Well Done Cork!

Replying To catch22:  "You sound very angry Tom. Calm down a small bit.
Enjoy the rest of the games like."
;o)
He cant handle it...
Like I said at the very start of the year - the pressure on kerry to win Sam this year would be immense, and so it proved.
They blew it...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 10/11/2020 09:49:09    2307108

Replying To Fionn:  ";o)
He cant handle it...
Like I said at the very start of the year - the pressure on kerry to win Sam this year would be immense, and so it proved.
They blew it...!"
I can't handle it? Handle what? :-) that's the silliest thing you've come out with on here in a while, sure I wasn't playing against Cork at all on Sunday , was I disappointed? Of course I was as I won't get to see my team again till the league but I'll watch the rest of the games and shout on Cork or Tipp for the rest of the year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/11/2020 10:23:28    2307117

Replying To MesAmis:  "In fairness Kerry created more than enough easy chances to have the game well wrapped up in normal time, they could and should have been at least 4/5 points clear going down the stretch at the end of the 70. You can't blame Peter Keane for his players putting balls wide from around the '21 under little or no pressure. Same as you can't really blame him for the complete non-defending for the goal at the end. 2 Kerry players literally standing there and watching Mark Keane catch a high dropping ball into his chest, with neither making any attempt to try and stop him. If you saw it a junior F match up the Phoenix Park you'd be disappointed let alone in a senior inter-county game.

At the same time it is quite hard to work out what PK's plan was. Was he really spooked by the "great" Cork/Kerry rivalry plamás fest? Cork played their league football in Division 3 this year, Kerry won Division 1. His plan was akin to Dessie Farrell changing everything to play against Westmeath, a team ranked higher than Cork in the league btw.

I think PK had the Mayo/Galway semi-final, as well as the final against Dublin/Donegal very much in his head for the Cork game. To be borrow a phrase from the late, great Páidí, I think he thought that no matter what, 'they'd carry their legs' against Cork. If he was really afraid of Cork he would have set his team up to go at Cork from the start and bury them but he didn't, he obviously felt they could get away with using the game to work on other issues for later on down the line.

To be honest I wouldn't even be over-critical of him for that, Kerry should have been able to use this game work on their game plan for later on this year. If his forwards had taken the numerous simple chances they created and/or Shane Ryan or Tommy Walsh actually bothered to attempt to contest that last ball in then Kerry would have come through the game."
I agree Mes. Plenty of blame to go around, the players most certainly will not be happy with their efforts. I don't know if it was a lack of focus or what, they failed to execute a lot of the basics, if you can't put over short frees in front of the posts you are always going to make life hard for yourself.

You can't blame Keane for the players being that sloppy but that doesn't excuse the game plan being awful and no meaningful adjustments being made. I wouldn't be calling for Keane to step down or anything like hat but I hope there is a change of approach when the season starts again in 2021.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/11/2020 10:25:42    2307119

Replying To Fionn:  ";o)
He cant handle it...
They blew it...!"
Its a fair point i have said Leinster and Munster are at an advantage to Ulster and Connacht, i still do i think both Leinster and Munster are favored in pathway in structure and competitiveness at the moment in comparison to ulster and Connacht. Its just Corks name on the ticket at the moment as opposed to Kerry. I dont think i ever said Cork and Kerry would be a forgone conclusion, i said i thought Cork were a year of a big performance like Sunday. I still think its a far greater achievement for say Donegal winning an All Ireland then Dublin. The Championship broadly is unequal and unfair depending on a geographical lottery at any one time in the provincial system. Laois, Kildare and Meath have the opportunity to correct me on that in the next few weeks, but that is my view.

I thought Cork were a year of a performance like that, i think they are better and more dangerous team offensively then they showed on Sun but i understand why they played the way they did, they were managing percentages. They will hope to kick on in the years ahead and id say give this year a right good rattle. Its really interesting to hear Benny talk of all that going on behind the sciences and how they have progressed from one of their lowest ebbs - quite recently. Its great to see and adds a new flavor to the championship, its a great example to all and inspiration im sure to many teams around the country of a pathway. Its a really good news story. Ive no desire to dance on Kerrys grave, ive been that solider on a first day defeat and it stings, the championship will be a poorer place without Clifford, O Shea and TOS but its refreshing that a different team have come through. Im sure if Laois, Meath or Kildare beat Dublin most of the country will feel and have the same reaction.

