Anti GAA Agenda

Replying To Crinigan:  "But we integrated. That is the vital point. I've no issue with immigration per se. My issue is with lack of integration and the fracture of society that it causes. Irish immigrants adapted by and large, married to other cultures, sold their properties to people from different cultures, didn't impose their culture too much or adapted it to fit.

Certain cultures do not integrate and I am not brushing all Muslims with the same brush here either. Many Bosnians (over a thousand in Blanch'town) and Albanians and Turks and Kurds have indeed integrated fantastically in Ireland but these are known moderate Islamic countries (Turkey under Erdogan gone backwards clearly)."
Did the British and Scottish 'settlers' integrate well into Irish society and culture? You know the lads that delight you for keeping Irish people up here in their place and away from your little royal comfort zone. Quit bluffing your empathy!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 25/10/2020 13:52:36    2301141

Replying To Crinigan:  "But we integrated. That is the vital point. I've no issue with immigration per se. My issue is with lack of integration and the fracture of society that it causes. Irish immigrants adapted by and large, married to other cultures, sold their properties to people from different cultures, didn't impose their culture too much or adapted it to fit.

Certain cultures do not integrate and I am not brushing all Muslims with the same brush here either. Many Bosnians (over a thousand in Blanch'town) and Albanians and Turks and Kurds have indeed integrated fantastically in Ireland but these are known moderate Islamic countries (Turkey under Erdogan gone backwards clearly)."
Go down to Ballyhaunis and see how Muslims have integrated. Quiet, devout people, they've bee there more than 40 years. Many of them play for the GAA club. Without the Halal factory Ballyhaunis would be a ghost town. They're locals now. And what did the 'National' Party do when the Parish priest, as a gesture of friendship, ask 2 Muslims to recite their prayers in the Parish church? They brought tentacrowd down to the church yard of a town they'd never heard of for a social media whinge. They're a joke. Integration isn't easy but saying stuff like 'they don't like to integrate' isn't a great starting point.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 25/10/2020 13:58:33    2301143

Replying To updwell:  "My point still stands, most sports have had to change the format of their competitions and just because GAA is amateur does that mean it can't play it's games. NPHET has no problem with the games going ahead why so should people who dont know what their talking about just accept that. The GAA has coaches in every county and administrators to pay."
Of course sports have had to change their formats and like you said some pro sports didnt change, they just stopped playing and crowned the team at the top of their respective leagues the champions. Yet we have an amateur sport here starting off during a lockdown. I understand the GAA have to change their formats, it wont be the same but it will be better than nothing but why start right now. Why not wait 6wks or whatever and forget about the regular winter competitions as they prob wont be played anyway?

NPHET made it clear at the start they did not want any sports to continue which caused uproar from politicians and other non health professionals "people who dont know what they are talking about". NPHET dont call the shots, they are advising the government and trying to work with them. They gave recommendations if the decision was made to allow sports continue.

My point still stands on GAA regarding employees. If they cant afford to pay their staff, then they have too many employees. And like I said before Im sure most of those are entitled to Covid payment, many are possibly already receiving it.

borisdblade (Westmeath) - Posts: 164 - 04/11/2020 14:27:47    2305116

Otb calling the GAA Anti Rugby.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Rqj7KPVR04

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 09/11/2020 14:20:37    2306821

Replying To brisbane:  "Otb calling the GAA Anti Rugby.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Rqj7KPVR04"
That isnt exactly what quinnie said now to be fair.
He said a lot of criticism of rugby comes from GAA people which is different and is also true. you only have to look through many threads on this site about rugby to see how true it is.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3496 - 09/11/2020 14:56:29    2306836

Replying To brisbane:  "Otb calling the GAA Anti Rugby.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Rqj7KPVR04"
Quinlan, like most of the tools who blame the GAA for rugby's lack of support, is wrong. They get upset whenever any criticism comes their way. The Irish soccer team know they are crap. They've accepted that and are trying to rebuild. That comment was stupid and OtB should have pushed back on it. Of course the Welsh are more patient. Sure what else do these sheep lovers have? The Six Nations is a boring contest. No punishment for teams who do poorly and the thrill of knockout games doesn't exist. Ireland have been shown up in the knockout stages of the last two WCs and people are tired of being told that the success will come eventually.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 09/11/2020 17:31:44    2306923

