Things That Seemed Ridiculous At Start Of Decade That Actually Happened

Replying To hamsterdean:  "Many happy returns hermit. Have a good one!"
Two distinct posters if you doubt that just take a gander at the Kerry forum. Plenty of "Limerick" posters with small post numbers were popping up there after the AI to have a pop for some bizarre reason ...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/01/2020 23:14:56    2256777

Honestly though for me it is that inter county footballs entire credibility and tradition would be undermined just to flog jersies in the country's biggest market.
You can call me bitter all ye want but riddle me this, if any professional sport saw the same team win 5 years in a row people would be crying out it's in crisis!
And yet in an amateur sport this is happening facilitated by an outrageous financial advantage, home games etc etc and judging by most people on this forum they couldn't care less which scares me to be honest. Dublin represent the end of everything the GAA was meant to stand for...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/01/2020 23:19:41    2256779

That teams would go from having 3/4 weeks to prepare for an All Ireland Semi-Final in football to having a 6 day turnaround before a Semi-Final, because of the ridiculous calendar planning which disrespects the huge effort which teams have to put in to get to a Semi-Final.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 02/01/2020 09:04:07    2256794

Replying To TheHermit:  "Honestly though for me it is that inter county footballs entire credibility and tradition would be undermined just to flog jersies in the country's biggest market.
You can call me bitter all ye want but riddle me this, if any professional sport saw the same team win 5 years in a row people would be crying out it's in crisis!
And yet in an amateur sport this is happening facilitated by an outrageous financial advantage, home games etc etc and judging by most people on this forum they couldn't care less which scares me to be honest. Dublin represent the end of everything the GAA was meant to stand for..."
That is because no one takes the kerry whingers seriously anymore.
Stop crying the poor mouth ffs.

All was fine and dandy when ye were dominating and winning nearly a 100 provincial titles.
There was no moaning then..,,!

They should be a kerry whinge filter on here...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 02/01/2020 10:19:24    2256809

Replying To Fionn:  "That is because no one takes the kerry whingers seriously anymore.

All was fine and dandy when ye were dominating and winning nearly a 100 provincial titles.

They should be a kerry whinge filter on here..."
It's funny because Dubs on here whinge more than anyone. You Jimbos many alteregos, Jackeen the lists goes go on and on.

It's also funny how anyone who disagrees with you is winging

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 02/01/2020 10:45:24    2256818

Replying To Fionn:  "That is because no one takes the kerry whingers seriously anymore.

You know maybe if, a big if given the quality of Dublin posters on here, but if one of ye had the decency to admit how imbalanced things are and that your dominance has been helped by things outside the 15 lads on the pitch then I'd think it might be more palatable for people.
But this flat Earth mentality from the Dubs on here is pathetic at this stage.

How many counties now are bankrupting themselves or getting involved with things that are making them a laughing stock just to try and match one county's financial advantages.

It's an outrage, it would be an outrage in any professional sport ( and St least in them teams play home and away) but around here and in the media what's being said, very little of what should be. The Irish mentality all over I suppose, too much trouble to do something so say nothing...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/01/2020 11:25:09    2256828

Replying To TheHermit:  "A county that was a laughing stock at inter-county level suddenly winning 7 All Irelands! But I'm sure money had nothing to do with it, or the home advantage, or the professional set-up :D"
Shows how little respect Kerry have for other counties. When we're not winning we are a laughing stock and when we are it's a down to money and home advantage.
God love ye with your 6-7 Million euro centre of excellence below in Currans, funded by the massive financial support in The US and your wealthy buddies in Kerry Group.
Awww poor Kerry with their professional sportsmen. Ye were gifted your last All-Ireland when Durcan kicked the ball into arms of one of your your full-time players Donaghy and ye should have had Tadgh K sent off in the opening minutes of your 2009 All=Ireland for his not so 'professional' foul.
Poor oul Kerry who came close to winning 5 on the trot but by their own admission were too complacent and lacked the bottle to. see it through. Had they succeeded would you have been claiming that there was something wrong with the GAA? Not a bit of it.

Hermit, give over with your oul whingin' . You're making a show of yourself lad.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/01/2020 11:28:15    2256830

Utter psychological meltdowns since the 5 was done.

Lads from Kerry post far more about Dublin then they do about Kerry, we live rent free in their heads.

Watched the two finals back this year over Xmas, we cantered in both (until the sending off), they were reduced to blanket defensive, cynical football. I think its the expansive and creative way way we play and what it reduces them to - hanging on and blanket defenses and the level of superiority over them that really hurts.

Our time is coming end without question and they will do well when we inevitably regress, but they will never beat and produce a team like Jim Gavin's Dublin they know that and the psychological scars will last many a year.

You only have to read the posts in this thread.