As for this years championship, i said that its not the same achievement as previous All Irelands in the modern era, i still do, not sure how Kerry getting their Christmas shopping done early changes any of that. I would have said if we win it its 5.25 in a row, a lad from Donegal took me task on that in a previous thread and to be fair made good points, id nearly go 5.75 in a row - i still dont think we will win though.

The way i look at it is if you want to compete against the best all the time, fear noone, respect everyone, making provinces equal and more competitive would be brilliant, there is nothing wrong with the latter stages in my opinion.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/11/2020 10:29:41    2307121

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I agree Mes. Plenty of blame to go around, the players most certainly will not be happy with their efforts. I don't know if it was a lack of focus or what, they failed to execute a lot of the basics, if you can't put over short frees in front of the posts you are always going to make life hard for yourself.

You can't blame Keane for the players being that sloppy but that doesn't excuse the game plan being awful and no meaningful adjustments being made. I wouldn't be calling for Keane to step down or anything like hat but I hope there is a change of approach when the season starts again in 2021."
Yeah I'd agree, Keane's big error was not changing the plan once they were in danger, but in his defence it did always look like Kerry were going to come through, and it was only for a mishit shot dropping into the square they would have been home and hosed with plenty to work on.

I think the timing is good for Keane, in that if this was a normal year there'd be a lot of time for the Kerry County Board to consider his position but there's no point in changing now as the 2021 season will be upon them quick enough.

He deserves the chance to bounce back in my opinion.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 10/11/2020 10:46:31    2307128

Replying To rhudson:  "Can ye lend us a few players
Were down to the bare bones down here
Mood not good in the camp at all
PJ hoping he can lift the morale of the lads"
As I understand it Galway have a problem with the No1 shirt. Whatever about a few players the Mayo fans might be happy to let ye borrow a goalkeeper for the day.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 10/11/2020 11:07:31    2307142

Replying To TheUsername:  "Its a fair point i have said Leinster and Munster are at an advantage to Ulster and Connacht, i still do i think both Leinster and Munster are favored in pathway in structure and competitiveness at the moment in comparison to ulster and Connacht. Its just Corks name on the ticket at the moment as opposed to Kerry. I dont think i ever said Cork and Kerry would be a forgone conclusion, i said i thought Cork were a year of a big performance like Sunday. I still think its a far greater achievement for say Donegal winning an All Ireland then Dublin. The Championship broadly is unequal and unfair depending on a geographical lottery at any one time in the provincial system. Laois, Kildare and Meath have the opportunity to correct me on that in the next few weeks, but that is my view.

I thought Cork were a year of a performance like that, i think they are better and more dangerous team offensively then they showed on Sun but i understand why they played the way they did, they were managing percentages. They will hope to kick on in the years ahead and id say give this year a right good rattle. Its really interesting to hear Benny talk of all that going on behind the sciences and how they have progressed from one of their lowest ebbs - quite recently. Its great to see and adds a new flavor to the championship, its a great example to all and inspiration im sure to many teams around the country of a pathway. Its a really good news story. Ive no desire to dance on Kerrys grave, ive been that solider on a first day defeat and it stings, the championship will be a poorer place without Clifford, O Shea and TOS but its refreshing that a different team have come through. Im sure if Laois, Meath or Kildare beat Dublin most of the country will feel and have the same reaction.

As for this years championship, i said that its not the same achievement as previous All Irelands in the modern era, i still do, not sure how Kerry getting their Christmas shopping done early changes any of that. I would have said if we win it its 5.25 in a row, a lad from Donegal took me task on that in a previous thread and to be fair made good points, id nearly go 5.75 in a row - i still dont think we will win though.

The way i look at it is if you want to compete against the best all the time, fear noone, respect everyone, making provinces equal and more competitive would be brilliant, there is nothing wrong with the latter stages in my opinion."
You'll have to show us the post where you said Cork were a year off coz I haven't seen it.

I tipped Cork for the double this year on the championship thread page 1 or 2 if you want to look it up.