Replying To Rolo2010:  "Quinlan, like most of the tools who blame the GAA for rugby's lack of support, is wrong. They get upset whenever any criticism comes their way. The Irish soccer team know they are crap. They've accepted that and are trying to rebuild. That comment was stupid and OtB should have pushed back on it. Of course the Welsh are more patient. Sure what else do these sheep lovers have? The Six Nations is a boring contest. No punishment for teams who do poorly and the thrill of knockout games doesn't exist. Ireland have been shown up in the knockout stages of the last two WCs and people are tired of being told that the success will come eventually."
Where has Quinlan blamed the GAA and rugby support is grand by and large.
Irony of you going off on large rant about rugby people getting upset when there is 1000000 times more upset and angst on GAA forums about media coverage than on rugby forums or anywhere else.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3496 - 09/11/2020 17:52:53    2306933

Replying To KillingFields:  "That isnt exactly what quinnie said now to be fair.
He said a lot of criticism of rugby comes from GAA people which is different and is also true. you only have to look through many threads on this site about rugby to see how true it is."
You need to watch it again. He said they were Anti Rugby

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 09/11/2020 19:19:40    2306965

Replying To brisbane:  "You need to watch it again. He said they were Anti Rugby"
Nah but if he said it wasn't, then it mustn't be

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 09/11/2020 21:08:59    2307000

Replying To brisbane:  "You need to watch it again. He said they were Anti Rugby"
More lies Galwayford. He said some GAA people on social media are anti rugby, that many of them think a rugby people come from a wealthy background. But you represent it that Off the Ball said the GAA are anti Rugby, which they or Quinlan didn't say. And here you are whinging even though you agree with his view. In fairness you're good at whinging and misrepresenting facts. Like a talentless clickbaiter.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 09/11/2020 21:22:13    2307008

Replying To GreenandRed:  "More lies Galwayford. He said some GAA people on social media are anti rugby, that many of them think a rugby people come from a wealthy background. But you represent it that Off the Ball said the GAA are anti Rugby, which they or Quinlan didn't say. And here you are whinging even though you agree with his view. In fairness you're good at whinging and misrepresenting facts. Like a talentless clickbaiter.

link"
You are the one lying. OfftheBall themselves implied that the GAA are anti-rugby with their own title. Rugby is an elitist sport and a few working class kids making it through to the top doesn't change that.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 09/11/2020 21:35:01    2307011

Replying To Rolo2010:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "More lies Galwayford. He said some GAA people on social media are anti rugby, that many of them think a rugby people come from a wealthy background. But you represent it that Off the Ball said the GAA are anti Rugby, which they or Quinlan didn't say. And here you are whinging even though you agree with his view. In fairness you're good at whinging and misrepresenting facts. Like a talentless clickbaiter.

link"
You are the one lying. OfftheBall themselves implied that the GAA are anti-rugby with their own title. Rugby is an elitist sport and a few working class kids making it through to the top doesn't change that."
Watch the video with an adult and get them to explain it to you.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 09/11/2020 21:53:48    2307022

Replying To Rolo2010:  "Quinlan, like most of the tools who blame the GAA for rugby's lack of support, is wrong. They get upset whenever any criticism comes their way. The Irish soccer team know they are crap. They've accepted that and are trying to rebuild. That comment was stupid and OtB should have pushed back on it. Of course the Welsh are more patient. Sure what else do these sheep lovers have? The Six Nations is a boring contest. No punishment for teams who do poorly and the thrill of knockout games doesn't exist. Ireland have been shown up in the knockout stages of the last two WCs and people are tired of being told that the success will come eventually."
Where to start.

"Of course the Welsh are more patient. Sure what else do these sheep lovers have?"

