No More Cheap Shots from Dublin And Kerry

Can we have some feedback from Admin on this please.
Give posters a sense of what if any action might be taken for continuous infringement. ???

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 06/01/2020 11:20:37    2257701

Yes that would be good, for example I can't see how bringing up Dublin's massive financial advantages or home games etc etc in a discussion on the GAA and where it is going is "insulting" to anyone - it's a fact.

Bias as I am, but for me the Dublin posters are the worst offenders in all this, constantly goading Kerry, insulting the county's past AI's as well as their players and of course posters.
For example lately there is all this stuff being posted about Donaghy somehow being a professional during his playing days?

I'd like to add that a very vocal Dublin poster has been on here before laughing at injuries his team inflicted on a young opponent, surely that is red card territory?

As regards the above, I'd also have my suspicion that some Dublin posters are also working as moderates on here judging by what some of them are allowed post so again this needs to be called out if it is the case.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/01/2020 11:44:28    2257706

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yes that would be good, for example I can't see how bringing up Dublin's massive financial advantages or home games etc etc in a discussion on the GAA and where it is going is "insulting" to anyone - it's a fact.

Bias as I am, but for me the Dublin posters are the worst offenders in all this, constantly goading Kerry, insulting the county's past AI's as well as their players and of course posters.
For example lately there is all this stuff being posted about Donaghy somehow being a professional during his playing days?

I'd like to add that a very vocal Dublin poster has been on here before laughing at injuries his team inflicted on a young opponent, surely that is red card territory?

As regards the above, I'd also have my suspicion that some Dublin posters are also working as moderates on here judging by what some of them are allowed post so again this needs to be called out if it is the case."
https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/kerry-captain-kieran-donaghy-packs-in-job-to-concentrate-on-football-31217940.html

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 06/01/2020 12:13:33    2257719

By the time you mean laughing at a player getting injured, it was me, after Sean O Shea was taken to hospital as part of a precautionary protocol, it was well known he was more then fine, had played again and the news had been cofirmed.

The joke was, i said when the Dublin Dr asked him how many fingers he was holding up Sean said "five in a row". It was meant in jest and hardly rejoicing at any injury.

If people took offense to that i apoligise, but the majority didnt and it was taken as a bit of banter, but saying laughing at someone getting injured is taking things to the extreme of victimhood.

I just wanted to clear that up, because its more about a personal vendetta about a poster/s i choose to ignore then it is about the issue in question.

Anyhow takes all types.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/01/2020 12:16:20    2257720

Replying To Fionn:  "https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/kerry-captain-kieran-donaghy-packs-in-job-to-concentrate-on-football-31217940.html"
Media got that completely wrong

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 06/01/2020 12:36:09    2257725

If admin are actually serious about this what are they going to do about people who are obviously using multiple accounts?

Or posters who trown out insults if people don't agree with them?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 06/01/2020 12:40:13    2257727

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yes that would be good, for example I can't see how bringing up Dublin's massive financial advantages or home games etc etc in a discussion on the GAA and where it is going is "insulting" to anyone - it's a fact.

As regards the above, I'd also have my suspicion that some Dublin posters are also working as moderates on here judging by what some of them are allowed post so again this needs to be called out if it is the case."
100% the hermit, also admin need to pull posters who have more than 1 account which I believe there are quite a few on here.

There are a lot of dubs on hoganstand------.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/01/2020 13:07:00    2257734

Ha ha irony alert, you should be last one to talk about anyone insulting a counties past All Ireland wins. Like a lot of posters here you're no shrieking violet yourself who can't take it after dishing it like your hissy fit a couple of years ago one night after, I'm assuming, a few jars.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/01/2020 13:12:55    2257737

Replying To TheUsername:  "By the time you mean laughing at a player getting injured, it was me, after Sean O Shea was taken to hospital as part of a precautionary protocol, it was well known he was more then fine, had played again and the news had been cofirmed.

The joke was, i said when the Dublin Dr asked him how many fingers he was holding up Sean said "five in a row". It was meant in jest and hardly rejoicing at any injury.

If people took offense to that i apoligise, but the majority didnt and it was taken as a bit of banter, but saying laughing at someone getting injured is taking things to the extreme of victimhood.

I just wanted to clear that up, because its more about a personal vendetta about a poster/s i choose to ignore then it is about the issue in question.