But successful or not and probably the latter we will look to our own, its our way.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/01/2020 11:42:58    2256833

Replying To TheHermit:  "Honestly though for me it is that inter county footballs entire credibility and tradition would be undermined just to flog jersies in the country's biggest market.
And yet in an amateur sport this is happening facilitated by an outrageous financial advantage, home games etc etc and judging by most people on this forum they couldn't care less which scares me to be honest. Dublin represent the end of everything the GAA was meant to stand for..."
Oh it's ok to win 4 in a row is it?? But after 4 it becomes a crisis.
AS for 'home advantage'....ye used to love coming up to CP to put manners on us all. Ye considered it your stomping ground. There was no talk of home advantage back in the 70s and 80s. But now ye are so desperate that you will cling to any straw at all.
You never answered my question to you Hermit. how long will it be before your beautiful, deluxe centre of excellence in Currans will start producing All-Ireland winning players??????

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/01/2020 11:49:58    2256836

If only this place would get back to being a national forum instead of a Dublin forum, facilitated by admins that block other posts but allow Dubs on here say what they want, insult whoever they want, have multiple accounts the list goes on...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/01/2020 12:02:27    2256840

Kerry fans people winging, never thought it would still be happening ;D

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 267 - 02/01/2020 12:19:50    2256845

4 in a row is grand though ye?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/01/2020 12:28:49    2256851

Certain Kerry men being ridiculously jealous of Dublins great success in this decade, behaviour which certainly made the wins a lot sweeter, thanks for that lads!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 02/01/2020 12:31:47    2256852

Replying To TheHermit:  "Two distinct posters if you doubt that just take a gander at the Kerry forum. Plenty of "Limerick" posters with small post numbers were popping up there after the AI to have a pop for some bizarre reason ..."
Has it occurred to you that maybe Limerick people don't like you lot?

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 02/01/2020 12:43:20    2256856

Replying To oneoff:  "It's funny because Dubs on here whinge more than anyone. You Jimbos many alteregos, Jackeen the lists goes go on and on.

It's also funny how anyone who disagrees with you is winging"
Nothing about disagreeing with posts.

It is about CONSTANT whinging and crying the poor mouth.
None of it was going on from them when Kerry were winning.
They were just extremely smug then...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 02/01/2020 12:44:38    2256858

Replying To TheHermit:  "If only this place would get back to being a national forum instead of a Dublin forum, facilitated by admins that block other posts but allow Dubs on here say what they want, insult whoever they want, have multiple accounts the list goes on..."
Then stop ruining every thread by bringing Dublin up. And maybe then we can get back to how the forum used to be before certain posters turned up.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/01/2020 12:55:20    2256863

Replying To avonali:  "Shows how little respect Kerry have for other counties. When we're not winning we are a laughing stock and when we are it's a down to money and home advantage.
God love ye with your 6-7 Million euro centre of excellence below in Currans, funded by the massive financial support in The US and your wealthy buddies in Kerry Group.
Awww poor Kerry with their professional sportsmen. Ye were gifted your last All-Ireland when Durcan kicked the ball into arms of one of your your full-time players Donaghy and ye should have had Tadgh K sent off in the opening minutes of your 2009 All=Ireland for his not so 'professional' foul.
Poor oul Kerry who came close to winning 5 on the trot but by their own admission were too complacent and lacked the bottle to. see it through. Had they succeeded would you have been claiming that there was something wrong with the GAA? Not a bit of it.

Hermit, give over with your oul whingin' . You're making a show of yourself lad."
Just about sums it up perfectly.

At last other counties can finally see through their nonsense...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 02/01/2020 12:58:41    2256865

Replying To TheHermit:  "You know maybe if, a big if given the quality of Dublin posters on here, but if one of ye had the decency to admit how imbalanced things are and that your dominance has been helped by things outside the 15 lads on the pitch then I'd think it might be more palatable for people.
But this flat Earth mentality from the Dubs on here is pathetic at this stage.

How many counties now are bankrupting themselves or getting involved with things that are making them a laughing stock just to try and match one county's financial advantages.

It's an outrage, it would be an outrage in any professional sport ( and St least in them teams play home and away) but around here and in the media what's being said, very little of what should be. The Irish mentality all over I suppose, too much trouble to do something so say nothing..."
It's gas the hermit the dubs on here say we're whinging and crying because we're bringing attention to their many many unnatural advantages but back in the 00s they whinged and cryed so hard that ould Bertie and the GAA had to give em around 20 million to catch up to our level and it came at a time when we were going through our natural regression.

But sure the money way is the dublin way.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/01/2020 14:15:24    2256890

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's gas the hermit the dubs on here say we're whinging and crying because we're bringing attention to their many many unnatural advantages but back in the 00s they whinged and cryed so hard that ould Bertie and the GAA had to give em around 20 million to catch up to our level and it came at a time when we were going through our natural regression.

But sure the money way is the dublin way."
And the whinging continues , happy days indeed :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/01/2020 15:12:04    2256909

Are there people on here whinging about the 5 in a row? Christ. I predicted that if it happened, the good Kerry football people would stop at nothing to rewrite history and do a 6 in a row, and that will be a life's goal for players and managers alike. If they see themselves as some sort of kings of football, let them regain the record ASAP and put these jackeen upstarts in their place. The cheek of them to steal Kerry's 5 in a row.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 02/01/2020 15:55:21    2256923