Duvet Or Not To Duvet, That Is The Question?

Replying To Donegalman:  "For the 1st half they might. The 2nd definitely not"
Ya you could be right, the dubs will probably go blanket in the first half to try and keep our forwards quiet and frustrate them but they will have to open up at some stage, then we'll get the shoot out.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/08/2019 11:09:56    2228130

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya you could be right, the dubs will probably go blanket in the first half to try and keep our forwards quiet and frustrate them but they will have to open up at some stage, then we'll get the shoot out."
If u don't leak a goal it could be interesting. Big game in store. Enjoy it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 21/08/2019 11:37:07    2228150

I hate to break it to yis but: Dublin's forwards >>>>>>>>>> Kerry's forwards

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 21/08/2019 11:51:56    2228158

Replying To Breffni39:  "I hate to break it to yis but: Dublin's forwards >>>>>>>>>> Kerry's forwards"
SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSHHHHHHHHHHH!

Thats a secret! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/08/2019 12:02:41    2228161

Replying To dubarra:  "You begrudge Offally their All Ireland your some neighbour do you work and do your shopping in Kerry to. You wont hear to many from Munster counties hoping for Dublin to win."
i wasnt begrudging Offaly their All ireland at all.....but Kerry were on the cusp of acheiving something remarkable , i hope they get redemption Sunday and stop those dubs achieving it. sure Wicklow are great neighbours of the dubs :D

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 21/08/2019 13:21:22    2228196

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I think we'll go man on man in this game, can't see us playing a blanket as it's not our style and it doesn't suit us.

I do think Dublin will go all out blanket, I'd say the fear will set in over the coming days with so much on the line for the dubs."
It will be interesting to see if Dublin change their style all right, if they do it'll show fear and our players will feed off of that. I can't see Dublin playing us man v man as they did that in the league final of 2017 and we beat them they did it in the league this year and we beat them. Kerry to win by at least 6. Can't wait.

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 21/08/2019 17:51:30    2228316

Kerry every right to feel as confident as many of the posts in this thread suggest, a very good team. I think we will try our best and stick to the footballing values and principals that make up that unique Dublin identity, it's our way.

Hopefully the game will be a bit tighter then the predicted 6 point Kerry win. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/08/2019 22:34:54    2228385

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Will Dublin go full blanket on this young Kerry team on the 1st of September?

Will Jim Gavin take the chance of going man on man with these Kerry forwards?

This Dublin team hasn't come up against a forward unit like this in a long time. History has to be made so will Jim go toe to toe or maybe do the sensible thing and go for the blanket?

Our Kerry teams always struggle against a good blanket and Gilroy won an All Ireland against us with the blanket back in 2011."
We all know Kerry's history against the blanket and the underdog tag. The last time Kerry were rank outsiders in an All Ireland Senior Football Final was 2014, which they won with some comfort. Two problems now exist though - this Kerry team is not as good as that Kerry team AND this Dublin team is much better than that Donegal team Kerry faced in 2014. Tradition and history will only take you so far, Dublins 5-in-a-row bid with the panel they have, will overpower the aristocrats and we will probably see Dublins biggest ever victory over Kerry in Championship football. They will be swatted aside for a history making event in GAA!!

green and gold (Donegal) - Posts: 105 - 21/08/2019 22:52:04    2228391

Replying To gallarus14:  "It will be interesting to see if Dublin change their style all right, if they do it'll show fear and our players will feed off of that. I can't see Dublin playing us man v man as they did that in the league final of 2017 and we beat them they did it in the league this year and we beat them. Kerry to win by at least 6. Can't wait."
I might get you up to Dublin to teach my kids about the power of positive thinking.....Dublin by at least ......1

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/08/2019 00:48:46    2228411

Replying To green and gold:  "We all know Kerry's history against the blanket and the underdog tag. The last time Kerry were rank outsiders in an All Ireland Senior Football Final was 2014, which they won with some comfort. Two problems now exist though - this Kerry team is not as good as that Kerry team AND this Dublin team is much better than that Donegal team Kerry faced in 2014. Tradition and history will only take you so far, Dublins 5-in-a-row bid with the panel they have, will overpower the aristocrats and we will probably see Dublins biggest ever victory over Kerry in Championship football. They will be swatted aside for a history making event in GAA!!"
I would have this team ahead of 2014 myself, just my opinion, the Kerry 14 team didnt have imperious potential/talents like Clifford and O Shea. All opinion mind.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/08/2019 09:45:40    2228432

