Dublin V Kerry

Replying To neverright:  "A good game for this time of the year. Ref had a tough job but did a reasonable job although, no doubt, both sets of fans will quibble with various decisions. Dublin keeper was very impressive with his kick-outs. Fenton was the dominant figure in the first half but was less evident in the second half and could have been punished on a couple of occasions for shoulder charging while in the possession of the ball. Mannion was well off his game when he came on but one of their forward subs (don't know his name) looked very promising.
Kerry need Moran's phsical strength at midfield. Clifford is a joy to watch but needs to get more protection from refs particularly during the League."
Clifford is a joy to watch but needs to get more protection from refs particularly during the League.

Agree he is a joy to watch but disagree with him needing protection. The lad is never penalised and he is the Cillian O'Connor of the Kerry team. Loves throwing elbows. None of the top players get protection. Why should he?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 25/01/2020 22:13:47    2262313

Kerry 3 ahead and should have wrapped it up but credit to Dublin again they just don't give in and proved they are Kerry's bogey team.
Though Kerry got anything that was going from the ref and some very soft going to ground from some of the Kerry lads also.
Don't think referee was top drawer material really. 6 minutes extra time turning into 11.
Farcical really how we see referees allowing the team behind a chance to have another attack when game is over.
All in all a good game to kick start the season.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/01/2020 22:23:30    2262316

Replying To hashtag2017:  "Jesus but McConville is hard to listen to..bring back Brolly"
Marty is even more annoying

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 25/01/2020 22:27:31    2262319

Replying To catch22:  "Kerry 3 ahead and should have wrapped it up but credit to Dublin again they just don't give in and proved they are Kerry's bogey team.
Though Kerry got anything that was going from the ref and some very soft going to ground from some of the Kerry lads also.
Don't think referee was top drawer material really. 6 minutes extra time turning into 11.
Farcical really how we see referees allowing the team behind a chance to have another attack when game is over.
All in all a good game to kick start the season."
Dublin made a substitute as ref was about to blow it up . Every sub adds additional time . Kerry gor that free after substitution was made

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 25/01/2020 22:34:46    2262325

Very enjoyable game.

For those moaning about the ref, remember it's only Jan, it's the start of their season too.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 25/01/2020 23:32:05    2262350

This was an appalling game. Littered with fouls and yellow cards and cynical play.
Easily could have been another 3 or 4 players sent off. The amount of head high tackles was unbelievable. Both teams bringing the game into disrepute.

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 25/01/2020 23:50:05    2262355

Replying To hashtag2017:  "Jesus but McConville is hard to listen to..bring back Brolly"
Dreadful commentator. Droning on and contributes nothing. Another example of the standard accepted.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/01/2020 23:54:26    2262358

Replying To conordee:  "Dublin Kerry and referee doing their best to imitate the rubbish we saw in the Club Final last Sunday. Another shambles of a half of football after a decent first 35. To be fair to the ref, its nearly unreffable."
Would have been very hard to imitate that rubbish n da club final....look at the difference in the score line for starters. Messing by the ref actually caused the row at the end!!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 25/01/2020 23:58:07    2262361

Decent start to the season, both teams still look like the top 2 in the country but there's lots of football to be played yet.

Kerry had the winning of the game but seemed to panic near the finish line again, this is becoming a real problem for Kerry v the Dubs in Croker, they may sort if out soon!

Ps, finally the mark, how this rubbish get approved?? What a mess!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/01/2020 08:01:06    2262379

Good game, great atmosphere, great crowd for January, 42,000 is the real surprise. The downer is RTEs commentary team and panel, shocking to listen to, best heard on silence.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 26/01/2020 08:36:36    2262382

Replying To essmac:  "You can't make a sweeping statement like that without backing it up. List out the wrong calls would you? I watched the second half and saw little to complain about."
The ref was a huge factor as to why the second half was so stop start. Gave a lot of very soft frees, seemed to be giving out yellow cards for practically every free, each yellow card involving a thirty second "talking to" for the player, blew for frees several times when the fouled team were in possession and could have had an advantage. 6 minutes of additional time given and he added on another what was it, 3 or 4, to account for all his self-imposed stoppages.

TheImmortal (USA) - Posts: 24 - 26/01/2020 08:56:37    2262386

Draw a fair result and by in large, both sides will be happy. Can I ask what the general consensus was on the penalty decision? I honestly didn't think it was .

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 26/01/2020 09:14:17    2262390

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Draw a fair result and by in large, both sides will be happy. Can I ask what the general consensus was on the penalty decision? I honestly didn't think it was ."
To be honest I thought it was a soft enough penalty.

