you seem to be a knowledgeable guy on both hurling and football so while we might not agree on different issues (and that's OK too) believe Né that when I'm giving my opinion it's from the heart and not yerra."
Seems like ex Kerry players also think ye took the Cork lads for granted - not just me or many others...
Fact is kerry were trained and geared up this year to beat Dublin - and took their eye off the ball.
Darren O'Sullivan is spot on when he alluded to the fact to some players from your team seemed over confident and not fully focussed on Cork.
As you say, maybe you and a few other kerry fans thought it would be a close game but judging by the anger and annoyance at losing to them - most kerry folk fully expected a win.

The pressure was on ye this year to deliver Sam - more than any other county. Massive pressure which began last Sept..

Over confidence can be contagious and ye (maybe not you) had it by the bucket load this year..

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 10/11/2020 17:23:25    2307289

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I was the Donegal lad that took him to task haha, in fairness we just agree to disagree on it but I don't understand Username's point about it not being as much value as previous All-Irelands for Dublin. The Super 8s add a wrinkle to it and for the Dubs to have been unbeaten in the Super8s as well adds another level to their achievement in terms of the amount of games, but by the same token there is very little danger in the Super 8s for Dublin in reality.

But yes I think if Dublin went 6 in a row it'd be a massive achievement, considering the change in management, retirements, the disruption this year with new management in place as well. They are hot favourites and rightly so but to go to the well for 6th time with all the problems that 2020 has brought would be great.

But sure agree to disagree as myself and Username said last time out"
Think Donegal will have a huge say this year - still very much wide open.

The conditions and short lead time into the next game will have a big bearing.

Still believe there will be more shocks along the way, in both the provincial and All Ireland series..

At least there now is a possibility we could have fans back next year. Cant wait...
Personally, next year I would scrap the super 8's though.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 10/11/2020 17:44:14    2307294

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Cork are div 3 as you say but we were saying div 2 as they promoted easily. Fionn it was you and others that gave Cork no hope while we in Kerry did and flagged this. We never considered Cork div 3 material as was proved by winning every game there easily. I find it hilarious all this to be honest. Most Dublin folk will be gappy even delighted Kerry are beaten but now you giving out because we did nt beat Cork. When we spoke of our respect for Cork you thought we being cute. You don't like the fact that Cork are our biggest rivals. Sure why don't you tell me what to like and think Fionn lol. I have said on my occasions what a brilliant team Dublin are on and off the field but when u give another county credit you seem to belittle it. Finally on Keane yes his job will be questioned and its not because of the loss but more the way he set up the team. Again a few of us on the Kerry forum stated our displeasure of this before the fame Finally Fionn you seem to be a knowledgeable guy on both hurling and football so while we might not agree on different issues (and that's OK too) believe Né that when I'm giving my opinion it's from the heart and not yerra."
ps. Nice to see your new best bud (did you show him your birth cert...) say:

If a team wins their provincial championship and win an allireland semifinal and final then that's still 100% a legitimate allireland.

Well that's 2 of yours gone so.... lol ;o)

As for biggest rivals - if yours is Cork then that is great. I have no problem with that at all. It is great news in fact. ;o)
Someone should tell PK that Cork are your biggest rivals though... lol

Anyway, time to move on....!
This is like old chipper paper now...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 10/11/2020 18:13:04    2307300

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "No disrespect taken whatsoever CiarraiMick.

I suppose where i was coming from was; for me, your biggest rival is the team you would love to beat more than any other team. And obviously at the moment Dublin are that team for Kerry"
At the moment the team we want to beat the most is Cork but we'll have to wait till next summer now to try again .

We'll worry about dublin at a later date but we mightened get to meet ye at all.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/11/2020 18:21:10    2307302

Think the Super 8s was only a trial for 3 years. A new chairman in next year, so new ideas.
Super 8s with dead rubber games in the 3rd game didn't do anything for excitement. It was elitist too.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 10/11/2020 18:28:50    2307306

Replying To Fionn:  "Seems like ex Kerry players also think ye took the Cork lads for granted - not just me or many others...
Fact is kerry were trained and geared up this year to beat Dublin - and took their eye off the ball.
Darren O'Sullivan is spot on when he alluded to the fact to some players from your team seemed over confident and not fully focussed on Cork.
As you say, maybe you and a few other kerry fans thought it would be a close game but judging by the anger and annoyance at losing to them - most kerry folk fully expected a win.

The pressure was on ye this year to deliver Sam - more than any other county. Massive pressure which began last Sept..

Over confidence can be contagious and ye (maybe not you) had it by the bucket load this year.."
D'ardán just giving his opinion. Does nt mean he s right or wrong. Éamonn Fitzmaurice g Ave his opinion saying Kerry never take Cork for granted. I don't know but if they did they were very silly but real football people in Kerry don't take Cork for granted just like Tipp hurlers don't take Cork for granted either. Look folk go on about Kerry minors 5 in a row. Yes they won and won it easily except for 3 occasion v Cork in munster. Cork had no backdoor cos we beat them in semi final in munster. They were our toughest games. Last year our minors beat Cork in 1st round and in munster final but they had a back door and won all ireland. They are also u 20 all ireland Champs. I never considered Cork a div 3 side and u doubt Kerry players did either. Having watched game again I did nt see any complacency. If any it was by Clifford going for a goal when he should ve taken a point but that in his DNA anyway and maybe last minute. Cork hardly missed anything. They were clinical fair play to them. Also I think it's a tad unfair on them using these narratives. Cork are a good team.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 10/11/2020 18:30:27    2307308

Replying To Fionn:  "Seems like ex Kerry players also think ye took the Cork lads for granted - not just me or many others...