Also I think you're 100 % wrong about the championship being less because there are less games, if a team wins their provincial championship and win an allireland semifinal and final then that's still 100% a legitimate allireland.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/11/2020 11:10:22    2307145

Congrats to Cork on a hard fought win, had a game plan, stuck to it and got the break in the end to wind it. Yer man Connolly is probably a nightmare to manage, seems so laid back, but what a kicker of the ball! Big men all over the pitch stood up. If they don't get carried away with themselves, there may be an AI final this year. Would like to see them being more attack minded as some of the stuff on Sunday was mind numbing.

Kerry missed or messed up enough chances to win 2 games. I wouldn't be takin' lumps out of Keane when players fail to do the basics right. Would seriously question why Spillane didn't start. The few times I've seen him, he's been impressive and also young O'Shea seems to play better when he's about.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 10/11/2020 11:10:41    2307146

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "No disrespect meant there Connolly as I have massive respect for Dublin and yes they are massive rivals for us but for me it's Cork number and I'll explain. I grew up in the 70s and 80s when Dublin Kerry had a great rivalry but we met Cork every year in tough games. Between 1985 and 2001 Kerry and Dublin never met in the championship. Since the introduction of the backdoor in 2001 nó counties have met more in the football championship than Kerry and Cork. They met in munster nearly every year bar 03 and drew in munster in 02 06 09 10 and 15.also Kerry and Cork drew in all ireland semi final 08.they met in 2 all ireland finals. In 02 06 08 09 they met 3 times in the championship in the same year. When Kerry won the Sam through back door in 06 and 09 it was Cork that had beaten them earlier after replays. When Cork won Sam in 10 through backdoor it was Kerry that had beaten them earlier also after a replay. Now all these statistics are facts. Yes we have had the upper hand on Cork recently but Dublin also have had that on us big time. So I hope you understand now what I mean Conn as it was nt a dig at Dublin at all. At the moment I would prefer to beat Dublin than Cork but I'll be waiting a while for that I think. Anyway as I say no disrespect meant at all."
Mick who has beaten us more in the championship over the years Cork or dublin?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/11/2020 11:14:19    2307148

Replying To TheUsername:  "Not sure how I'd be feeling of the analysis of this match if I was from Cork.

Everyone talking about what Kerry got wrong, no one talking about what Cork got right. Cork are no mugs. They came up to Croke Park last year and put the frighteners on Dublin - best performance vs Dublin last year. They just stormed Div 3, I'd back them to storm Div 2 next, just deservedly knocked out All Ireland finalists & NFL holders. Not to mention what is breaking through there.

Many won't agree with me, but I actually think Cork played within themselves yesterday, they obviously had a game plan and came up against the blanket defence in awful conditions, but they are a far more offensive team then they showed yesterday. I wouldn't be underestimating them, there have been red flags for a while of how dangerous they are becoming.

But then Cork will be happy with the narrative of a "shock" and the being spotlight on other teams remaining."
Very good point user. Also people forget that only for the last kick Kerry would ve won and people would be saying Kerry need to improve but they will still have a big say in the championship. Kerry could ve played better yes but the were nt left play better by a determined Cork team. Regardless of what a lot here think Kerry people are disappointed but not shocked. We never take Cork for granted. Cork are always a danger to us. Last year they came very close also. People also forget Cork are all ireland champions at minor and under 20. and that's no yerra. If you check the Kerry forum you can see how we flagged the danger of Cork and actually mentioned how it would be terrible to face them in the Páirc on a wet windy day as they could end our Hooe there. But yes User let's give Cork credit. Its not a shock they won fair and square and they might not be finished yet.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 10/11/2020 11:42:14    2307159

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mick who has beaten us more in the championship over the years Cork or dublin?"
Oh Cork by a landslide and draws also.Even since 2001 backdoor Cork have beaten us 6 times and we have drew on 6 meetings.Since 2001 Dublin have beaten us 5 times and drew twice. Before that we did nt meet Dublin for 16 years. A rivalry iss determined on close calls and geography etc. Dublin did beat us for 34 yrs between 77 and 2011.we have nt beaten Dublin in 9 yrs. In most sport your biggest rivals are the crowd closest to you that hurt you and you hurt them I. e in soccer it's the London teams and Liverpool Everton etc

