Dublin Vs Kerry Replay

Feck it anyway...
Congrats Dublin

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/09/2019 11:52:36    2235530

Replying To TheHermit:  "Feck it anyway...
Congrats Dublin"
Fair play to you.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3720 - 15/09/2019 12:16:27    2235543

Replying To RAHKILL:  "Ye moran had all the time in the world to catch it was defiantly the turning point + we had 10 poor wides to Dublin s 4 should have started One of Tommy Kilian or maybe JOE instead of O Connor"
Ya Moran is our most experienced player and needed to lead by example, punching that ball was something you'd expect from a novice, but what's done is done now, we've had a good year outside of losing the 2 finals and our young lads will have learned a pile and we have 40 young guys in the extended panel getting their strength and conditioning sorted so plenty to look forward to in the league next year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/09/2019 12:30:51    2235550

Replying To Fionn:  "A bit of help from the ref in the 1st half... Under statement of the century

We couldnt buy a free in that 1st half."
Ye couldn't 'buy' a free. Just burst out laughing at that. The irony, when ye can buy most other things in GAA.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 15/09/2019 12:41:59    2235555

Replying To endgame:  "There has been speculation that Jim Gavin might quit after achieving the 5 in a row.Listening to his post match interview,it doesn't sound like he's going anywhere.The core of this Dublin team is young.Fenton,Kilkenny,Mannion are 26.Con O'Callaghan is only 23.They can dominate indefinitely.Kerry are the biggest challengers and will be again next year but if Dublin retain their appetite for it,it's hard not to see them doing 6 in a row and beyond."
Slightly disagree. Dublin will win 6 I think there is little doubt about that unfortunately. But Kerry aren't that far ahead of the rest. Donegal I think will be dubs main challenge, cork over the next couple of years will be a stern test in Munster and beyond. Mayo have shot there lot but could still cause problems, Galway if they actually start to play football surely must come good, Meath and Kildare are building nicely and could take one of the chasing pack out. Tyrone if the change manager and like Galway actually play football could put up a fight to those in chasing pack. Even Roscommon could do same.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/09/2019 12:42:44    2235556

Replying To moc.dna:  "David Clifford is a super player who I enjoy watching, but his elbow on Murchan was nasty."
Sure was...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3720 - 15/09/2019 12:45:58    2235558

Replying To baire:  "Why weren't you out celebrating instead of being your usual keyboard pruik?"
Not that its any business of yours , but I don't drink and so prefer to celebrate at home
Is that ok with you boss ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 15/09/2019 12:52:41    2235560

At the start of the first half, Kerry started lobbing balls into the square, where the Dublin defence gratefully gobbled them up and started movements that ended up in Dublin points. I was worried early on that a rout might take place, but then Kerry found their groove, and Dublin started to make the occasional mistake (they are only human after all), ensuring the game remained competitive at half time. I thought too some decisions went the way of Kerry when maybe they shouldn't.

Kerry hit too many wides. You could argue that even one wide is too many against this current Dublin team, but while Dublin were 100% accurate between the posts in the first half (apart from there balls that fell short), Kerry had three, and went on to have seven more in the second half compared to Dublin's four.

Murchan's goal was like a bolt from the blue, but not entirely so. Dublin blitzed Mayo at the start of the second half of their semifinal, so it wasn't to be unexpected that they might try a similar sudden stunt to break the deadlock after half time.

The the game in the last few minutes, Dublin expertly retained possession in Kerry's half and kept Kerry off the scoreboard. The audience got the hump with this, but remember, any team can do whatever they want with the ball within the rules, and it was up to Kerry to dispossess them, same as in any other game, or even any other part of this game. If Dublin choose to decline a scoring opportunity (and obviously the chances of their possession ending in a turnover can only increase as the seconds tick on), that's their gamble to take.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1028 - 15/09/2019 13:15:51    2235568

Kerry (second best team in the country) are getting to much credit, they couldn't see off a 14 man Dublin when they were leading down the home straight in the first game.

Dublin showed up yesterday and were never in trouble, they could have won by 10+ had Connolly not had the headlines in his mind when and went for goal himself. There is still a massive gap between everyone else and Dublin, this team might lose in 2020 or 2021 but they will most likely have at least 4 out of the next 5 all Ireland's.

It's up to everyone else to get upto their level now, they have set the benchmark.

