The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Interesting, and who'll foot the bill for the accommodation?"
Davey Fitzgerald ?

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 10/06/2020 11:52:08    2280268

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Interesting, and who'll foot the bill for the accommodation?"
i presume only the top county teams will be looking at doing this the ones with the big sponsorship deals, so the sponsorship money will probably pay for it...

Tod (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 10/06/2020 12:04:41    2280270

Replying To Tod:  "i presume only the top county teams will be looking at doing this the ones with the big sponsorship deals, so the sponsorship money will probably pay for it..."
There won't be GAA of teams have to do this, why would any amateur player agree to stay in a hotel bored out of their minds for months and no contact with family and friends. Players won't stand for that.

I didn't read the article but I think Davy was sensationalising the thing a small bit. If players can't come and go to training freely and get on with their lives there will be no GAA imo. No county could afford to put players and back room personnel up for several months anyway so it's a complete no go. Can't believe Davy Fitzgerald actually claimed that.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/06/2020 13:18:31    2280281

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "There won't be GAA of teams have to do this, why would any amateur player agree to stay in a hotel bored out of their minds for months and no contact with family and friends. Players won't stand for that.

I didn't read the article but I think Davy was sensationalising the thing a small bit. If players can't come and go to training freely and get on with their lives there will be no GAA imo. No county could afford to put players and back room personnel up for several months anyway so it's a complete no go. Can't believe Davy Fitzgerald actually claimed that."
have no doubt some county setups will be doing this, if a group of their players have vulnerable family members living at home they will be offered a house for a couple of months to share with some other members of the panel who may be in the same boat, counties like dublin, mayo etc can easily do this with their cash reserves.. you are undoubtedly going to have some of the very top inter county players unable to take the risk so this will certainly be offered to them.. why a player would even consider this for an amateur past time is another question

Tod (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 10/06/2020 14:34:00    2280289

Replying To Tod:  "As a healthcare worker and having seen Covid up close this is exactly what we should be trying to avoid, people travelling from counties across ireland that are virtually covid free and congregating in Dublin which has the highest levels of covid in the country, then mixing with 21000 or 42000 before during and after the games(there is no possible way of avoiding close contact at some stage with these crowds) and heading back home mixing with further family members and back into work on the monday, all it would take was a small percentage of that 42000 crowd and it would spread like wildfire and this will be the winter when the health service is already severely stretched, if the GAA are insistent on having championship games this year then it will have to be behind closed doors like all other sports are doing! you will soon find out that if this is the only option they have then there will be no championship this year as it will actually end up costing them money, and money is what it comes down to with the GAA top dogs"
Also as a healthcare worker myself I know this too Which is why I said if we can. The way things are right now noone should be traveling anywhere or going to big gatherings but no harm looking at the options for October just incase we are good to go

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 10/06/2020 14:38:53    2280291

Davey said this on the Sunday Game and I took it as meaning that maybe if a player had a house with some spare rooms other lads could stay with him and not everyone goes staying in a hotel together.

But that was just my interpretation of it I'm not claiming to be Davey

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 10/06/2020 14:44:34    2280293

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "There won't be GAA of teams have to do this, why would any amateur player agree to stay in a hotel bored out of their minds for months and no contact with family and friends. Players won't stand for that.

I didn't read the article but I think Davy was sensationalising the thing a small bit. If players can't come and go to training freely and get on with their lives there will be no GAA imo. No county could afford to put players and back room personnel up for several months anyway so it's a complete no go. Can't believe Davy Fitzgerald actually claimed that."
It's not just that they'd be bored it's also that a lot of them can't do it do to their jobs. Guards, teachers, bankers, etc can't just stay away from it all for the sake of a game.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 10/06/2020 14:48:21    2280294

Replying To Trump2020:  "It's not just that they'd be bored it's also that a lot of them can't do it do to their jobs. Guards, teachers, bankers, etc can't just stay away from it all for the sake of a game."
this is true, but are they going to be allowed back to their workplaces if they are not observing social distancing on the pitch at weekends and possibly infecting the whole place of work that is a big question that needs answering before a player pulls on a jersey..

Tod (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 10/06/2020 15:05:45    2280296

Replying To Breezy:  "Also as a healthcare worker myself I know this too Which is why I said if we can. The way things are right now noone should be traveling anywhere or going to big gatherings but no harm looking at the options for October just incase we are good to go"
fair play, even if the transmission is still small around october their is no way a crowd of 21000 or 42000 will be allowed to congregate but no harm in a bit of hope!!