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 10/11/2020 11:57:10    2307162

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Oh Cork by a landslide and draws also.Even since 2001 backdoor Cork have beaten us 6 times and we have drew on 6 meetings.Since 2001 Dublin have beaten us 5 times and drew twice. Before that we did nt meet Dublin for 16 years. A rivalry iss determined on close calls and geography etc. Dublin did beat us for 34 yrs between 77 and 2011.we have nt beaten Dublin in 9 yrs. In most sport your biggest rivals are the crowd closest to you that hurt you and you hurt them I. e in soccer it's the London teams and Liverpool Everton etc"
Meant did nt beat us for 34 yrs

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 10/11/2020 12:09:28    2307166

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You'll have to show us the post where you said Cork were a year off coz I haven't seen it.

I tipped Cork for the double this year on the championship thread page 1 or 2 if you want to look it up.

Also I think you're 100 % wrong about the championship being less because there are less games, if a team wins their provincial championship and win an allireland semifinal and final then that's still 100% a legitimate allireland."
I was the Donegal lad that took him to task haha, in fairness we just agree to disagree on it but I don't understand Username's point about it not being as much value as previous All-Irelands for Dublin. The Super 8s add a wrinkle to it and for the Dubs to have been unbeaten in the Super8s as well adds another level to their achievement in terms of the amount of games, but by the same token there is very little danger in the Super 8s for Dublin in reality.

But yes I think if Dublin went 6 in a row it'd be a massive achievement, considering the change in management, retirements, the disruption this year with new management in place as well. They are hot favourites and rightly so but to go to the well for 6th time with all the problems that 2020 has brought would be great.

But sure agree to disagree as myself and Username said last time out

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 10/11/2020 12:21:46    2307169

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Very good point user. Also people forget that only for the last kick Kerry would ve won and people would be saying Kerry need to improve but they will still have a big say in the championship. Kerry could ve played better yes but the were nt left play better by a determined Cork team. Regardless of what a lot here think Kerry people are disappointed but not shocked. We never take Cork for granted. Cork are always a danger to us. Last year they came very close also. People also forget Cork are all ireland champions at minor and under 20. and that's no yerra. If you check the Kerry forum you can see how we flagged the danger of Cork and actually mentioned how it would be terrible to face them in the Páirc on a wet windy day as they could end our Hooe there. But yes User let's give Cork credit. Its not a shock they won fair and square and they might not be finished yet."
Thanks Mick, its sport, if you play the game there are only two outcomes you either win or loose eventually. Both those two things visit us all eventually. Its the draw and bain, but also the hook that keeps us coming back.

There was nothing in the game to be honest and both teams will take lessons from the game of what they can do better - if i'm being honest i think both teams played within themselves. But that is often the case in the local rivalry and turns into a battle. Cork got the bit of luck on the day, but sometimes you can force a bit of luck of to.

I remember the Semi in 12 Vs Mayo, we were a good team, probably a better team then Mayo, but i will never forget it, everything Mayo hit went over - every hail Mary, or bounce or marginal one went their way - everything we hit just didnt come off marginally for no logical reason - it was just there day. I had that feeling with Cork on Sunday, there was something ominous in the air and the footballing gods decided to favor Cork. You have to force the luck and hang in there sometimes and they did but, it was with them.

I also agree, from last summer onwards Cork football has been in upward trajectory, Benny has a great post above on what going on behind the scenes. I was very aware of the quality of their U20 team they gave us a right roasting deservedly in the final last year and we had a good group.

There is wisdom in that game though for Kerry, Kerry have some nice footballers, but sometimes nice football isn't enough, i posted yesterday one of the things about this great Dublin team and their success is they can win anyway, champagin football, on the counter, breaking down blankets, forcing luck and just plain old battling it out when big hits are going in. I think that is an area of experience and development Kerry will look at and try and develop, they were certainly in battle. When i look at the last 12 months and Kerry - if you knock them off kilter, they struggle to respond, Mayo did it in the league final last year, Dublin in the last quarter of the first game last year, Tyrone in the league game up there this year and Cork on Sunday. They are lessons the Kerry lads need to learn and respond to better. As good footballers as they are, they dont impose themselves in a game and allow other to dictate the game to them. Its maybe Keane mass defense strategy that gives other teams the initiatives. But if i was Kerry that would be one of the places id be going soul searching and trying to improve.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/11/2020 12:27:31    2307172