Anyhow takes all types."
I remember it well, knickers were well and truly in a twist then, as per.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/01/2020 13:16:05    2257738

Hmmmm well I think is heading the exact opposite of where admin wanted it to go ha ha.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/01/2020 13:18:18    2257740

The Hermit/Kingdomboy:

The lady doth protest too much, methinks

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 06/01/2020 13:47:45    2257748

Why would moderators start a thread and then allow the same WUMs to do exactly what they say they are trying to eradicate.
Doesn't really seem like this is at all designed to stop the culprits and is just a case of stirring it up.
Probably not good for business to be getting rid of numbers and unlikely to hear anymore from them as usual.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 06/01/2020 15:11:20    2257770

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Ha ha irony alert, you should be last one to talk about anyone insulting a counties past All Ireland wins. Like a lot of posters here you're no shrieking violet yourself who can't take it after dishing it like your hissy fit a couple of years ago one night after, I'm assuming, a few jars."
If you'd care to refresh my memory about what you're referring to I'm all ears. The only thing I can think of posting here after "a few jars" as you put it, is the night of the 2017 semi final replay when I said it was bad enough putting up with the unsporting behaviour of a couple of Mayo fans I encountered but the fact 2 random Dubs took the time to come over to me in a pub and start sledging Kerry left a bad taste in the mouth.

What a horrible person I am to express my annoyance of that....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/01/2020 15:48:11    2257784

Replying To Breffni39:  "The Hermit/Kingdomboy:

The lady doth protest too much, methinks"
We could start with banning fellas pretending to be from another county like this Dub in Cavan clothing....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/01/2020 15:49:02    2257786

Replying To TheUsername:  "By the time you mean laughing at a player getting injured, it was me, after Sean O Shea was taken to hospital as part of a precautionary protocol, it was well known he was more then fine, had played again and the news had been cofirmed.

Anyhow takes all types."
Sure buddy whatever you say..

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/01/2020 15:50:36    2257787

Replying To catch22:  "Why would moderators start a thread and then allow the same WUMs to do exactly what they say they are trying to eradicate.
Doesn't really seem like this is at all designed to stop the culprits and is just a case of stirring it up.
Probably not good for business to be getting rid of numbers and unlikely to hear anymore from them as usual."
Well said

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/01/2020 15:52:08    2257789

b]Yes that would be good, for example I can't see how bringing up Dublin's massive financial advantages or home games etc etc in a discussion on the GAA and where it is going is "insulting" to anyone - it's a fact.

It's not insulting, its boring. You boys bring it up on most decent threads in one form or other and ruin the thread.

Bias as I am, but for me the Dublin posters are the worst offenders in all this, constantly goading Kerry, insulting the county's past AI's as well as their players

He said, she said. I think you'll find however, a sizable amount of goading is done in retaliation for some of the ludicrous claims you all make.

I posted about this as it was reported in several newspapers and picked up by various media at the time. It's not like it was made up. I understand from the decent Gerry not the troll Gerry that Kieran himself took to twitter to dispel the articles in question. Not being on Twitter anymore I missed this.

No idea what poster you're on about or what you're talking about re injuries.

I'd also have my suspicion that some Dublin posters are also working as moderates on here judging by what some of them are allowed post so again this needs to be called out if it is the case."

Ridiculous claim. We all have seen posts we dont agree with or think have gone too far. Get over it.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/01/2020 16:11:16    2257796

Replying To TheHermit:  "We could start with banning fellas pretending to be from another county like this Dub in Cavan clothing...."
Inaccurate and pathetic

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 06/01/2020 16:41:56    2257803

Replying To Jackeen:  "b
Yes that would be good, for example I can't see how bringing up Dublin's massive financial advantages or home games etc etc in a discussion on the GAA and where it is going is "insulting" to anyone - it's a fact.

It's not insulting, its boring. You boys bring it up on most decent threads in one form or other and ruin the thread.

Bias as I am, but for me the Dublin posters are the worst offenders in all this, constantly goading Kerry, insulting the county's past AI's as well as their players

He said, she said. I think you'll find however, a sizable amount of goading is done in retaliation for some of the ludicrous claims you all make.

I posted about this as it was reported in several newspapers and picked up by various media at the time. It's not like it was made up. I understand from the decent Gerry not the troll Gerry that Kieran himself took to twitter to dispel the articles in question. Not being on Twitter anymore I missed this.

No idea what poster you're on about or what you're talking about re injuries.

I'd also have my suspicion that some Dublin posters are also working as moderates on here judging by what some of them are allowed post so again this needs to be called out if it is the case."

Ridiculous claim. We all have seen posts we dont agree with or think have gone too far. Get over it."]Are you ever going to answer why you dismiss anyone who disagrees with you with a low post count but dont have any issues when someone who could have the same post says something you agree with?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 06/01/2020 18:12:54    2257827

Replying To TheHermit:  "We could start with banning fellas pretending to be from another county like this Dub in Cavan clothing...."
.Jaysus lads will ye give over ffs. It's actually getting really boring now. Admin ought to delete this thread and then implement tighter controls on what people are saying.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 06/01/2020 18:58:49    2257834