Dublin V Kerry

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ah i know, i was just teasing really, no offence intended.

David is a fine player and no mistake, is he due to make make an appearance Saturday week, be nice to watch him again live.

Did i see IT Tralee, get knocked out of Sigerson, might be good news for Kerry in the league as his load might be lighter and more manageable.

Not sure him being captain would be a good thing, if it comes to pass, id be minding him on the hard ground myself and developing lads."
David will probably make an appearance at some stage on Saturday week. I'd say both teams will be very 'experimental' with many of the big stars (I know: Dublin have at least 15 'big stars' ! ) missing.
Yea, IT Tralee were surprisingly beaten by IT Carlow; Carlow got 3 goals in the last 10 minutes. Tralee IT had big guns in Clifford, Barry John Keane and Tony Brosnan. Incidentally, Brosnan got 2 brilliant points in the Kerry Co. Final and may well get a run for Kerry shortly, along with Clifford's brother, Paudie.
I too, would prefer not to see Clifford as captain just yet but it may be unavoidable as it's likely that one else from East Kerry will be a certain starter - as in 2019.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 17/01/2020 19:35:04    2260519

Replying To Aibrean:  "David will probably make an appearance at some stage on Saturday week. I'd say both teams will be very 'experimental' with many of the big stars (I know: Dublin have at least 15 'big stars' ! ) missing.
Yea, IT Tralee were surprisingly beaten by IT Carlow; Carlow got 3 goals in the last 10 minutes. Tralee IT had big guns in Clifford, Barry John Keane and Tony Brosnan. Incidentally, Brosnan got 2 brilliant points in the Kerry Co. Final and may well get a run for Kerry shortly, along with Clifford's brother, Paudie.
I too, would prefer not to see Clifford as captain just yet but it may be unavoidable as it's likely that one else from East Kerry will be a certain starter - as in 2019."
I wouldn't worry about Clifford being captain at all he's wise beyond his years and has the total respect of the panel just like Declan Ó'Sullivan back in the 00s.

Declan was a double allireland winning captain in 06/07 at the age of 20/21.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/01/2020 20:08:36    2260523

Replying To Aibrean:  "David will probably make an appearance at some stage on Saturday week. I'd say both teams will be very 'experimental' with many of the big stars (I know: Dublin have at least 15 'big stars' ! ) missing.
I too, would prefer not to see Clifford as captain just yet but it may be unavoidable as it's likely that one else from East Kerry will be a certain starter - as in 2019."
We're feeling our way in the dark a bit, we don't really know what Dessie will do , but I hope he uses the league for development mostly myself and phasing in and out the more established lads for fitness. Wouldnt like to see him flogging the starting 15 over the winter/spring.

Fair play, look forward to seeing him again, i remember his first league game in Croker against us a couple of years ago, he made hard work of it and the hill let him know, I'm sure he'd love to reverse that next Sat now he's more established, I'd be a bigger Sean O Sheas fan though, so looking forward to seeing him again, he's a joy.

Good on Kerry developing and bringing lads through, in a lot of ways the league can be more fascinating the championship watching players great opportunities grow and earn a place in the summer panels and a career for them selves.

Was the older Clifford on any of the underage teams? Who will be the breakouts this year from the next phase of the successful minors?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/01/2020 22:44:56    2260542

Replying To Aibrean:  "
Replying To greatpoint:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "You wrote: Fitzsimons did brilliantly on Clifford in All Ireland matches,

That's hard to square with the fact that Clifford got 6 points from play - no one scored more (from play) than Clifford.

He is not perfect - who is? - and may well have dropped a shot as you point out."
Paul Mannion scored 6 from play didn't he?"
He did. And Jack got 1-3. Still true to say that "no one scored more (from play) than Clifford"."]Yah , a half back scoring 1-3 is more impressive though.
Put Clifford in the half back line and he'd be roasted. He's not bad like but he's no Seanie O Shea.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/01/2020 09:10:00    2260556

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I wouldn't worry about Clifford being captain at all he's wise beyond his years and has the total respect of the panel just like Declan Ó'Sullivan back in the 00s.