Replying To green and gold:  "We all know Kerry's history against the blanket and the underdog tag. The last time Kerry were rank outsiders in an All Ireland Senior Football Final was 2014, which they won with some comfort. Two problems now exist though - this Kerry team is not as good as that Kerry team AND this Dublin team is much better than that Donegal team Kerry faced in 2014. Tradition and history will only take you so far, Dublins 5-in-a-row bid with the panel they have, will overpower the aristocrats and we will probably see Dublins biggest ever victory over Kerry in Championship football. They will be swatted aside for a history making event in GAA!!"
I think we'll win this game, we have the runners now for this Dublin team now also we have scoring forwards that can hit 1:20 , we know this Dublin team inside out now .

And if we don't win , well we won't be hammered I can gaurentee you that .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2019 10:10:09    2228439

Its the hope that kills you! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/08/2019 10:50:34    2228452

Replying To TheUsername:  "Its the hope that kills you! ;)"
Try not to take it too hard kid .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2019 11:14:38    2228462

I'd be the first to congratulate Kerry in all honesty, i always said it will be one of two things that will beat this Dublin team, a great team or the ref.

If the ref behaves and Kerry win, they will deserve it, as we are good, very, very, very good.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/08/2019 11:29:33    2228470

Replying To TheUsername:  "I'd be the first to congratulate Kerry in all honesty, i always said it will be one of two things that will beat this Dublin team, a great team or the ref.

If the ref behaves and Kerry win, they will deserve it, as we are good, very, very, very good."
This abuse of referees by Dublin posters must stop.....

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 22/08/2019 12:39:48    2228497

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I think we'll win this game, we have the runners now for this Dublin team now also we have scoring forwards that can hit 1:20 , we know this Dublin team inside out now .

And if we don't win , well we won't be hammered I can gaurentee you that ."
Hhhmmmm. You claim that you have a group of inexperienced kids yet you "know this Dublin team inside out now". Something wrong there surely.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/08/2019 13:07:02    2228507

Replying To Joxer:  "Hhhmmmm. You claim that you have a group of inexperienced kids yet you "know this Dublin team inside out now". Something wrong there surely."
Peter Keane and his management team has been at the last 3 allireland finals with the Kerry minors therefore they will have had great seats to watch ye , plus his first game in charge against Dublin he beat ye with a bunch of young lads.

Just saying is all.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2019 14:21:52    2228533

Replying To essmac:  "Kerry will do much better than expected and could win.
Semi final will have brought them on to in terms of tactics and confidence. I'd say Kerry were more uptight v Tyrone than v Dublin where they have little to lose and you can bet they've had their ears bent about the necessity to stop the Dubs doing 5. Whether or not its a good game or not is irrelevant; there is so much at stake for both teams that it will be engrossing from start to finish. I don't see much of a spread between the chasing pack; so if Kerry win or do well, there's great hope for the rest of us. And conversely ..."
So Kerry will have little to lose against Dublin but at the exact same time they are being told about the necessity of beating Dublin and "there is so much at stake for both teams". You don't see the contradictions there?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 22/08/2019 14:41:50    2228541

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Peter Keane and his management team has been at the last 3 allireland finals with the Kerry minors therefore they will have had great seats to watch ye , plus his first game in charge against Dublin he beat ye with a bunch of young lads.

Just saying is all."
If he's anything like Jack O'Connor then I doubt it. I went into the bar at half-time during the 2015 final and there was Jack and a member of staff plonked up having pints and a laugh celebrating their minor win. As everyone piled back out for the second half, storm Katrina wouldn't have moved Jack and the celebrating minors. Just sayin.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/08/2019 17:36:47    2228574

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Peter Keane and his management team has been at the last 3 allireland finals with the Kerry minors therefore they will have had great seats to watch ye , plus his first game in charge against Dublin he beat ye with a bunch of young lads.

Just saying is all."
Ahh for Jaysus sake sure didn't a bunch of oul lads from Mayo beat the poor 'young lads' twice in March? Just saying.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/08/2019 18:09:12    2228589