U20 Football Championship 2020

Replying To thegen:  "What's the story with Kerry's inability to bring on their minors into u20? 5 in a row and failed to bring them on."
Missing 6-7 starters today including their captain and best player with Covid issue or injuries, (I know Galway were missing a few as well.) Well done to Galway today btw, deserved winners.

More than half the current senior team are from those minor teams so I wouldn't say they failed to bring them on.

They have underachieved at U20 for sure but you must remember guys like Mark O'Connor, Clifford and Sean O'Shea were huge contributors in the minor teams and they weren't available at U20 for various reasons. Doesn't look like they will get a U20 title out of those teams but so be it.

As an aside congratulations to Mark O'Connor of Dingle who will play in the AFL Grand Final next weekend after a commanding win with Geelong this morning.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 17/10/2020 18:05:17    2298435

Congrats to Galway, it was a strange game with both teams missing plenty of quality players.

And best of luck in the final next week, I hope ye'll have yer lads back for it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/10/2020 18:07:23    2298436

Congratulations to Galway, that's a really impressive and convincing performance with so many players out. Very balanced team, strong in defence and attack and have good players in every line. Play the game with their heads up and in the right way, thought they were by far the best team today and probably out of the four teams to tog out today.

Commiserations to Kerry, was more impressed with them back in March Vs Cork, though it's always hard to draw conclusions at provincial level at this grade. To be fair they like Galway had players out through unfortunate circumstances. Thought they were sloppy at times, played very conservatively and defensively, not sure what the sweeper was doing or if they needed one, didn't seem to make a difference. Thought they tried to manage the game instead of playing it expansively with their heads up, looked over coached. Sugrue always strikes as a defensively minded, busy, pragmatic coach. Bad luck though, always hard on young lads looseing at this stage, but sometimes an important lesson to, I'm sure Kerry be hoping to get a few from this group and best of luck to them in the future.

Probably a fair score line that reflected the game in the end.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/10/2020 18:09:13    2298440

Trying to find a hidden upside from covid. About half of all jobs can be done remotely. Means that, in future, people from rural counties won't have to move to Dublin to do their jobs. They can now do them from back home. Covid may lead to a revitalization of rural clubs and counties. I know literally dozens of Cork, Kerry, Kilkenny, Tyrone GAA people rearing young families in Dublin. All those kids have strong country GAA parents, but all those kids will be Dubs. Covid may go some way to reversing the decline of rural Ireland; and, let's face it, Dublin is bursting at the seams and is too big a city for a small country in the first place.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 17/10/2020 18:25:58    2298452

Replying To essmac:  "Trying to find a hidden upside from covid. About half of all jobs can be done remotely. Means that, in future, people from rural counties won't have to move to Dublin to do their jobs. They can now do them from back home. Covid may lead to a revitalization of rural clubs and counties. I know literally dozens of Cork, Kerry, Kilkenny, Tyrone GAA people rearing young families in Dublin. All those kids have strong country GAA parents, but all those kids will be Dubs. Covid may go some way to reversing the decline of rural Ireland; and, let's face it, Dublin is bursting at the seams and is too big a city for a small country in the first place."
High speed broadband on top of that

Will be the major game changer

This time next year I think Covid will be under control

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/10/2020 18:30:59    2298455

Replying To essmac:  "Trying to find a hidden upside from covid. About half of all jobs can be done remotely. Means that, in future, people from rural counties won't have to move to Dublin to do their jobs. They can now do them from back home. Covid may lead to a revitalization of rural clubs and counties. I know literally dozens of Cork, Kerry, Kilkenny, Tyrone GAA people rearing young families in Dublin. All those kids have strong country GAA parents, but all those kids will be Dubs. Covid may go some way to reversing the decline of rural Ireland; and, let's face it, Dublin is bursting at the seams and is too big a city for a small country in the first place."
This is not the covid thread :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 17/10/2020 18:32:05    2298456

The same is true for all the Dubs that have been forced out to Kildare, Meath, Laois, Louth & Carlow.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 17/10/2020 18:34:27    2298458

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Missing 6-7 starters today including their captain and best player with Covid issue or injuries, (I know Galway were missing a few as well.) Well done to Galway today btw, deserved winners.

More than half the current senior team are from those minor teams so I wouldn't say they failed to bring them on.

They have underachieved at U20 for sure but you must remember guys like Mark O'Connor, Clifford and Sean O'Shea were huge contributors in the minor teams and they weren't available at U20 for various reasons. Doesn't look like they will get a U20 title out of those teams but so be it.

As an aside congratulations to Mark O'Connor of Dingle who will play in the AFL Grand Final next weekend after a commanding win with Geelong this morning."
Mark O'Connor my clubman was the pick of the minors and you could have paired with any of our current midfielders and we'd be untouchable , but that's life and I wish him well in the grand final next week.

Is Stefan okunbar stoll injured Gerry?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/10/2020 18:36:37    2298460

That's true essmac, remote working is an opportunity for rural Ireland. That said, many young people will still gravitate to the cities for the lifestyle and educational and social opportunities it brings. A lot of jobs in areas like retail in rural towns are gone for good as well I expect. Very uncertain times ahead.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 17/10/2020 18:39:20    2298461

Congrats to both Galway and Dublin today. Some lovely players on view. Hope Galway players that were missing might get to play in final.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 17/10/2020 19:40:45    2298484

No, just no, what's the point in having a human race if we lock ourselves down indefinitely. I'm old, I've had my life, ill gladly move over for the sake of my grandchildren having a life. Young people need to group, need to explode and need to be active. And that's IF, this virus is as deadly as they proclaim.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 17/10/2020 19:51:26    2298489