Tod (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 10/06/2020 15:07:19    2280297

Replying To Tod:  "this is true, but are they going to be allowed back to their workplaces if they are not observing social distancing on the pitch at weekends and possibly infecting the whole place of work that is a big question that needs answering before a player pulls on a jersey.."
absolutely this is a massive issue, i know where i work there is no way i would be allowed back in to work while competing in contact sport with no social distancing, players need to be aware of this prior to training and playing games, it is not like professional sports where it is their full time occupation, GAA players have jobs and you can understand businesses not wanting to take the risk to the workforce

dec (None) - Posts: 269 - 10/06/2020 16:10:10    2280308

Replying To Tod:  "this is true, but are they going to be allowed back to their workplaces if they are not observing social distancing on the pitch at weekends and possibly infecting the whole place of work that is a big question that needs answering before a player pulls on a jersey.."
Amen to that. I guess we'll see which counties are the hungriest for wins by who lines out for them. Some of the teams may be almost unrecognizable. Also some of the managers, coaches, trainers, etc are not too young either. Many of them may stay away too. I can't blame any person that chooses to sit it out for the year altogether.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 10/06/2020 16:18:17    2280311

Replying To galwayford:  "Hi you could say the same thing about the most physically contact sport of all Rugby. Is any one talking about that. Yet you slag the GAA."
Rugby here can just follow template for games that's in place in Australia and New Zealand
They weren't slagging the gaa.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 10/06/2020 16:22:50    2280313

Replying To Tod:  "As a healthcare worker and having seen Covid up close this is exactly what we should be trying to avoid, people travelling from counties across ireland that are virtually covid free and congregating in Dublin which has the highest levels of covid in the country, then mixing with 21000 or 42000 before during and after the games(there is no possible way of avoiding close contact at some stage with these crowds) and heading back home mixing with further family members and back into work on the monday, all it would take was a small percentage of that 42000 crowd and it would spread like wildfire and this will be the winter when the health service is already severely stretched, if the GAA are insistent on having championship games this year then it will have to be behind closed doors like all other sports are doing! you will soon find out that if this is the only option they have then there will be no championship this year as it will actually end up costing them money, and money is what it comes down to with the GAA top dogs"
Out of interest did the virus spread like wildfire with the recent mass protests in Dublin?

Gaa isn't like other sports especially professional sports whom play behind closed doors as they know will get their millions in TV money regardless if fans are there or not. Gate receipts are very important to amateur game and if no crowds are allowed in October you can expect the championship to be postponed until a later date than playing games behind closed doors

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 10/06/2020 19:46:31    2280341

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Out of interest did the virus spread like wildfire with the recent mass protests in Dublin?

Gaa isn't like other sports especially professional sports whom play behind closed doors as they know will get their millions in TV money regardless if fans are there or not. Gate receipts are very important to amateur game and if no crowds are allowed in October you can expect the championship to be postponed until a later date than playing games behind closed doors"
"Out of interest did the virus spread like wildfire with the recent mass protests in Dublin?"

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 10/06/2020 23:23:01    2280371

Talk of GAA players isolating themselves for the sake of a 2020 Championship is complete pie in the sky stuff.
As others have already mentioned GAA players are amateurs. Who is going to subsidize their day job wages when they are isolating? Their employer? The government? Heaven forbid - the GAA? (We won't even peep down that pro-GAA rabbit hole)

They also have families. All very well players lounging around between games playing pool or darts in some hotel but what if there's a sick child at home? A wife/girlfriend that is doing her nut about a leak in the house or a problem with the boiler.

Simply not going to happen.

The GAA will have a decision to make re: crowds at games. But I think it is very unfair to expect them to call it right now. As we've seen, things have been changing rapidly over the last few weeks for the better. Who knows where we'll be in a month's time, never mind October. I think everyone needs to cool the jets a wee bit and see how the cards fall over the coming weeks with regard to Covid.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 11/06/2020 09:13:18    2280385

Another big difference between GAA and pro sports is that many GAA sponsors are benefactors as well as commercial sponsors so there will be less pressure where as the soccer teams sponsors don't care how many fans get in or how crap the atmosphere is all they want is their logo on TV and if they don't get it they will sue for their money back

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 11/06/2020 12:22:50    2280415

Replying To katser:  "The GAA could use the first 3 consecutive weeks of October to finish off the Leagues..Football, Round 6 & 7 and League Finals..Hurling, Quarter Finals, Semi Finals and League Final. Counties can use it as preparation for the Championship.
4 weeks in November to finish off all Provincial Championships in hurling and football on a Knockout basis and have All Ireland Semi Finals and Finals in December."
Good to hear that the GAA have intentions to Finish off the Leagues first before they start the Championship in October IF everything goes to Plan.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 11/06/2020 19:08:27    2280451

Replying To katser:  "Good to hear that the GAA have intentions to Finish off the Leagues first before they start the Championship in October IF everything goes to Plan."
I suppose it's the right thing to do. Finish what was started then go from there.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 11/06/2020 20:25:12    2280456

Theres talk that the fixtures may be released at the end of June.

That would be a great boost.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 11/06/2020 20:30:29    2280457

Replying To galwayford:  "Hi you could say the same thing about the most physically contact sport of all Rugby. Is any one talking about that. Yet you slag the GAA."
This is a gaa forum. Why would I or anyone discuss rugby on it?? I've no interest in rugby or anything they do

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 11/06/2020 23:59:55    2280466