Over confidence can be contagious and ye (maybe not you) had it by the bucket load this year.."
I think maybe there is over analysis regarding over confidence, Kerry set-up etc. Kerry left themselves vulnerable to a sucker-punch goal because their much vaunted forwards including Clifford (left 4 easy points behind him in the 2nd half) and O'Shea, (left a short free "short" in the 1st half), failed to take easy chances, 13 scores from 30 attempts tells us how Kerry lost this game.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 678 - 10/11/2020 18:30:48    2307309

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "D'ardán just giving his opinion. Does nt mean he s right or wrong. Éamonn Fitzmaurice g Ave his opinion saying Kerry never take Cork for granted. I don't know but if they did they were very silly but real football people in Kerry don't take Cork for granted just like Tipp hurlers don't take Cork for granted either. Look folk go on about Kerry minors 5 in a row. Yes they won and won it easily except for 3 occasion v Cork in munster. Cork had no backdoor cos we beat them in semi final in munster. They were our toughest games. Last year our minors beat Cork in 1st round and in munster final but they had a back door and won all ireland. They are also u 20 all ireland Champs. I never considered Cork a div 3 side and u doubt Kerry players did either. Having watched game again I did nt see any complacency. If any it was by Clifford going for a goal when he should ve taken a point but that in his DNA anyway and maybe last minute. Cork hardly missed anything. They were clinical fair play to them. Also I think it's a tad unfair on them using these narratives. Cork are a good team."
Yes Cork are a good team - hopefully they can get to an All Ireland Final now.

Someone mentioned that Cork looked better conditioned and bigger and stronger than kerry.
I didnt think so.
A lot of young lads on their team, and like Galway and others with emerging talent, and with the Dubs with an aging team, I think going forward the Provincial and All Ireland winners will be very difficult to predict.

BTW - what is your view on a professional Aussie Rules player coming back to play for his county in the off season.?
Honestly, a serious general question.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 10/11/2020 19:07:31    2307314

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Think the Super 8s was only a trial for 3 years. A new chairman in next year, so new ideas.
Super 8s with dead rubber games in the 3rd game didn't do anything for excitement. It was elitist too."
Time to get rid of it... only brought in to generate money.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 10/11/2020 19:09:15    2307316

Replying To sligo joe:  "I think maybe there is over analysis regarding over confidence, Kerry set-up etc. Kerry left themselves vulnerable to a sucker-punch goal because their much vaunted forwards including Clifford (left 4 easy points behind him in the 2nd half) and O'Shea, (left a short free "short" in the 1st half), failed to take easy chances, 13 scores from 30 attempts tells us how Kerry lost this game."
And that's it in a nutshell Joe. It's funny that Monaghan were expected to beat Cavan and got beat by showing Cavan too much respect when leading by 7 points and then Cavan came back brilliantly. You can be certain Monaghan did nt take Cavan for granted. Both teams massive rivals like Kerry Cork. You make it sound simple Joe but yes they are the simple facts.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 10/11/2020 19:13:13    2307319

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "And that's it in a nutshell Joe. It's funny that Monaghan were expected to beat Cavan and got beat by showing Cavan too much respect when leading by 7 points and then Cavan came back brilliantly. You can be certain Monaghan did nt take Cavan for granted. Both teams massive rivals like Kerry Cork. You make it sound simple Joe but yes they are the simple facts."
Looks like you are gonna argue your case until Xmas - if you say something to yourself long enough, sooner or later you will believe it.. lol
kerry took Cork for granted no matter how many times you so try to convince others otherwise.
Once again thou doth protest too much.... ;o)
Just like winning an All Ireland without winning your provincial...
What about your pals comment...???
If a team wins their provincial championship and win an allireland semifinal and final then that's still 100% a legitimate allireland.

As for Monaghan, yes Monaghan did think the game was won and didnt expect Cavan to come back at them, until it was too late. And the farney fans were disgusted with Banty's tactics also... I spoke to an ex player and he was fuming...!
Got beat by showing Cavan too much respect... well that made me laugh.... lol

Anyway, I am sure you will want the last comment like always, so I will move on..... ;o)
Oh yes he will, oh no he wont.... LOL.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 10/11/2020 20:14:26    2307343

Replying To sligo joe:  "I think maybe there is over analysis regarding over confidence, Kerry set-up etc. Kerry left themselves vulnerable to a sucker-punch goal because their much vaunted forwards including Clifford (left 4 easy points behind him in the 2nd half) and O'Shea, (left a short free "short" in the 1st half), failed to take easy chances, 13 scores from 30 attempts tells us how Kerry lost this game."
They failed to take easy chances because they were too nonchalant - with over confidence comes casualness.
Were not 100% on their game because it was match they expected to win easily imo.

I have seen it with many counties including Dublin in the past when we are winning games and then the players are going for showboating scores or far too relaxed with both passes and shots.
When the chips are down - you are 110% focused, when you think the game is in the bag or will be won easily - you can miss these chances more often than otherwise. That is my opinion.

You see it at underage games also - it is only human.
Players turning up for a game not in the zone as they call it.
It happens - but you learn from it very quickly.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 10/11/2020 20:29:23    2307350

Anyway lads, its a bit if a nothing year to be honest, I cant see defeats or victories being taken in the same way, so sit back and enjoy the distraction.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 10/11/2020 20:51:18    2307357