GAA on TV

Replying To republicofcloone:  "There's serious talent on local radio and in local newspapers that could make the transition to RTE newsrooms etc without any great difficulty. The public is getting brow beaten about how RTE are in financial trouble. That isn't our problem. In 2016 the top ten presenters took home three million euro altogether. Can you imagine how many young journalists and presenters that would employ...at a fairly generous 50k salary a year it would employ 60 people!!
There are a lot of people gone to seed in that organisation, the justification for paying someone 400k to listen to phone calls for an hour each day is an insult to hard pressed tax payers.Then you see the Executive Board of RTE-------. I'll leave it at that."
It's the hard pressed tax payer that is phoning into these shows and I would very much question your take on local radio and papers as I find them to be utter rubbish most of the time

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 21/09/2020 11:00:44    2293360

Replying To republicofcloone:  "There's serious talent on local radio and in local newspapers that could make the transition to RTE newsrooms etc without any great difficulty. The public is getting brow beaten about how RTE are in financial trouble. That isn't our problem. In 2016 the top ten presenters took home three million euro altogether. Can you imagine how many young journalists and presenters that would employ...at a fairly generous 50k salary a year it would employ 60 people!!
There are a lot of people gone to seed in that organisation, the justification for paying someone 400k to listen to phone calls for an hour each day is an insult to hard pressed tax payers.Then you see the Executive Board of RTE-------. I'll leave it at that."
Presenters salaries are covered by sponsors and advertising revenue for their shows. They need fresh ideas for new programmes that must compete for viewer time with Netflix, Prime, Disney and plenty more streaming services, not all legal. And there's an awful lot of rubbish on those streaming services. I rediscovered Fawlty Towers on Netflix. You can't beat quality.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 21/09/2020 11:19:56    2293367

After 17 pages of "RTE", is the time right for " RTE the movie."
- Cast -

Director General. - GeniusGerry (Kerry) ------------------------------------ aka. Dee Forbes

RTE Weather. - Breezy (Limerick) / Joe Brolly ------------ aka - Jean Byrne / Joe Brolly
Finance spokesperson. - GreenandRed (Mayo) -------------- aka - Enda Kenny
News - catch22 (USA - wicklowsupport (Wicklow) ------- aka. George Lee. / Eddie Hobbs
Prime Time. - Marlon_JD (Tipperary) ----------------- aka. Miriam O' Callaghan / N/A.?
Telly Bingo. - eoghan6688 (Galway) / sam1884 (UK) ---- aka - Declan Buckley.
Agri. Spokesperson. - KillingFields (Limerick) ------------ aka - Fran McNulty
Into The West - TheFlaker (Mayo) --------------------------- aka - Gabriel Byrne
London Correspondent. - Cockney_Cat (UK) ----------- aka. - Sean Whelan
Can you cook. - Canuck (Waterford) ----------------- aka. - Mark Moriarty
The meaning of life. - KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) ------------ aka - Joe Duffy.

Epilogue ; - No offence meant, just a bit of humour, badly needed.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 22/09/2020 18:15:53    2293618

Replying To supersub15:  " After 17 pages of "RTE", is the time right for " RTE the movie."
- Cast -

Director General. - GeniusGerry (Kerry) ------------------------------------ aka. Dee Forbes

RTE Weather. - Breezy (Limerick) / Joe Brolly ------------ aka - Jean Byrne / Joe Brolly
News - catch22 (USA - wicklowsupport (Wicklow) ------- aka. George Lee. / Eddie Hobbs
Prime Time. - Marlon_JD (Tipperary) ----------------- aka. Miriam O' Callaghan / N/A.?
Into The West - TheFlaker (Mayo) --------------------------- aka - Gabriel Byrne

Epilogue ; - No offence meant, just a bit of humour, badly needed."
And very well received Supersub, very well. Fair play.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 22/09/2020 18:23:14    2293619

Replying To supersub15:  " After 17 pages of "RTE", is the time right for " RTE the movie."
- Cast -

You can talk to me on me Kingdomboy hot line supersub15 :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/09/2020 19:23:31    2293627