Galway2019 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 15/09/2019 13:37:51    2235573

Congrats Dublin"
And hard luck, some great great players on that Kerry team, looking forward to the great battles ahead.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 15/09/2019 13:38:02    2235574

Congrats Dublin, in the mix for six

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 15/09/2019 13:42:54    2235577

Replying To dubdec99:  "Murchan was being fouled by Moran...take that into account."
Ok, but the fouled player cannot then foul the ball during an advantage. If the lad had thrown a pass while being fouled for example, what would the call be then?
It was probably the only call Dublin got in their favor against the Kerry defence to that point.
All academic at this stage and Dublin deserved the win no doubt.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1055 - 15/09/2019 13:55:48    2235580

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Why are you not out celebrating? Are you so bored at this stage you'd rather post online? I can only imagine the six in a row."
I was. Waiting on a pint from the barman. Some people used to dance when waiting for a pint of the black stuff, I pop on here to have a go at the begrudgers and true to from they're out in force.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/09/2019 14:01:24    2235583

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Congratulations to Dublin, no excuses the better team won, we're a good bit off their level but we'll live and learn.

Moran has questions to answer but that's for another day and it probably wouldn't have mattered anyway."
The only question Moran has to answer is whether or not he wants to spend another year busting his gut and giving outstanding performances as a high fielder,tackler and kick passer for his county that he obviously loves.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 15/09/2019 14:12:07    2235588

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "
Replying To Fionn:  "A bit of help from the ref in the 1st half... Under statement of the century

We couldnt buy a free in that 1st half."
Ye couldn't 'buy' a free. Just burst out laughing at that. The irony, when ye can buy most other things in GAA."
NIce to see the Queen's County troll still going about his business.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 15/09/2019 14:28:24    2235598

Replying To seanie_boy:  "The only question Moran has to answer is whether or not he wants to spend another year busting his gut and giving outstanding performances as a high fielder,tackler and kick passer for his county that he obviously loves."
Moran's has no questions to answer. Had a great year for Kerry this year and deserves more respect than Kingdomboy is showing.

He should have caught the throw in yeah but its not like he punched the ball into Murchan's hands when he was 14 yards from goal.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 15/09/2019 14:29:31    2235599

Replying To westkerry:  "Congratulations to Dublin and best wishes to the Dublin posters on here, Clon,Liamo,Real Dub, Jim,Jackeen I'm sure I'm missing a few!
Enjoy the winter see you next spring."
Sound man

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 15/09/2019 14:34:19    2235605

Replying To MesAmis:  "Moran's has no questions to answer. Had a great year for Kerry this year and deserves more respect than Kingdomboy is showing.

He should have caught the throw in yeah but its not like he punched the ball into Murchan's hands when he was 14 yards from goal."
Exactly, you didn't hear Dublin fans slating Byrne for missing the ball in the 1st game which led to the Kerry goal.
He catches it and Dubs win at the 1st attempt.
True fans wouldnt be harsh on Moran at all - without him you wouldnt even have made the final.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3720 - 15/09/2019 14:36:28    2235609

Congrats Dublin"
Fair play Hermit. I know there is stuff said here but at the end of the day we love the game and two teams gave everything and went at it for over 140 minutes. This Kerry team is only getting started and will be back again for another shot next year, that's for sure.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 15/09/2019 14:38:12    2235612

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "At the start of the first half, Kerry started lobbing balls into the square, where the Dublin defence gratefully gobbled them up and started movements that ended up in Dublin points. I was worried early on that a rout might take place, but then Kerry found their groove, and Dublin started to make the occasional mistake (they are only human after all), ensuring the game remained competitive at half time. I thought too some decisions went the way of Kerry when maybe they shouldn't.

Kerry hit too many wides. You could argue that even one wide is too many against this current Dublin team, but while Dublin were 100% accurate between the posts in the first half (apart from there balls that fell short), Kerry had three, and went on to have seven more in the second half compared to Dublin's four.

Murchan's goal was like a bolt from the blue, but not entirely so. Dublin blitzed Mayo at the start of the second half of their semifinal, so it wasn't to be unexpected that they might try a similar sudden stunt to break the deadlock after half time.

The the game in the last few minutes, Dublin expertly retained possession in Kerry's half and kept Kerry off the scoreboard. The audience got the hump with this, but remember, any team can do whatever they want with the ball within the rules, and it was up to Kerry to dispossess them, same as in any other game, or even any other part of this game. If Dublin choose to decline a scoring opportunity (and obviously the chances of their possession ending in a turnover can only increase as the seconds tick on), that's their gamble to take."
A rule that should be changed. Either limit the number of back passes (hard to monitor) or the ball has to go forward between certain lines. This is why I am hesitant to declare Dublin being the greatest team of all time. Certainly the greatest team of athletes to play gaelic football. I would hold judgment on the greatest footballers of all time. If wanting to see a soccer match or basket ball one can go to those games. Yesterday was an exciting game for us the fans until Dublin started playing the possession game. Over and back and back further. Like you said within the rules. Change it, change the number of hand passes to if you get one you can not give one. This will restore the game to its greatest and even better that before with the athletes of today.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2653 - 15/09/2019 14:39:55    2235614