Declan was a double allireland winning captain in 06/07 at the age of 20/21."
I'd say he would take the pressure on no problem, seems a very confident lad and he's probably well used to this hype by now anyway. Looking at the current Kerry panel he would be my pick, it seems like the best option going forward for Kerry. He has had a couple of years with the big boys now and has faired pretty well, with aspirations of winning back the AI and with a young team you have to look at who will be at the centre of of it all in the coming years. Clifford seems like the best bet imo

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 18/01/2020 09:24:22    2260558

Replying To boman11:  "I'd say he would take the pressure on no problem, seems a very confident lad and he's probably well used to this hype by now anyway. Looking at the current Kerry panel he would be my pick, it seems like the best option going forward for Kerry. He has had a couple of years with the big boys now and has faired pretty well, with aspirations of winning back the AI and with a young team you have to look at who will be at the centre of of it all in the coming years. Clifford seems like the best bet imo"
I could be corrected on this but i think Kerry change their captain every year depending on who wins their club championship, i know there was a bit of chat about changing that, but other lads will know the state of play there better then me.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/01/2020 09:52:36    2260559

Replying To TheUsername:  "I could be corrected on this but i think Kerry change their captain every year depending on who wins their club championship, i know there was a bit of chat about changing that, but other lads will know the state of play there better then me."
I think your right username, but like yourself I cant be 100%. If so, it would be an East Kerry player anyway I think with Clifford probably being the front runner.. what other Kerry lads are East Kerry?

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 18/01/2020 11:30:46    2260572

Replying To boman11:  "I'd say he would take the pressure on no problem, seems a very confident lad and he's probably well used to this hype by now anyway. Looking at the current Kerry panel he would be my pick, it seems like the best option going forward for Kerry. He has had a couple of years with the big boys now and has faired pretty well, with aspirations of winning back the AI and with a young team you have to look at who will be at the centre of of it all in the coming years. Clifford seems like the best bet imo"
Exactly bowman and he could easily be our captain for the next 10 years.

Michael Murphy was captain of Donegal at a young age as well and he did great for his county.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/01/2020 11:37:48    2260573

Replying To boman11:  "I think your right username, but like yourself I cant be 100%. If so, it would be an East Kerry player anyway I think with Clifford probably being the front runner.. what other Kerry lads are East Kerry?"
Jack sherwood is the other East kerry player but he's not a nailed on starter.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/01/2020 11:48:39    2260574

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Exactly bowman and he could easily be our captain for the next 10 years.

Michael Murphy was captain of Donegal at a young age as well and he did great for his county."
Definitely kingdomboy, id vote for Clifford with the intentions of having him lead Kerry for many years

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 18/01/2020 12:48:55    2260581

Replying To TheUsername:  "We're feeling our way in the dark a bit, we don't really know what Dessie will do , but I hope he uses the league for development mostly myself and phasing in and out the more established lads for fitness. Wouldnt like to see him flogging the starting 15 over the winter/spring.

Fair play, look forward to seeing him again, i remember his first league game in Croker against us a couple of years ago, he made hard work of it and the hill let him know, I'm sure he'd love to reverse that next Sat now he's more established, I'd be a bigger Sean O Sheas fan though, so looking forward to seeing him again, he's a joy.

Good on Kerry developing and bringing lads through, in a lot of ways the league can be more fascinating the championship watching players great opportunities grow and earn a place in the summer panels and a career for them selves.

Was the older Clifford on any of the underage teams? Who will be the breakouts this year from the next phase of the successful minors?"
My memory of Clifford's first league game in Croke Park was that he gave Cian O'Sullivan a torrid time but it doesn't really matter anyway. In my own personal opinion I'd have Clifford ahead of O'Shea although I'm absolutely delighted we have them both, 2 phenomenal young players.

Paudie Clifford never made any appearances for the Kerry minors or u21s. He would have been a minor in 2014 when we had our first of the minor wins. He was the star of our 2018 All Ireland winning junior team though. I expect him to make an impact this year. I think the breakouts from the minor winning teams this year could be Barry Mahony (2017 minor), Liam Kearney (2014 minor) and Daniel O'Brien (2016 minor). You'd also be expecting Diarmuid O'Connor, Killian Spillane, Graham O'Sullivan and Dara Moynihan to really push on this year.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 18/01/2020 13:42:27    2260586

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Who are the 15 kerry seniors who are working for Peter Keanes supervalu in killorglin?