Well done to Galway. From what I can gather they were missing 4 starters in Cathal Sweeney, James McLaughlin, Paul Kelly and Tomo Culhane. They'd be 4 of their key players in fairness. We were missing 6 starters in Mark Kelliher, Dan McCarthy, Darragh Lyne, Paul O'Shea, Patrick Darcy and Donal O'Sullivan. You couldn't say one team were missing substantially more than the other. All the players missing led to a poor quality game, lots of mistakes. I was very disappointed with Kerry's performance though no matter who we were missing. Poor passing, bad wides, bad shot selection and at times poor defending. I haven't been impressed with John Sugrue so far even against Cork. I didn't agree with a number of his player and position selections and feel like another poster said that he's too conservative. He played a sweeper in both games when there was no need and it didn't suit us. As regards future Seniors I'd be looking at Paul O'Shea, Dylan Casey, Sean O'Brien and maybe 1 or 2 others. Most of the team and panel underage again next year.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 17/10/2020 20:10:22    2298494

Replying To Kerry15:  "Well done to Galway. From what I can gather they were missing 4 starters in Cathal Sweeney, James McLaughlin, Paul Kelly and Tomo Culhane. They'd be 4 of their key players in fairness. We were missing 6 starters in Mark Kelliher, Dan McCarthy, Darragh Lyne, Paul O'Shea, Patrick Darcy and Donal O'Sullivan. You couldn't say one team were missing substantially more than the other. All the players missing led to a poor quality game, lots of mistakes. I was very disappointed with Kerry's performance though no matter who we were missing. Poor passing, bad wides, bad shot selection and at times poor defending. I haven't been impressed with John Sugrue so far even against Cork. I didn't agree with a number of his player and position selections and feel like another poster said that he's too conservative. He played a sweeper in both games when there was no need and it didn't suit us. As regards future Seniors I'd be looking at Paul O'Shea, Dylan Casey, Sean O'Brien and maybe 1 or 2 others. Most of the team and panel underage again next year."
I agree with you totally Kerry 15.Some of our kick passing was very poor and even our hand passing. The black cards were naive too. We were missing a lot to be fair so maybe we being a bit hard on the team but Galway were missing a lot of players too so fair play to them. They have some lovely players like Tierney etc. Also Canavan is going to be a great player and Dublin some lovely players too. We knew about Archer bout though Laven no. 10 was great and that Hearon lad very good too although my spelling prob wrong. Best of luck to both teams in final.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 17/10/2020 20:23:35    2298502

Replying To lilypad:  "No, just no, what's the point in having a human race if we lock ourselves down indefinitely. I'm old, I've had my life, ill gladly move over for the sake of my grandchildren having a life. Young people need to group, need to explode and need to be active. And that's IF, this virus is as deadly as they proclaim."
The virus has killed 000s so is as deadly as the experts are saying
We do need to look at restricting movements that arent necessary including sport if it helps save lives.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 17/10/2020 20:48:50    2298514

Replying To TheUsername:  "Congratulations to Galway, that's a really impressive and convincing performance with so many players out. Very balanced team, strong in defence and attack and have good players in every line. Play the game with their heads up and in the right way, thought they were by far the best team today and probably out of the four teams to tog out today.

Commiserations to Kerry, was more impressed with them back in March Vs Cork, though it's always hard to draw conclusions at provincial level at this grade. To be fair they like Galway had players out through unfortunate circumstances. Thought they were sloppy at times, played very conservatively and defensively, not sure what the sweeper was doing or if they needed one, didn't seem to make a difference. Thought they tried to manage the game instead of playing it expansively with their heads up, looked over coached. Sugrue always strikes as a defensively minded, busy, pragmatic coach. Bad luck though, always hard on young lads looseing at this stage, but sometimes an important lesson to, I'm sure Kerry be hoping to get a few from this group and best of luck to them in the future.

Probably a fair score line that reflected the game in the end."
Looking forward to the final in what should be a good game v Galway, who are a cracking outfit.
Fully deserved winners today despite missing top quality players.

Hopefully an entertaining final from the 2 best teams at this grade.

Some excellent Dublin performances there today.
Hopefully it wont be long before we see some of them in the Senior setup.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 17/10/2020 20:50:09    2298515

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Very impressive from Galway..According to Radio 1 they were missing 8 players??"
Yep they were missing a lot of players alright.
They will be very hard to beat at full strength.

Great to see Dublin make successive U20 All Ireland Finals - a wee bit of talent still coming through hopefully.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 17/10/2020 20:55:30    2298517

Replying To KillingFields:  "The virus has killed 000s so is as deadly as the experts are saying
We do need to look at restricting movements that arent necessary including sport if it helps save lives."
And what does that equate to in percentages of world population?

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 17/10/2020 21:09:50    2298525

Replying To Fionn:  "Yep they were missing a lot of players alright.
They will be very hard to beat at full strength.

Great to see Dublin make successive U20 All Ireland Finals - a wee bit of talent still coming through hopefully."
If the final is on next week I don't think they ll be able to play as they might still be self isolating. A friend told me that 5 of the Kerry players were removed from the panel as even if they had beaten Galway they were out for final.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 17/10/2020 21:24:40    2298537

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "If the final is on next week I don't think they ll be able to play as they might still be self isolating. A friend told me that 5 of the Kerry players were removed from the panel as even if they had beaten Galway they were out for final."
Bloody Covid... dont get me started....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 17/10/2020 21:38:04    2298555

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Very impressive from Galway..According to Radio 1 they were missing 8 players??"
Don't know for sure. They were definitely missing 4 of their best players alright and maybe 4 more squad players but I didn't get to see who was among the subs.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 17/10/2020 21:38:05    2298556