Real class.

"The Six Nations is a boring contest."

Yeah, maybe to you. But not to the 8.3 million TV viewers (on average) who watch each game.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 09/11/2020 22:46:34    2307052

Replying To GreenandRed:  "
Replying To Rolo2010:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "More lies Galwayford. He said some GAA people on social media are anti rugby, that many of them think a rugby people come from a wealthy background. But you represent it that Off the Ball said the GAA are anti Rugby, which they or Quinlan didn't say. And here you are whinging even though you agree with his view. In fairness you're good at whinging and misrepresenting facts. Like a talentless clickbaiter.

link"
You are the one lying. OfftheBall themselves implied that the GAA are anti-rugby with their own title. Rugby is an elitist sport and a few working class kids making it through to the top doesn't change that."
Watch the video with an adult and get them to explain it to you."]Poor effort. You can do better than that.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 09/11/2020 23:13:19    2307069

He didnt say that at all so you are the one who needs to rewatch it

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3496 - 09/11/2020 23:38:54    2307072

Replying To Rolo2010:  "

link"
You havent a notion about the sport of rugby if you think its elitist. And what do you see as working class anyway? Which rugby players are deemed working class in your eyes?

Who are all the working class players currently playing GAA at top level as most in my county certainly wouldnt be classed as working class

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3496 - 09/11/2020 23:40:34    2307073

link"
Why are you calling me Galwayford? Why would you think someone on this has a second account unless you are projecting? Clearly you have a second account. You have nearly 6000 posts i have over 400, you are much more heavily invested.

Once again OTB rugby have brought GAA into their discussions. Why are they blaming GAA circles for the lack of patience with Rugby results, its laughable. When did you ever hear the soccer guys blame the GAA people for the criticism of Stephen Kenny?

Shame OTB would not cover the ex school coach whos been in the news this week instead of attacking the GAA again.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 10/11/2020 07:02:18    2307085

Replying To KillingFields:  "
Replying To Rolo2010:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "More lies Galwayford. He said some GAA people on social media are anti rugby, that many of them think a rugby people come from a wealthy background. But you represent it that Off the Ball said the GAA are anti Rugby, which they or Quinlan didn't say. And here you are whinging even though you agree with his view. In fairness you're good at whinging and misrepresenting facts. Like a talentless clickbaiter.

link"
You havent a notion about the sport of rugby if you think its elitist. And what do you see as working class anyway? Which rugby players are deemed working class in your eyes?

Who are all the working class players currently playing GAA at top level as most in my county certainly wouldnt be classed as working class"]I do actually. Rugby is strongest in the elite private schools both in Ireland and the UK. You know exactly what working class means so don't try and deny it.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 10/11/2020 14:14:36    2307207

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Where to start.

"Of course the Welsh are more patient. Sure what else do these sheep lovers have?"

Real class.

"The Six Nations is a boring contest."

Yeah, maybe to you. But not to the 8.3 million TV viewers (on average) who watch each game."
Oh look. A man from the UK here to lecture us on why the Six Nations is a great contest. We already knew rugby lads were boring folk. That's why they spend their time watching a safe contest like the Six Nations.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 10/11/2020 14:17:22    2307209

Oh look. A man from the UK here to lecture us on why the Six Nations is a great contest. We already knew rugby lads were boring folk. That's why they spend their time watching a safe contest like the Six Nations.
Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 114 - 10/11/2020 14:17:22
Rugby lads are "boring folk" jaysus you love to talk nonsense dont you!
And what exactly is "safe" about the 6 nations compared to other events and other sports?

I do actually. Rugby is strongest in the elite private schools both in Ireland and the UK. You know exactly what working class means so don't try and deny it.
Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 114 - 10/11/2020 14:14:36
Rugby is very strong in many clubs and areas around the country that have little or nothing to do with fee paying schools.
The fee paying schools have lots who progress to pro because they in general have big playing numbers and all the facilities and coaches etc to help develop very strong players....

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3496 - 10/11/2020 14:35:54    2307221