Having said that I am mystified by the amount of added extra time after the 6 minutes.
A good match for both teams. I Thought Fenton was outstanding in open play in the first half- when Kerry got tighter on him his influence waned a little. Was quite disappointed with our inability to challenge on the Kerry kickouts during the first half. I counted 4 clean Kerry possessions in a row from Kerry kickouts. The Kerry keeper had a purple patch during that period. Once the squeeze came on later in the game he began to lose composure. I thought Kilkenny was superb throughout but especially in the last frenetic 10 minutes.
Ona few occasions Murchan -who I thought played very well- was left on Tommy Walsh and on a few occasions against Clifford. Those sort off matchups could be very costly later on in the season. Murchan is a lovely player and he has some leap on him but I shudder to think of how his lack of height could be exploited.
I am beginning to question the future of certain former greats. It's obvious that certain players now lack the pace for such a game. Dublin need to unearth a few defenders. ROC was a superb defender but he needs to get match fit again- seems to have acquired a few lbs over the winter.He was only on a for a few minutes but he didn't impress. I thought he also struggled during the club championship especially against Thomas Davis. Dublin FF line also lacks pace. I really think DF will have his work cut out for him to win the Championship this year.

James Mc Kicking the ball away in the dying moments of the match and allowing the ref to move it up to a more kickable distance was unfortunate and possibly cost us the win. And the decision to bring on a substitute in the dying moments knowing full we'll that it would add another 30 seconds onto extra time was mystifying.
Paul Mannion's shooting was dreadful.
Thought David Clifford was very good but talk of him being the greatest ever is very premature.
It's interesting to how these Kerry v Dublin League matches follow a similar pattern. Kerry pull ahead only for Dublin to haul them back in. I really think Kerry will be less happy with the result than Dublin.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 26/01/2020 12:51:03    2262458

Replying To TheImmortal:  "The ref was a huge factor as to why the second half was so stop start. Gave a lot of very soft frees, seemed to be giving out yellow cards for practically every free, each yellow card involving a thirty second "talking to" for the player, blew for frees several times when the fouled team were in possession and could have had an advantage. 6 minutes of additional time given and he added on another what was it, 3 or 4, to account for all his self-imposed stoppages."
Agree with all of this. This is why the ref had a poor enough game. Frees taken yards from the incident and not checked also. Inconsistent with quick free obstruction too. A difficult game for any ref but it ran away from him last night.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/01/2020 13:17:19    2262471

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Draw a fair result and by in large, both sides will be happy. Can I ask what the general consensus was on the penalty decision? I honestly didn't think it was ."
Wasn't sure at the time but having watched it back he was pushed and also his ball release arm held. I think the fact that no Kerry player objected is a good indication. Decent game that could have been a better spectacle only for the endless stoppages.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/01/2020 13:20:41    2262473

Well now, nursing a sore head, did the dog on it up in Drumcondra for most of the day catching up with everyone, great oul night out.

Stumbled along up to the match and was surprised to see such a big crowd, the battle ship looked full, bar the upper tiers and the Nally and it was a tepid enough evening for a January.

The Dubs started with a bit of mismatch of a team, looking at about 50% of its strength, some of starting 15 in, some legends like Macker and Andrews got a start, some of the extended panel getting a run. Some lads filling in gaps and not in their usual positions, etc, but a competitive team none the less.

Kerry looked like they threw pretty much what they had full strength at us, bar Moran and Barry etc, the looked hungry and fit and were laying down the markers etc early doors.

Thought we were the better more expansive team for the majority of the first half, but Kerry have some very good players and Cliffords goal reeled us in a bit when we were looking to kick on. The Kerry defensive shape looked very good and they looked hungry in the tackle, if not a little bit over refined in terms of giving away scoreable frees, they are afraid of their lives at being run at though. I thought we were making hay with out running game largely. But Kerry picked us off well and they have good forwards and shot takers. It was nice to see James O D play well early doors - one point in particular was lovely. Not sure its the wisest thing to be flogging him in Jan, but im sure the Kerry management team have considered this.

For us i thought Fenton, Kilkenny and Jimmy Mc lorded it - gas to see them with what can only be described as a Bali tan. But thought the three of them had magnificent first halfs.

Second half got a bit niggley and descended into a bit of a street fight, didn't think the ref helped either side particularly and his style of reffing didnt let the game flow and added to the niggley nature of it. I suppose that no harm to knock the cob webs off this time of year.

Thought Kerry had the best of third quarter up to about 80 mins, until we turned on the after burners and went full pelt, we squeezed the life out of them and cracked a bit under the pressure, and we got the necessary scores to be go in to the lead heading into the last minute. Silly game management at the end from Dessie with the substitution and Kilkenny and Scully lett Kerry back into it and scrape a draw, but it was probably fair and the political result that suited everyone.