You come out with these bombshells and then you're gone again :-)"
Timmy as I said in previous reply to YOU they work across his 4 stores not just Killorgan.

hamsterdean (Limerick) - Posts: 223 - 18/01/2020 21:34:22    2260673

Replying To hamsterdean:  "Timmy as I said in previous reply to YOU they work across his 4 stores not just Killorgan."
Some would say there is no smoke without fire! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/01/2020 11:45:33    2260720

Replying To hamsterdean:  "Timmy as I said in previous reply to YOU they work across his 4 stores not just Killorgan."
Keane only has one shop and to my knowledge no Kerry footballer works there.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 19/01/2020 13:44:00    2260747

Replying To Kerry15:  "Keane only has one shop and to my knowledge no Kerry footballer works there."
He's mixing PK up with Garveys kerry15 and there isn't 15 kerry seniors working for PK.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/01/2020 14:06:15    2260753

Would Dublin posters like to venture naming a team for Saturday evening?

Il try a Kerry team
Shane Ryan
Tom o Sullivan thigh Morley Jason foley
Brian o beaglaoicht Paul Murphy Gavin white
Adrian Spillane Barry Mahoney
Michael burns Sean o Shea Stephen o brien
David Clifford Paul Geaney Killian Spillane.

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 23/01/2020 23:24:34    2261861

Replying To gallarus14:  "Would Dublin posters like to venture naming a team for Saturday evening?

Il try a Kerry team
Shane Ryan
Tom o Sullivan thigh Morley Jason foley
Brian o beaglaoicht Paul Murphy Gavin white
Adrian Spillane Barry Mahoney
Michael burns Sean o Shea Stephen o brien
David Clifford Paul Geaney Killian Spillane."
Ive no idea to be honest and be only guessing. Some of the lads you would want to be involved from a development point of view were playing Sigerson on Weds, while the established lads got back from Bali on Saturday and while id say we would see a couple in bolstering id say they are miles off and will only be phasing in and out during the league for fitness. That said we are never poor mouth as we always have emerging lads coming form all angles, so it could be an anything Dublin team really as Dessie first panel and game showed.

Im expecting a beating if im honest as i think it will mean more to Kerry then us, if Spillane is to believed they've been tipping away at it since Oct so more power to them.

So im looking at this as a bit of a challenge scratch encounter and not to pushed on the result or put any meaning on it, kind of like the miracle of Tralee game last year in the league. ;) Think we're beyond putting down markers, learning much beyond development from the national league or be worrying about others and how they are shaping up in the Spring.

Think we will get flip flop results overall and performances and pull it out of the bag when we need to to stay in the division.

The fun here for Dubs will be an introspective look at Dessies Dublin and get a kind of flavor of his philosophy, ideas, style, players, back room, panel, new opportunities, development etc. The game and result itself feels a bit of irrelevance with all of that going on. Thats what ill be keeping an eye on anyway.

Any way be great to get back up home again after the long winter, see all the old heads have a coupe of scoops and get an eye on Croker in the floodlights for the first time this year. I always enjoy the first game in Croker of the year, feels like a bit of a homecoming for the community, the catch up with all the old heads, the craic and the excitement a new year brings. A special added bonus this year, is we get to welcome counties to the home of the five in a row.

Anyhow Jersey washed and pressed ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/01/2020 10:28:57    2261894

If desire farrell picked 15 random people from the hill for tomorrow I would be sound with it. We would probably still win such is Kerry's inferiority complex and mental block against the dubs ;-)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/01/2020 18:35:42    2261972

Replying To waynoI:  "If desire farrell picked 15 random people from the hill for tomorrow I would be sound with it. We would probably still win such is Kerry's inferiority complex and mental block against the dubs ;-)"
Kerry beat Dublin in the NFL last year wayno

If you are going to try to troll at least do some basic research

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 24/01/2020 19:17:42    2261988

Kerry will win this one for certain.
Loosing the All Ireland. Clifford as captain for the first time in Croke Park. Dublin just back from holiday and probably only at 50 %.
Can only see one winner.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 24/01/2020 21:12:29    2262005