- Cast -

I can certainly boil an egg but f-cked if the auld sand timer has got damp.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 22/09/2020 22:04:21    2293648

- Cast -

Well, I was never cut out to be a politician alright.
They gave me the job back here so I'm sound out.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 23/09/2020 08:22:54    2293679

Just discovered Des Bishop Breaking China from 2014. Episodes 2-6 are on his channel. Not on the player but as good and interesting a documentary series as you'll find on other streaming services.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 23/09/2020 13:49:01    2293759

Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

Just discovered Des Bishop Breaking China from 2014. Episodes 2-6 are on his channel. Not on the player but as good and interesting a documentary series as you'll find on other streaming services."
It boggles me why RTE haven't shown more of their classic shows during the lockdown (I would have particularly loved to have re watched one or both seasons of the Irish "Treasure Island").

I guess RTE want to pretend that they never tried to push the boat out (consistently) in terms of quality, so they can help people believe that they should not expect the broadcaster to churn out quality programming on a more regular basis than they currently do

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 23/09/2020 15:00:33    2293774

Just discovered Des Bishop Breaking China from 2014. Episodes 2-6 are on his channel. Not on the player but as good and interesting a documentary series as you'll find on other streaming services."
Des Bishop has no place on television

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 23/09/2020 16:14:00    2293787

Replying To Breezy:  "

Des Bishop has no place on television"
Definitely not a fan of his standup, but enjoyed the comedy-themed documentaries he did

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 23/09/2020 16:20:01    2293788

The Keith Walsh Pod Cast on Spotify & I Tunes, really worth a listen. ( Keith ex Breakfast Republic show 2GM.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 23/09/2020 17:00:33    2293800

Replying To supersub15:  "The Keith Walsh Pod Cast on Spotify & I Tunes, really worth a listen. ( Keith ex Breakfast Republic show 2GM."
Cheers Supersub. Will give it a listen. I started to listen to Tommy Tiernan podcast with Hector and Laurita Blewit. The good bits are very good, the bad bits are brutal and Hector talks too much for me, he's hard to listen to. Does some great documentaries though.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 23/09/2020 17:57:50    2293812

Now we have a poor mans version of " a place in the country ". Some poor hoors looking at run down kips in the back of beyond. Jesus , what next ? " The Cube " with Marty presenting but without the money or the Cube and in Marty's spare room. Sufferin jays.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 23/09/2020 18:54:58    2293819

How much does fair city cost RTÉ every year?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/09/2020 20:41:53    2293834

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "How much does fair city cost RTÉ every year?"
what does it matter?
Provides hundreds of jobs for irish actors, camera people etc and makes RTE a lot in return

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 23/09/2020 22:04:38    2293839

Replying To KillingFields:  "what does it matter?
Provides hundreds of jobs for irish actors, camera people etc and makes RTE a lot in return
link"
Does it make a lot In return? Or does it make more than is spent on it? How many "actors" would be on it? 20/30 all getting 50/60 grand not to mention camera crews writers and directors and producers.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/09/2020 07:52:09    2293858

Replying To catch22:  "Now we have a poor mans version of " a place in the country ". Some poor hoors looking at run down kips in the back of beyond. Jesus , what next ? " The Cube " with Marty presenting but without the money or the Cube and in Marty's spare room. Sufferin jays."
On a lighter note, we see the "Den" is making a return to RTE screens in November with a full supporting cast of Zig & Zag,- Dustin the turkey and presenter Ray Darcy.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 24/09/2020 10:39:08    2293874

Replying To supersub15:  "On a lighter note, we see the "Den" is making a return to RTE screens in November with a full supporting cast of Zig & Zag,- Dustin the turkey and presenter Ray Darcy."
I saw that and for the life of me I cannot see how D'Arcy can command the wages he gets.
Just another example of ridiculous money being paid to very average talent. The Zig & Zag lads should be on more money than him.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 24/09/2020 11:42:12    2293892

The 2 Johnnies do America. Some craic!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 25/09/2020 11:06:43    2294001