From a Dublin point of view, i was delighted with performance and reslut with the team that was put out. I was full sure we were going to be well beaten given the players not there, fitness etc and the strength of the Kerry team. So getting a draw and be dissapointed to have left the win behind with better game management, with a make shift team, is a great result for us.

Still though think this game has very little meaning and significance to what will happen at the end of August.

Thought Fenton, Kilkenny, Clifford and McCarthy were head and shoulders the best players yesterday, Clifford gets an awful lot of press and is excellent and he had a great game last night, but Fenton is the best player in the country in my opinion. Kerry did well putting bodies on him in the second half mind, but it took a few and took us a while to work the decoy and make the gaps count. Kilkennys mark was a joy wasnt it - if only every forward mark was going to be like that.

I liked Howard in midfield, ive advocated for him there for a while, but in actual fact i think 6 might be his best position and run the game from there. But then Johnny Small vitalness for us is often underrated in my opinion.

Else wise we had some legends who made hard work of it, Paddy A. looked a bit leggy to me, Rory came on and looked of it again, Philly has a role to play maybe not a s a starter anymore - but his divilment is vital and he made Tommy Walsh a passanger. Ive seen some criticism of Macker from other Dubs, but i actually thought he did well running at Kerry and stretching the blanket.

Niall Scully can be unhappy with his performance and id be shifting in my seat if i was him, looking at whats to come back and young lads biting at his heels.

On the young lads, i though Even was class, his kicking i thought was good and he just fits into our style of play and phislosphey, he gave us confidence last night, he going to continue the tradition of great Dublin keepers when that horrible day comes.

Of the emerging lads, i thought McHugh did well. Bugler and the long advocated for Aron Byrne, i thought were terrific in their cameos, the direct running scares the life out of Kerry and i thought we looked more purposeful with then on that score. Bugler is going to be player, Dan O' Brien looked alright when he came on he did well down in Mullingar as well. I can see more of the young lads getting an opportunity once the Sigerson ends.

Saw Paul Clarke knocking around last night with Dessie, so good to see him still involved with the backroom. As for Dessie himself, i dont think he gave much away, with the team or performance. The substitution at then end was a bit mad, but he will learn. Thought the injury time in the first and second half was a bit mad overall really.

All in all, i think we would be the happier of the two teams given the relative strength VS strength of the two teams put out, i was full sure we would be beaten last night given the strength of the Kerry team, so to draw and feel as if we left behind us is a good result given the make shift team and fitness and the players not available: Cluxton, Cooper, Micky Fitz, COS, Jack, MDM Connolly, Costello and Con to name a few starters. Also with the Sigerson ending and getting lads back from that and the likes of Basquel etc and other emerging players, the headroom as the league goes on is huge.

Next up Castlebar next week, always one of my favorite trips.

Up the Dubs.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/01/2020 14:54:26    2262498

Replying To lilylanger:  "Clifford is a joy to watch but needs to get more protection from refs particularly during the League.

Agree he is a joy to watch but disagree with him needing protection. The lad is never penalised and he is the Cillian O'Connor of the Kerry team. Loves throwing elbows. None of the top players get protection. Why should he?"
Ridiculous all players should get protection. Refs and linesman should be expected to do this. They're not doing so all top players should expect to be on the receiving end of off the ball knocks. Clifford had his jersey torn off him. No player Kerry/dublin it doesnt matter shouldnt get protection

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 26/01/2020 15:58:35    2262513

Replying To TheUsername:  "Well now, nursing a sore head, did the dog on it up in Drumcondra for most of the day catching up with everyone, great oul night out.

Stumbled along up to the match and was surprised to see such a big crowd, the battle ship looked full, bar the upper tiers and the Nally and it was a tepid enough evening for a January.

The Dubs started with a bit of mismatch of a team, looking at about 50% of its strength, some of starting 15 in, some legends like Macker and Andrews got a start, some of the extended panel getting a run. Some lads filling in gaps and not in their usual positions, etc, but a competitive team none the less.

Kerry looked like they threw pretty much what they had full strength at us, bar Moran and Barry etc, the looked hungry and fit and were laying down the markers etc early doors.

Thought we were the better more expansive team for the majority of the first half, but Kerry have some very good players and Cliffords goal reeled us in a bit when we were looking to kick on. The Kerry defensive shape looked very good and they looked hungry in the tackle, if not a little bit over refined in terms of giving away scoreable frees, they are afraid of their lives at being run at though. I thought we were making hay with out running game largely. But Kerry picked us off well and they have good forwards and shot takers. It was nice to see James O D play well early doors - one point in particular was lovely. Not sure its the wisest thing to be flogging him in Jan, but im sure the Kerry management team have considered this.

For us i thought Fenton, Kilkenny and Jimmy Mc lorded it - gas to see them with what can only be described as a Bali tan. But thought the three of them had magnificent first halfs.