Replying To Fionn:  "Also, if playing Cork had PK so cautious or nervous, a Div 3 team, then he is not cut out for the job simple as that....
I would be absolutely fuming with him...!"
Cork are div 3 as you say but we were saying div 2 as they promoted easily. Fionn it was you and others that gave Cork no hope while we in Kerry did and flagged this. We never considered Cork div 3 material as was proved by winning every game there easily. I find it hilarious all this to be honest. Most Dublin folk will be gappy even delighted Kerry are beaten but now you giving out because we did nt beat Cork. When we spoke of our respect for Cork you thought we being cute. You don't like the fact that Cork are our biggest rivals. Sure why don't you tell me what to like and think Fionn lol. I have said on my occasions what a brilliant team Dublin are on and off the field but when u give another county credit you seem to belittle it. Finally on Keane yes his job will be questioned and its not because of the loss but more the way he set up the team. Again a few of us on the Kerry forum stated our displeasure of this before the fame Finally Fionn you seem to be a knowledgeable guy on both hurling and football so while we might not agree on different issues (and that's OK too) believe Né that when I'm giving my opinion it's from the heart and not yerra.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 10/11/2020 12:28:25    2307173

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "True that. But the big difference is that we have the forwards to punish teams, even when the opposing team ''brings us into the trenches". Cork proved yesterday that if you nullify Clifford and O'Shea, your halfway to beating them.

Whereas with us, if you nullify Con O'Calaghan, Rock will step up. Nullify Rock, Kilkenny will step up. Nullify Kilkenny, Mannion does the job.

My point being Kerry are two reliant on those two players. Dublin are not reliant on any one player.

What' the story with Mannion anyway?"
Hi Conn. Watching the match the other evening they said Mannion was on bench but I did nt see him. Username heard a rumour before he was gone but then heard it was bull. I actually heard at work last week from a Dublin friend that he heard he was gone too but could nt swear on it. So in a nutshell I don't know but hopefully we l see him make an appearance v Laois. Anyway rumours are rumours. I mean I heard for a fact last year that Sherlock was gone and that came from Dubs camp and we know how that turned out.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 10/11/2020 12:34:23    2307174

Replying To MesAmis:  "In fairness Kerry created more than enough easy chances to have the game well wrapped up in normal time, they could and should have been at least 4/5 points clear going down the stretch at the end of the 70. You can't blame Peter Keane for his players putting balls wide from around the '21 under little or no pressure. Same as you can't really blame him for the complete non-defending for the goal at the end. 2 Kerry players literally standing there and watching Mark Keane catch a high dropping ball into his chest, with neither making any attempt to try and stop him. If you saw it a junior F match up the Phoenix Park you'd be disappointed let alone in a senior inter-county game.

At the same time it is quite hard to work out what PK's plan was. Was he really spooked by the "great" Cork/Kerry rivalry plamás fest? Cork played their league football in Division 3 this year, Kerry won Division 1. His plan was akin to Dessie Farrell changing everything to play against Westmeath, a team ranked higher than Cork in the league btw.

I think PK had the Mayo/Galway semi-final, as well as the final against Dublin/Donegal very much in his head for the Cork game. To be borrow a phrase from the late, great Páidí, I think he thought that no matter what, 'they'd carry their legs' against Cork. If he was really afraid of Cork he would have set his team up to go at Cork from the start and bury them but he didn't, he obviously felt they could get away with using the game to work on other issues for later on down the line.

To be honest I wouldn't even be over-critical of him for that, Kerry should have been able to use this game work on their game plan for later on this year. If his forwards had taken the numerous simple chances they created and/or Shane Ryan or Tommy Walsh actually bothered to attempt to contest that last ball in then Kerry would have come through the game."
Well written post Mesamis and maybe closer to the fact. I still think he was spoked by Cork and weather. History has a habit of repeating itself and a lot of our losses to Cork come in pairc Uí Caoimh on dirty wet days so maybe that scared PK a little. True he can't be blamed for everything like Moran silly last play and Tommy Walsh not contesting ball but his set up meant Kerry did nt punish Cork enough but you ré fairly spot on in most of your summary.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 10/11/2020 12:44:54    2307178

Replying To TheUsername:  "Thanks Mick, its sport, if you play the game there are only two outcomes you either win or loose eventually. Both those two things visit us all eventually. Its the draw and bain, but also the hook that keeps us coming back.

