U20 Football Championship 2020

Replying To TheUsername:  "Yep absolutely, apologies, meant to say over the last decade. But a point of mitigation I think we pulled out of this grade for a period of time and banned another year.

We've fallen in and out of love with 20's football a few times."
Not to mention the Junior All Ireland series, which Dublin opted out of for quite a while also...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 20/10/2020 21:26:48    2299745

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Don't take any notice of multiple username EDH he's relatively new to the game of football, going by his posts I reckon he started following dublin in 2011.

I was reading on another forum that dublin have won 9 of the last 12 leinster titles at U21/20 level and prior to that they had won 1 leinster in 47 years, that's some improvement in a short time."
Get your facts right - completely incorrect and disingenuous post...
Leinster champions in the following years 2002, 2003, 2005, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020
Also champions in the 80's and 70's.....

So what exactly was your point....???

;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 20/10/2020 21:42:48    2299750

Replying To Fionn:  "Get your facts right - completely incorrect and disingenuous post...
Leinster champions in the following years 2002, 2003, 2005, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020

;o)"
And runners up a few times in the 90's also...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 20/10/2020 21:50:30    2299754

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Don't take any notice of multiple username EDH he's relatively new to the game of football, going by his posts I reckon he started following dublin in 2011.

I was reading on another forum that dublin have won 9 of the last 12 leinster titles at U21/20 level and prior to that they had won 1 leinster in 47 years, that's some improvement in a short time."
Now Kingdomboy1, unlike you I wouldn't have the time to be on a forum all day as I have a life. If I didn't I would have over 11 thousand posts. When you get a chance Google past All Ireland U21 winning football teams and the Roll of honour comes up. First final was in 1964, did you know Kerry won it. Dublin's first final was in 1975 beaten by Kerry, that happened in the Senior final that year too. Dublins first win was in 2003.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 20/10/2020 22:18:47    2299763

Replying To Fionn:  "Get your facts right - completely incorrect and disingenuous post...

;o)"
Don't be mean and give him back his Dolphin! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/10/2020 22:25:03    2299766

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo have 5 titles too...I'll forgive you for leaving us out of that particular stat ;)"
Tyrone also have 5.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/10/2020 22:32:40    2299767

;o)"
I was incorrect yes but like I said I was quoting a stat I read on another forum and how do you make out that my post is disingenuous? Is this not the U20 thread? Can a fella not make an observation?

You're fierce touchy today, first the attack on the ballymun thread and now this.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/10/2020 22:48:04    2299776

Replying To TheUsername:  "Don't be mean and give him back his Dolphin! ;)"
Maybe fíon can bé our new dolphin we can call him fiongi he'll have all the fish he can eat.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/10/2020 22:54:18    2299779

Replying To TheUsername:  "Don't be mean and give him back his Dolphin! ;)"
now theres no need for that

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 21/10/2020 00:28:20    2299799

Replying To EDH:  "Now Kingdomboy1, unlike you I wouldn't have the time to be on a forum all day as I have a life. If I didn't I would have over 11 thousand posts. When you get a chance Google past All Ireland U21 winning football teams and the Roll of honour comes up. First final was in 1964, did you know Kerry won it. Dublin's first final was in 1975 beaten by Kerry, that happened in the Senior final that year too. Dublins first win was in 2003."
Ya it's hard to have a life in rural Ireland especially in this day and age but hoganstand keeps me company thankfully as for my 11,000 posts considering I'm on the forum for 10 years that works out at about 1100 a year about 4/5 posts a day.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/10/2020 07:53:59    2299805

Anyway, back to the actual competition this thread is about.
This weekend's final is postponed, with only senior football allowed during the current restrictions.
Early December would be the earliest this can be played now, so we'll wait and see.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2036 - 21/10/2020 09:43:33    2299815

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Anyway, back to the actual competition this thread is about.
This weekend's final is postponed, with only senior football allowed during the current restrictions.
Early December would be the earliest this can be played now, so we'll wait and see."
That's good news anyway at least ye'll have yer players back for the final, pity it didn't happen last week as it would have been a better game between ourselves and yer selves but sure that's that's the times we're in unfortunately.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/10/2020 10:11:12    2299828

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya it's hard to have a life in rural Ireland especially in this day and age but hoganstand keeps me company thankfully as for my 11,000 posts considering I'm on the forum for 10 years that works out at about 1100 a year about 4/5 posts a day."
"Ya unfortunately not good company for majority on here , thousands of thread spoiling , whinging , undermining and rude posts" -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/10/2020 10:11:50    2299829

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Anyway, back to the actual competition this thread is about.
Early December would be the earliest this can be played now, so we'll wait and see."
I presume no training is allowed for the next 6 weeks so it's hard to see the final played in 2020.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 21/10/2020 10:30:19    2299833

Replying To Soma:  "I presume no training is allowed for the next 6 weeks so it's hard to see the final played in 2020."
I take it that's the minor championship gone as well so.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/10/2020 11:03:30    2299840

Why not play the final tonight, might be better than leaving it until next year.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 21/10/2020 13:47:53    2299915

Ah well, for the greater good, my sympathies are with the players and coaches who would have put work and training into this period at great sacrifice im sure. Its very hard with no clarity on a reschedule.

For the rest of us, at least the pubs might be open for the rearrange and the craic may be had.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/10/2020 14:09:42    2299929

Replying To Mfs:  "Why not play the final tonight, might be better than leaving it until next year."
I'd say both teams would have agreed to play it this evening had they known last weekend but they didn't. News of going into level 5 only came on Monday.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 21/10/2020 15:37:11    2299979

Replying To Marooned:  "I'd say both teams would have agreed to play it this evening had they known last weekend but they didn't. News of going into level 5 only came on Monday."
I still think they had 2 days to plan it. Both teams probably had training arranged for this evening. Not much notice but with no families etc allowed so just players and management, arrange a pitch and get on with it. 2 games in 4 days should not be that big of a deal for 19/20 year olds.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 21/10/2020 16:22:30    2300006

You'd be cautious here in that we dont know the background maybe there are cases in one or both of the camps and risks that aren't in the public domain, you would like to think there is a guiding logic to this. My compassion goes to the players and management and how disruptive it is to both in terms of preparation, planning, resources, and self sacrifice.

If not though on the above, seems a bit counter productive from a risk mitigation point of view, these lads will be mixing and training with each other more in the time ahead rather then less given the postponement and all that goes with that from a risk point of view in these Covid time

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/10/2020 16:53:42    2300016