Second half got a bit niggley and descended into a bit of a street fight, didn't think the ref helped either side particularly and his style of reffing didnt let the game flow and added to the niggley nature of it. I suppose that no harm to knock the cob webs off this time of year.

Thought Kerry had the best of third quarter up to about 80 mins, until we turned on the after burners and went full pelt, we squeezed the life out of them and cracked a bit under the pressure, and we got the necessary scores to be go in to the lead heading into the last minute. Silly game management at the end from Dessie with the substitution and Kilkenny and Scully lett Kerry back into it and scrape a draw, but it was probably fair and the political result that suited everyone.

From a Dublin point of view, i was delighted with performance and reslut with the team that was put out. I was full sure we were going to be well beaten given the players not there, fitness etc and the strength of the Kerry team. So getting a draw and be dissapointed to have left the win behind with better game management, with a make shift team, is a great result for us.

Still though think this game has very little meaning and significance to what will happen at the end of August.

Thought Fenton, Kilkenny, Clifford and McCarthy were head and shoulders the best players yesterday, Clifford gets an awful lot of press and is excellent and he had a great game last night, but Fenton is the best player in the country in my opinion. Kerry did well putting bodies on him in the second half mind, but it took a few and took us a while to work the decoy and make the gaps count. Kilkennys mark was a joy wasnt it - if only every forward mark was going to be like that.

I liked Howard in midfield, ive advocated for him there for a while, but in actual fact i think 6 might be his best position and run the game from there. But then Johnny Small vitalness for us is often underrated in my opinion.

Else wise we had some legends who made hard work of it, Paddy A. looked a bit leggy to me, Rory came on and looked of it again, Philly has a role to play maybe not a s a starter anymore - but his divilment is vital and he made Tommy Walsh a passanger. Ive seen some criticism of Macker from other Dubs, but i actually thought he did well running at Kerry and stretching the blanket.

Niall Scully can be unhappy with his performance and id be shifting in my seat if i was him, looking at whats to come back and young lads biting at his heels.

On the young lads, i though Even was class, his kicking i thought was good and he just fits into our style of play and phislosphey, he gave us confidence last night, he going to continue the tradition of great Dublin keepers when that horrible day comes.

Of the emerging lads, i thought McHugh did well. Bugler and the long advocated for Aron Byrne, i thought were terrific in their cameos, the direct running scares the life out of Kerry and i thought we looked more purposeful with then on that score. Bugler is going to be player, Dan O' Brien looked alright when he came on he did well down in Mullingar as well. I can see more of the young lads getting an opportunity once the Sigerson ends.

Saw Paul Clarke knocking around last night with Dessie, so good to see him still involved with the backroom. As for Dessie himself, i dont think he gave much away, with the team or performance. The substitution at then end was a bit mad, but he will learn. Thought the injury time in the first and second half was a bit mad overall really.

All in all, i think we would be the happier of the two teams given the relative strength VS strength of the two teams put out, i was full sure we would be beaten last night given the strength of the Kerry team, so to draw and feel as if we left behind us is a good result given the make shift team and fitness and the players not available: Cluxton, Cooper, Micky Fitz, COS, Jack, MDM Connolly, Costello and Con to name a few starters. Also with the Sigerson ending and getting lads back from that and the likes of Basquel etc and other emerging players, the headroom as the league goes on is huge.

Next up Castlebar next week, always one of my favorite trips.

Up the Dubs."
Pretty much sums kit all up.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 26/01/2020 16:04:28    2262516

Replying To galwayfball:  "Ridiculous all players should get protection. Refs and linesman should be expected to do this. They're not doing so all top players should expect to be on the receiving end of off the ball knocks. Clifford had his jersey torn off him. No player Kerry/dublin it doesnt matter shouldnt get protection"
I didnt say he shouldn't get protection. I said no top players get protection. Why should Clifford be any different? Of course they should in an ideal world. Alas it's been going on years, Aidan O'Shea, Michael Murphy, Diamuid Connolly (who also got his jersey ripped off him & O'Shea too), Colm Cooper and so on.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 26/01/2020 16:15:17    2262520

Replying To lilylanger:  "I didnt say he shouldn't get protection. I said no top players get protection. Why should Clifford be any different? Of course they should in an ideal world. Alas it's been going on years, Aidan O'Shea, Michael Murphy, Diamuid Connolly (who also got his jersey ripped off him & O'Shea too), Colm Cooper and so on."
"No top players get protection, why should he"

That's exactly where you said he shouldnt get protection. You've now said it twice. No reason with the help of linesman ref should be able to protect players . If spectators can see it , why cant they. Its ridiculous to just accept that good players wont be protected. Which is what you seem to think is ok

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 26/01/2020 17:47:27    2262548