There was nothing in the game to be honest and both teams will take lessons from the game of what they can do better - if i'm being honest i think both teams played within themselves. But that is often the case in the local rivalry and turns into a battle. Cork got the bit of luck on the day, but sometimes you can force a bit of luck of to.

I remember the Semi in 12 Vs Mayo, we were a good team, probably a better team then Mayo, but i will never forget it, everything Mayo hit went over - every hail Mary, or bounce or marginal one went their way - everything we hit just didnt come off marginally for no logical reason - it was just there day. I had that feeling with Cork on Sunday, there was something ominous in the air and the footballing gods decided to favor Cork. You have to force the luck and hang in there sometimes and they did but, it was with them.

I also agree, from last summer onwards Cork football has been in upward trajectory, Benny has a great post above on what going on behind the scenes. I was very aware of the quality of their U20 team they gave us a right roasting deservedly in the final last year and we had a good group.

There is wisdom in that game though for Kerry, Kerry have some nice footballers, but sometimes nice football isn't enough, i posted yesterday one of the things about this great Dublin team and their success is they can win anyway, champagin football, on the counter, breaking down blankets, forcing luck and just plain old battling it out when big hits are going in. I think that is an area of experience and development Kerry will look at and try and develop, they were certainly in battle. When i look at the last 12 months and Kerry - if you knock them off kilter, they struggle to respond, Mayo did it in the league final last year, Dublin in the last quarter of the first game last year, Tyrone in the league game up there this year and Cork on Sunday. They are lessons the Kerry lads need to learn and respond to better. As good footballers as they are, they dont impose themselves in a game and allow other to dictate the game to them. Its maybe Keane mass defense strategy that gives other teams the initiatives. But if i was Kerry that would be one of the places id be going soul searching and trying to improve."
Exactly User. You ré after hitting the nail on the head and you ré after lifting my spirits also thank you. I remember the 12 semi v Mayo as well and yes Mayo s luck was in that day deffo. Thanks User.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 10/11/2020 12:49:50    2307179

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Hi Conn. Watching the match the other evening they said Mannion was on bench but I did nt see him. Username heard a rumour before he was gone but then heard it was bull. I actually heard at work last week from a Dublin friend that he heard he was gone too but could nt swear on it. So in a nutshell I don't know but hopefully we l see him make an appearance v Laois. Anyway rumours are rumours. I mean I heard for a fact last year that Sherlock was gone and that came from Dubs camp and we know how that turned out."
Paul was on the bench alright Mick (Thankfully). I think the rumors' were him not being involved came from him not being in the panel for the last two league games and caught fire over whattsapp. I caught up with someone who knows whats, what out Crokes way and was told - they hadn't heard he left the Dublin panel but he was carrying an injury from the club championship.

With Jayo, there was an issue and was touch and go for a while. The media were late to the story, it was funny as it was breaking news before our game against Kerry in Tralee, we had played a few games in the league before that and every dog in the street knew Jayo wasn't there and Paul Clarke was doing the Jayo role on the sideline. Similar to how the eagle eyed spotted Darren Daly in Dessies backroom team Vs Meath in the league and media reported it this weekend.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/11/2020 12:55:25    2307181

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Oh Cork by a landslide and draws also.Even since 2001 backdoor Cork have beaten us 6 times and we have drew on 6 meetings.Since 2001 Dublin have beaten us 5 times and drew twice. Before that we did nt meet Dublin for 16 years. A rivalry iss determined on close calls and geography etc. Dublin did beat us for 34 yrs between 77 and 2011.we have nt beaten Dublin in 9 yrs. In most sport your biggest rivals are the crowd closest to you that hurt you and you hurt them I. e in soccer it's the London teams and Liverpool Everton etc"
That's what I was thinking and you're correct your greatest rival is the neighbours that beat you coz youd have relations and friends and work colleagues in those counties and thats where the craic is.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/11/2020 13:14:01    2307188